DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is one run-on sentence and it is too short. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashimoto et al. (US 9,254,566 B2) (“Hashimoto”).
Referring to claims 1 and 12: Hashimoto teaches a substrate conveying robot 1 comprising:
a substrate holding hand (FIG. 2); and
an arm 4, 5 to move the substrate holding hand; wherein
substrate holding hand comprising:
a frame 6, 7;
a plurality of blades 9, 10, 12, 13 supported by the frame and to support substrates W;
a plurality of substrate detection sensors 16 provided so as to correspond to the plurality of blades to detect a presence of the substrates (column 7, lines 27-38); and
a sensor support member 8, 11 to support the plurality of substrate detection sensors, the sensor support member including a positioner 14, 15 to collectively position the plurality of substrate detection sensors with respect to the plurality of blades.
Referring to claim 2: Hashimoto teaches the sensor support member is provided in common for the plurality of substrate detection sensors, and further includes a fixing portion to fix the sensor support member; and the positioner is provided in the fixing portion (FIG. 2).
Referring to claim 3: Hashimoto teaches the positioner is operable to allow a position of the fixing portion to be adjusted along a direction toward the blades (column 7, lines 27-34).
Referring to claim 6: Hashimoto teaches the plurality of substrate detection sensors are positioned with respect to the plurality of blades by fixing the fixing portion to the frame (column 7, lines 27-38; FIG. 2).
Referring to claim 7: Hashimoto teaches the plurality of blades are arranged in a stacked manner along a vertical direction perpendicular to main surfaces of the blades; and
the sensor support member includes a plurality of plate-shaped sensor placement portions 8, 11 stacked along the vertical direction so as to correspond to the plurality of blades stacked along the vertical direction (FIG. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto, alone.
Referring to claim 8: Hashimoto teaches each of the plurality of sensor placement portions includes a way to allow each of the substrate detection sensors to be fastened and fixed (FIG. 2). Hashimoto does not specifically teach each of the plurality of sensor placement portions includes a second hole to allow each of the substrate detection sensors to be fastened and fixed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connection between the plurality of sensor placement portions and each of the substrate detection sensors to include a second hole with a reasonable expectation of success since forming a connection with a hole and a fastener is very well known in the art and modifying the connection taught by Hashimoto in this manner would only require a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Referring to claims 9 and 10: Hashimoto does not specifically teach each of the plurality of plate-shaped sensor placement portions includes a third hole to allow wiring extending from each of the substrate detection sensors to be inserted therethrough or a guide groove to guide the wiring inserted from the third hole. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified each of the plurality of plate-shaped sensor placement portions taught by Hashimoto to include a third hole to allow wiring extending from each of the substrate detection sensors to be inserted therethrough and a guide groove to guide the wiring inserted from the third hole with a reasonable expectation of success since it is well known that components are either wired or wireless, so one would be choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cameron et al. (US 7,179,044 B2) teaches a system comprising a robot 20, an arm 22, 26, a substrate holding hand 24 and an object sensor 58 that is used to identify whether substrates are stored at a storage site. Yoshida et al. (US 9,455,171 B2) teaches a robotic system comprising an arm 2, substrate holders 11 on hand 10 and a substrate detection sensor 12.
/Catherine Loikith/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
07 May 2026