DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Uchida (US 20120115027 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Uchida discloses an electrode (title) comprising:
a current collector (abstract); and
an active material layer [0037], the active material layer including an electrode active material and a binder [0037], on one side of the current collector ([0037], [0071] also discloses that the layer can be applied to either one or both sides of the current collector, in either case the claimed limitation is met, as at least one side of the current collector includes the claimed limitation),
wherein the electrode satisfies an equation 1,
17 ≤ A/W
Wherein A is a percentage (100xA2/A1) of an area (A2) occupied by a binder on a surface of the current collector relative to the total area (A1) of the surface of the current collector, W is a content ratio (weight %) of the binder in the active material layer, and a unit of A/W is wt-1 (abstract discloses a binder solution layer 56 that is applied to the current collector, and a compound material paste layer 46 that is deposited on the collector by applying it over the binder solution layer. In this case, the binder solution layer and the compound material paste layer can be considered the claimed active material layer, as [0050] and [0055] discloses that active material and binder is present in the compound material paste, with [0054] additionally disclosing that the binder in the binder solution layer diffuses into the compound material paste layer. Therefore, rather than two distinct layers, the binder and the active material layers can reasonably be thought of as two portions or gradients of one layer. As far as the claimed formula goes, [0014] discloses that the binder solution layer most preferably covers, for example, 60-80% of the surface of the current collector where the compound material layer is provided. [0056] discloses that the content of the binder per unit surface area in the binder solution layer is preferably 80-98% by weight (Example, 95%). Taking even minimum values for the two given preferable ranges, the area A occupied by the binder on the surface of the current collector relative to the total area is calculated at 60%x80%= 48%, while the portion of the current collector not occupied by the binder is 52%.
Overall, the amount of material used for the binder solution layer compared to the amount of material used for the active material layer is quite low (see [0108] and [0071]. As a result, even though the binder in the binder solution layer makes up a substantial amount of the material that is in contact with the collector, it makes up a much less substantial amount of the active material layer, which is almost all comprised of the compound material paste layer. Likewise, the compound material layer is almost all active material, containing only trace amounts of other materials ([0092] discloses an example in which the compound material layer is 99% active material. As a result, it can be seen that the claimed “W” value (weight% of the binder in the active material layer (comprised of the binder solution layer and the compound material layer) is very small, in the range of around 1% or so. Because of Uchida’s unique configuration, wherein binder is concentrated to abnormally high ranges on the surface of the current collector, resulting in an abnormally high “A” value, it can be seen that the claimed equation 1 where: 17 ≤ A/W is easily met, even with a conservatively high “W” value of, for example, 2.5%. Taking 48 as the value for A (see above) and 2.5 for the value of W, it can be seen that 17 ≤ 48/2.5, or 17 ≤ 19.2, satisfying the claimed equation 1.
Regarding claim 2, Uchida discloses the electrode according to claim 1, wherein the current collector is a film, sheet, or foil comprising one or more of copper ([0087] discloses a copper foil).
Regarding claim 3, Uchida discloses the electrode according to claim 1, wherein the binder comprises one or more of, for example, PVDF (poly(vinylidene fluoride)) [0059].
Regarding claim 4, Uchida discloses the electrode of claim 1, wherein the binder is a particulate binder ([0070] discloses that the binder fulfils the role of binding the particles of active material together, and therefore can be considered a particulate binder).
Regarding claim 7, Uchida discloses the electrode according to claim 1, wherein the content ratio of the binder in the active material layer is in a range from 0.5 weight % to 10 weight % (See claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 8, Uchida discloses the electrode according to claim 1, wherein the electrode active material is a positive active material ([0105] discloses that the electrode production method can be applied to the production of either the positive or the negative electrode) comprising one or more selected from the group of LiCoO2 ([0107] discloses a list of preferable active materials including, for example, LiCoO2).
Regarding claim 9, Uchida discloses the electrode according to claim 1, wherein the electrode active material is comprised in an amount of 1,000 to 10,000 parts by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of the binder (see claim 1 rejection above, where it can be seen that the active material to binder content falls within the claimed ratio (which is effectively 1-10 wt.%).
Regarding claim 13, Uchida discloses an electrochemical element (abstract discloses, for example, a battery), comprising:
an electrode of claim 1 as a negative electrode or a positive electrode [0105].
Regarding claim 14, Uchida discloses a secondary battery [0021], comprising:
the electrode of claim 1 as a negative electrode or a positive electrode [0105].
Regarding claim 15, Uchida discloses the electrode according to claim 1, wherein the electrode active material is a negative active material ([0105] discloses that the electrode production method can be applied to the production of either the positive or the negative electrode), wherein the negative electrode active material is one or more of lithium-containing composite oxides ([0068] discloses that the active material can be typical materials such as, for example, lithium titanium composite oxides).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchida (US 20120115027 A1) in view of Kinoshita (US 20160293940 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Uchida discloses the electrode according to claim 4, but does not disclose a ratio (D1/D2) of an average particle diameter of the electrode active material relative to an average particle diameter (D2) of the binder. However, such a feature was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Kinoshita discloses a similar battery in which an electrode contains an active material, a conductive material (which Uchida also includes, see [0070]), and a binder (abstract). Kinoshita further discloses that the size of the binder is, for example, controlled to be less than that of the conductive material [0031] and is, for example, controlled to be in a range of 60-70 nm or greater and preferably 90 nm or smaller [0039]. Kinoshita discloses that when particle size is not too low, coagulation of the binder can be appropriately suppressed, and the ease of manufacturing and handling properties can be increased. Likewise, when particle size is not too high, specific area per unit mass increases, and the surface of the conductive addition is more reliably covered, and adhesion between the electrode active materials is also increased, enhancing mechanical strength [0039].
For the active material, [0035] discloses that the particle size is greater than that of the binder, and typically is about 1 to 20 µm, or for example 5 to 15 µm. Kinoshita discloses that when within this range, resistance is more reliably reduced, and better input an output characteristics can be realized, for example, among other benefits [0035]. Selecting an active material particle in this range, as well as a binder within the previously discussed range of 60-70 nm or greater and 90 nm or smaller, results in a ratio D1/D2 of the average particle diameter of the active material to that of the binder falling within the claimed range of 10 to 1000. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to, lacking specific instruction and guidance as to the particle sizes of the used materials from Uchida, turn toward teachings known in the art (such as those of Kinoshita) to determine beneficial particle sizes for the electrode materials, including the binder and active material, resulting in a ratio D1/D2 according to the instant claim. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this to obtain the benefits disclosed by Kinoshita, including increased adhesion between the electrode active material, enhancing mechanical strength, as well as increasing the ease of manufacturing and the handing properties of the binder, among others.
Regarding claim 6, modified Uchida discloses the electrode according to claim 5, wherein the binder has the average particle diameter (D2) in a range from 50 nm to 500 nm (see claim 5 rejection above).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchida (US 20120115027 A1) in view of Ohara (US 20130071741 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Uchida discloses the electrode according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the active material layer thickness. However, selecting active material layer thickness is well known in the art, and it is common practice to select a thickness for active layers based on the type of battery and the desired output by the creator. For example, a manufacturer seeking to create a smaller batter which needs to provide a smaller capacity would select a smaller active material layer than they would when creating a larger battery needing a larger capacity. To this end, Ohara discloses a lithium secondary battery, and discloses no particular limitation on the thickness of the negative electrode active material layer, but that such thickness can be determined as appropriate in the light of the common knowledge about lithium secondary batteries (which is the type of battery Uchida discloses) and is, for example, of the order of 2-100 µm, overlapping the claimed range.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select a thickness for the active material layer of Uchida within this range, and they would have been motivated to do this in order to obtain a thickness which is known in the art as a common and acceptable range for lithium secondary batteries, and could select from within this range based on the needs and desires of the manufacturer. Further, it would have been obvious to select a thickness within the portion of this range which overlaps the claimed range because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05(1)).
Claim(s) 11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchida (US 20120115027 A1) in view of Rayner (US 20140170303 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Uchida discloses the electrode according to claim 1, but does not disclose a porosity of the active material layer. As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to turn toward what was known in the art in order to determine an appropriate porosity.
For example, Rayner discloses a similar battery to Uchida, namely a lithium ion battery [0134] including a current collector and an active material layer formed by depositing a slurry on the collector [0169]. Rayner discloses a negative electrode which uses, for example, both silicon and graphite, which can provide both the larger numbers of charge/discharge cycles without significant capacity loss of graphite as well as the higher capacity of silicon [0235]. Uchida discloses graphite, and while Uchida does not disclose silicon, Uchida teaches that there is no particular limitations on the negative electrode active material, and the same materials that are typically used in lithium ion secondary batteries may be used [0068]. As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use silicon and graphite as the negative electrode active material of Uchida. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this to obtain both the larger numbers of charge/discharge cycles without significant capacity loss of graphite as well as the higher capacity of silicon, as disclosed Rayner.
Regarding porosity, Rayner discloses that for such an electrode, porosity is preferably controlled to be at least 5% and less than 75%, overlapping the claimed range, as it allows space for expansion of the active material during charging and discharging and promotes contact of the electrolyte with the active material, while preserving structural integrity and not reducing the overall capacity of the electrode [0244]. As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to select a porosity from the disclosed range of 5-75% when creating the electrode of Uchida. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this to obtain the benefits disclosed by Rayner, including allowing space for the expansion of the active material during charging and discharging and promoting contact of the electrolyte with the active material, while preserving structural integrity and not reducing the overall capacity of the electrode. Further, after having done this, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to routinely select a porosity from amongst the overlapping portions of the ranges disclosed by Rayner and the instant application because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05(1)).
Regarding claim 16, modified Uchida discloses the electrode of claim 11, wherein the active material has a porosity of 5% to 35% (the range disclosed by Rayner overlaps the range of the instant claim, see claim 11 above).
Claim(s) 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchida (US 20120115027 A1) in view of Matsushima (US 20140170489 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Uchida discloses the electrode according to claim 1, but does not disclose an intermediate layer comprising a compound of formula 1 is present between the active material layer and the current collector:
wherein, R1 is an alkyl group with 6 or less carbon atoms or an alkenyl group with 6 or less carbon atoms, wherein the alkyl group of R1 is optionally substituted with one or more amino groups, and R2 to R4 are each independently an alkyl group with 1 to 4 carbon atoms. However, this feature was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in include in the electrode of Uchida.
For example, Matsushima discloses a similar lithium secondary battery (title), wherein a negative electrode mixture layer including active material is provided on the surface of a negative collector (abstract), a copper foil Is used as the collector (the same collector as used by Uchida), and a silane coupling agent treatment layer is provided on the surface of the copper collector foil between the collector and the active layer (abstract), with [0034] disclosing, for example, amino-silane coupling agents as the coupling agent, and [0041] using 3-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane (which matches the claimed formula 1) as the silane coupling agent in an embodiment. [0020] discloses that the effect of the silane coupling agent enables design of a high-quality negative electrode current collector for a lithium ion secondary battery, with [0033] disclosing that the silane coupling agent treatment layer improved adhesion between the negative electrode current collector and the active substance, which is a goal that Uchida also shares. As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the silane coupling agent layer of Matsushima in the invention of Uchida.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this in order to obtain the benefits disclosed by Matsushima, namely enabling the design of a high-quality negative electrode current collector for a lithium ion secondary battery, and offering improved adhesion between the negative electrode current collector and the active substance, and doing so would result in an electrode meeting the limitations of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 17, modified Uchida discloses the electrode of claim 12, wherein the alkyl group of R1 is substituted with one or more amino groups (3-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane matches the formula of claim 1, wherein the alkyl group of R1 is substituted with one or more amino groups.
Conclusion
/ZACKARY RICHARD COCHENOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752