DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Note that Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application JP2020149312, and more specifically the filing date of said application, to overcome any rejection herein because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
However, note that even with the filing of a translation, Ogasawara can still be applied as it names another invention and its priority date of March 6, 2019 precedes Applicants’ foreign priority date of September 4, 2020.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on November 11, 2025 disclaiming over US Patent No. 11,807,568 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 21, 2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Specifically, claim 1, as well as claims 3-7 which depend therefrom, recite a content of Al2O3 being 10.75% or more but the specification as originally filed does not provide adequate support for the entirety of this range.
In contrast, in reviewing the specification, every mention of Al2O3, the content limits are discussed as being 5% or more to less than 15% which not only does not support unlimited amounts of Al2O3 above 10.75% as is encompassed by the presently claimed open ended range but specifically does not encompass any values above 15%. Also, note for the record that Applicants’ comparative Example 1 which Applicants indicate as not in scope with their invention has an Al2O3 content of 18%. As such, it is clear that the scope of the invention as originally disclosed does not appear to encompass values of 15% or above let alone the unlimited entirety of the claimed range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as being anticipated by Ogasawara (WO2020179872, rejection using corresponding English document US11,807,568).
Regarding claims 1-7: 568 teaches crystallized glass (inorganic composition article) containing an alpha cristobalite or alpha cristobalite solid solution as a main crystal phase (abstract) and comprises a composition meeting that claimed (see Examples 7-9, 11-15, 17-20, 21-24, 26-28 for instance).
Regarding the claimed coloring degree and hardness properties, as shown above ‘568’s composition meets that of Applicants. Additionally, Applicants disclose that their article can be formed by the following 2-stage method (spec par 0036-0037).
Temperature (oC)
Duration (min)
1st stage
450-750, 500-720 or even 550-680
30-2000min or even 180-1440min
2nd stage
550-850 or even 600-800
30-600min or even 60-400min
568’ similarly discloses their article being formed by a 2-stage method shown below (see Col. 7, lines 4-14 and Examples 7-9, 11-15, 17-20, 21-24, 26-28).
Temperature (oC)
Duration (min)
1st stage
450-750, 500-720 or even 550-680
30-2000min or even 180-1440min
2nd stage
600-800
30-600min or even 60-400min
Given the similarities, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same properties to result (MPEP 2112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (USPub20080248316).
Regarding claims 1-7: Goto teaches a crystallized glass (inorganic composition article) which can include alpha cristobalite solid solution as a main crystal phase (see Goto claim 2) and comprise the following in mass% (see Goto claims 9-10) overlapping with that claimed providing a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
.
SiO2
50-90
Li2O
4-15
Al2O3
2-20
ZrO2
0-10
K2O
0-3
P2O5
0-3
Na2O
0-2
MgO
0-3
CaO
0-7
SrO
0-7
BaO
0-7
ZnO
0-10
Sb2O3
0-2
TiO2
0-5
Note that Goto does not disclose the presence of B2O3, Nb2O5 or Ta2O5 which thereby corresponds to 0% of these oxides meeting the ranges of claims 2 and 6.
Regarding the claimed coloring degree and hardness properties, as shown above Goto’s composition overlaps with Applicants. Additionally, Applicants disclose that their article can be formed by the following 2-stage method (spec par 0036-0037).
Temperature (oC)
Duration (min)
1st stage
450-750, 500-720 or even 550-680
30-2000min or even 180-1440min
2nd stage
550-850 or even 600-800
30-600min or even 60-400min
Goto similarly discloses their article being formed by a 2-stage method shown below (0064, 0126).
Temperature (oC)
Duration (hr)
1st stage
450-620, or even 520-620
1-20hr (i.e. 60-1,200min)
2nd stage
620-800
0.5-10hrs (i.e. 30-600min)
Given the similarities with the composition and method, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same properties to result (MPEP 2112).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/994649 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 18/024490 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/713168 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/834606 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 17/735055 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 19/114540 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 19/144511 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed November 11, 2025 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAUREN ROBINSON COLGAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/LAUREN R COLGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784