Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0029438 to Moon et al. in view of U.S. Pat. No. 2,745,212 to Guzzino, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 1,986,255 to Durfey et al.
Claims 18-19, Moon discloses a cushioning system 100, comprising a spring base layer 102 having an array of coil springs 108 surrounded by cushioning foam 106, including an upper foam soft layer 112; a topper layer 116 disposed on the upper foam
layer and co-extensive with said spring base layer, said topper layer comprising an elastomeric material layer 116 formed by a grid of elastomeric walls 41 defining intervening cells (fig. 2-3)[0027], and an outer cover 120 capable of including a plurality of panels and optional top layer 118 that enclose said spring base layer and said topper layer [0028]; wherein said topper layer further comprises an inferior cushioning layer 104, the elastomeric layer is a median elastomeric layer disposed on the inferior cushioning layer (fig. 1-3). Moon is silent to buttons. Guzzino discloses a superior layer defined by a cover 12 having a plurality of buttons 15 with a first end connecting the cover and a second end connected to an inferior cushioning layer defined by a backing layer 7. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the buttons in Guzzino with the cushioning system of Moon with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided a deep tufted appearance at a greatly reduced cost. Moon discloses cover having a layer 118 disposed on the median elastomeric layer, but is silent to a superior layer comprising a fabric material. Durfey discloses a cushioning assembly having a cover (13,14) including a stuffing/padding and a superior fabric layer 18. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the superior fabric layer and padding in Durfey with the cushioning system of Moon with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided a means to transmit the expansive force of the elastomeric layer to the cushioning assembly of Moon.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 18-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. No. 5,655,241 to Higgins et al. discloses a pillow top mattress.
U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0343294 to DeMoss et al. discloses a mattress having a tufts.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Troutman can be reached on (571) 270-3654. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FREDRICK C CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679