DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Particularly, claim 26 recites “the manual user action includes one of insertion of an unlocking tool”; this limitation is not understood by the Examiner.
Claims 38-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Particularly, claim 38 recites “the manual user action includes one of insertion of an unlocking tool”; this limitation is not understood by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,7-10,22,24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fuchs et al. (US 5,944,222).
Claim 1, Fuchs discloses a drug delivery system, comprising: a drug delivery device (fig.1; from the tip of 38 to lowest portion of 38) comprising a dispensing head (34) including a tip configured to be positioned in a nose of a patient, the tip having an opening (36) therein, a drug holder (27) containing a drug (29) therein, and an actuator (31) configured to be actuated by a user to cause the drug to be delivered out of the opening; an accessory (38) comprising a locking mechanism configured to releasably couple to the drug delivery device; wherein, with the locking mechanism (38) and the drug delivery device releasably coupled together (fig.1), the drug delivery device and the accessory are a mated unit (fig.1) and the drug cannot exit through the opening (36) into the nose of the patient; and wherein, with the locking mechanism (38) released from the drug delivery device, the accessory is a separate, independent member from the drug delivery device and the actuator (31) is configured to be actuated to cause the drug to be delivered out of the opening into the nose of the patient.
Claim 2, Fuchs discloses wherein, with the locking mechanism (38) and the drug delivery device (fig.1) releasably coupled together, the accessory (38) covers the opening (36).
Claim 7, Fuchs discloses wherein the accessory (38) is a box that contains a partial portion of the drug delivery device therein when releasably coupled to the drug delivery device (fig.1).
Claim 8, Fuchs discloses wherein the accessory (38) is a box that fully contains the drug delivery device therein when releasably coupled to the drug delivery device (fig.5).
Claim 9, Fuchs discloses wherein the accessory (38) includes a cavity formed therein; and with the locking mechanism (38) and the drug delivery device (fig.1) releasably coupled together, the
drug delivery device is seated in the cavity and extends proximally from the accessory (38).
Claim 10, Fuchs discloses wherein the actuator (31) is configured to be seated in the cavity (fig.1).
Claim 22, Fuchs discloses wherein the releasable coupling is mechanical (fig.1; using the broadest reasonable interpretation, 38 is decoupled from the device when mechanical force is applied).
Claim 24, Fuchs discloses wherein the drug is one of ketamine, esketamine, naloxone, and sumatriptan. Claim 24 fails to further structurally limit the apparatus claim and only further limit the material handled by the apparatus and therefore does not determine patentability (see at least MPEP 2114,2115).
Claim 25, Fuchs discloses a drug product disposed in the drug delivery device of claim 1, wherein the drug product is one of ketamine, esketamine, naloxone, and sumatriptan. Claim 25 fails to further structurally limit the apparatus claim and only further limit the material handled by the apparatus and therefore does not determine patentability (see at least MPEP 2114,2115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchs et al. (US 5,944,222) in view of Sutherland et al. (US 2021/0204870).
Claim 12, Fuchs does not disclose wherein the accessory (38) includes a measurement mechanism configured to facilitate a determination of an amount of drug contained in the drug holder.
Sutherland discloses a measurement mechanism configured to facilitate a determination of an amount of drug contained in the drug holder (para.0112). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Fuchs with wherein the accessory includes a measurement mechanism configured to facilitate a determination of an amount of drug contained in the drug holder simply to have medication quantity sensing functionality.
Claims 22-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchs et al. (US 5,944,222).
Claim 22, Although Fuchs does not disclose wherein the releasable coupling is mechanical, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement an electrical releasable coupling since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192.
Claim 23, Although Fuchs does not disclose wherein the releasable coupling is electrical, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement an electrical releasable coupling since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6,11,13-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AYODEJI T OJOFEITIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651