DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 12/22/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 12/22/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1-16 and 18-21 are pending
Claims 1, 12, 18 and 21 are amended
Claims 17 are canceled
Claim 21 is new
Claims 1-16 and 18-21 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-16 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO et al. (WO 2018219229 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zhao, in view of Ohlsson et al. (US 20230362787 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ohlsson, and further in view of Park et al. (US 20190380128 A1), hereinafter referenced as Park.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Zhao teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Page 2, Lines [20-21]-Zhao discloses method, which can flexibly allocate network resources required for accessing a radio access network to a network slice to improve communication efficiency. Page 5, Lines [20-25]-Zhao discloses the user involved in the embodiment of the present application may also include a terminal device connected to the network slice. The terminal device may include various handheld devices having wireless communication functions, in-vehicle devices, wearable devices, computing devices, or other processing devices connected to the wireless modem, and various forms of user equipment (User Equipment, UE), mobile stations. (Mobile Station, MS), terminal, terminal device, and the like. Page 3, Lines [42-43]-Zhao discloses the network device comprising: a communication interface, a memory, a processor, and a bus system), the method comprising:
determining at least one set of UE capabilities associated with the UE (Page 8, Lines [30-35]-Zhao discloses some users of the network slice may be attempted to use the access technology {basic parameter set} on certain carriers to determine the optimal resource allocation to the slice through the running state. For example, according to the capabilities of the user and the function module and the state information {higher layer modules} of the network slice, the basic function of the user is configured to be processed by using a single module, and the characteristic function of the user is processed by using a separate module, thereby improving the utilization of network resources. Page 7, Lines [10-11]-Zhao discloses access technology, ie, includes the same basic parameter set (Numerology Block)); and
transmitting an access request message to a base station (Page 11, Lines [8-9]-Zhao discloses the user may send a service access request to the RAN slice controller. Page 6, Lines [42-43]-Zhao discloses the network device may receive access request information of the prime number user and the service from the terminal device accessing the network slice),
the access request message comprises information corresponding to the at least one set of UE capabilities (Page 11, Lines [8-15]-Zhao discloses the user may send a service access request to the RAN slice controller … the service access request may include … , and user information. The user information may include, but is not limited to, the user has access to the slice instance information, and the user may support carrier information, air interface information, modulation and coding mode information, scheduling mechanism information, reliability mode information, encryption mode information, and mobility status. Information, connectivity status information, energy status information, etc).
Zhao fails to teach the access request message … indicates that the UE has reduced network access capabilities.
However, Ohlsson teaches the access request message comprises information corresponding to the at least one set of UE capabilities and indicates that the UE has reduced network access capabilities (Para. [0091-0092]-Ohlsson discloses the UE 120 registers onto the radio communications network 100, e.g. by sending a NAS Registration Request to the AMF, such as the CN node 130, in which it indicates that it is using reduced capabilities, also referred to as reduced UE capabilities, and RedCap indication. The use of reduced UE capabilities may be indicated either explicitly or implicitly in the Non-Access Stratum (NAS) Registration Request ... Examples of explicit indications comprises: [0093] A “RedCap” flag, a “RedCap” device type or a “RedCap” specific UE category. [0094] By including (lower) UE capability information of the UE 120, e.g. reduced device bandwidth, half-duplex FDD, or support for 1 receiving antenna).
Zhao and Ohlsson are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communications network, dealing with handling a User Equipment, UE, access to a radio communications network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhao to incorporate the teachings of Ohlsson on access request, with a motivation to indicate reduced UE capabilities, and guarantee improved communication efficiency, (Zhoa, Para. [0002]).
Zhao fails to teach logical channel identity (LCID) value associated with a common control channel (CCCH).
However, Park teaches the information comprises a logical channel identity (LCID) value associated with a common control channel (CCCH) (Para. [0164]-Park discloses UEs may perform Msg 1 1220 by transmitting a same preamble to a base station and receive, from the base station, a same random access response comprising an identity (e.g., TC-RNTI) … If a UE has no valid C-RNTI, a contention resolution may be addressed by employing a TC-RNTI. For example, if a MAC PDU is successfully decoded and a MAC PDU comprises a UE contention resolution identity MAC CE that matches the CCCH SDU transmitted in Msg3 1250, a UE may consider the contention resolution 1250 successful and may consider the random access procedure successfully completed. Para. [0071]-Park discloses MAC CE or a logical channel may be configured with a Logical Channel IDentifier (LCID)).
Park is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with single/multicarrier communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhao in view of Ohlsson to incorporate the teachings of Park on CCCH, with a motivation for LCID-associated CCCH, and guarantee improved communication efficiency, (Zhoa, Para. [0002]).
Regarding claims 12 and 21, Zhao teaches a method performed by a base station (Page 2, Lines [20-21]-Zhao discloses method, which can flexibly allocate network resources required for accessing a radio access network to a network slice to improve communication efficiency. Page 5, Lines [20-25]-Zhao discloses the user involved in the embodiment of the present application may also include a terminal device connected to the network slice. The terminal device may include various handheld devices having wireless communication functions, in-vehicle devices, wearable devices, computing devices, or other processing devices connected to the wireless modem, and various forms of user equipment (User Equipment, UE), mobile stations. (Mobile Station, MS), terminal, terminal device, and the like. Page 3, Lines [42-43]-Zhao discloses the network device comprising: a communication interface, a memory, a processor, and a bus system), the method comprising:
receiving an access request message (Page 11, Lines [8-9]-Zhao discloses the user may send a service access request to the RAN slice controller. Page 6, Lines [42-43]-Zhao discloses the network device may receive access request information of the prime number user and the service from the terminal device accessing the network slice),
the access request message comprises information corresponding to at least one set of UE capabilities associated with the UE (Page 11, Lines [8-15]-Zhao discloses the user may send a service access request to the RAN slice controller … the service access request may include … , and user information. The user information may include, but is not limited to, the user has access to the slice instance information, and the user may support carrier information, air interface information, modulation and coding mode information, scheduling mechanism information, reliability mode information, encryption mode information, and mobility status. Information, connectivity status information, energy status information, etc) and
the at least one set of UE capabilities are based on information from a higher layer of a UE for triggering an access to a cell (Page 11, Lines [8-9]-Zhao discloses the user may send a service access request to the RAN slice controller. Page 6, Lines [42-43]-Zhao discloses the network device may receive access request information of the prime number user and the service from the terminal device accessing the network slice).
Zhao fails to teach indicates that the UE has reduced network access capabilities.
However, Ohlsson teaches the access request message comprises information corresponding to at least one set of UE capabilities associated with the UE and indicates that the UE has reduced network access capabilities (Para. [0091-0092]-Ohlsson discloses the UE 120 registers onto the radio communications network 100, e.g. by sending a NAS Registration Request to the AMF, such as the CN node 130, in which it indicates that it is using reduced capabilities, also referred to as reduced UE capabilities, and RedCap indication. The use of reduced UE capabilities may be indicated either explicitly or implicitly in the Non-Access Stratum (NAS) Registration Request ... Examples of explicit indications comprises: [0093] A “RedCap” flag, a “RedCap” device type or a “RedCap” specific UE category. [0094] By including (lower) UE capability information of the UE 120, e.g. reduced device bandwidth, half-duplex FDD, or support for 1 receiving antenna).
Zhao and Ohlsson are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communications network, dealing with handling a User Equipment, UE, access to a radio communications network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhao to incorporate the teachings of Ohlsson on access request, with a motivation to indicate reduced UE capabilities, and guarantee the performance of a radio communications network wherein UEs using reduced capabilities are operating, (Ohlsson, Para. [0016]).
Zhao fails to teach logical channel identity (LCID) value associated with a common control channel (CCCH).
However, Park teaches the information comprises a logical channel identity (LCID) value associated with a common control channel (CCCH) (Para. [0164]-Park discloses UEs may perform Msg 1 1220 by transmitting a same preamble to a base station and receive, from the base station, a same random access response comprising an identity (e.g., TC-RNTI) … If a UE has no valid C-RNTI, a contention resolution may be addressed by employing a TC-RNTI. For example, if a MAC PDU is successfully decoded and a MAC PDU comprises a UE contention resolution identity MAC CE that matches the CCCH SDU transmitted in Msg3 1250, a UE may consider the contention resolution 1250 successful and may consider the random access procedure successfully completed. Para. [0071]-Park discloses MAC CE or a logical channel may be configured with a Logical Channel IDentifier (LCID)).
Park is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with single/multicarrier communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhao in view of Ohlsson to incorporate the teachings of Park on CCCH, with a motivation for LCID-associated CCCH, and guarantee improved communication efficiency, (Zhoa, Para. [0002]).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 14, Zhao in view of Ohlsson and Park teaches the method of claim 1, the apparatus of claim 8 and the method of claim 12 respectively.
Zhao further teaches receiving a configuration for subsequent communications (Page 11, Lines [35-41]-Zhao discloses the RAN slice controller are configured according to the occupation of each physical resource and the corresponding air interface standard, and apply a scheduling algorithm to update {receiving} the physical resource allocation {configuration} of each user or service, or adjust the air interface standard configuration),
the configuration is based on the information corresponding to the at least one set of UE capabilities (Page 11, Lines [35-41]-Zhao discloses the RAN slice controller are configured according to the occupation of each physical resource and the corresponding air interface standard, and apply a scheduling algorithm to update the physical resource allocation {configuration} of each user or service, or adjust the air interface standard configuration. The air interface format configuration may include at least one of the following: a carrier frequency point, a subcarrier range, ... a service type, and a user identifier ... After receiving the scheduling instruction, the base station DU broadcasts control channel information to the user whose access resource is modified through the public broadcast channel).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Zhao in view of Ohlsson and Park teaches the method of claim 2 and the method of claim 14 respectively,
Zhao further teaches the configuration comprises a radio bearer configuration, or a physical layer parameter configuration, or both (Page 7, Lines [24-26]-Zhao discloses for the air interface spectrum resource, the RAN slice controller may allocate a part of the carrier to multiple slices, and one slice may span multiple carriers, and perform corresponding physical layer parameter configuration according to service characteristics).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Zhao in view of Ohlsson and Park teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 8 respectively.
Zhao further teaches receiving information from a higher layer of the UE for triggering an access to a cell (Page 11, Lines [35-41]-Zhao discloses the RAN slice controller are configured according to the occupation of each physical resource and the corresponding air interface standard, and apply a scheduling algorithm to update {receiving} the physical resource allocation {configuration} of each user or service, or adjust the air interface standard configuration. Page 8, Lines [30-35]-Zhao discloses according to the capabilities of the user and the function module and the state information {higher layer modules} of the network slice, the basic function of the user is configured to be processed by using a single module, and the characteristic function of the user is processed by using a separate module),
determining the at least one set of UE capabilities comprises determining the at least one set of UE capabilities based on the received information from the higher layer (Page 8, Lines [30-35]-Zhao discloses some users of the network slice may be attempted to use the access technology {basic parameter set} on certain carriers to determine the optimal resource allocation to the slice through the running state. For example, according to the capabilities of the user and the function module and the state information {higher layer modules} of the network slice, the basic function of the user is configured to be processed by using a single module, and the characteristic function of the user is processed by using a separate module, thereby improving the utilization of network resources. Page 7, Lines [10-11]-Zhao discloses access technology, ie, includes the same basic parameter set (Numerology Block)).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Zhao in view of Ohlsson and Park teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 8 respectively.
Zhao further teaches the access request message further comprises information of a full UE identity of the UE, or information of a UE type of the UE, or both (Page 11, Lines [10-11]-Zhao discloses the service access request may include slice information, such as a ... user information. Page 11, Lines [38-39]-Zhao discloses the air interface format configuration may include at least one of the following: ... a user identifier).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao in view of Ohlsson and Park teaches the method of claim 18,
Zhao further teaches the UE comprises a device with a reduced capability (Page 9, Lines [10-11]-Zhao discloses some low-level slices and users can share other slice resources according to the user's service level or the life cycle of the network slice to ensure important slice and user QoS. Page 12, Lines [3-4]-Zhao discloses the user is configured to use the network resources of the corresponding sharing level for users of different service levels. Page 5, Lines [21-25]-Zhao discloses the terminal device may include various handheld devices having wireless communication functions, in-vehicle devices, wearable devices, computing devices, or other processing devices connected to the wireless modem, and various forms of user equipment (User Equipment, UE), mobile stations. (Mobile Station, MS), terminal, terminal device, and the like).
Regarding claims 16 and 19, Zhao in view of Ohlsson and Park teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 8 respectively,
Zhao further teaches the access request message further comprises information corresponding to a plurality of sets of UE capabilities supported by the UE (Page 11, Lines [8-15]-Zhao discloses the user may send a service access request to the RAN slice controller … the service access request may include … , and user information. The user information may include, but is not limited to, the user has access to the slice instance information, and the user may support carrier information, air interface information, modulation and coding mode information, scheduling mechanism information, reliability mode information, encryption mode information, and mobility status. Information, connectivity status information, energy status information, etc).
Claims 6, 13, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO et al. (WO 2018219229 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zhao, in view of Ohlsson et al. (US 20230362787 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ohlsson, and further in view of Park et al. (US 20190380128 A1), hereinafter referenced as Park, and further in view of ADJAKPLE et al. (US 20200221369 A1), hereinafter referenced as Adjakple.
Regarding claim 6, Zhao in view of Ohlsson and Park teaches the method of claim 1.
Zhao fails to teach receiving access barring information via a broadcast channel; and determining whether access to a cell is restricted based on the access barring information; wherein transmitting the access request message comprises transmitting the access request message in response to determining that the access to the cell is not restricted; and wherein the access barring information comprises a plurality of access barring information, and each of the plurality of access barring information corresponds to a UE type.
However, Adjakple teaches receiving access barring information via a broadcast channel (Para. [0213]-Adjakple discloses the UE acquires the access barring information transmitted by the RAN. The access barring information may be signaled to the UE. Fig. 2, Para. [0139]-Adjakple discloses the base station broadcasts information containing control data (e.g. barring rate, mean access barring time value in seconds) set for each Access Class (AC) so that all terminals in the coverage area can receive the information simultaneously and perform access control); and
determining whether access to a cell is restricted based on the access barring information (Para. [0210]-Adjakple discloses determining, at the AS of the user equipment and based at least on the determined access category and the access barring information, whether an access attempt for this access category is barred);
transmitting the access request message comprises transmitting the access request message in response to determining that the access to the cell is not restricted (Para. [0210-0211]-Adjakple discloses determining, at the AS of the user equipment and based at least on the determined access category and the access barring information, whether an access attempt for this access category is barred; and executing, based on determining that the access attempt is not barred, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection establishment procedure. [0211] Receipt of the access trigger may cause the NAS of the user equipment to generate the NAS message associated with the access attempt); and
the access barring information comprises a plurality of access barring information, and each of the plurality of access barring information corresponds to a UE type (Para. [0211]-Adjakple discloses receipt of the access trigger may cause the NAS of the user equipment to generate the NAS message associated with the access attempt. The access category may be determined based on an access category configuration stored in a database of the user equipment).
Zhao and Adjakple are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with access control in 5G NR.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhao in view of Ohlsson and Park to incorporate the teachings of Adjakple on access barring information, with a motivation to transmit access request message, and guarantee efficient access control in the 5G network, (Adjakple, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao in view of Ohlsson and Park teaches the method of claim 12.
Zhao fails to teach identifying, based on a logical channel identity, that the access request message is an extended access request message, wherein the extended access request message further comprises information of a UE type of the UE, or information of a full UE identity of the UE, or both.
However, Adjakple teaches identifying, based on a logical channel identity, that the access request message is an extended access request message (Para. [0237]-Adjakple discloses depending on the level of granularity at which access control is performed, the check may be based on QoS Flow ID (QFI), bearer ID or QCI or logical channel ID. Para. [0145]-Adjakple discloses Extended Access Barring (EAB) is a mechanism for the operator(s) to control Mobile Originating access attempts from UEs (generally Machine Type Communication (MTC) devices) ..., the operator can restrict access from UEs configured for EAB while permitting access from other UEs. UEs configured for EAB are considered more tolerant to access restrictions than other UEs. When an operator determines that it is appropriate to apply EAB, the network broadcasts necessary information to provide EAB control for UEs in a specific area. The network broadcast a bitmap that includes ACs (possibly 0 to 9) for which extended access baring applies, together with the category (category a, b or c) of the UEs for which EAB applies. A UE that is configured for low access priority and Extended Access Barring),
the extended access request message further comprises information of a UE type of the UE, or information of a full UE identity of the UE, or both (Para. [0145]-Adjakple discloses Extended Access Barring (EAB) ... when an operator determines that it is appropriate to apply EAB, the network broadcasts necessary information to provide EAB control for UEs in a specific area. The network broadcast a bitmap that includes ACs (possibly 0 to 9) for which extended access baring applies, together with the category (category a, b or c) of the UEs for which EAB applies. A UE that is configured for low access priority and Extended Access Barring).
Adjakple is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with access control in 5G NR.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhao in view of Ohlsson and Park to incorporate the teachings of Adjakple on extended access request, with a motivation to transmit extended access request message, and guarantee efficient access control in the 5G network, (Adjakple, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 18 and 20, Zhao in view of Ohlsson and Park teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 8 respectively.
Zhao fails to teach the access request message further comprises information of a UE type of the UE.
However, Adjakple teaches the access request message further comprises information of a UE type of the UE (Para. [0211]-Adjakple discloses receipt of the access trigger may cause the NAS of the user equipment to generate the NAS message associated with the access attempt. The access category may be determined based on an access category configuration stored in a database of the user equipment).
Adjakple is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with access control in 5G NR.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhao in view of Ohlsson and Park to incorporate the teachings of Adjakple on access request, with a motivation for the access request message to comprise equipment type, and guarantee efficient access control in the 5G network, (Adjakple, Para. [0003]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 11/24/2025, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1-16 and 18-21 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 9, Lines [5-7], Applicant argues that, “none of the cited references teach or suggest at least "the information comprises a logical channel identity (LCID) value associated with a common control channel (CCCH)," as found in the independent Claim 1 (and similarly recited in Claims 8, 12, and 21).”
However, in Para. [0164]- Park et al. (US 20190380128 A1) discloses UEs may perform Msg 1 1220 by transmitting a same preamble to a base station and receive, from the base station, a same random access response comprising an identity (e.g., TC-RNTI) … If a UE has no valid C-RNTI, a contention resolution may be addressed by employing a TC-RNTI. For example, if a MAC PDU is successfully decoded and a MAC PDU comprises a UE contention resolution identity MAC CE that matches the CCCH SDU transmitted in Msg3 1250, a UE may consider the contention resolution 1250 successful and may consider the random access procedure successfully completed. Para. [0071]-Park discloses a MAC CE or a logical channel may be configured with a Logical Channel IDentifier (LCID).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
QUAN et al. (US 20170339612 A1)-discloses signaling optimization method and device, to resolve a problem of heavy signaling overheads and long data transmission delay when a user equipment (UE) accesses a network side. The method includes: receiving, by the UE, configuration information sent by a first network side device, where the configuration information includes a list, and the list is a cell list or a base station list; and entering, by the UE, an intermediate state according to the configuration information, where the intermediate state means that: when the UE stores context information of the UE, if the UE moves and a cell movement range falls within a coverage area of a cell or a base station included in the list, the UE performs cell reselection according to the list. Embodiments of the present disclosure are applicable to optimization of signaling transmission between the UE and a network side…. …Fig. 1-5
Tsai et al. (US 20170332359 A1)-discloses Fig. 44, Para. [0275]-Tsai discloses a UE can track its SNR and determine if it should decode one or more redundancy versions for achieving its target reliability and power consumption. Para. [0184]-Tsai discloses providing higher SNR or alternatively requiring fewer resources for the DCI. Para. [0258]-Tsai discloses a PDCCH based on the weakest SNR of a UE for whom the information is targeted. Para. [0117-0118]-Tsai discloses to direct UEs to selected slices in a way that fulfill operator or user needs, e.g., based on subscription or UE type ... The 3GPP system shall be able to enable a UE to obtain service from a specific network slice e.g., based on subscription or UE type…. …Fig. 1-2
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472