Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of SEQ ID# 18 in the reply filed on 6/8/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the unity breaking art does not teach what stated by the examiner. This is not found persuasive because claim 1 recites the CT and TM are derived from a portion. Here the prior art looks like the derived portion. Additionally, applicant argues unexpected results for the combination. Unexpected results can be used for an obviousness rejection for example but not against unity of invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 33 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, 21, 26, 33-34, 36, 39, 41, 46, 48-49 and 57-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-12, 21, 26, 34, 36, 39, 41, 46, 48-49 and 57-58 contain the term “derived” and it is not clear how much can be changed and still be ectodomain, CT, and TM and the term is not defined in the specification. The percent identity claims are included because they do not cure the derivative issue because they still allow for variation in the portions and chimera TM and CT.
Claims 5 and 8 contain the term “conservative substitutions” is not clear as to specifically what is included. Paragraph 312 if the PGPub gives a non-limiting definition. It says residues of the same class but then gives examples of the classes. The classes are not limited to those and thus the metes and bounds are not clear.
Claims 1-12, 21, 26, 33-34, 36, 39, 41, 46, 48-49 and 57-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The guidelines for the Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112, § 1 "Written Description" Requirement make clear that if a claimed genus does not show actual reduction to practice for a representative number of species, then the Requirement may be alternatively met by reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the Applicant was in possession of the genus (Federal Register, Vol. 66, No. 4, pages 1099-1111, Fri. January 5, 2001, see especially page 1106 column 3).
The specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed invention. The legal standard for sufficiency of a patent's (or a specification's) written description is whether that description "reasonably conveys to the artisan that the inventor had possession at that time of the. . .claimed subject matter", Vas-Cath, Inc. V. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). In the instant case, the specification does not convey to the artisan that the Applicant had possession at the time of invention of the claimed invention, the genus of portions of CT and TM and the chimeric CT and TM that function as CT and TM. The genus of portions included is as little as one residue of the sequence or the chimera can be one coronavirus residue and one influenza residue. The specification only teaches specific combinations of chimeric CTTM and chimeric TM and chimeric CT, for example see Figure 3a.
The Federal Circuit addressed the application of the written description requirement to DNA-related inventions in University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The court stated that “[a] written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name, of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials.” Id. At 1567, 43 USPQ2d at 1405. The court concluded that “naming a type of material generally known to exist, in the absence of knowledge as to what that material consists of, is not a description of that material.” Id.
The Federal Circuit clarified that a molecule can be adequately described without disclosing its complete structure. See Enzo Biochem, Inc. V. Gen-Probe Inc., 296 F.3d 1316, 63 USPQ2d 1609 (Fed. Cir. 2002). The Enzo court adopted the standard that the written description requirement can be met by “show[ing] that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics ....i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics. “ Id. At 1324, 63 USPQ2d at 1613 (emphasis omitted, bracketed material in original).
Furthermore The Board in Ex Parte Kubin found that the written description of 35 USC 112 was not met, stating that
Without a correlation between structure and function, the claim does little more than define the claimed invention by function. That is not sufficient to satisfy the written description requirement. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406 (“definition by function … does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the gene does, rather than what it is”).
The Board in Ex Parte Kubin further stated on page 16 that
Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features. See University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895.
The court in In re Alonso (Fed. Cir. 2008) citing In re Enzo, Enzo, 323 F.3d at 969 stated that
[F]or purposes of satisfying the written description requirement, it is not enough merely to disclose a method of making and identifying compounds capable of being used to practice the claimed invention.
In this case, the specification does not appear to describe the full range of chimeras and portions of CT and TM and thus does not satisfy either the Lilly nor Enzo standards.
The Board in Kubin indicated that possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus. However, the specification does not disclose sufficient information on the structural function relationship to identify the claimed genus of chimeras and portions of CT and TM. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to identify the broad claimed genus.
Thus, the specification does not provide an adequate written description of the genus of chimeras and portions of CT and TM that is required to practice the claimed invention.
The percent identity claims are included because they do not cure the derivative issue and still allow for variation in the portions and chimera TM and CT.
Applicants have not described the genus of chimeras and portions of CT and TM sufficiently to show they had possession of the claimed genus. Since the disclosure fails to provide sufficient relevant identifying characteristics, and because the genus is highly variant, one of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus as broadly claimed.
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. “conservative substitutions” are out of the scope of influenza HA TM (residues that are not in influenza HA TM). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 36, 39, 41, 46, 48, and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (WO2012088428A1) in view of Unni et al. (J Biosci. 2020;45(1):130. doi: 10.1007/s12038-020-00102-w. PMID: 33184246; PMCID: PMC7561504).
For claim 1, Smith et al. teach “the transmembrane domain and/or cytoplasmic tail of a modified influenza HA protein fused to a protein from an infective agent. … Infectious agents can be viruses, bacteria, fungi and/or parasites. Non-limiting examples of viruses from which said infectious agent proteins can be derived from are the following: coronavirus (e.g. the agent that causes SARS)”. (para 66). Thus, Smith et al. teach a coronavirus ectodomain and TM fussed to an influenza CT.
For claims 36, 39, and 41, Smith et al. teach VLPs, vaccines, and that the composition can be administered to induce immunity (para 6). For claim 46, the protein can be in a host cell (para 71). For claim 48-49, the nucleic acid is introduced into cells, expressed, and the cells and supernatant were harvested (para 129).
Smith et al. is silent on the specific protein from coronavirus.
Unni et al. teach the S-protein is exposed to the surface and is essential for entry into the host, the S-protein can be considered as a first-line therapeutic target for antiviral therapy and vaccine development (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to make VLP with SARS-CoV-2 spike as it was the essential for entry and had the expectation of success knowing the VLP of Smith et al. can be used for coronavirus.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective date of filing to modify the VLP of Smith et al. with the coronavirus of Unni et al. with the expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7, 10-11, and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of copending Application No. 18862407 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the modified coronavirus ectodomain with chimeric TMCT of the reference application all have SEQ 18 of the present application and thus make obvious the more generalized coronavirus ectodomain with chimeric TMCT. SEQ ID#s 8, 12, 16, 39, 41, 51, 55, and 57 of reference claim 6 comprise SEQ ID# 18. Dependent claims 4, 7, 9-11, and 26 all recited SEQ ID# 18 or a portion thereof.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 59 is allowed. SEQ ID# 21 and residues 25-1259 of SEQ ID# 51 are free of the prior art.
Conclusion
MYRON G. HILL
Examiner
Art Unit 1671
/M.G.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1671
/Shanon A. Foley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671