DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a cooling system" in claim 4, and 10-15 and "a control system" in claims 7, 19 and 20.
The “cooling system” is described in the disclosure as a cooling fluid/air in heat exchange relationship (see claim 5 and paragraph 24).
The “control system” is described in the disclosure as a controller (see paragraph 34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pham (US 2016/0061505 A1) and in view of Kopko (US 2011/0083454 A1) and further in view of the publication of Ross and Robert hereinafter referred to as NPL1.
In regards to claim 1, Pham teaches a heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) system (HVAC system, see paragraph 33), comprising: an electrical enclosure (20) comprising a compressor variable speed drive (VSD) (variable frequency drive VFD 22, where frequency is proportional and related to speed) and a condenser fan control (VFD 22 with control module 25 connected to fan 13, fig. 1B) disposed within the electrical enclosure (see figs. 1), wherein the compressor VSD is configured to control operation of a compressor motor of the HVAC system (VFD 22 controls compressor 10, see paragraph 37), and the condenser fan control is configured to control operation of a condenser fan motor of the HVAC system (VFD 22 with control module 25 controls condenser fan 13, see figs. 1 and paragraph 38).
However, Pham does not explicitly teach a separate drive for condenser fan.
Kopko teaches an HVAC system (HVAC system, see fig 4), comprising: a compressor variable speed drive (VSD) (variable speed drive VSD for compressor, see paragraph 42) and a condenser fan VSD (VSD 38 for condenser fan motor 36, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 31-32) disposed within the controls (see fig. 4), wherein the compressor VSD is configured to control operation of a compressor motor of the HVAC system (see paragraph 42), and the condenser fan VSD is configured to control operation of a condenser fan motor of the HVAC system (VSD 38 controls condenser fan 32, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 31-32).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the enclosure of the HVAC system of Pham by providing an additional condenser fan VSD that is configured to control operation of a condenser fan motor of the HVAC system based on the teachings of Kopko to the enclosure of Pham in order to independently control the condenser fan power supply and to improve production efficiency by building modular controls for each of the fan and compressor motors; improve appearance of the air conditioner control box by keeping electrical components associated with different parts of the HVAC system, separate and organized and provide better access for maintenance purposes.
In addition, Pham further discloses a converter section disposed within the electrical enclosure (section within enclosure that contains converter circuit), wherein the converter section comprises a rectifier (rectifier, see paragraph 39) and a direct current (DC) link (AC-DC link, see paragraph 39), and the converter section is configured to direct power to the compressor VSD and the condenser fan VSD (VFD includes power converting section to convert voltage, see paragraph 39, function of the rectifier, AC-DC converter, and IGBT transistors, includes converting and adjusting power from the power supply, see paragraph 39; therefore, the converter section of the VFD/VSD is configured to direct adjusted power to the VFD/VSD to supply to the compressor and the fan and the compressor and fan VFDs/VSDs, see paragraphs 36-37; Also see applicants disclosure paragraphs 39-40, for an explanation of adjusting power supply with rectifier and DC component within the VSD; In addition, see below annotated figure from NPL1 of most common VFD/VSD circuits, which are configured to direct power to the end of the VSD/VFD circuit for compressor/fan motors, where the VSD circuits include an inverters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the enclosure of the HVAC system of Pham as modified by providing a converter section disposed within the electrical enclosure, wherein the converter section comprises a rectifier and a direct current (DC) link, and the converter section is configured to direct power to the compressor VSD and the condenser fan VSD based on the combined teachings of Pham, Kopko and NPL1 in order to allow a consistent and stable flow of adjusted frequency, amplitude, current and/or voltage for each of the VSD drives of the compressor and the condenser fan.
In regards to claim 2, Pham as modified further teaches that the compressor motor, wherein the compressor motor is electrically coupled to a compressor of the HVAC system (electric motor of compressor 10, see paragraph 37), and the compressor VSD is configured to control operation of the compressor motor to operate the compressor (VFD 22 delivers voltage to compressor motor, see paragraphs 37-38).
In regards to claim 3, Pham as modified further teaches that the condenser fan motor (1136), wherein the condenser fan motor is electrically coupled to a condenser fan of the HVAC system (see paragraph 74), and the condenser fan control is configured to control operation of the condenser fan motor to operate the condenser fan (see control module 25 controlling the condenser fan motor, paragraph 74). In addition, Kopko teaches that the condenser fan VSD is configured to control operation of the condenser fan motor to operate the condenser fan (VSD 38 controls condenser fan 32, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 31-32).
In regards to claim 4, Pham as modified further teaches that the electrical enclosure comprises a cooling system disposed therein, and the cooling system is configured to provide cooling to the compressor VSD and the condenser fan VSD (evaporator piping passing through enclosure 20 to cool the VFD 22, see paragraphs 40-41; wherein the enclosure includes compressor and fan VSDs).
In regards to claim 5, Pham as modified further teaches that the cooling system is configured to place a cooling fluid (fluid in evaporator piping) in a heat exchange relationship with the compressor VSD and the condenser fan VSD to absorb heat from and cool the compressor VSD and the condenser fan VSD (evaporator piping or cold plate 15 to cool VFD 22 by heat exchange, see paragraphs 40-41; wherein the enclosure includes compressor and fan VSDs).
In regards to claim 6, Pham as modified further teaches that the compressor VSD and the condenser fan VSD are disposed within a common section of the electrical enclosure (enclosure 20 includes VFD 22 and control module 25 within the enclosure, see figs. 1).
In regards to claim 7, Pham as modified further teaches a control system (control modules 100, 25) coupled to the electrical enclosure (see figs. 1), wherein the control system is configured to:
output a control signal to operate the compressor VSD, the condenser fan VSD, or both (see paragraph 37);
receive a user input (receiving system off period data from a user, see paragraph 64); and
output the control signal based on the user input (output to the compressor device CCH based on user input, see paragraph 65).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pham in view of Kopko as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Cools (US 2019/0113263 A1).
In regards to claim 9, Pham teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a converter section is configured to receive electrical power form a power supply (18), the converter section disposed within the electrical enclosure (converter circuit with rectifier within enclosure, see paragraph 39); a first inverter of the compressor VSD (inverter, paragraph 36); and a inverting power for the condenser fan configured to receive second power from the converter section (see inverter, paragraph 36 and converter to invert DC current back to AC current, paragraph 39, where power from the power source 18 is inverted for compressor and fan, see paragraph 36-39).
However, Pham does no teach a second inverter.
Cools teaches first inverter for controlling the first VSD of the compressor and a second invert for controlling the second VSD of the condenser fan (see abstract and paragraphs 38-39), wherein the converter section is configured to receive electrical power form a power supply (see paragraph 37), the compressor VSD comprises a first inverter section, the condenser fan VSD comprises a second inverter section, and the converter section is configured to supply the electrical power to both the first inverter section and the second inverter section (see paragraphs 37-39 and abstract).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified power converter with the enclosure of the HVAC system of Pham as modified by providing a converter disposed within the electrical enclosure; a first inverter of the compressor VSD; and a second inverter of the condenser fan VSD, wherein the first inverter and the second inverter are each electrically coupled to the converter and the inverts controlling the first and second VSDs of the compressor and the condenser fan, respectively, wherein the converter section is configured to receive electrical power form a power supply, the compressor VSD comprises a first inverter section, the condenser fan VSD comprises a second inverter section, and the converter section is configured to supply the electrical power to both the first inverter section and the second inverter section based on the teachings of Cools in order to independently control the condenser fan power supply and to prevent the malfunction of one device such as the compressor from affecting the whole system (see paragraph 7, Cools).
Claim(s) 10-12, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pham (US 2016/0061505 A1) and in view of Kopko (US 2011/0083454 A1) and further in view of the publication of Ross and Robert hereinafter referred to as NPL1 and Shen (US 107560128 A).
In regards to claim 10, Pham teaches a heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) system (HVAC system, see paragraph 33), comprising: an electrical enclosure (20) configured to enclose electrical components (at least VFD 22 and control module 25) of the HVAC system to shield the electrical components from an ambient environment (see figs. 1); a compressor variable speed drive (VSD) disposed within the electrical enclosure (variable frequency drive VFD 22 within 20, where frequency is proportional and related to speed), wherein the compressor VSD is configured to operate a compressor motor of the HVAC system (VFD 22 delivers voltage to compressor motor, see paragraphs 37-38); a condenser fan control disposed within the electrical enclosure (VFD 22 with control module 25, within enclosure 20, and connected to fan 13, fig. 1B), wherein the condenser fan control is configured to operate a condenser fan motor of the HVAC system (see control module 25 controlling the condenser fan motor, paragraph 74); and
a cooling system (fluid in evaporator piping) disposed within the electrical enclosure (cold plate 15 within enclosure 20, see paragraph 40), wherein the cooling system is configured to place a cooling fluid in a heat exchange relationship with the compressor VSD and the condenser fan control and to reject heat from the compressor VSD and the condenser fan control (evaporator piping passing through enclosure 20 to cool the VFD 22, see paragraphs 40-41; and evaporator piping or cold plate 15 to cool VFD 22 by heat exchange, see paragraphs 40-41); and
a converter disposed within the electrical enclosure (converter circuit with rectifier within enclosure, see paragraph 39); a first inverter of the compressor VSD (inverter, paragraph 36); and a inverting power for the condenser fan (power from the power source 18 is inverted for compressor and fan, see paragraph 36-39), wherein the inverter and the converter (converter to invert DC current back to AC current, paragraph 39) are electrically coupled to the converter and are configured to receive power from the converter (VFD inverter receives power from converter, see paragraphs 36-39).
However, Pham does not explicitly teach a separate drive for condenser fan.
Kopko teaches an HVAC system (HVAC system, see fig 4), comprising: a compressor variable speed drive (VSD) (variable speed drive VSD for compressor, see paragraph 42) and a condenser fan VSD (VSD 38 for condenser fan motor 36, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 31-32) disposed within the controls (see fig. 4), wherein the compressor VSD is configured to control operation of a compressor motor of the HVAC system (see paragraph 42), and the condenser fan VSD is configured to control operation of a condenser fan motor of the HVAC system (VSD 38 controls condenser fan 32, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 31-32).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the enclosure of the HVAC system of Pham by providing an additional condenser fan VSD that is configured to control operation of a condenser fan motor of the HVAC system based on the teachings of Kopko to the enclosure of Pham in order to independently control the condenser fan power supply; to prevent the malfunction of one device such as the compressor from affecting the whole system; and to improve appearance of the air conditioner control box by separating and organizing electrical components associated with different parts of HVAC system and provide better access for maintenance purposes.
In addition, Pham further discloses a converter section disposed within the electrical enclosure (section within enclosure that contains converter circuit), wherein the converter section comprises a rectifier (rectifier, see paragraph 39) and a direct current (DC) link (AC-DC link, see paragraph 39), and the converter section is configured to direct power to the compressor VSD and the condenser fan VSD (VFD includes power converting section to convert voltage, see paragraph 39, function of the rectifier, AC-DC converter, and IGBT transistors, includes converting and adjusting power from the power supply, see paragraph 39; therefore, the converter section of the VFD/VSD is configured to direct adjusted power to the VFD/VSD to supply to the compressor and the fan and the compressor and fan VFDs/VSDs, see paragraphs 36-37; Also see applicants disclosure paragraphs 39-40, for an explanation of adjusting power supply with rectifier and DC component within the VSD; In addition, see below annotated figure from NPL1 of most common VFD/VSD circuits, which are configured to direct power to the end of the VSD/VFD circuit for compressor/fan motors, where the VSD circuits include an inverters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the enclosure of the HVAC system of Pham as modified by providing a converter section disposed within the electrical enclosure, wherein the converter section comprises a rectifier and a direct current (DC) link, and the converter section is configured to direct power to the compressor VSD and the condenser fan VSD because each VSD/VFD circuit includes an inverter and each of the inverter of each of the VSD/VFD would also be within the electrical enclosure based on the combined teachings of Pham, Kopko and NPL1 in order to allow a consistent and stable flow of adjusted frequency, amplitude, current and/or voltage for each of the VSD drives of the compressor and the condenser fan.
However, Pham is silent about a second inverter.
Shen teaches a converter (converter, see page 2, paragraph 6); a first inverter of the compressor VSD (compressor VFD inverter at 42, see page 4, paragraph 5); and a second inverter of the fan VSD (condenser fan motor VFD inverter at 43, see page 4, paragraph 5), wherein the first inverter and the second inverter are each electrically coupled to the converter and are configured to receive power from the converter (rectifier circuit of the converter is connected to both the compressor and fan inverters, see page 4, paragraph 5 – page 5, paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified enclosure of the HVAC system of Pham by providing a converter disposed within the electrical enclosure; a first inverter of the compressor VSD; and a second inverter of the condenser fan VSD, wherein the first inverter and the second inverter are each electrically coupled to the converter and are configured to receive power from the converter based on the teachings of Shen in order to improve production efficiency and appearance of the air conditioner control box by keeping electrical components associated with different parts of the HVAC system, separate and organized (see page 2, paragraphs 1-2, Shen).
In regards to claim 11, Pham further teaches that the compressor VSD is configured to operate the compressor motor to drive operation of a compressor of the HVAC system (VFD 22 delivers voltage to compressor motor, see paragraphs 37-38), and the condenser fan VSD is configured to operate the condenser fan motor to drive operation of a condenser fan of the HVAC system (see control module 25 controlling the condenser fan motor, paragraph 74).
In regards to claim 12, Pham further teaches that the compressor motor (compressor motor) and the condenser fan motor (condenser fan motor), wherein the compressor motor and the condenser fan motor are positioned external to the electrical enclosure (see compressor 10 and condenser fan 13 outside the enclosure 20, see figs. 1).
In regards to claim 14, Pham as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13 and further discloses that the converter is a component of the compressor VSD (section within enclosure that contains converter circuit with rectifier, see paragraph 39).
In regards to claim 15, Pham further teaches power circuitry (at least power 18 and circuitry connecting the VFD and control module) configured to electrically couple a power source (18) to the compressor VSD and to the condenser fan VSD (see paragraph 37-39), wherein the power circuitry extends from the power source to the electrical enclosure (see figs. 1).
Claim(s) 16, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pham (US 2016/0061505 A1) and in view of Kopko (US 2011/0083454 A1) and further in view of the publication of Ross and Robert hereinafter referred to as NPL1 and Cools (US 2019/0113263 A1).
In regards to claim 16, Pham teaches a heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) system (HVAC system, see paragraph 33), comprising:
a refrigerant circuit (5, see figs. 1); a compressor (10) disposed along the refrigerant circuit and configured to pressurize a refrigerant flowing through the refrigerant circuit (see figs. 1 and paragraphs 34-35); a condenser (12) disposed along the refrigerant circuit (see figs. 1), wherein the condenser comprises a condenser fan (fan 13) configured to force an air flow across the condenser to cool the refrigerant flowing through the refrigerant circuit (see figs. 1 and paragraphs 34-35); a main drive line electrical enclosure (enclosure of controller 25, enclosure 20, enclosure of VFD 22), wherein the compressor and the condenser are positioned external to the main drive line electrical enclosure (see figs. 1); a compressor variable speed drive (VSD) disposed within the main drive line electrical enclosure (variable frequency drive VFD 22 within 20, where frequency is proportional and related to speed), wherein the compressor VSD is configured to operate a compressor motor to drive operation of the compressor to pressurize the refrigerant (VFD 22 delivers voltage to compressor motor, see paragraphs 37-38); a condenser fan control disposed within the main drive line electrical enclosure (VFD 22 with control module 25, within enclosure 20, and connected to fan 13, fig. 1B), wherein the condenser fan control is configured to operate a condenser fan motor to drive operation of the condenser fan to force the air flow across the condenser (see control module 25 controlling the condenser fan motor, paragraph 74), wherein a converter section disposed within the electrical enclosure (section within enclosure that contains converter circuit), wherein the converter section comprises a rectifier (rectifier, see paragraph 39) and a direct current (DC) link (AC-DC link, see paragraph 39).
However, Pham does not explicitly teach a separate drive for condenser fan.
Kopko teaches an HVAC system (HVAC system, see fig 4), comprising: a compressor variable speed drive (VSD) (variable speed drive VSD for compressor, see paragraph 42) and a condenser fan VSD (VSD 38 for condenser fan motor 36, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 31-32) disposed within the controls (see fig. 4), wherein the compressor VSD is configured to control operation of a compressor motor of the HVAC system (see paragraph 42), and the condenser fan VSD is configured to control operation of a condenser fan motor of the HVAC system (VSD 38 controls condenser fan 32, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 31-32).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the enclosure of the HVAC system of Pham by providing an additional condenser fan VSD that is configured to control operation of a condenser fan motor of the HVAC system based on the teachings of Kopko to the enclosure of Pham in order to independently control the condenser fan power supply and to improve production efficiency; improve appearance of the air conditioner control box by keeping electrical components associated with different parts of the HVAC system, separate and organized and provide better access for maintenance purposes.
In addition, Pham further discloses a converter section disposed within the electrical enclosure (section within enclosure that contains converter circuit), wherein the converter section is configured to receive electrical power form a power supply (18, paragraph 39); a first inverter of the compressor VSD (inverter, paragraph 36); and a inverting power for the condenser fan configured to receive second power from the converter section (see inverter, paragraph 36 and converter to invert DC current back to AC current, paragraph 39, where power from the power source 18 is inverted for compressor and fan, see paragraph 36-39); wherein the converter section comprises a rectifier (rectifier, see paragraph 39) and a direct current (DC) link (AC-DC link, see paragraph 39), and the converter section is configured to direct power to the compressor VSD and the condenser fan VSD (VFD includes power converting section to convert voltage, see paragraph 39, function of the rectifier, AC-DC converter, and IGBT transistors, includes converting and adjusting power from the power supply, see paragraph 39; therefore, the converter section of the VFD/VSD is configured to direct adjusted power to the VFD/VSD to supply to the compressor and the fan and the compressor and fan VFDs/VSDs, see paragraphs 36-37; Also see applicants disclosure paragraphs 39-40, for an explanation of adjusting power supply with rectifier and DC component within the VSD; In addition, see below annotated figure from NPL1 of most common VFD/VSD circuits, which are configured to direct power to the end of the VSD/VFD circuit for compressor/fan motors, where the VSD circuits include an inverters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the enclosure of the HVAC system of Pham as modified by providing a converter section disposed within the electrical enclosure, wherein the converter section comprises a rectifier and a direct current (DC) link, and the converter section is configured to direct power to the compressor VSD and the condenser fan VSD because each VSD/VFD circuit includes an inverter and each of the inverter of each of the VSD/VFD would also be within the electrical enclosure based on the combined teachings of Pham, Kopko and NPL1 in order to allow a consistent and stable flow of adjusted frequency, amplitude, current and/or voltage for each of the VSD drives of the compressor and the condenser fan.
However, Pham is silent about a second inverter.
Cools teaches first inverter for controlling the first VSD of the compressor and a second invert for controlling the second VSD of the condenser fan (see abstract and paragraphs 38-39), wherein the converter section is configured to receive electrical power form a power supply (see paragraph 37), the compressor VSD comprises a first inverter section, the condenser fan VSD comprises a second inverter section, and the converter section is configured to supply the electrical power to both the first inverter section and the second inverter section (see paragraphs 37-39 and abstract).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified power converter with the enclosure of the HVAC system of Pham as modified by providing a converter disposed within the electrical enclosure; a first inverter of the compressor VSD; and a second inverter of the condenser fan VSD, wherein the first inverter and the second inverter are each electrically coupled to the converter and the inverts controlling the first and second VSDs of the compressor and the condenser fan, respectively, wherein the converter section is configured to receive electrical power form a power supply, the compressor VSD comprises a first inverter section, the condenser fan VSD comprises a second inverter section, and the converter section is configured to supply the electrical power to both the first inverter section and the second inverter section based on the teachings of Cools in order to independently control the condenser fan power supply and to prevent the malfunction of one device such as the compressor from affecting the whole system (see paragraph 7, Cools).
In regards to claim 19, Pham further teaches a control system (control modules 100, 25) communicatively coupled to the compressor VSD and to the condenser VSD (see figs. 1 and 5), wherein the control system is configured to receive a user input indicating of a target operating parameter of the HVAC system (receiving system off period data from a user, see paragraph 64, where the off period belongs to air conditioning operation, see paragraph 63); and
configured to output a control signal to operate the compressor VSD, the condenser fan VSD, or both (see paragraph 37) base on the user input (output to the compressor device CCH based on user input, see paragraph 65).
In regards to claim 20, Pham further teaches that the control system (control modules 100, 25) is disposed external to the main drive line electrical enclosure (control module independent and external to the control module 25, see paragraph 48).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on the newly applied NPL1 reference, which was never applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 1/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument, "how the hypothetical modification of Pham would improve unmodified Pham," examiner points out that keeping the circuitry of each compressor and fan drive organized and separate would improve appearance and access for maintenance purposes. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument, "rejection of claim 13 includes identical reasoning as modification of Pham based on Kopko in claim 10," examiner points out that the rejection of claim 13 uses the motivation provided in the Shen reference (page 2, paragraphs 1-2, Shen) to teach the combination of Shen and Pham in the rejection of claim 13; however, the rejection of claim 10 does not use the Shen reference. In addition, claim 13 is now rejected over Pham in view of Kopko, NPL1 and Shen.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763