DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 11, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: “centre” should be –center--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “allowing to generate” on line 20 should be –in order to generate--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 Applicant discloses: “a remote management centre which comprises a central control module equipped with a central memory unit, said central control module being configured to receive a signal comprising received data stored in said at least one memory unit” (emphasis added) on lines 10-13. It seems Applicant is claiming that the received data is being stored in the at least one local memory but the central control module does not have a local memory to store the received data. Also, the local memory is disclosed as being part of the forecourt terminal.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the data of said remote metrological certificate" in line 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the data of said local metrological certificate" in line 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10 depend from claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the fact" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 7 Applicant discloses: “said first local communication unit and said second local communication unit communicate substantially independently with each other with said central communication unit” (emphasis added). The wording is confusing. It is suggested Applicant delete “with each other” and replace it with –of each other-- or something similar thereto.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "said at least one local memory unit" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 11 Applicant discloses: “sending, to said central control module, a signal with received data comprising said at least one actual datum and data correlated to said at least one actual datum and to said at least one dispenser, said received data being stored in said at least one local memory unit” (emphasis added) on lines 18-21. It seems Applicant is claiming that the received data is being stored in the at least one local memory but the central control module does not have a local memory to store the received data. Also, the local memory is disclosed as being part of the forecourt terminal.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the data of said remote metrological certificate" in line 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the data of said local metrological certificate" in line 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 depends from claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KABRE et al. (USPGPUB 2016/0194195) and further in view of XIANG (USPGPUB 2022/0066433).
Regarding claim 1 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), KABRE et al. disclose an advanced service station system comprising:
-a service station (see Figures 1-2) equipped with a forecourt area comprising a forecourt terminal (110) associated with at least one memory unit and at least one dispenser (12), said forecourt terminal being configured to send control signals to said at least one dispenser and to receive at least one actual datum that detects an actual quantity of fuel dispensed by said at least one dispenser (see paragraph [0046]), said at least one actual datum being stored in said at least one memory unit (see paragraph [0046]);
the system comprising:
- a remote management centre (130) which comprises a central control module (28) equipped with a central memory unit (28), said central control module being configured to receive a signal comprising received data stored in said at least one memory unit, said received data comprising said at least one actual datum and data correlated to said at least one actual datum and to said at least one dispenser, said central control module being configured to store said received data in said central memory unit (see paragraph [0038]).
However, they do not disclose a system comprising:
said at least one actual datum being used to generate a local metrological certificate of said actual quantity of fuel dispensed;
said central control module being configured to process said received data in order to generate a remote metrological certificate of said at least one actual datum;
said central control module being further configured to receive said local metrological certificate and to compare the data of said remote metrological certificate with the data of said local metrological certificate allowing to generate an actual remote metrological certificate of said actual quantity of fuel dispensed.
XIANG discloses a system comprising:
said at least one actual datum being used to generate a local metrological certificate of said actual quantity of fuel dispensed (see paragraph [0211]);
said central control module being configured to process said received data in order to generate a remote metrological certificate of said at least one actual datum (see paragraph [0211]);
said central control module being further configured to receive said local metrological certificate and to compare the data of said remote metrological certificate with the data of said local metrological certificate allowing to generate an actual remote metrological certificate of said actual quantity of fuel dispensed (see paragraph [0211]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by KABRE et al. by including a system comprising: said at least one actual datum being used to generate a local metrological certificate of said actual quantity of fuel dispensed; said central control module being configured to process said received data in order to generate a remote metrological certificate of said at least one actual datum; and said central control module being further configured to receive said local metrological certificate and to compare the data of said remote metrological certificate with the data of said local metrological certificate allowing to generate an actual remote metrological certificate of said actual quantity of fuel dispensed, as disclosed by XIANG, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a server installed with a measuring instrument management system (see paragraph [0211]).
Regarding claim 2 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), KABRE et al. in view of XIANG disclose the advanced system according to claim 1. Furthermore, XIANG discloses a system wherein said local metrological certificate which is generated in said forecourt area and said remote metrological certificate which is generated in said remote management centre are obtained by metrological certification algorithms (see paragraphs [0216] and [0236]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by KABRE et al. by including a system wherein said local metrological certificate which is generated in said forecourt area and said remote metrological certificate which is generated in said remote management centre are obtained by metrological certification algorithms, as disclosed by XIANG, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing obtaining values for the metrological data based on algorithms (see paragraph [0216]).
Regarding claim 3 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), KABRE et al. disclose the advanced system according to claim 1, wherein said remote management centre is arranged remotely with respect to said forecourt area and communicates with at least said forecourt terminal by sending and receiving signals through a communication network (see paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 4 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), KABRE et al. disclose the advanced system according to claim 1, wherein said forecourt terminal comprises a first local control module equipped with a first microprocessor processing unit associated with a first memory unit and with a first communication unit and by the fact of comprising an area controller interposed between said first local control module and said at least one dispenser to process the signals sent between each other (see paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 5 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), KABRE et al. disclose the advanced system according to claim 4, wherein said remote management centre comprises a central control module equipped with a central microprocessor processing unit associated with said central memory unit and with a central communication unit adapted to send and receive signals through said communication network at least to said forecourt terminal (see paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 6 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), KABRE et al. disclose the advanced system according to claim 5, further comprising:
-a second local control module arranged in said forecourt area and comprising a second microprocessor processing unit which is associated with a second memory unit and a second local communication unit (see paragraph [0045]);
said signals sent by said at least one dispenser being also sent to said first processing unit (see paragraph [0038]).
However, they do not disclose a system further comprising:
-a switch element which is interposed between the first communication unit of said first control module and said area controller, said switch element being further interposed between said second processing unit and said area controller, said second processing unit being configured to control said at least one dispenser by processing the signals received from the area controller and/or from said switch element.
XIANG discloses a system further comprising:
-a switch element which is interposed between the first communication unit of said first control module and said area controller, said switch element being further interposed between said second processing unit and said area controller, said second processing unit being configured to control said at least one dispenser by processing the signals received from the area controller and/or from said switch element (see paragraph [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by KABRE et al. by including a system further comprising: a switch element which is interposed between the first communication unit of said first control module and said area controller, said switch element being further interposed between said second processing unit and said area controller, said second processing unit being configured to control said at least one dispenser by processing the signals received from the area controller and/or from said switch element, as disclosed by XIANG, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a switching component (see paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 7 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), KABRE et al. in view of XIANG disclose the advanced system according to claim 6. Furthermore, XIANG discloses a system wherein said first local communication unit and said second local communication unit communicate substantially independently with each other with said central communication unit, said second processing unit generating said local metrological certificate using said at least one actual datum included in said second memory unit, said local metrological certificate being sent using said switch element to the first processing unit and being sent using said second local communication unit to said central processing unit, said first processing unit being configured to control that said at least one actual datum included in said local metrological certificate corresponds to said at least one actual datum stored in said first memory unit and if said control is positive, to send a positive verification signal to said central processing unit, said central processing unit being configured to generate said actual remote metrological certificate considering said positive verification signal (see paragraphs [0061], [0147]-[0149], [0151], [0211], [0216], [0234], and [0236]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by KABRE et al. by including a system wherein said first local communication unit and said second local communication unit communicate substantially independently with each other with said central communication unit, said second processing unit generating said local metrological certificate using said at least one actual datum included in said second memory unit, said local metrological certificate being sent using said switch element to the first processing unit and being sent using said second local communication unit to said central processing unit, said first processing unit being configured to control that said at least one actual datum included in said local metrological certificate corresponds to said at least one actual datum stored in said first memory unit and if said control is positive, to send a positive verification signal to said central processing unit, said central processing unit being configured to generate said actual remote metrological certificate considering said positive verification signal, as disclosed by XIANG, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a switching component (see paragraph [0061]) and a server installed with a measuring instrument management system (see paragraph [0211]).
Regarding claim 11 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), KABRE et al. disclose a remote control process of a service station equipped with a forecourt area which comprises a forecourt terminal associated with at least one local storage unit and at least one dispenser, the control process providing for:
-sending control signals to said at least one dispenser to receive at least an actual datum of the actual quantity of fuel dispensed by said dispenser (see paragraph [0046]);
-storing said at least one actual datum in said at least one local memory unit (see paragraph [0046]);
further including:
-providing a remote management centre comprising a central control module equipped with a central memory unit (see paragraph [0038]);
-sending, to said central control module, a signal with received data comprising said at least one actual datum and data correlated to said at least one actual datum and to said at least one dispenser, said received data being stored in said at least one local memory unit (see paragraph [0038]).
However, they do not disclose a process providing for:
-generating a local metrological certificate using said at least one actual datum;
-generating a remote metrological certificate processing said received data;
-receiving said local metrological certificate;
-associating said remote metrological certificate to said local metrological certificate and controlling that the data of said remote metrological certificate correspond to the data of said local metrological certificate to generate an actual remote metrological certificate of said actual quantity of fuel delivered.
XIANG discloses a process providing for:
-generating a local metrological certificate using said at least one actual datum (see paragraph [0211]);
-generating a remote metrological certificate processing said received data;
-receiving said local metrological certificate (see paragraph [0211]);
-associating said remote metrological certificate to said local metrological certificate and controlling that the data of said remote metrological certificate correspond to the data of said local metrological certificate to generate an actual remote metrological certificate of said actual quantity of fuel delivered (see paragraph [0211]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by KABRE et al. by including a process providing for: generating a local metrological certificate using said at least one actual datum; generating a remote metrological certificate processing said received data; receiving said local metrological certificate; associating said remote metrological certificate to said local metrological certificate and controlling that the data of said remote metrological certificate correspond to the data of said local metrological certificate to generate an actual remote metrological certificate of said actual quantity of fuel delivered, as disclosed by XIANG, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a server installed with a measuring instrument management system (see paragraph [0211]).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 12 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KABRE et al. (USPGPUB 2016/0194195) in view of XIANG (USPGPUB 2022/0066433) as applied to claims 1-7 and 11 above, and further in view of McNinch (USPGPUB 2014/0114473).
Regarding claim 8 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), KABRE et al. in view of XIANG disclose the advanced system according to claim 6. However, they do not disclose a system wherein said first local control module comprises a first temporary management unit associated with the first processing unit and the second local control module comprises a second temporary management unit associated with the second processing, said first temporary management unit and said second temporary management unit being configured to be activated during a time range with absence of connectivity with said remote management centre, and/or in that during said time range a temporary mode is activated in said forecourt area in which said first local control module is configured to control said forecourt area. McNinch discloses a system wherein said first local control module comprises a first temporary management unit associated with the first processing unit and the second local control module comprises a second temporary management unit associated with the second processing, said first temporary management unit and said second temporary management unit being configured to be activated during a time range with absence of connectivity with said remote management centre, and/or in that during said time range a temporary mode is activated in said forecourt area in which said first local control module is configured to control said forecourt area (see paragraphs [0022]-[0025]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by KABRE et al. in view of XIANG by including a system wherein said first local control module comprises a first temporary management unit associated with the first processing unit and the second local control module comprises a second temporary management unit associated with the second processing, said first temporary management unit and said second temporary management unit being configured to be activated during a time range with absence of connectivity with said remote management centre, and/or in that during said time range a temporary mode is activated in said forecourt area in which said first local control module is configured to control said forecourt area, as disclosed by McNinch, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing backup power during a power outage (see paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 9 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), KABRE et al. in view of XIANG and further in view of McNinch disclose the advanced system according to claim 8. Furthermore, McNinch discloses a system wherein said first temporary management unit and said second temporary management unit are activated and are configured to retrieve all actual data stored respectively in said first memory unit and in said second memory unit during said time range with absence of connectivity, said second local control module being configured to manage said actual data stored during said time range with absence of connectivity in a backup mode by subsequently sending said actual data to said central memory unit, said first temporary management unit comprising a temporary interface configured for management locally and in a temporary mode of said forecourt area (see paragraphs [0022]-[0025]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by KABRE et al. in view of XIANG by including a system wherein said first temporary management unit and said second temporary management unit are activated and are configured to retrieve all actual data stored respectively in said first memory unit and in said second memory unit during said time range with absence of connectivity, said second local control module being configured to manage said actual data stored during said time range with absence of connectivity in a backup mode by subsequently sending said actual data to said central memory unit, said first temporary management unit comprising a temporary interface configured for management locally and in a temporary mode of said forecourt area, as disclosed by McNinch, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing backup power during a power outage (see paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 12 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), KABRE et al. disclose a control process according to claim 11, including the following steps:
-remotely arranging said remote management centre with respect to said forecourt area (see Figure 2);
-providing for a communication between at least said forecourt terminal and said remote management centre through a communication network (see paragraph [0038]);
-receiving from said central control module initialization signals for initializing said forecourt terminal and said at least one dispenser (see TABLE 1).
However, KABRE et al. in view of XIANG do not disclose a process including the following steps:
-activating a temporary management mode of said forecourt area in a time range with absence of connectivity with said remote management centre;
-associating at least one temporary management unit with said forecourt terminal;
-activating said at least one temporary management unit during said time range with absence of connectivity;
-recovering all the actual data stored in said at least one memory unit during said time range with absence of connectivity using said at least one temporary management unit.
McNinch disclose a process including the following steps:
-activating a temporary management mode of said forecourt area in a time range with absence of connectivity with said remote management centre (see paragraphs [0022]-[0025]);
-associating at least one temporary management unit with said forecourt terminal (see paragraphs [0022]-[0025]);
-activating said at least one temporary management unit during said time range with absence of connectivity (see paragraphs [0022]-[0025]);
-recovering all the actual data stored in said at least one memory unit during said time range with absence of connectivity using said at least one temporary management unit (see paragraph [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by KABRE et al. in view of XIANG by including a process including the following steps: -activating a temporary management mode of said forecourt area in a time range with absence of connectivity with said remote management centre; -associating at least one temporary management unit with said forecourt terminal; -activating said at least one temporary management unit during said time range with absence of connectivity; -recovering all the actual data stored in said at least one memory unit during said time range with absence of connectivity using said at least one temporary management unit, as disclosed by McNinch, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing backup power during a power outage (see paragraph [0022]).
Claim(s) 10 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KABRE et al. (USPGPUB 2016/0194195) in view of XIANG (USPGPUB 2022/0066433) as applied to claims 1-7 and 11 above, and further in view of Wilson (USPGPUB 2001/0020198).
Regarding claim 10 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), KABRE et al. in view of XIANG disclose the advanced system according to claim 4. Furthermore, KABRE et al. disclose a system further comprising a plurality of dispensers equipped with various electronic control heads, said area controller comprising a device adapted to control a series of converter modules for converting the control signals received by said first processing unit into respective control signals adapted to control each head of said different electronic control heads of said plurality of dispensers (see paragraph [0048] and Figure 2). However, they do not disclose a multiplexer device. Wilson discloses a multiplexer device (see paragraph [0161]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by KABRE et al. in view of XIANG by including a multiplexer device, as disclosed by Wilson, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a multiplexer controlling for signals (see paragraph [0161]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
M.K.C.
2/17/2026
/MICHAEL COLLINS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655