DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 03/01/2023, 04/17/2023, and 06/12/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 03/01/2023 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 03/01/2023 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, “An power storage device” in line 1 should be replaced with –A power storage device--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arihara et al. (JP 2019021382 A, hereinafter Arihara, cited in IDS filed 06/12/2025), in view of Schaefer et al. (US 20140103880 A1, hereinafter Schaefer).
Regarding Claim 1, Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), comprising: power storage cells stacked in a stacking direction (Arihara, cells are stacked, [0008]); and
each of the power storage cells includes:
a positive electrode including a first current collector, and a positive electrode active material layer provided on one surface of the first current collector; a negative electrode including a second current collector, and a negative electrode active material layer provided on one surface of the second current collector, the negative electrode being arranged such that the negative electrode active material layer faces the positive electrode active material layer in the stacking direction; a separator arranged between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and a sealing portion provided between the first current collector and the second current collector facing each other in the stacking direction (Arihara, Annotated Figure 4 below), and
the sealing portion surrounding and sealing the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer (Arihara, sealing portion 80 seals the peripheral portions of the positive electrode layer 30 and the negative electrode layer 50, [0037], Annotated Figure 4 below).
Arihara is silent regarding a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one power storage cell to be measured among the power storage cells, and the temperature sensor is arranged inside from the sealing portion of the power storage cell to be measured when seen from the stacking direction.
Schaefer discloses a power storage device (Schaefer, battery, [0002]) comprising power storage cells in a stacking direction (Schaefer, converter cells and the electrode assembly is designed as an electrode stack, [0002, 0017]), and
a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one power storage cell to be measured among the power storage cells (Schaefer, thermocouples for capturing the temperature of the electrode assembly, [0072]), and the temperature sensor is arranged inside from the sealing portion of the power storage cell to be measured when seen from the stacking direction (Schaefer, a temperature probe or thermocouple is preferably integrated in the current collector thereof, [0147]).
Arihara and Schaefer are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to integrate the thermocouple of Schaefer into the current collector of Arihara, as taught by Schaefer, in order to capture the temperature of the electrode assembly.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), wherein the temperature sensor is in contact with the first current collector or the second current collector (Schaefer, a temperature probe or thermocouple is preferably integrated in the current collector thereof, [0147]).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), further comprising:
a stacked body including the power storage cells (Arihara, cells are stacked, [0008]); and
a sealing body provided by integrating the sealing portions included in the power storage cells, respectively, the sealing body extending from one end to the other end of the stacked body in the stacking direction and sealing the stacked body (Arihara, sealing body, Annotated Figure 4 above), wherein
the temperature sensor is arranged between one end and the other end of the stacked body in the stacking direction (Schaefer, a temperature probe or thermocouple is preferably integrated in the current collector thereof, [0147]).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), wherein the power storage cells include a first power storage cell and a second power storage cell adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (Arihara, first cell adjacent to the second cell, Annotated Figure 4 above),
the first current collector of the first power storage cell and the second current collector of the second power storage cell are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (Arihara, first cell adjacent to the second cell in the stacking direction, Annotated Figure 4 above), and
the temperature sensor is arranged between the first current collector of the first power storage cell and the second current collector of the second power storage cell (Schaefer, a temperature probe or thermocouple is preferably integrated in the current collector thereof, [0147]).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]) further comprising:
a first stacked body including two or more power storage cells included in the power storage cells; a second stacked body adjacent to the first stacked body in the stacking direction (Arihara, first cell adjacent to the second cell in the stacking direction, Annotated Figure 4 above),
the second stacked body including two or more other power storage cells included in the power storage cells (Arihara, first cell adjacent to the second cell in the stacking direction, and the number of cells is not limited, Annotated Figure 4 above, Figures 6-7 and 9);
a first sealing body provided by integrating the sealing portions of the power storage cells included in the first stacked body, the first sealing body extending from one end to the other end of the first stacked body in the stacking direction and sealing the first stacked body (Arihara, first sealing body, Annotated Figure 4 above); and
a second sealing body provided by integrating the sealing portions of the power storage cells included in the second stacked body, the second sealing body extending from one end to the other end of the second stacked body in the stacking direction and sealing the second stacked body (Arihara, second sealing body, Annotated Figure 4 above), wherein
the first current collector of a first power storage cell that is one power storage cell included in the first stacked body and the second current collector of a second power storage cell that is one power storage cell included in the second stacked body are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (Arihara, adjacent current collectors, Annotated Figure 4 above), and
the temperature sensor is arranged between the first current collector that is a positive terminal electrode arranged on the one end of the first stacked body and the second current collector that is a negative terminal electrode arranged on the one end of the second stacked body (Schaefer, a temperature probe or thermocouple is preferably integrated in the current collector thereof, [0147]).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]) further comprising:
a first cooler in contact with the positive terminal electrode of the first stacked body; and a second cooler in contact with the negative terminal electrode of the second stacked body (Schaefer, at least one or more of said electrode tabs with the same polarity are electrically, particularly materially connected to one of said functional devices, wherein the functional device is constructed with at least one cavity particularly for a temperature control medium, wherein the temperature control medium is used for the exchange of thermal energy with the electrode assembly, wherein the temperature control medium flows through the cavity particularly if the temperature of the electrode assembly exceeds or falls below a respective limit temperature, [0087, 0141]).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), wherein a recess in which the temperature sensor is contained is provided in at least one of the first current collector of the first power storage cell and the second current collector of the second power storage cell (Schaefer, a temperature probe or thermocouple is preferably integrated in the current collector thereof, [0147]).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), wherein the power storage cells include a first power storage cell in which the temperature sensor is arranged, and the temperature sensor is arranged in a space sealed by the sealing portion of the first power storage cell, the first current collector of the first power storage cell, and the second current collector of the first power storage cell (Schaefer, a temperature probe or thermocouple is preferably integrated in the current collector thereof, [0147]).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]) further comprising a plurality of temperature sensors including the temperature sensor, wherein the plurality of temperature sensors are provided in the power storage cell to be measured, and the plurality of temperature sensors arranged to be separated from each other when seen from the stacking direction (Schaefer, a temperature probe or thermocouple is preferably integrated in the current collector thereof, [0147]) are configured to measure a temperature distribution of the certain power storage cell to be measured (Schaefer, thermocouples for capturing the temperature of the electrode assembly, [0072]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]) further comprising a flexible printed circuit electrically connected to the temperature sensor (Schaefer, a functional device, which is preferably a flexible circuit board, preferably as at least one functional element, which may be a thermocouple, [0044, 0059, 0174]), wherein
the temperature sensor is provided on one end of the flexible printed circuit (Schaefer, a functional device, which is preferably a flexible circuit board, preferably as at least one functional element, which may be a thermocouple, [0044, 0059, 0174]), and
the other end of the flexible printed circuit is connected to a control circuit arranged outside the power storage cells (Schaefer, the functional element may be a control device, particularly a cell control device, application-specific integrated circuit, microprocessor or data storage device, which are particularly used to control the converter cell and its electrode assembly, [0060]).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), wherein the flexible printed circuit includes a voltage detection unit in contact with a current collector included in any one of the power storage cells (Arihara, functional elements is preferably constructed as a voltage probe, a temperature probe and thermocouple, [0059]) (Schaefer, a temperature probe or thermocouple is preferably integrated in the current collector thereof, [0147]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the thermocouple in one of the current collectors with a voltage probe since they are obvious substitutes, as taught by Shaefer.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), wherein the flexible printed circuit includes a conductive portion connected to the temperature sensor (Schaefer, the feed lines to the temperature probe or thermocouple terminate in the peripheral area of the first housing section, particularly at two contact surfaces in the area of a recess in the second bearing element. Two connectors for the functional device are also arranged close to said recess and are electrically connected to the contact surfaces, [0147]), and
an insulating portion covering the conductive portion (Schaefer, certain areas of the functional device are constructed so as to be electrically insulating and it is disposed between the tab connecting section and the connector connecting section, [0221]), and
the temperature sensor is covered with the insulating portion (Schaefer, at least one functional device is preferably furnished with at least one electrically insulating area, which particularly preferably serves as a carrier for functional elements, which may be a thermocouple, [0032, 0059]).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arihara et al. (JP 2019021382 A, hereinafter Arihara, cited in IDS filed 06/12/2025), in view of Schaefer et al. (US 20140103880 A1, hereinafter Schaefer), as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Weili et al. (CN 109065961 A, hereinafter Weili, cited in IDS filed 06/12/2025).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]). Modified Arihara is silent regarding the temperature sensor is contained in a groove provided in the positive electrode active material layer or a groove provided in the negative electrode active material layer.
Weili discloses a power storage device (Weili, battery, [0002], wherein the temperature sensor is contained in a groove provided in the positive electrode active material layer or a groove provided in the negative electrode active material layer (Weili, flexible temperature sensor embedded in a groove in the electrode material layer, and the positive and negative electrodes of the battery to be manufactured are packaged with the flexible temperature sensor, Annotated Figure 1 below, [0041]).
Weili teaches that the multi-point flexible sensor allows for real-time monitoring of temperature information in important areas inside the battery, and the "zero" thickness change after embedding the sensor in the electrode, achieves integrated integration with the battery and has virtually no impact on the battery's electrochemical performance (Weili, [0024]).
Modified Arihara and Weili are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed to a battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to embed addition temperature sensors within a groove in the electrode material layer of modified Arihara, as taught by Weili, in order to achieve real-time monitoring of temperature information, while limiting its impact on the battery's electrochemical performance.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), wherein the temperature sensor is embedded in the positive electrode active material layer or the negative electrode active material layer (Weili, flexible temperature sensor embedded in the center region of the electrode active material layer, and the positive and negative electrodes of the battery to be manufactured are packaged with the flexible temperature sensor, Annotated Figure 1 above, [0041]).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Arihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Arihara discloses the limitations regarding a power storage device (Arihara, battery, [0008]), wherein the temperature sensor is arranged in a center region of the power storage cell to be measured when seen from the stacking direction (Weili, flexible temperature sensor embedded in the center region of the electrode active material layer, and the positive and negative electrodes of the battery to be manufactured are packaged with the flexible temperature sensor, Annotated Figure 1 above, [0041]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20190252728 A1 discloses a solid battery including at least one first laminate body, wherein a first insulating layer connected to at least part of a side surface portion of the first laminate body; and a second insulating layer connected to at least part of a side surface portion of the second laminate body (Abstract).
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752