DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments, corrected Specification and response filed Jul. 23, 2026 have been received and entered into the case.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 12, 15-22, 27, and 29-33 are currently pending.
Claims 8 and 9 are amended.
Claims 15-22, 27, 29 and 30 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-7, 10, 11, 13, 14, 23-26 and 28 are cancelled.
Claims 31-32 are new.
Claims 8, 9, 12 and 31-32 have been considered on the merits.
Drawing Objections
Some of the drawing objections are due to amendment and one is maintained.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities: there is a statement in the specification that there are color drawings in 0029.
Specification Objections
Specification objections are withdrawn due to amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (a)
The claim rejections under 35 USC § 112, (a) or first paragraph (pre-AIA ), are withdrawn due to amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
The claim rejections under 35 USC § 112, (b) or second paragraph (pre-AIA ), are withdrawn due to amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claim rejections under 35 USC § 102 are withdrawn due to amendment. New claim rejections under 35 USC § 102 have been added to address the claim amendments.
Claims 8, 9, 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wobma et al. (US 2019/0314417 A1) as evidenced by Luo et al. (Biochemistry, 2018) (ref. of record).
With respect to claims 8 and 33, Womba teaches method for treating a subject by administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of immunosuppressive mesenchymal stromal cells (mesenchymal stem cells, MSCs) which is a pharmaceutical composition (abstract, 0004, 0012-0013). Womba teaches the source of MSCs can be human umbilical cord mesenchymal stromal cells (0038, 0094 and 0096). Womba teaches the administration of the MSCs can be by IV injection (intravenously administration) (0094). Womba teaches the MSCs are in a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (0017).
With respect to claim 33, the MSCs inherently contain processing bodies (p-bodies) as evidenced by Luo. Luo reports that p-bodies are conserved in eukaryotes (pg. 2424 para. 1).
Wobma does not teach the method where the suppressing the T cell response includes suppressing activation of helper T cells in the subject as recited in claim 9. Similarly, Wobma does not teach the method where following the administering step, the gene programs for antigen presentation and co-stimulation are down regulated in monocytes and macrophages as recited in claim 31. However, these wherein clauses of claims 9 and 31 recite the intended result of the method rather than requiring an additional step be performed. MPEP 2111.04 states “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed” and that a such a clause ‘"in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” Therefore since these claims only recite the results of the steps, then art reading on the method of claim 8 will also read on these results since performing the same steps will inherently lead to the same results in the absence of evidence to the contrary including unexpected results.
Therefore, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejections under 35 USC § 103 are withdrawn due to amendment. New claim rejections under 35 USC § 103 have been added to address the claim amendments.
Claims 8, 9, 12, and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wobma et al. (US 2019/0314417 A1) as evidenced by Luo et al. (Biochemistry, 2018) in view of Betancourt (US 2014/0017787 A1).
With respect to claims 8 and 33, Womba teaches method for treating a subject by administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of immunosuppressive mesenchymal stromal cells (mesenchymal stem cells, MSCs) which is a pharmaceutical composition (abstract, 0004, 0012-0013). Womba teaches the source of MSCs can be human umbilical cord mesenchymal stromal cells (0038, 0094 and 0096). Womba teaches the administration of the MSCs can be by IV injection (intravenously administration) (0094). Womba teaches the MSCs are in a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (0017).
With respect to claim 33, the MSCs inherently contain processing bodies (p-bodies) as evidenced by Luo. Luo reports that p-bodies are conserved in eukaryotes (pg. 2424 para. 1).
Wobma does not teach the method where the suppressing the T cell response includes suppressing activation of helper T cells in the subject as recited in claim 9. Similarly, Wobma does not teach the method where following the administering step, the gene programs for antigen presentation and co-stimulation are down regulated in monocytes and macrophages as recited in claim 31. However, these wherein clauses of claims 9 and 31 recite the intended result of the method rather than requiring an additional step be performed. MPEP 2111.04 states “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed” and that a such a clause ‘"in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” Therefore since these claims only recite the results of the steps, then art reading on the method of claim 8 will also read on these results since performing the same steps will inherently lead to the same results in the absence of evidence to the contrary including unexpected results.
Wobma does not teach the method where the subject suffers from a lung inflammation, neuroinflammation, rheumatoid arthritis and/or a primary immunodeficiency as recited in claim 12. Wobma does not teach the method where the subject has received gene therapy as recited in claim 32.
However, Betancourt teaches a similar method of suppressing inflammation or a T cell response by administering to the subject a therapeutic effective amount of mesenchymal stem cells (abstract, 0002, 0008, 00018 and 0046). Betancourt further teaches a method of suppressing an immune response by inhibiting T cells in a subject where the subject suffers from rheumatoid arthritis, immunodeficiency, and acute lung injury (0046, 0049-0050, and 0062).
In further support, Wobma teaches the method where the subject suffers from cytokine storm, sepsis, autoimmune disease, transplant rejection, graft-vs-host disease, acute tissue injury, diabetic ulcer, and inflammatory disease.
Accordingly, at the effective time of filing of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Wobma to include subjects with additional diseases or conditions that would benefit from suppressing a T cell response including lung inflammation, rheumatoid arthritis and a primary immunodeficiency as taught by Betancourt for the benefit of treating addition known inflammatory and immune conditions. Similarly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Wobma to include subjects that have undergone gene therapy, which similar to graft-vs-host disease as taught by Womba, is known to elicit an unwanted immune responses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the treatment method Wobma to include subjects suffering from neuroinflammation, rheumatoid arthritis and a primary immunodeficiency and subjects that have received gene therapy, since these conditions are known to benefit from T cell suppression as taught and suggested by Betancourt and Wobma. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification to Wobma, since Betancourt teaches administering MSCs to treat inflammatory and immune conditions and Wobma teaches a reducing an inflammatory response in a subject.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed Jul. 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103, Applicant argues that neither Mohapatra nor Luo teach the method of administering to a mammalian subject a composition containing human umbilical cord tissue-derived mesenchymal stromal cells (Remarks pg. 7 para. 2 and pg. 8 para. 1). The Applicant’s amendments limiting claim 8 to include human umbilical cord tissue-derived mesenchymal stromal cells necessitated the withdrawal of the previous rejections. Applicant’s arguments are drawn to Mohapatra and Luo failing to teach this new limitation. However, this new limitation is addressed in the new rejection. Applicant is reminded that Luo is an evidentiary reference supporting the mesenchymal stromal cells taught by Mohapatra and now Wobma inherently contain processing bodies (p-bodies) (pg. 2424 para. 1). Luo is not a reference supporting a rejection under U.S.C. §102 or §103, and thus is not being used to establish obviousness of a particular limitation.
Applicant argues that Betancourt fails to remedy the deficiencies of Mohapatra and Luo (Remarks pg. 8 para. 2). However, this argument was not found to be persuasive, since the arguments with respect to the rejections over Mohapatra and Luo were not found to be persuasive as explained above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner Contact Information
/EMILY A CORDAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632