DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in reply to Applicant’s request for continued examination dated 02/13/2026. Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, 12, 16, 17, 25-34 were amended. Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, 12, 16, 17, 25-34 remains pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
A new reference Lee et al. (USPGPub 2020/0359276), Lee hereinafter is now used to teach the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, 12, 16, 17, 25-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (USPGPub 2020/0359276), Lee hereinafter. Li teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning.
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches a method of a secondary node in Dual Connectivity, comprising: (paragraphs 0107 to 0111)
receiving a request message, comprising an S-NODE ADDITION REQUEST or an S- NODE MODIFICATION REQUEST,from a master node of the Dual Connectivity; and (paragraphs 0107 to 0109 - discloses request from MN to SN - [0107] In step S808, the MN may decide to request the SN to allocate radio resources for a specific E-RAB, …)
transmitting an acknowledge message, comprising an S-NODE ADDITION REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE or an S-NODE MODIFICATION REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE, to the master node as a response to the request message, (paragraph 0111 - [0111] If the RRM entity in the SN is able to admit the resource request, it may allocate respective radio resources and, dependent on the bearer option, respective transport network resources. The SN may trigger Random Access so that synchronisation of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. For SCG bearers and SCG split bearers, ...). SUL stands for supplementary uplink.
wherein, based on a data radio bearer (DRB) having both master cell group (MCG) resource and secondary cell group (SCG) resource configured, (paragraph 0111 - [0111] If the RRM entity in the SN is able to admit the resource request, it may allocate respective radio resources and, dependent on the bearer option, respective transport network resources. The SN may trigger Random Access so that synchronisation of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. For SCG bearers and SCG split bearers, the SN may provide the new SCG radio resource configuration together with 51 DL TNL address information for the respective E-RAB and security algorithm, for MCG split bearers together with X2 DL TNL address information. For SCG split bearer, the SN may provide also X2 UL TNL address information for respective E-RAB and the radio configuration that does not exceed the QoS level signaled in step S802. ...). SUL is supplementary uplink.
Regarding Claim 2, Lee teaches claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein the UL configuration information is an information element indicating how a User Equipment (UE) uses an uplink of the master node. (paragraphs 0111 and 0114 to 0115 - … The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. ... [0114] In step S812, the MN may send to the UE the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the NR RRC configuration message, without modifying it. The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message may include the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier for the PSCell. [0115] In step S814, the UE may apply the new configuration and replies to MN with RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message ... )
Regarding Claim 6, Lee teaches a method of a master node in Dual Connectivity, comprising: (paragraphs 0107 to 0111)
transmitting a request message, comprising an S-NODE ADDITION REQUEST or an S- NODE MODIFICATION REQUEST,to a secondary node of the Dual Connectivity; and (paragraphs 0107 to 0109 - discloses request from MN to SN - [0107] In step S808, the MN may decide to request the SN to allocate radio resources for a specific E-RAB, …)
receiving an acknowledge message, comprising an S-NODE ADDITION REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE or an S-NODE MODIFICATION REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE from the secondary node as a response to the request message, (paragraph 0111 - [0111] If the RRM entity in the SN is able to admit the resource request, it may allocate respective radio resources and, dependent on the bearer option, respective transport network resources. The SN may trigger Random Access so that synchronisation of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. For SCG bearers and SCG split bearers, ...). SUL stands for supplementary uplink.
wherein, based on a data radio bearer (DRB) having both master cell group (MCG) resource and secondary cell group (SCG) resource configured, (paragraph 0111 - [0111] If the RRM entity in the SN is able to admit the resource request, it may allocate respective radio resources and, dependent on the bearer option, respective transport network resources. The SN may trigger Random Access so that synchronisation of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. For SCG bearers and SCG split bearers, the SN may provide the new SCG radio resource configuration together with 51 DL TNL address information for the respective E-RAB and security algorithm, for MCG split bearers together with X2 DL TNL address information. For SCG split bearer, the SN may provide also X2 UL TNL address information for respective E-RAB and the radio configuration that does not exceed the QoS level signaled in step S802. ...). SUL is supplementary uplink.
Regarding Claim 7, Lee teaches claim 6.
Lee further teaches wherein the UL configuration information is an information element indicating how a User Equipment (UE) uses an uplink of the master node. (paragraphs 0111 and 0114 to 0115 - … The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. ... [0114] In step S812, the MN may send to the UE the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the NR RRC configuration message, without modifying it. The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message may include the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier for the PSCell. [0115] In step S814, the UE may apply the new configuration and replies to MN with RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message ... )
Regarding Claim 11, Lee teaches a secondary node in Dual Connectivity, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to: (paragraphs 0107 to 0111)
receive a request message, comprising an S-NODE ADDITION REQUEST or S- NODE MODIFICATION REQUEST, from a master node of the Dual Connectivity; and (paragraphs 0107 to 0109 - discloses request from MN to SN - [0107] In step S808, the MN may decide to request the SN to allocate radio resources for a specific E-RAB, …)
transmit an acknowledge message, comprising an S-NODE ADDITION REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE or S-NODE MODIFICATION REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE to the master node as a response to the requestmessage, (paragraph 0111 - [0111] If the RRM entity in the SN is able to admit the resource request, it may allocate respective radio resources and, dependent on the bearer option, respective transport network resources. The SN may trigger Random Access so that synchronisation of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. For SCG bearers and SCG split bearers, ...). SUL stands for supplementary uplink.
wherein, based on a data radio bearer (DRB) has both master cell group(MCG) resource and secondary cell group (SCG) resource configured, (paragraph 0111 - [0111] If the RRM entity in the SN is able to admit the resource request, it may allocate respective radio resources and, dependent on the bearer option, respective transport network resources. The SN may trigger Random Access so that synchronisation of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. For SCG bearers and SCG split bearers, the SN may provide the new SCG radio resource configuration together with 51 DL TNL address information for the respective E-RAB and security algorithm, for MCG split bearers together with X2 DL TNL address information. For SCG split bearer, the SN may provide also X2 UL TNL address information for respective E-RAB and the radio configuration that does not exceed the QoS level signaled in step S802. ...). SUL is supplementary uplink.
Regarding Claim 12, Lee teaches claim 11.
Lee further teaches wherein the UL configuration information is an information element indicating how a User Equipment (UE) uses an uplink of the master node. (paragraphs 0111 and 0114 to 0115 - … The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. ... [0114] In step S812, the MN may send to the UE the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the NR RRC configuration message, without modifying it. The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message may include the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier for the PSCell. [0115] In step S814, the UE may apply the new configuration and replies to MN with RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message ... )
Regarding Claim 16, Lee teaches a master node in Dual Connectivity, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to: (paragraphs 0107 to 0111 discloses MN to SN communication. Paragraph 0149 to 0150 discloses configuration, memory and processor on MN and SN)
transmit a request message, comprising an S-NODE ADDITION REQUEST oran S-NODE MODIFICATION REQUESTSo a secondary node of the Dual Connectivity; and (paragraphs 0107 to 0109 - discloses request from MN to SN - [0107] In step S808, the MN may decide to request the SN to allocate radio resources for a specific E-RAB, …)
receive an acknowledge message, comprising an S-NODE ADDITION REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE or an S-NODE MODIFICATION REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE from the secondary node as a response to the request message, (paragraph 0111 - [0111] If the RRM entity in the SN is able to admit the resource request, it may allocate respective radio resources and, dependent on the bearer option, respective transport network resources. The SN may trigger Random Access so that synchronisation of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. For SCG bearers and SCG split bearers, ...). SUL stands for supplementary uplink.
wherein, based on a data radio bearer (DRB) aving both master cell group (MCG) resource and secondary cell group (SCG) resource configured, (paragraph 0111 - [0111] If the RRM entity in the SN is able to admit the resource request, it may allocate respective radio resources and, dependent on the bearer option, respective transport network resources. The SN may trigger Random Access so that synchronisation of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. For SCG bearers and SCG split bearers, the SN may provide the new SCG radio resource configuration together with 51 DL TNL address information for the respective E-RAB and security algorithm, for MCG split bearers together with X2 DL TNL address information. For SCG split bearer, the SN may provide also X2 UL TNL address information for respective E-RAB and the radio configuration that does not exceed the QoS level signaled in step S802. ...). SUL is supplementary uplink.
Regarding Claim 17, Lee teaches claim 16.
Lee further teaches wherein the UL configuration information is an information element indicating how a User Equipment (UE) uses an uplink of the master node. (paragraphs 0111 and 0114 to 0115 - … The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. ... [0114] In step S812, the MN may send to the UE the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the NR RRC configuration message, without modifying it. The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message may include the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier for the PSCell. [0115] In step S814, the UE may apply the new configuration and replies to MN with RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message ... )
Regarding Claim 25, Lee teaches a user Equipment (UE) comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (paragraph 0138 discloses configuration, memory and processor for the UE)
and configured to communicate with a master node and a secondary node in Dual Connectivity, (paragraphs 0107 to 0109 - discloses request from MN to SN - [0107] In step S808, the MN may decide to request the SN to allocate radio resources for a specific E-RAB, …)
wherein the secondary node is configured to: receive a request message, comprising an S-NODE ADDITION REQUEST or an S-NODE MODIFICATION REQUESTS from a master node of the Dual Connectivity; and (paragraph 0111 - [0111] If the RRM entity in the SN is able to admit the resource request, it may allocate respective radio resources and, dependent on the bearer option, respective transport network resources. The SN may trigger Random Access so that synchronisation of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. For SCG bearers and SCG split bearers, ...). SUL stands for supplementary uplink.
transmit an acknowledgement message, comprising an S-NODE ADDITION REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE or S-NODE MODIFICATION REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE to the master node as a response to the request message, (paragraph 0111 - [0111] If the RRM entity in the SN is able to admit the resource request, it may allocate respective radio resources and, dependent on the bearer option, respective transport network resources. The SN may trigger Random Access so that synchronisation of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. For SCG bearers and SCG split bearers, ...). SUL stands for supplementary uplink.
wherein, based on a data radio bearer (DRB) having both master cell group (MCG) resource and secondary cell group (SCG) resource configured, (paragraph 0111 - [0111] If the RRM entity in the SN is able to admit the resource request, it may allocate respective radio resources and, dependent on the bearer option, respective transport network resources. The SN may trigger Random Access so that synchronisation of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. For SCG bearers and SCG split bearers, the SN may provide the new SCG radio resource configuration together with 51 DL TNL address information for the respective E-RAB and security algorithm, for MCG split bearers together with X2 DL TNL address information. For SCG split bearer, the SN may provide also X2 UL TNL address information for respective E-RAB and the radio configuration that does not exceed the QoS level signaled in step S802. ...). SUL is supplementary uplink.
Regarding Claim 26, Lee teaches claim 25.
Lee further teaches wherein the UL configuration information is an information element indicating how a UE uses an uplink of the master node (paragraphs 0111 and 0114 to 0115 - … The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. ... [0114] In step S812, the MN may send to the UE the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the NR RRC configuration message, without modifying it. The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message may include the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier for the PSCell. [0115] In step S814, the UE may apply the new configuration and replies to MN with RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message ... ).
Regarding Claim 27, Lee teaches a method of a user Equipment (UE), comprising: (paragraph 0138 discloses configuration, memory and processor for the UE)
communicating with a master node and a secondary node in Dual Connectivity, (paragraphs 0107 to 0109 - discloses request from MN to SN - [0107] In step S808, the MN may decide to request the SN to allocate radio resources for a specific E-RAB, …)
wherein the secondary node: receives a request message, comprising an S-NODE ADDITION REQUEST or an S-NODE MODIFICATION REQUEST from a master node of the Dual Connectivity; and (paragraph 0111 - [0111] If the RRM entity in the SN is able to admit the resource request, it may allocate respective radio resources and, dependent on the bearer option, respective transport network resources. The SN may trigger Random Access so that synchronisation of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. For SCG bearers and SCG split bearers, ...). SUL stands for supplementary uplink.
transmits an acknowledge message, comprising an S-NODE ADDITION REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE or an S-NODE MODIFICATION REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE to the master node as a response to the request message, (paragraph 0111 - [0111] If the RRM entity in the SN is able to admit the resource request, it may allocate respective radio resources and, dependent on the bearer option, respective transport network resources. The SN may trigger Random Access so that synchronisation of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. For SCG bearers and SCG split bearers, ...). SUL stands for supplementary uplink.
wherein, based on a data radio bearer (DRB) has both master cell group (MCG) resource and secondary cell group (SCG) resource configured, the acknowledge message comprises uplink (UL) configuration information (paragraph 0111 - [0111] If the RRM entity in the SN is able to admit the resource request, it may allocate respective radio resources and, dependent on the bearer option, respective transport network resources. The SN may trigger Random Access so that synchronisation of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. For SCG bearers and SCG split bearers, the SN may provide the new SCG radio resource configuration together with 51 DL TNL address information for the respective E-RAB and security algorithm, for MCG split bearers together with X2 DL TNL address information. For SCG split bearer, the SN may provide also X2 UL TNL address information for respective E-RAB and the radio configuration that does not exceed the QoS level signaled in step S802. ...). SUL is supplementary uplink.
Regarding Claim 28, Lee teaches claim 27.
Lee further teaches wherein the UL configuration information is an information element indicating how a User Equipment (UE) uses an uplink of the master node. (paragraphs 0111 and 0114 to 0115 - … The SN may decide the PScell, other SCG Scells and a RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier, and provide the new SCG radio resource configuration including the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. ... [0114] In step S812, the MN may send to the UE the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the NR RRC configuration message, without modifying it. The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message may include the selected SUL carrier and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier for the PSCell. [0115] In step S814, the UE may apply the new configuration and replies to MN with RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message ... )
Regarding Claim 29, Lee teaches claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein the UL configuration information is an information element associated with the DRB (paragraph 0111 - ... The SN may decide ... and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. For SCG bearers and SCG split bearers, the SN may provide the new SCG radio resource configuration together with 51 DL TNL address information for the respective E-RAB and security algorithm, for MCG split bearers together with X2 DL TNL address information. For SCG split bearer, the SN may provide also X2 UL TNL address information for respective E-RAB and the radio configuration that does not exceed the QoS level signaled in step S802).
Regarding Claim 30, Lee teaches claim 6.
Lee further teaches wherein the UL configuration information is an information element associated with the DRB (paragraph 0111 - ... The SN may decide ... and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. For SCG bearers and SCG split bearers, the SN may provide the new SCG radio resource configuration together with 51 DL TNL address information for the respective E-RAB and security algorithm, for MCG split bearers together with X2 DL TNL address information. For SCG split bearer, the SN may provide also X2 UL TNL address information for respective E-RAB and the radio configuration that does not exceed the QoS level signaled in step S802).
Regarding Claim 31, Lee teaches claim 27.
Lee further teaches wherein the UL configuration information is an information element associated with the DRB. (paragraph 0111 - ... The SN may decide ... and the RACH configuration of the selected SUL carrier to the MN in a NR RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. For SCG bearers and SCG split bearers, the SN may provide the new SCG radio resource configuration together with 51 DL TNL address information for the respective E-RAB and security algorithm, for MCG split bearers together with X2 DL TNL address information. For SCG split bearer, the SN may provide also X2 UL TNL address information for respective E-RAB and the radio configuration that does not exceed the QoS level signaled in step S802.
Regarding Claim 32, Lee teaches claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein the DRB is configured as a DRB terminated at the secondary node. (fig. 5. shows the random access procedure which is part of the uplink configuration of SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message terminating between the UE and the SN)
Regarding Claim 33, Lee teaches claim 6.
Lee further teaches wherein the DRB is configured as a DRB terminated at the secondary node (fig. 5. shows the random access procedure which is part of the uplink configuration of SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message terminating between the UE and the SN).
Regarding Claim 34, Lee teaches claim 27.
Lee further teaches wherein the DRB is configured as a DRB terminated at the secondary node. (fig. 5. shows the random access procedure which is part of the uplink configuration of SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message terminating between the UE and the SN)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPUB 2022/0141904 which describes a master node, a secondary node, a user equipment and methods therein for handling of a secondary cell group (scg) (paragraphs 0055 to 0059 describes SN addition request acknowledge message).
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472