DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 17, 18, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda (US 20180286741 A1) in view of Sato (JP 2006120861 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Ueda teaches:
A robot (2) that transfers a workpiece (51), the robot comprising:
an arm (21 & 22);
a hand (23 & 24 & 25 & 26) that is installed to the arm (Fig. 1), the hand including a front side and a back side, and the hand holds the workpiece on a top side of the hand and transfers the workpiece (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5);
a tilter (33) that tilts an orientation of the hand tilter [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046]; and
a hand orientation controller configured to control the tilter [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046] to
tilt the orientation of the hand when an acceleration is produced in the hand during a process of holding and transferring the workpiece by the hand so that the back side, with respect to a direction of a horizontal component of the acceleration, is higher than the front side (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046], and
tilt the orientation of the hand to absorb a centrifugal force when the hand transfers the workpiece at a constant speed along a curved path (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046].
Ueda does not teach:
the tilter installed between the arm and the hand and tilts the orientation of the hand relative to the arm without tilting an orientation of the arm.
Sato teaches:
A robot (1) that transfers a workpiece [0002 & 0003 & 0004], the robot comprising:
an arm (6);
a hand (8) that is installed to the arm (Fig. 1), the hand including a front side and a back side (Fig. 1), and the hand holds the workpiece on a top side of the hand and transfers the workpiece [0002 & 0003 & 0004];
a tilter (2) installed between the arm and the hand (Fig. 1) tilts an orientation of the hand relative to the arm without tilting an orientation of the arm (Fig. 1) [0009 & 0011]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the workpiece transfer robot with a hand for carrying the workpiece movably supported by an arm with a tilter for tilting the orientation of the hand for counteracting acceleration of the hand to prevent movement of the workpiece due to acceleration taught by Ueda with the workpiece transfer robot with a hand for carrying the workpiece movably supported by an arm with a tilter installed between the arm and the hand, the tilter tilts an orientation of the hand relative to the arm without tilting an orientation of the arm taught by Sato in order to provide an inertial compensation device for motion compensation which does not add additional stress on the arm by isolating the tilting motion to the hand.
Regarding Claim 2, Ueda teaches:
the hand orientation controller controls the tilter to increase a tilt of the orientation of the hand when the horizontal component of the acceleration produced in the hand is increased (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046], and
the hand orientation controller controls the tilter to decrease the tilt of the orientation of the hand when the horizontal component of the acceleration produced in the hand is decreased (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046].
Regarding Claim 3, Ueda teaches:
when the workpiece is transferred from a first point to a second point different from the first point in a plan view (Fig. 2 & Fig. 5):
the hand orientation controller controls the tilter to tilt the orientation of the hand so that the back side of the hand with respect to a direction of transfer becomes higher than the front side at a moment immediately after the hand starts transferring the workpiece from the first point (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046], and
the hand orientation controller controls the tilter to tilt the orientation of the hand so that the front side of the hand with respect to the direction of transfer becomes higher than the back side at a moment immediately before the workpiece reaches the second point (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046].
Regarding Claim 4, Ueda teaches:
the hand acts only on a bottom surface of the workpiece to hold the workpiece on the top side of the hand (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 5, Ueda teaches:
A workpiece transfer method for a robot (2) that transfers a workpiece (51), the robot including an arm (21 & 22), a hand (23 & 24 & 25 & 26) installed to the arm (Fig. 1), and a tilter (33) that tilts an orientation of the hand (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046], the hand including a front side and a back side Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5), and the hand holding the workpiece on a top side of the hand and transferring the workpiece Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5), the workpiece transfer method comprising:
tilting the orientation of the hand when an acceleration is produced in the hand during a process of holding and transferring the workpiece by the hand so that the back side, with respect to a direction of a horizontal component of the acceleration, is higher than the front side (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046], and
tilting the orientation of the hand to absorb a centrifugal force when the hand transfers the workpiece at a constant speed along a curved path (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046].
Ueda does not teach:
the tilter installed between the arm and the hand and tilts the orientation of the hand relative to the arm without tilting an orientation of the arm.
Sato teaches:
A robot (1) that transfers a workpiece [0002 & 0003 & 0004], the robot comprising:
an arm (6);
a hand (8) that is installed to the arm (Fig. 1), the hand including a front side and a back side (Fig. 1), and the hand holds the workpiece on a top side of the hand and transfers the workpiece [0002 & 0003 & 0004];
a tilter (2) installed between the arm and the hand (Fig. 1) tilts an orientation of the hand relative to the arm without tilting an orientation of the arm (Fig. 1) [0009 & 0011]
arm (Fig. 1) [0009 & 0011]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the workpiece transfer robot with a hand for carrying the workpiece movably supported by an arm with a tilter for tilting the orientation of the hand for counteracting acceleration of the hand to prevent movement of the workpiece due to acceleration taught by Ueda with the workpiece transfer robot with a hand for carrying the workpiece movably supported by an arm with a tilter installed between the arm and the hand, the tilter tilts an orientation of the hand relative to the arm without tilting an orientation of the arm taught by Sato in order to provide an inertial compensation device for motion compensation which does not add additional stress on the arm by isolating the tilting motion to the hand.
Regarding Claim 6, Ueda teaches:
A robot (2) that transfers a workpiece (51), comprising:
an arm (21 & 22);
a hand (23 & 24 & 25 & 26) that is installed to the arm (Fig. 1), the hand including a front side and a back side, and the hand holds the workpiece on a top side of the hand and transfers the workpiece (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5);
a tilter (33) that tilts an orientation of the hand [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046]; and
a hand orientation controller configured to control the tilter to tilt the orientation of the hand when an acceleration is produced in the hand during a process of holding and transferring the workpiece by the hand so that the front side, with respect to a direction of a horizontal component of the acceleration, is higher than the back side (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046]; and
tilt the orientation of the hand to absorb a centrifugal force when the hand transfers the workpiece at a constant speed along a curved path (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046].
Ueda does not teach:
the tilter installed between the arm and the hand and tilts the orientation of the hand relative to the arm without tilting an orientation of the arm.
Sato teaches:
A robot (1) that transfers a workpiece [0002 & 0003 & 0004], the robot comprising:
an arm (6);
a hand (8) that is installed to the arm (Fig. 1), the hand including a front side and a back side (Fig. 1), and the hand holds the workpiece on a top side of the hand and transfers the workpiece [0002 & 0003 & 0004];
a tilter (2) installed between the arm and the hand (Fig. 1) tilts an orientation of the hand relative to the arm without tilting an orientation of the arm (Fig. 1) [0009 & 0011]
arm (Fig. 1) [0009 & 0011]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the workpiece transfer robot with a hand for carrying the workpiece movably supported by an arm with a tilter for tilting the orientation of the hand for counteracting acceleration of the hand to prevent movement of the workpiece due to acceleration taught by Ueda with the workpiece transfer robot with a hand for carrying the workpiece movably supported by an arm with a tilter installed between the arm and the hand, the tilter tilts an orientation of the hand relative to the arm without tilting an orientation of the arm taught by Sato in order to provide an inertial compensation device for motion compensation which does not add additional stress on the arm by isolating the tilting motion to the hand.
Regarding Claim 7, Ueda teaches:
A workpiece transfer method for a robot (2) that transfers a workpiece (51), the robot including an arm (21 & 22), a hand (23 & 24 & 25 & 26) installed to the arm (Fig. 1), and a tilter (33) that tilts an orientation of the hand (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046], the hand including a front side and a back side Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5), and the hand holding the workpiece on a top side of the hand and transferring the workpiece Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5), the workpiece transfer method comprising:
tilting the orientation of the hand when an acceleration is produced in the hand during a process of holding and transferring the workpiece by the hand so that the front side, with respect to a direction of a horizontal component of the acceleration, is higher than the back side (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046]; and
tilting the orientation of the hand to absorb a centrifugal force when the hand transfers the workpiece at a constant speed along a curved path (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [0027 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046].
Ueda does not teach:
the tilter installed between the arm and the hand and tilts the orientation of the hand relative to the arm without tilting an orientation of the arm.
Sato teaches:
A robot (1) that transfers a workpiece [0002 & 0003 & 0004], the robot comprising:
an arm (6);
a hand (8) that is installed to the arm (Fig. 1), the hand including a front side and a back side (Fig. 1), and the hand holds the workpiece on a top side of the hand and transfers the workpiece [0002 & 0003 & 0004];
a tilter (2) installed between the arm and the hand (Fig. 1) tilts an orientation of the hand relative to the arm without tilting an orientation of the arm (Fig. 1) [0009 & 0011]
arm (Fig. 1) [0009 & 0011]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the workpiece transfer robot with a hand for carrying the workpiece movably supported by an arm with a tilter for tilting the orientation of the hand for counteracting acceleration of the hand to prevent movement of the workpiece due to acceleration taught by Ueda with the workpiece transfer robot with a hand for carrying the workpiece movably supported by an arm with a tilter installed between the arm and the hand, the tilter tilts an orientation of the hand relative to the arm without tilting an orientation of the arm taught by Sato in order to provide an inertial compensation device for motion compensation which does not add additional stress on the arm by isolating the tilting motion to the hand.
Regarding Claim 8, Ueda teaches:
the hand acts only on a bottom surface of the workpiece via one or more guide members to hold the workpiece on the top side of the hand (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 9, Ueda does not teach:
the guide members comprise rubber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide guide members manufactured of rubber in order to provide a support structure for supporting substrates that provides an increased coefficient of friction and resilient surface with a low hardness to increase a gripping force between the hand and the substrate while preventing damage to the substrate due to engagement between the hand and the substrate since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that guide members for substrate transfer hands made of rubber were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 10, Ueda teaches:
the hand comprises a hand body comprising a first finger and a second finger defining a distal portion thereof (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Ueda teaches:
the arm is a horizontal articulated robot arm (Fig. 2 & Fig. 5) comprising a first arm (21) and a second arm (22), the hand being installed to the second arm (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 14, Ueda teaches:
the tilter comprises a bottom plate (33) fixed relative to the arm (Fig. 2), a top plate (24) supporting the hand, and a height adjuster (23) located between the bottom plate and the top plate configured to adjust an angle and direction of tilt of the top plate relative to the bottom plate (Fig. 3A & Fig. 3B & Fig. 3C & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 17, Ueda does not teach:
the hand orientation controller acquires a coefficient of friction associated with the workpiece and adjusts an amount of tilt based on the coefficient of friction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a hand orientation controller which acquires a coefficient of friction associated with the workpiece and adjusts an amount of tilt based on the coefficient of friction in order to prevent accidental dislodging of the substrate due to a mis-calculation of static friction resulting in movement of the substrate since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that static friction data being relied on by controllers to limit lateral forces on a substrate being transferred were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 18, Ueda teaches:
the workpiece is a semiconductor wafer or a printed circuit board [0032].
Regarding Claim 19, Ueda discloses:
the hand comprises a wrist, and the tilter is installed between the arm and the wrist (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 20, Ueda teaches:
the hand orientation controller comprises a processor and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor to perform the tilting operations [0045 & 0069].
Claim(s) 12, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda (US 20180286741 A1) in view of Sato (JP 2006120861 A) as applied to Claims 11 and 14 above, further in view of Genov et al. (US 6489741 B1).
Regarding Claim 12, Ueda does not teach:
a lifting shaft installed between a base and the first arm, the lifting shaft configured to move the arm in a vertical direction.
Genov teaches:
A robot (Fig. 8) that transfers a workpiece (31), the robot comprising:
an arm (34);
a hand (47) that is installed to the arm (Fig. 8), the hand including a front side and a back side (Fig. 5 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8), and the hand holds the workpiece on a top side of the hand and transfers the workpiece (Fig. 5 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8);
a tilter (15 & 17 & 19 & 37 & 38 & 39 & 40 & 41 & 42 & 43) that tilts an orientation of the hand (6A & 6B & Fig. 5 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 9) [Column 4 Lines 35-67 & Column 4 Lines 1-40 & Column 6 Lines 6-67]; and
a hand orientation controller (45) configured to control the tilter [Column 4 Lines 35-61 & Column 5 Lines 41-67] to tilt the orientation of the hand so that the back side is higher than the front side (Fig. 9) [Column 4 Lines 35-67 & Column 4 Lines 1-40 & Column 6 Lines 6-67],
tilt the orientation of the hand when the hand transfers the workpiece (6A & 6B & Fig. 5 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 9) [Column 4 Lines 35-67 & Column 4 Lines 1-40 & Column 6 Lines 6-67];
the arm is a horizontal articulated robot arm comprising a first arm and a second arm (Fig. 8 & Fig. 9), the hand being installed to the arm (Fig. 8 & Fig. 9); and
a lifting shaft (37) installed between a base and the first arm (Fig. 8), the lifting shaft configured to move the arm in a vertical direction (Fig. 5 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate transfer apparatus having a hand orientation mechanism for tilting the hand while moving with a carried substrate taught by Ueda with the substrate transfer apparatus having a hand orientation mechanism for tilting the hand while moving with a carried substrate having a lifting shaft installed between a base and the first arm, the lifting shaft configured to move the arm in a vertical direction taught by Genov in order to provide a substrate transfer mechanism having increased vertical transfer range in order to increase the operating utility of the transfer mechanism.
Regarding Claim 15, Ueda does not teach:
the height adjuster comprises at least three supports arranged at different positions between the bottom plate and the top plate, wherein heights of at least two of the supports are independently adjustable.
Genov teaches:
the height adjuster comprises at least three supports arranged at different positions between the bottom plate and the top plate, wherein heights of at least two of the supports are independently adjustable (Fig. 5 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8 & Fig. 9) [Column 4 Lines 35-61].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate transfer apparatus having a hand orientation mechanism for tilting the hand while moving with a carried substrate taught by Ueda with the substrate transfer apparatus having a hand orientation mechanism for tilting the hand while moving with a carried substrate having a lifting shaft installed between a base and the first arm, the lifting shaft configured to move the arm in a vertical direction, the height adjuster comprises at least three supports arranged at different positions between the bottom plate and the top plate, wherein heights of at least two of the supports are independently adjustable taught by Genov in order to provide a substrate transfer mechanism having increased vertical transfer range in order to increase the operating utility of the transfer mechanism.
Regarding Claim 16, Ueda teaches:
a spherical bearing located between the height adjuster and the top plate.
Ueda does not teach:
a spherical bearing located between the height adjuster and the top plate.
Genov teaches:
a spherical bearing located between the height adjuster and the top plate [Column 7 Lines 8-9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate transfer apparatus having a hand orientation mechanism for tilting the hand while moving with a carried substrate taught by Ueda with the substrate transfer apparatus having a hand orientation mechanism for tilting the hand while moving with a carried substrate having a lifting shaft installed between a base and the first arm, the lifting shaft configured to move the arm in a vertical direction, the height adjuster comprises at least three supports arranged at different positions between the bottom plate and the top plate, wherein heights of at least two of the supports are independently adjustable, a spherical bearing located between the height adjuster and the top plate taught by Genov in order to provide a substrate transfer mechanism having increased vertical transfer range in order to increase the operating utility of the transfer mechanism.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-12 and 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publication US 20210253365 A1 has been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: workpiece transfer robot arms having hand for supporting the workpiece which is tiltable relative to the arm.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652