DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 2 and 4-13 in the reply filed on September 26, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-15 and 17-18 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 4 be found allowable, claim 5 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a heat shrinkage difference between the woven glass fiber plate layer, the cover layer, and the ink layer does not exceed 20%.” The originally field disclosure teaches “[a] heat shrinkage described in this solution means a percentage of a difference between sizes of a film before and after hot processing, including a longitudinal heat shrinkage and a lateral heat shrinkage. A longitudinal heat shrinkage and a lateral heat shrinkage of a woven glass fiber plate are relatively consistent, and are both described in this solution as a heat shrinkage.” However, the conditions, such as temperature and duration, is never specified for the determination. Additionally, it is unclear if the shrinkage difference is between each layer individually or collectively.
Claim 2 further recites the limitation “a total light transmittance of the cover layer and the ink layer does not exceed 0.05%.” However, the methodology and wave length tested is not specified. It is unclear if the light is visible light, IR, UV, or all wave length. The instant disclosure states “[i]n embodiments of this application, a light transmittance means a light transmission capability of a medium, and affects a visual effect of the medium” (see para 0053 of publish application).
Claims 4-5 and 7-8 also claim a heat shrinkage difference and are indefinite as the condition under which the shrinkage is determined has not been defined, including temperature.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the filling layer” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. No filing layer has been previous recited or claimed. Additionally, claim 12 recites the limitation “light transmittance of the adhesive layer does not exceed 0.05%.” As with claim 2, the methodology and wave length tested is not specified. It is unclear if the light is visible light, IR, UV, or all wave length. The instant disclosure states “[i]n embodiments of this application, a light transmittance means a light transmission capability of a medium, and affects a visual effect of the medium” (see para 0053 of publish application). It is unclear the parameters for determine light transmission and therefore the scope of the claim is indefinite.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “wherein the housing is a batter cover of an intelligent terminal.” It is unclear the intended further distinction “intelligent terminal” versus a terminal. For the purpose of prior art application. Examiner will interpret intelligent terminal as the same as terminal.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency on rejected claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6-9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 205890061 to Zhang in view of WO 2019/147915 to Hou and US Pub. No. 2017/0003774 to Iwata, optionally Internation Polymer Solutions (“IPS” herewithin).
NOTE: Examiner will use Applicant provided translation of Zhang for prior art mapping.
Regarding claim 2, 6-9, and 13, Zhang prior art mapping based on Applicant provided translation. Zhang teaches an electronic product (terminal) comprising a housing (housing assembly) comprising a glass fiber sheet 107 (woven glass fiber layer), an adhesive 106 (cover layer, claim 6), and a decorative layer that is laminated, wherein the decorative layer comprising a color ink layer 105, a coating layer 104 (optical coating layer), an UV transfer optical texture layer 103 (texture layer), and a substrate 101 (substrate layer with the ink layer in contact with the cover layer) (Zhang, p. 8-10, Fig. 1). Zhang teaches a thickness of the adhesive 106 (cover layer) not exceeding 0.2 mm and a thickness of the color ink layer not exceeding 0.1 mm (Id., p. 8-9), reading on the cover layer not exceeding 0.2 mm and the ink layer not exceeding 0.1mm. Zhang distinguishes between transparent ink layer and the ground ink layer (Id., p. 8-9). While the total light transmittance of the color ink layer has not been explicitly specified, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a low light transmittance, such as below 0.05%, as the ink layer not being taught as transparent and to ensure high visible of the ink based on the desired aesthetics.
Zhang teaches the substrate 101 being polycarbonate or polyethylene terephthalate (Id., p. 9), which are taught as acceptable in the instant invention. Regarding the claimed tensile strength, in general, a limitation is inherent if it is the “natural result flowing from” the explicit disclosure of the prior art. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharms., Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Therefore, although the prior art does not disclose the tensile strength of the substrate (plastic substrate layer) being not less than 45 MPa and elongation being not less than 150%, the claimed properties are deemed to be inherent to the structure in the prior art since the prior art reference teaches an invention with a substantially similar structure and chemical composition as the claimed invention. Products of identical structure and composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. The burden is on the Applicants to prove otherwise. Alternatively, IPS teaches polycarbonate has a typical tensile strength of 9,500 psi (about 65.5 MPa) tensile strength and elongation at break of 60% (IPS, p. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the product of Zhang, wherein the substrate is polycarbonate having the properties as taught by IPS, motivated by the desire of using conventionally known polycarbonate having typical properties.
Zhang does not explicitly teach the glass fiber sheet being a woven glass fiber sheet.
However, Hou teaches the use of fiber glass cover used in electronic device and housing that is a woven fiberglass layer (Hou, abstract, para 0010, 0043). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the product of Zhang, wherein the glass fiber sheet is a woven glass fiber sheet as taught by Hou, motivated by the desire of using conventionally known glass sheet predictably suitable for use in electronics and housing applications.
The prior art combination is silent with regards to the heat shrinkage difference being less than 20%, specifically 15% (claims 7, 10, 12).
However, Iwata teaches a composite laminate containing pattern layer and teaches a low thermal shrinkage percentage to prevent displacement of the pattern during manufacturing (Iwata, abstract, para 0058-0060). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the product of the prior art combination, wherein the heat shrinkage between the layers is minimized, such as less than 20% and less than 15%, in order to prevent displacement of the layer and pattern displacement during manufacturing as taught by Iwata.
Regarding claims 6, the prior art combination teaches a thickness of the adhesive 106 (cover layer) not exceeding 0.2 mm (Zhang, p. 8-9), reading on the cover layer not exceeding 0.2 mm.
While the reference does not specifically teach the claimed range of not exceeding 0.15 mm, the disclosed range of the prior art combination overlaps with the instant claimed range. It should be noted that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The existence of overlapping or encompassing ranges shifts the burden to Applicant to show that his invention would not have been obvious. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust, vary, and optimize the thickness, such as within the claimed range, motivated by the desire to successfully practice the invention of the prior art based on the totality of the teachings of the prior art.
Regarding claims 7-9, the prior art combination teaches a thickness of the adhesive 106 (cover layer) not exceeding 0.2 mm (Zhang, p. 8-9), reading on the cover layer not exceeding 0.2 mm. The term “packing” means a material used to protect packed goods” as evidenced by Merriam-Webster (Merriam-Webster, definition 2). As the adhesive would provide a level of protection and no additional details are provided in the instant disclosure associated with the type of material or composition of the cover layer when a packing layer, the adhesive of the prior art would read on the cover layer being a packing layer. The adhesive layer and the packing layer have not been defined as being different or made of the same material and therefore adhesive 106 can read on both the adhesive layer and the packing layer with a total thickness not exceeding 0.2 mm.
While the reference does not specifically teach the claimed range of not exceeding 0.15 mm, the disclosed range of the prior art combination overlaps with the instant claimed range. It should be noted that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The existence of overlapping or encompassing ranges shifts the burden to Applicant to show that his invention would not have been obvious. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust, vary, and optimize the thickness, such as within the claimed range, motivated by the desire to successfully practice the invention of the prior art based on the totality of the teachings of the prior art.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “wherein the housing assembly is a battery cover of an intelligent terminal” is a limitation with regards to the intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 205890061 to Zhang in view of WO 2019/147915 to Hou and US Pub. No. 2017/0003774 to Iwata, optionally Internation Polymer Solutions (“IPS” herewithin), as applied to claims 2, 6-9, and 13 above, in further view of US Pub. No. 2021/0168230 to Baker.
NOTE: Examiner will use Applicant provided translation of Zhang for prior art mapping.
Regarding claims 4-5, the prior art combination does not explicitly teach a matter layer disposed at the plastic substrate layer.
However, Baker teaches a housing comprising a cover formed of a glass substrate with a thickness approximately 0.6 mm or less that has been textured to provide the desired surface finish including a matte appearance (matte layer) that can be resistant to collecting buildup of skin, lint, or other debris in combination with a series of cosmetic layers providing a desired optional effect and final color (Baker, para 0144), reading on a matte layer disposed at the plastic substrate layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the product of the prior art combination, wherein the product comprises the matte appearance (matte layer) of Baker, motivated by the desire of using conventionally known materials and layer predictably suitable for use in product including housing in combination with a series of decorative, or cosmetic, layers and to provide a matte appearance that can be resistant to collecting build up of skin, lint, or other debris.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 205890061 to Zhang in view of WO 2019/147915 to Hou and US Pub. No. 2017/0003774 to Iwata, optionally Internation Polymer Solutions (“IPS” herewithin), as applied to claims 2, 6-9, and 13 above, in further view of US Pub. No. 2015/0208536 to You.
NOTE: Examiner will use Applicant provided translation of Zhang for prior art mapping.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art combination is silent with regards to the adhesive material, such as being a resin and therefore reading on a cover resin layer.
However, You teaches a device comprising a housing and teaches the use of an adhesive layer between a polymer resin layer or glass layer and PET film with a printing layer (You, abstract, para 0017, 0025-0033, 0045, 0049). You teaches the adhesive layer comprising and teaches the adhesive can be part of the opaque portion (Id., para 0049). You teaches the adhesive being a thermosetting film, such as an epoxy-based compound (Id., para 0007-0008), reading on a the adhesive being a resin and therefore a cover resin layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the product of the prior art combination, wherein the adhesive is thermosetting adhesive of You, motivated by the desire of using conventionally known adhesives predictably suitable for use in device and housing to bond layers comprising glass and polymers.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 205890061 to Zhang in view of WO 2019/147915 to Hou and US Pub. No. 2017/0003774 to Iwata, optionally Internation Polymer Solutions (“IPS” herewithin), as applied to claims 2, 6-9, and 13 above, in further view of US Pub. No. 2014/0146448 to Yoo.
NOTE: Examiner will use Applicant provided translation of Zhang for prior art mapping.
Regarding claims 11-12, the prior art combination does not teach the product comprising a cover layer that is a unidirectional glass fiber plate layer.
However, Yoo teaches a housing for an electronic device, including a phone comprising a fiber base material, such as a glass fiber base material, that comprises at least one of a unidirectional prepreg, plain weave prepreg, a twill woven prepreg, and a satin weave prepreg (Yoo, abstract, para 0005, 0045-0052, 0080), reading on a combination of woven glass fiber material (woven glass fiber plate layer) and a unidirectional prepreg (cover layer that is a unidirectional glass fiber plate layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the product of the prior art combination, wherein the combination of woven glass fiber material and unidirectional prepreg is used as the glass fiber sheet, motivated by the desire of using conventionally known glass fiber material predictably used for use in electronic and housing applications.
The prior art combination teaches the thickness of the glass mat being 0.3 mm (Zhang, p. 3). If the thickness is spilt between the woven glass fiber material and the unidirectional fiber, the unidirectional fiber would be 0.15 mm, reading on the woven layer not exceeding 0.2 mm. The prior art combination teaches a thickness of the adhesive 106 (cover layer) not exceeding 0.2 mm (Id., p. 8-9), reading on the cover layer not exceeding 0.2 mm.
While the reference does not specifically teach the claimed range of not exceeding 0.15 mm, the disclosed range of the prior art combination overlaps with the instant claimed range. It should be noted that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The existence of overlapping or encompassing ranges shifts the burden to Applicant to show that his invention would not have been obvious. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust, vary, and optimize the thickness, such as within the claimed range, motivated by the desire to successfully practice the invention of the prior art based on the totality of the teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2009/0305007 to Lai teaches a shell for a portable electronic device comprising an opaque ink layer on an inner surface of the main body.
/JENNIFER A GILLETT/Examiner, Art Unit 1789