DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner appreciates the following assertions by Applicants’ in the last paragraph of page 20 and the first paragraph of page 21 of Applicants’ remarks-As discussed during the interview, even if LaPrade, Chong, and Lucia were combined, those references merely indicate satellite communication systems and information processing performed on satellites. However, the combination of those references fails to recognize the problem of continuously performing high-heat generating computation (e.g., AI processing) in outer space. Mounting high-load computational devices (i.e., AI processors) on lower-earth orbit satellites direction introduces a risk of catastrophic system failure due to thermal runaway. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would rather avoid such an implementation absent a thermal management solution. Chong uses sun-synchronous orbits merely from the standpoint of observation conditions and does not discuss thermal design, LaPrade does not contemplate high-load computation, and Lucia focuses on communication architecture and does not disclose integration with thermal design. As a result, these references provide no motivation to integrally design (1) orbital selection, (2) power generation, and (3) heat dissipation. Consequently, the cited references provide no motivation or suggestion to intentionally install high-load computational devices, and instead present a technical teaching away from such a system.- and Applicants’ assertions in the second and third paragraphs of page 22- As discussed during the interview, Gernert merely indicates deployable panel structures and heat transport using heat pipes. In contrast, an embodiment of Claim 37 is directed to a fixed and geometric relationship between the sunlight-incident surface and the heat dissipation surface, and maximization of radiative cooling by utilizing that relationship. Whereas Gernert merely indicates active or auxiliary devices for transferring heat with a satellite (e.g., heat pipes), an embodiment of Claim 37 is directed to a passive and highly efficient heat dissipation design in which the orbital geometric relationship itself (i.e., one side always in shadow and the other always sunlit) is incorporated as a part of the cooling infrastructure. In other words, while Gernert is directed to "moving heat internally," the claimed invention is directed to "directly dissipating heat through a geometric relationship with outer space," and the underlying technical concepts are fundamentally different. In addition, as discussed during the interview, feasibility of a satellite constellation providing AI processing (i.e., a Space Data Center) was not predictable based on the cited references. Features such as continuous operation while preventing thermal runaway of high-heat-generating AI computing devices, maintaining system stability even while simultaneously performing computation processing and communication processing, and enabling a practical data processing infrastructure in outer space (i.e., a Space Data Center). These effects are not achieved by a mere aggregation of components, but are realized for the first time through the unique design philosophy of the present invention-Chong, which also teaches satellite constellations, teaches a satellite including at least one of a computing machine or a super computer (Section 0095, processor subsystem), solar cell is oriented to a sunlight incident side (Section 0095, the solar panel will be oriented to a sunlight incident side in order to receive the sunlight) and a communication device that allows communication between satellites flying in front and behind in a same orbital plane is provided to form an annular communication network (Section 0075) enable a satellite to communicate with satellites flying in front and behind in a same orbital plane). Lucia, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches the computing machine or the super computer having AI (Artificial Intelligence) (Section 0056), and a cloud server or an edge server, as an information processing device (Section 0006). Gernert, which also teaches use of satellites, teaches a heat dissipation surface of the information processing device is provided on an opposite side of sunlight incidence (Section 0082, in order for heat dissipation of the heat caused by the sunlight incidence at the solar panel to occur the heat dissipation panels would need on the opposite side of the solar panels). There is also motivation to combine Chong, Lucia, and Gernert with LaPrade. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LaPrade with the above features of Chong for the purpose of enabling continuous communication services as taught Chong. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LaPrade in view of Chong with the above features of Lucia for the purpose of providing a system architecture that permits large constellations of satellites with less reliance on communication with ground stations as taught by Lucia. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the LaPrade in view of Chong in view of Lucia with the above features of Gernert for the purpose of mitigating the heat onboard the satellite as taught by Gernert. Claim 37 as it is currently written does not “recognize the problem of continuously performing high-heat generating computation (e.g., AI processing) in outer space. Mounting high-load computational devices (i.e., AI processors) on lower-earth orbit satellites direction introduces a risk of catastrophic system failure due to thermal runaway”. Claim 37 as it is currently written also does not provide any claim language that specifically indicates that the claimed invention is directed to "directly dissipating heat through a geometric relationship with outer space," and does not provide any claim language that show that “the underlying technical concepts are fundamentally different”. Claim 37 as it is currently written does not provide any claim language that indicates “continuous operation while preventing thermal runaway of high-heat-generating AI computing devices, maintaining system stability even while simultaneously performing computation processing and communication processing, and enabling a practical data processing infrastructure in outer space (i.e., a Space Data Center)” . These specific details are not indicated in Claim 37. Additionally, Grant, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches wherein satellites in each orbital plane at LST 6:00 or LST 18:00, work together (Section 0011, renders a scenario of a constellation of satellites where said satellites pass over the equator at different LSTs thus rendering a scenario of an LST of 6:00 or a LST of 18:00) and Chong further teaches communication satellites flying in a sun-synchronous orbit (Section 0048, sun-synchronous orbits, satellite constellation of 10 satellites). Satellites in a sun-synchronous orbit are synchronized to always be in the same fixed position relative to the sun. The limitations of Claim 37 are therefore taught via the combination of LaPrade, Chong, Lucia, Gernert, and Grant.
Examiner also respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ assertions, which are like Applicants’ assertions regarding Claim 37 above, that the cited prior art fails to teach the limitations of Claim 36 for the same reasons set forth above. Additionally, Chong, which also teaches satellite constellations, teaches wherein a communication device that allows communication between communication satellites flying in front and behind in a same orbital plane is provided to form an annular communication network (inter-satellite links (ISL) (Section 0075) enable a satellite to communicate with satellites flying in front and behind in a same orbital plane). Claim 36 as it is currently written does not provide any claim language that indicates “an advanced cooperative design between thermal management and communication networking, in which bucket-brigade transmission of computational results becomes possible while maintaining the satellite attitude fixed at an angle optimal for heat dissipation (without requiring complex antenna steering).”(See page 24, second paragraph of Applicants’ remarks).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36, 37, 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaPrade (US 2002/0077099) in view of Chong et al. (US 2017/0070939) in view of Lucia et al. (US 2021/0314058) in view Gernert (US 2016/0128227) and further in view of Grant et al. (US 2019/0353799)
Regarding Claim 36, LaPrade teaches a communication satellite constellation comprising: a communication satellite including a communication device to communicate with a ground (Figure 2, Section 0027, network controller (14) is the ground equipment).
LaPrade does not teach a satellite constellation that flies in a sun-synchronous orbit at LST (Local Sun Time) 06:00 or LST18:00 so that the orientation of the satellite constellation remains fixed with respect to a position of the sun, a satellite including a cloud server or an edge server, as an information processing device, and in which a solar cell is continuously oriented to a sunlight incident side and a heat dissipation surface of the information processing device is provided on an opposite side of sunlight incidence while an orientation of the satellite remains fixed with respect to the sun and a communication device that allows communication between satellites flying in front and behind in a same orbital plane is provided to form an annular communication network.
Chong, which also teaches satellite constellations, teaches a satellite constellation that flies in a sun-synchronous orbit so that the orientation of the satellite constellation remains fixed with respect to a position of the sun (Section 0048, sun-synchronous orbits, satellite constellation of 10 satellites, satellites in a sun-synchronous orbit are synchronized to always be in the same fixed position relative to the sun), solar cell is continuously oriented to a sunlight incident side (Section 0095, the solar panel will be oriented to a sunlight incident side in order to receive the sunlight) and a communication device that allows communication between satellites flying in front and behind in a same orbital plane is provided to form an annular communication network (Section 0075) enable a satellite to communicate with satellites flying in front and behind in a same orbital plane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LaPrade with the above features of Chong for the purpose of enabling continuous communication services as taught Chong.
LaPrade in view of Chong does not teach a satellite orbit at LST (Local Sun Time) 06:00 or LST18:00, a satellite including a cloud server or an edge server, as an information processing device, and a heat dissipation surface of the information processing device is provided on an opposite side of sunlight incidence while an orientation of the satellite remains fixed with respect to the sun.
Lucia, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches a satellite including a cloud server or an edge server, as an information processing device and a cloud server or an edge server, as an information processing device (Section 0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LaPrade combination with the above features of Lucia for the purpose of providing a system architecture that permits large constellations of satellites with less reliance on communication with ground stations as taught by Lucia.
LaPrade in view of Chong in view of Lucie does not teach a satellite orbit at LST (Local Sun Time) 06:00 or LST18:00, a heat dissipation surface of the information processing device is provided on an opposite side of sunlight incidence while an orientation of the satellite remains fixed with respect to the sun.
Gernert, which also teaches use of satellites, teaches a heat dissipation surface of the information processing device is provided on an opposite side of sunlight incidence (Section 0082, in order for heat dissipation of the heat caused by the sunlight incidence at the solar panel to occur the heat dissipation panels would need on the opposite side of the solar panels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the LaPrade in view of Chong in view of Lucie with the above features of Gernert for the purpose of mitigating the heat onboard the satellite as taught by Gernert.
Grant, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches a satellite orbit at LST (Local Sun Time) 06:00 or LST18:00 (Section 0011, renders a scenario of a constellation of satellites where said satellites pass over the equator at different LSTs thus rendering a scenario of an LST of 6:00 or a LST of 16:00).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LaPrade in view of Chong in view of Lucie in view of Gernert with the above features of Grant for the purpose of generating extended satellite ephemeris data to allow terminal devices to store or generate ephemeris data for months or longer before it needs to be updated as taught by Grant. The combination of LaPrade, Chong, Lucie, Gernert, and Grant teaches a heat dissipation surface of the information processing device is provided on an opposite side of sunlight incidence while an orientation of the satellite remains fixed with respect to the sun.
Regarding Claim 37, LaPrade teaches a satellite constellation, the satellite constellation comprising: a satellite including a communication device to communicate with a ground (Figure 2, Section 0027, network controller (14) is the ground equipment).
LaPrade does not teach a satellite constellation that flies in a sun-synchronous orbit at LST (Local Sun Time) 06:00 or LST18:00 so that the orientation of the satellite constellation remains fixed with respect to a position of the sun, a satellite including at least one of a computing machine or a super computer, the computing machine or the super computer having AI (Artificial Intelligence), and a cloud server or an edge server, as an information processing device, in which a solar cell is continuously oriented to a sunlight incident side and a heat dissipation surface of the information processing device is provided on an opposite side of sunlight incidence while an orientation of the satellite remains fixed with respect to the sun; and a communication device that allows communication between satellites flying in front and behind in a same orbital plane is provided to form an annular communication network.
Chong, which also teaches satellite constellations, teaches a satellite constellation that flies in a sun-synchronous orbit so that the orientation of the satellite constellation remains fixed with respect to a position of the sun (Section 0048, sun-synchronous orbits, satellite constellation of 10 satellites, satellites in a sun-synchronous orbit are synchronized to always be in the same fixed position relative to the sun), a satellite including at least one of a computing machine or a super computer (Section 0095, processor subsystem), solar cell is continuously oriented to a sunlight incident side (Section 0095, the solar panel will be oriented to a sunlight incident side in order to receive the sunlight) and a communication device that allows communication between satellites flying in front and behind in a same orbital plane is provided to form an annular communication network (Section 0075) enable a satellite to communicate with satellites flying in front and behind in a same orbital plane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LaPrade with the above features of Chong for the purpose of enabling continuous communication services as taught Chong.
LaPrade in view of Chong does not teach an orbit at LST (Local Sun Time) 06:00 or LST18:00, the computing machine or the super computer having AI (Artificial Intelligence), and a cloud server or an edge server, as an information processing device, a heat dissipation surface of the information processing device is provided on an opposite side of sunlight incidence.
Lucia, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches the computing machine or the super computer having AI (Artificial Intelligence) (Section 0056), and a cloud server or an edge server, as an information processing device (Section 0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LaPrade in view of Chong with the above features of Lucia for the purpose of providing a system architecture that permits large constellations of satellites with less reliance on communication with ground stations as taught by Lucia.
LaPrade in view of Chong in view of Lucia does not teach an orbit at LST (Local Sun Time) 06:00 or LST18:00, a heat dissipation surface of the information processing device is provided on an opposite side of sunlight incidence.
Gernert, which also teaches use of satellites, teaches a heat dissipation surface of the information processing device is provided on an opposite side of sunlight incidence (Section 0082, in order for heat dissipation of the heat caused by the sunlight incidence at the solar panel to occur the heat dissipation panels would need on the opposite side of the solar panels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the LaPrade in view of Chong in view of Lucia with the above features of Gernert for the purpose of mitigating the heat onboard the satellite as taught by Gernert.
Grant, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches a satellite orbit at LST (Local Sun Time) 06:00 or LST18:00 (Section 0011, renders a scenario of a constellation of satellites where said satellites pass over the equator at different LSTs thus rendering a scenario of an LST of 6:00 or a LST of 18:00).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LaPrade in view of Chong in view of Lucie in view of Gernert with the above features of Grant for the purpose of generating extended satellite ephemeris data to allow terminal devices to store or generate ephemeris data for months or longer before it needs to be updated as taught by Grant. The combination of LaPrade, Chong, Lucie, Gernert, and Grant teaches a heat dissipation surface of the information processing device is provided on an opposite side of sunlight incidence while an orientation of the satellite remains fixed with respect to the sun.
Regarding Claim 44, LaPrade in view of Chong in view of Lucie in view of Gernert in view of Grant teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 36. LaPrade further teaches a satellite that constitutes a satellite constellation according to Claim 36 (Section 0027).
Claim(s) 20, 22, 24, 25, 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaPrade (US 2002/0077099) in view of Chong et al. (US 2017/0070939) in view of Grant et al. (US 2019/0353799)
Regarding Claim 45, LaPrade teaches a monitoring system comprising: a first satellite constellation to monitor the Earth, a flying object, and a space object by satellite groups including composed of three or more satellites working together (Figure 2, Section 0027, first satellite constellation in a higher orbit communicates with a network controller on the earth therefore there would need to be an observation of earth, said first satellite constellation also communicates with the second satellite constellation in the lower orbit so therefore there would need to be observation of the second satellite constellation which consists of a plurality of satellites which are also flying objects and space objects, satellite constellations exist in a variety of sizes thus rendering a scenario of a satellite constellation composed of three or more satellites working together); ground equipment to exchange information with a satellite constituting the first satellite constellation (Figure 2, Section 0027, network controller (14) is the ground equipment); and the satellite included in the first satellite constellation exchanges information with the ground equipment via the second satellite constellation (Figure 2, renders a scenario of the second satellite constellation relaying information to the ground from the first satellite constellation), the second satellite constellation relays the satellite information (Figure 2, renders a scenario of the second satellite constellation relaying information to the ground from the first satellite constellation).
LaPrade does not teach a second satellite constellation to relay satellite information by communication satellite groups, the communication satellite groups including being composed of six or more communication satellites that fly in a sun-synchronous orbit with an orbital altitude of 800 km or higher in a uniform arrangement and communicate with satellites flying in front and behind in a same orbital plane, working together, relaying satellite information in a manner such that the communication satellite groups work together, the communication satellite groups includes being composed of six or more communication satellites flying in a sun-synchronous orbit and in each orbital plane at LST (Local Sun Time) 09:00 and LST15:00 so that an orientation of the communication satellites remains fixed with respect to a position of the sun.
Chong, which also teaches satellite constellations, teaches a second satellite constellation to relay satellite information by communication satellite groups, the communication satellite groups including being composed of six or more communication satellites that fly in a sun-synchronous orbit with an orbital altitude of 800 km or higher in a uniform arrangement and communicate with satellites flying in front and behind in a same orbital plane, working together (Section 0048, sun-synchronous orbits, satellite constellation of 10 satellites, sun-synchronous orbit is a LEO between orbital altitudes of 100 – 2000 km (Section 0048), inter-satellite links (ISL) (Section 0075) enable a satellite to communicate with satellites flying in front and behind in a same orbital plane), the second satellite constellation relays the satellite information in a manner such that the communication satellite groups work together, the communication satellite groups includes being composed of six or more communication satellites flying in a sun-synchronous orbit so that an orientation of the communication satellites remains fixed with respect to a position of the sun (Section 0048, sun-synchronous orbits, satellite constellation of 10 satellites, satellites in a sun-synchronous orbit are synchronized to always be in the same fixed position relative to the sun).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LaPrade with the above features of Chong for the purpose of enabling continuous communication services as taught Chong.
LaPrade in view of Chong does not teach an orbital plane at LST 09:00 and LST 15:00.
Grant, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches an orbital plane at LST 09:00 and LST 15:00 (Section 0011, renders a scenario of a constellation of satellites where said satellites pass over the equator at different LSTs thus rendering a scenario of an LST of 09:00 or a LST of 15:00).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LaPrade in view of Chong in with the above features of Grant for the purpose of generating extended satellite ephemeris data to allow terminal devices to store or generate ephemeris data for months or longer before it needs to be updated as taught by Grant.
Regarding Claim 20, LaPrade in view of Chong in view of Grant teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 45. LaPrade further teaches the second satellite constellation includes a first satellite to communicate with the ground equipment, a second satellite to communicate with a satellite constituting the first satellite constellation (Figure 2).
LaPrade does not teach a third satellite to perform only communication with satellites flying in front and behind.
Chong, which also teaches satellite constellations, teaches a third satellite to perform only communication with satellites flying in front and behind (Section 0075, inter-satellite links (ISL) enable communication with satellites flying in front and behind).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LaPrade with the above features of Chong for the purpose of enabling continuous communication services as taught Chong.
Regarding Claim 22, LaPrade in view of Chong in view of Grant teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 45. LaPrade further teaches wherein the ground equipment is a movable body (Section 0040, mobile user).
Regarding Claim 24, LaPrade in view of Chong in view of Grant teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 45. LaPrade further teaches constituent satellite that constitutes the second satellite constellation used for the monitoring system according to claim 45 constellation (Figure 2, renders a scenario of the second satellite constellation relaying information to the ground from the first satellite constellation thus said second satellite constellation monitors the earth or ground).
Regarding Claim 25, LaPrade in view of Chong in view of Grant teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 45. LaPrade further teaches ground equipment that is used for the monitoring system according to claim 45 (Figure 2, Section 0027, network controller (14) is the ground equipment).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 – 18, 21, 23, 46 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 16 – 18, 21, 23, 46 are allowed for the same reasons set forth in the Office Action dated March 13, 2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAYMOND S DEAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
August 24, 2026