DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Applicant’s amendment and arguments, filed 06/30/2026, has been entered. Claim 1 is amended; claims 2-3 and 5-15 stand as originally or previously presented; and claim 4 is canceled. Support for the amendments is found in the original filing, and there is no new matter.
Upon considered said amendments and arguments, the previous 35 U.S.C.103 rejection set forth in Office Action mailed 03/30/2026 has been withdrawn. Amended and new grounds of rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 citing to newly cited art and the originally cited art are set forth below as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arihara et al. (JP 2019021382 A, hereinafter Arihara, cited in IDS filed 06/12/2025), in view of Hosaka et al. (US 20130065097 A1, hereinafter Hosaka).
Regarding Claim 1, Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), comprising: power storage cells stacked in a stacking direction (Arihara, cells are stacked, [0008]); and
each of the power storage cells includes:
a positive electrode including a first current collector, and a positive electrode active material layer provided on one surface of the first current collector; a negative electrode including a second current collector, and a negative electrode active material layer provided on one surface of the second current collector, the negative electrode being arranged such that the negative electrode active material layer faces the positive electrode active material layer in the stacking direction; a separator arranged between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and a sealing portion provided between the first current collector and the second current collector facing each other in the stacking direction (Arihara, Annotated Figure 4 below), and
the sealing portion surrounding and sealing the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer (Arihara, sealing portion 80 seals the peripheral portions of the positive electrode layer 30 and the negative electrode layer 50, [0037], Annotated Figure 4 below; the Examiner notes that the sealing portion is located on the peripheral portions, or outer portions, of the cell), wherein
the power storage cells include a first power storage cell and a second power storage cell adjacent to each other in the stacking direction, wherein the first current collector of the first power storage cell and the second current collector of the second power storage cell are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (Arihara, Annotated Figure 4 below).
Arihara is silent regarding a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one power storage cell to be measured among the power storage cells, the temperature sensor is arranged inside from the sealing portion of the power storage cell to be measured when seen from the stacking direction, and wherein the temperature sensor is arranged between the first current collector of the first power storage cell and the second current collector of the second power storage cell and is in contact with both of the first current collector of the first power storage cell and the second current collector of the second power storage cell.
Hosaka discloses a power storage device (Hosaka, secondary battery, [0010]) comprising power storage cells in a stacking direction (Hosaka, battery main body 300 is formed by connecting two laminated bodies 30, in each of which a plurality of lithium-ion cells 26 is laminated, in series, [0027], Figure 2),
a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one power storage cell to be measured among the power storage cells (Hosaka, a temperature sensitive resistor arranged between the positive electrode and the negative electrode of a pair of adjacent laminated bodies. The temperature sensitive resistor increases resistance in response to a temperature increase, [0010]),
the temperature sensor is arranged inside from the sealing portion of the power storage cell to be measured when seen from the stacking direction (Hosaka, a current control layer 50 comprising a temperature sensitive resistor 52 is arranged between the current collector 22a of one laminated body 30 and the current collector 22b of the other laminated body 30, [0045], Figure 2; the Examiner notes that the temperature sensitive resistor is located inwards, or inside, of the cell), and wherein
the temperature sensor is arranged between the first current collector of the first power storage cell and the second current collector of the second power storage cell and is in contact with both of the first current collector of the first power storage cell and the second current collector of the second power storage cell (Hosaka, a temperature sensitive resistor arranged between the positive electrode and the negative electrode of a pair of adjacent laminated bodies, [0010]). Hosaka teaches that the current control layer comprising a temperature sensitive resistor protects a secondary battery from a temperature increase caused by a large current (Hosaka, [0008]).
Arihara and Hosaka are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to integrate the current control layer comprising a temperature sensitive resistor of Hosaka between the positive and negative current collector of adjacent cells of Arihara, in order protect the battery from a temperature increase caused by a large current.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), wherein the temperature sensor is in contact with the first current collector or the second current collector (Hosaka, a current control layer 50 comprising a temperature sensitive resistor 52 is arranged between the current collector 22a of one laminated body 30 and the current collector 22b of the other laminated body 30, [0045], Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), further comprising:
a stacked body including the power storage cells (Arihara, cells are stacked, [0008]); and
a sealing body provided by integrating the sealing portions included in the power storage cells, respectively, the sealing body extending from one end to the other end of the stacked body in the stacking direction and sealing the stacked body (Arihara, sealing body, Annotated Figure 4 above), wherein
the temperature sensor is arranged between one end and the other end of the stacked body in the stacking direction (Hosaka, a temperature sensitive resistor arranged between the positive electrode and the negative electrode of a pair of adjacent laminated bodies, [0010]).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]) further comprising:
a first stacked body including two or more power storage cells included in the power storage cells; a second stacked body adjacent to the first stacked body in the stacking direction (Arihara, first cell adjacent to the second cell in the stacking direction, Annotated Figure 4 above),
the second stacked body including two or more other power storage cells included in the power storage cells (Arihara, first cell adjacent to the second cell in the stacking direction, and the number of cells is not limited, Annotated Figure 4 above, Figures 6-7 and 9);
a first sealing body provided by integrating the sealing portions of the power storage cells included in the first stacked body, the first sealing body extending from one end to the other end of the first stacked body in the stacking direction and sealing the first stacked body (Arihara, first sealing body, Annotated Figure 4 above); and
a second sealing body provided by integrating the sealing portions of the power storage cells included in the second stacked body, the second sealing body extending from one end to the other end of the second stacked body in the stacking direction and sealing the second stacked body (Arihara, second sealing body, Annotated Figure 4 above), wherein
the first current collector of a first power storage cell that is one power storage cell included in the first stacked body and the second current collector of a second power storage cell that is one power storage cell included in the second stacked body are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (Arihara, adjacent current collectors, Annotated Figure 4 above), and
the temperature sensor is arranged between the first current collector that is a positive terminal electrode arranged on the one end of the first stacked body and the second current collector that is a negative terminal electrode arranged on the one end of the second stacked body (Hosaka, a temperature sensitive resistor arranged between the positive electrode and the negative electrode of a pair of adjacent laminated bodies, [0010]).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), wherein a recess in which the temperature sensor is contained is provided in at least one of the first current collector of the first power storage cell and the second current collector of the second power storage cell (Hosaka, a current control layer 50 comprising a temperature sensitive resistor 52 is arranged between the current collector 22a of one laminated body 30 and the current collector 22b of the other laminated body 30, [0045], Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), wherein the power storage cells include a first power storage cell in which the temperature sensor is arranged, and the temperature sensor is arranged in a space sealed by the sealing portion of the first power storage cell, the first current collector of the first power storage cell, and the second current collector of the first power storage cell (Hosaka, a current control layer 50 comprising a temperature sensitive resistor 52 is arranged between the current collector 22a of one laminated body 30 and the current collector 22b of the other laminated body 30, [0045], Figure 2).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arihara et al. (JP 2019021382 A, hereinafter Arihara, cited in IDS filed 06/12/2025), in view of Hosaka et al. (US 20130065097 A1, hereinafter Hosaka), as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Tamaru et al. (WO 2019151193 A1, citations from corresponding US 20200358050 A1, hereinafter Tamaru).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]). Modified Arihara discloses that high voltage tabs are used to extract current from the laminate and are in contact with the cell (Arihara, [0016]).
Modified Arihara is silent regarding a first cooler in contact with the positive terminal electrode of the first stacked body; and a second cooler in contact with the negative terminal electrode of the second stacked body.
Tamaru discloses a power storage device (Tamaru, power storage module, Abstract) comprising a first cooler (Tamaru, in each of the conductive plates 5, a plurality of flow paths 5a through which a coolant such as an air is circulated is provided, [0033]) in contact with the positive terminal electrode of the first stacked body (Tamaru, a positive electrode terminal 6 is connected to one conductive plate 5 that is disposed on the outer side of the power storage module 4 positioned at one laminate end, [0032], Figure 1); and
a second cooler in contact with the negative terminal electrode of the second stacked body (Nakamura, a negative electrode terminal 7 is connected to the other conductive plate 5 disposed on the outer side of the power storage module 4 positioned at the other laminate end, [0032], Figure 1).
Tamaru teaches that the conductive plates improve the heat dissipation property of the battery (Tamaru, [0033]).
Modified Arihara and Tamaru are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a power storage module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to connect the conductive plates of Tamaru to the high voltage tabs of the positive and negative electrode in the battery of modified Arihara, in order to improve the heat dissipation property of the battery.
Claim(s) 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arihara et al. (JP 2019021382 A, hereinafter Arihara, cited in IDS filed 06/12/2025), in view of Hosaka et al. (US 20130065097 A1, hereinafter Hosaka), as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Weili et al. (CN 109065961 A, hereinafter Weili, cited in IDS filed 06/12/2025).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]). Modified Arihara is silent regarding the temperature sensor is contained in a groove provided in the positive electrode active material layer or a groove provided in the negative electrode active material layer.
Weili discloses a power storage device (Weili, battery, [0002], wherein the temperature sensor is contained in a groove provided in the positive electrode active material layer or a groove provided in the negative electrode active material layer (Weili, flexible temperature sensor embedded in a groove in the electrode material layer, and the positive and negative electrodes of the battery to be manufactured are packaged with the flexible temperature sensor, Annotated Figure 1 below, [0041]).
Weili teaches that the multi-point flexible sensor allows for real-time monitoring of temperature information in important areas inside the battery, and the "zero" thickness change after embedding the sensor in the electrode, achieves integrated integration with the battery and has virtually no impact on the battery's electrochemical performance (Weili, [0024]).
Modified Arihara and Weili are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to embed addition temperature sensors within a groove in the electrode material layer of modified Arihara, as taught by Weili, in order to achieve real-time monitoring of temperature information, while limiting its impact on the battery's electrochemical performance.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), wherein the temperature sensor is embedded in the positive electrode active material layer or the negative electrode active material layer (Weili, flexible temperature sensor embedded in the center region of the electrode active material layer, and the positive and negative electrodes of the battery to be manufactured are packaged with the flexible temperature sensor, Annotated Figure 1 above, [0041]).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), wherein the temperature sensor is arranged in a center region of the power storage cell to be measured when seen from the stacking direction (Weili, flexible temperature sensor embedded in the center region of the electrode active material layer, and the positive and negative electrodes of the battery to be manufactured are packaged with the flexible temperature sensor, Annotated Figure 1 above, [0041]).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]) further comprising a plurality of temperature sensors including the temperature sensor, wherein the plurality of temperature sensors are provided in the power storage cell to be measured, and the plurality of temperature sensors arranged to be separated from each other when seen from the stacking direction (Weili, a uniformly arranged temperature measuring point is photolithographically etched on one side of a flexible substrate, wherein each temperature measuring point has an independent wire groove, and thermistor material is sputtered at each temperature measuring pointa, [0015]) are configured to measure a temperature distribution of the certain power storage cell to be measured (Weili, integrated multi-point internal temperature monitoring, [0008]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]) further comprising a flexible printed circuit electrically connected to the temperature sensor (Weili, flexible substrate with a shape matching the shape of the electrode material treatment area to be fabricated in step 3) is made of polyimide, [0014]), wherein
the temperature sensor is provided on one end of the flexible printed circuit (Weili, uniformly arranged temperature measuring point is photolithographically etched on one side of a flexible substrate using spin coating photolithography, [0015]), and
the other end of the flexible printed circuit is connected to a control circuit arranged outside the power storage cells (Weili, the flexible temperature sensor 6 transmitted the internal temperature change information of the lithium battery to the outside in real time through the detection interface 3, [0042]).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), wherein the flexible printed circuit includes a voltage detection unit in contact with a current collector included in any one of the power storage cells (Arihara, functional elements is preferably constructed as a voltage probe, a temperature probe and thermocouple, [0059]) (Weili, flexible temperature sensor embedded in a groove in the electrode material layer, and the positive and negative electrodes of the battery to be manufactured are packaged with the flexible temperature sensor, Annotated Figure 1 above, [0041]; the Examiner notes that the modified Arihara may).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the temperature sensor of Weili for a voltage probe of Arihara since they are obvious substitutes.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), wherein the flexible printed circuit includes a conductive portion connected to the temperature sensor (Weili, thermistor material is sputtered at each temperature measuring point, and conductive material is sputtered in each wire groove to obtain a flexible temperature sensor, [0015]), and
an insulating portion covering the conductive portion (Weili, flexible substrate with a shape matching the shape of the electrode material treatment area to be fabricated in step 3) is made of polyimide, [0014]), and
the temperature sensor is covered (Weili, each temperature measuring point has an independent wire groove photolithographically etched towards the edge of the flexible substrate, [0015]) with the insulating portion (Weili, flexible substrate with a shape matching the shape of the electrode material treatment area to be fabricated in step 3) is made of polyimide, [0014]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 10-11, filed 06/30/2026 , with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8 and 12-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Arihara et al. (JP 2019021382 A, hereinafter Arihara, cited in IDS filed 06/12/2025), in view of Hosaka et al. (US 20130065097 A1, hereinafter Hosaka), as noted above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752