DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: 3. As a note, to rectify this, “3” in FIG. 4 should likely be replaced with --1--.
The drawings are further objected to because there does not appear to be a difference between Figs. 5A and 5B. (See related Specification objection below.)
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: there are not separate descriptions of what is shown in FIG. 5A versus what is shown in FIG. 5B. Similarly, there are several references to “FIG. 5” yet there is no FIG. 5. (See related Drawing objection above.) Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8 and 9 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thanu et al. (US 10,090,188 B2) (“Thanu”).
Referring to claims 1 and 9: Thanu teaches a substrate conveying robot comprising:
a substrate holding hand 208, 202, 210; and
an arm 204 to move the substrate holding hand (column 4, lines 11-20); wherein the substrate holding hand includes:
a frame 208;
a blade 202 to support a substrate (column 4, lines 36-46);
a mounting member 210 to support the blade and mount the blade to the frame (FIG. 2B); and
an inclination adjusting mechanism operable to adjust an inclination of the blade with respect to a horizontal direction in a side view by adjusting an inclination of the mounting member with respect to the frame (Figs. 2D-2F).
Referring to claim 2: Thanu teaches the inclination adjusting mechanism includes an inclination adjusting pin 218; and
the inclination adjusting pin is inserted into the mounting member, supports the mounting member such that the mounting member is rotatable about a predetermined rotation axis extending in a lateral direction perpendicular to a forward-rearward direction in which the frame and the blade are aligned in the horizontal direction, and extends in the lateral direction (Figs. 2B-2F).
Referring to claim 4: Thanu teaches the inclination adjusting pin is supported by the frame and protrudes from a [bottom] side of the frame so as to be inserted into the mounting member (FIG. 2B).
Referring to claim 6: Thanu teaches the blade includes a plurality of blades (FIG. 4) each to support the substrate;
the mounting member supports the plurality of blades in common; and
the inclination adjusting mechanism is operable to collectively adjust inclinations of the plurality of blades with respect to the horizontal direction in the side view by adjusting the inclination of the mounting member with respect to the frame (column 7, lines 37-65).
Referring to claim 7: Thanu teaches the plurality of blades are aligned at a predetermined pitch in a direction perpendicular to main surfaces of the blades; and
the inclination adjusting mechanism is operable to collectively adjust the inclinations of the plurality of blades with respect to the horizontal direction in the side view while maintaining the pitch between the plurality of blades in the direction perpendicular to the main surfaces of the blades (column 7, lines 37-65; FIG. 4).
Referring to claim 8: Thanu teaches the mounting member is laterally attached to a side surface of the frame (FIG. 2B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. GOTO et al. (US 2018/0104827 A1) teaches a substrate conveying system comprising multiple blades 7, 8. Kobayashi et al. (US 6,216,883 B1) also teaches a wafer holding system comprising multiple blades (FIG. 3).
/Catherine Loikith/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
16 April 2026