DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Regarding the limitation(s) "adjacent" in the claims, the Examiner has given the term(s) the broadest reasonable interpretation(s) consistent with the written description in Applicants' specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Donaldson Co., Inc., 16 F.3d 1190, 1192-95, 29 USPQ2d 1845, 1848-50 (Fed. Cir. 1994). See MPEP 2111. Specifically, the Examiner notes that “adjacent” still allows for other component(s) to be therebetween (i.e. “adjacent” is taken to be synonymous with “near”). Should Applicants desire to exclude other component(s) from being located therebetween, the Examiner suggests using “in contact with”.
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the amended Drawings, Specification, and Claim 1 and withdrawn Claims 8-11 in the response filed on 1/23/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Mitsuta criticizes electrode assemblies that have the negative electrode sheet having a larger area than the positive electrode sheet. Mitsuta further states that “the positive electrode layer 13 and the negative electrode layer 15 have the same shape and area”. Therefore, Mitsuta does not teach the negative electrode sheet has a larger area than the positive electrode sheet as claimed (Page 7 of Applicant’s response).
Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive. The Examiner acknowledges that Mitsuta teaches the positive electrode layer 13 and the negative electrode layer 15 have the same shape and area [0026]. However, Mitsuta’s positive and negative electrode layers (13 and 15) are only a portion of its respective electrode sheet (2 or 3 in Figs. 4-5). Mitsuta teaches that its negative electrode sheet includes a negative electrode layer extension portion (24) and negative electrode layer protruding portion (22), wherein the negative electrode layer extension portion (24) has a larger area than the positive electrode layer protrusion portion (21) [0026]. In combination with the negative electrode layer (15), negative electrode layer extension portion (24), and negative electrode layer protruding portion (22), the overall negative electrode sheet of Mitsuta has a larger area than the positive electrode sheet (2: 13 and 21 in Fig. 4).
Examiner further notes that such interpretation is consistent with Applicant’s Claim 1 in that the negative electrode sheet has a plurality of components. Claim 1 recites a negative electrode sheet comprising a negative electrode tab, a negative current collector, a negative electrode mixture layer, and a shoulder portion extending from the negative current collector thereof. Claim 5 further recites that the shoulder portion of the negative electrode sheet has a width greater than a width of the positive electrode tab.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2009123752 (“Mitsuta et al.”).
With regards to Claims 1 and 5, Mitsuta et al. teaches an electrode assembly (1) comprising a positive electrode sheet (2) having a positive electrode tab (5) protruding from a peripheral edge of one side of a current collector thereof and a positive electrode mixture layer comprising a positive electrode active material applied to a lower part of the positive electrode tab adjacent to the current collector and to the current collector (Figs. 1, 3, 4, and 6, [0018], [0022], [0028], and [0031] - translation document provided by Applicant)).
Mitsuta et al. teaches a negative electrode sheet (3) having a negative electrode tab (6) protruding from a peripheral edge of one side of a current collector thereof and a negative electrode mixture layer comprising a negative electrode active material applied to a lower part of the negative electrode tab adjacent to the current collector and to the current collector (Figs. 1, 3, 5, and 7, [0018], [0024], [0029], and [0031]).
Mitsuta et al. teaches a separator (4) located between the positive electrode sheet (2) and the negative electrode sheet (3), wherein the negative electrode sheet (3) has a shoulder portion (24) extending from the current collector thereof in a horizontal direction by a predetermined length, the negative electrode active material being applied to the shoulder portion (24), and the shoulder portion (24) is wrapped with a coating portion (i.e. part of the separator (4)) (Figs. 1, 3, 5, and 7, [0020], [0025], [0026], and [0029]).
Mitsuta et al. further teaches the shoulder portion (24) of the negative electrode sheet (3) has a width greater than a width of the positive electrode tab (5) (Figs. 1 and 5-7, [0026]). Due to having such structure, Mitsuta et al.’s overall negative electrode sheet (3) has a larger area than the overall positive electrode sheet (2) (Figs. 4 and 5, [0026]).
With regards to Claim 4, Mitsuta et al. teaches the shoulder portion (24) of the negative electrode sheet (3) underlies the positive electrode tab (5) (Figs. 3 and 5).
With regards to Claim 5, Mitsuta et al. teaches the shoulder portion (24) of the negative electrode sheet (3) has a width greater than a width of the positive electrode tab (5) (Figs. 1 and 5-7, [0026]).
With regards to Claims 6 and 7, please see paragraphs [0001] and [0002].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2009123752 (“Mitsuta et al.”) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 2015140912 (“Matsuno et al.”).
While Mitsuta et al. teaches that a coating portion comprising an insulative material on the shoulder portion of the negative electrode (i.e. part of the separator) (Figs. 1 and 3, [0025], and [0026]), Mitsuta et al. does not explicitly teach a vertical portion extending in a vertical direction perpendicular to the horizontal direction connecting corresponding edges of a pair of horizontal portions to each other.
However, Matsuno et al. teaches an insulating coating portion (13) that coats the outer periphery of the negative electrode sheet (3), such that the coating portion comprises a pair of horizontal portions each extending in a horizontal direction and a vertical portion extending in a vertical direction perpendicular to the horizontal direction and connecting corresponding edges of the pair of horizontal portions to each other (Abstract, Figs. 1 and 2, Page 3: Line 70 bridging over to Page 4: Line 2, and Page 4: Lines 50-51 – translation document provided by Applicant). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an insulating coating portion as claimed onto Mitsuta et al.’s shoulder portion of the negative electrode in order to prevent warpage and to prevent an internal short circuit of the battery using the negative electrode (Page 5: Lines 19-23).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LC/
Lisa Chau
Art Unit 1785
/Holly Rickman/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785