DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 20 “configuring the central control module to” should be --configuring the central control module by--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 Applicant discloses: “an operational interface associate to the central memory unit and to a central communication unit” (emphasis added) on lines 15-16. The wording is confusing. Is the component being claimed “an operational interface associate”? Or, is Applicant claiming some type of association? Either way, the wording is confusing because if it is component being claimed Applicant does not refer to the component again as “operational interface associate” anywhere else in the claim. If it is not intended that the language is part of the component being claimed, but rather Applicant is disclosing an association, then the issue would at least be grammatically problematic in such a way that is unclear what suggestion to make, in order to correct the issue.
Regarding claim 1 Applicant discloses: “the operational interface being configured to remote and real-time display the operational of the service station” (emphasis added) on lines 17-18. The wording is confusing. Is Applicant claiming a new component or the operation?
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the operational" in 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10 depend from claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 5, claims 1 and 5 both claim “a central control module” and “a central communication unit”. Are these different components? If so, then Applicant should provide a distinguishing limitation. If not, then Applicant is duplicating the claim language.
Claims 6-9 depend from claim 5.
Regarding claim 11 Applicant discloses: “an operational interface associate to the central memory unit and to a central communication unit” (emphasis added) on lines 17-18. The wording is confusing. Is the component being claimed “an operational interface associate”? Or, is Applicant claiming some type of association? Either way, the wording is confusing because if it is component being claimed Applicant does not refer to the component again as “operational interface associate” anywhere else in the claim. If it is not intended that the language is part of the component being claimed, but rather Applicant is disclosing an association, then the issue would at least be grammatically problematic in such a way that is unclear what suggestion to make, in order to correct the issue.
Regarding claim 11 Applicant discloses: “remote and real-time displaying the operational of the service station” (emphasis added) on line 24. The wording is confusing. Is Applicant claiming a new component or the operation?
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the operational" in 24. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 depends from claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gresak et al. (USPGPUB 2010/0023162) and further in view of XIANG (USPGPUB 2022/0066433).
Regarding claim 1 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), Gresak et al. disclose an advanced service station system comprising:
-a service station equipped with a forecourt area comprising a forecourt terminal, wherein the forecourt terminal comprises a first local control module with a first processing unit, at least one memory unit, and at least one dispenser (see Figures 1A-1C and paragraph [0096]), said forecourt terminal being configured to send control signals to said at least one dispenser and to receive received-data, the received-data comprising at least one actual datum that detects an actual quantity of fuel dispensed by said at least one dispenser and data correlated to said at least one actual datum and to said at least one dispenser (see paragraphs [0010], [0025], [0087], [0106]-[0107], and [0124]), the first local control module being configured to store the received-data in said at least one memory unit and to process said received-data to generate a local certificate of said actual quantity of fuel dispensed (see Figure 3 and paragraph [0145]);
the system comprising:
a remote management center which comprises a central control module equipped with a central memory unit (see Figures 2 and paragraphs [0015], [0055], and [0137]-[0138]), a central processing unit and an operational interface associate to the central memory unit and to a central communication unit, the operational interface being configured to remote and real time display the operational of the service station, and to control and modify each device in the forecourt area (see paragraphs [0137]-[0138]),
said central control module being configured to receive a signal comprising received-data stored in said at least one memory unit of the forecourt terminal (see paragraphs [0137]-[0138]), said central control module being configured to store said received-data in said central memory unit and to process said received-data in order to generate a remote certificate of said at least one actual datum (see paragraphs [0010] and [0031]),
said central control module being further configured to receive said local metrological certificate and to compare data of said remote certificate with data of said local certificate allowing to:
- generate an actual remote certificate of said actual quantity of fuel dispensed (see paragraphs [0024] and [0149]), and
- verify the received-data to detect any anomalies (see paragraphs [0061] and [0118]) to each device in the forecourt area and activate predefined alert-procedures (see paragraph [0119]).
However, they do not disclose a system comprising:
to generate a local metrological certificate;
to process said received-data in order to generate a remote metrological certificate;
compare data of said remote metrological certificate with data of said local metrological certificate.
XIANG discloses a system comprising:
to generate a local metrological certificate (see paragraph [0211]);
to process said received-data in order to generate a remote metrological certificate (see paragraph [0211]);
compare data of said remote metrological certificate with data of said local metrological certificate (see paragraph [0211]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Gresak et al. by including a system comprising: to generate a local metrological certificate; to process said received-data in order to generate a remote metrological certificate; and compare data of said remote metrological certificate with data of said local metrological certificate, as disclosed by XIANG, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a server installed with a measuring instrument management system (see paragraph [0211]).
Regarding claim 2 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), Gresak et al. in view of XIANG disclose the advanced system according to claim 1. Furthermore, XIANG discloses a system wherein said local metrological certificate which is generated in said forecourt area and said remote metrological certificate which is generated in said remote management center are obtained by metrological certification algorithms (see paragraphs [0216] and [0236]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Gresak et al. by including a system wherein said local metrological certificate which is generated in said forecourt area and said remote metrological certificate which is generated in said remote management center are obtained by metrological certification algorithms, as disclosed by XIANG, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing obtaining values for the metrological data based on algorithms (see paragraph [0216]).
Regarding claim 3 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), Gresak et al. disclose the advanced system according to claim 1, wherein said remote management center is arranged remotely with respect to said forecourt area and communicates with at least said forecourt terminal by sending and receiving signals through a communication network (see paragraphs [0137]-[0138] and Figure 2).
Regarding claim 4 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), Gresak et al. disclose the advanced system according to claim 1, wherein said forecourt terminal comprises the first local control module equipped with a first microprocessor processing unit associated with a first memory unit and with a first communication unit and by comprising an area controller interposed between said first local control module and said at least one dispenser to process the signals sent between each other (see paragraphs [0106]-[0117] and Figure 2).
Regarding claim 5 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), Gresak et al. disclose the advanced system according to claim 4, wherein said remote management center comprises a central control module equipped with a central microprocessor processing unit associated with said central memory unit and with a central communication unit adapted to send and receive signals through said communication network at least to said forecourt terminal (see paragraphs [0010], [0031], and [0137]-[0138] and Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), Gresak et al. disclose the advanced system according to claim 5, further comprising:
-a second local control module arranged in said forecourt area and comprising a second microprocessor processing unit which is associated with a second memory unit and a second local communication unit (see paragraphs [0106]-[0120] and Figure 2);
said signals sent by said at least one dispenser being also sent to said first processing unit (see paragraphs [0106]-[0120] and Figure 2).
However, they do not disclose a system further comprising:
-a switch element which is interposed between the first communication unit of said first control module and said area controller, said switch element being further interposed between said second processing unit and said area controller, said second processing unit being configured to control said at least one dispenser by processing the signals received from the area controller and/or from said switch element.
XIANG discloses a system further comprising:
-a switch element which is interposed between the first communication unit of said first control module and said area controller, said switch element being further interposed between said second processing unit and said area controller, said second processing unit being configured to control said at least one dispenser by processing the signals received from the area controller and/or from said switch element (see paragraph [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Gresak et al. by including a system further comprising: a switch element which is interposed between the first communication unit of said first control module and said area controller, said switch element being further interposed between said second processing unit and said area controller, said second processing unit being configured to control said at least one dispenser by processing the signals received from the area controller and/or from said switch element, as disclosed by XIANG, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a switching component (see paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 7 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), Gresak et al. in view of XIANG disclose the advanced system according to claim 6. Furthermore, XIANG discloses a system wherein said first local communication unit and said second local communication unit communicate substantially independently of each other with said central communication unit, said second processing unit generating said local metrological certificate using said at least one actual datum included in said second memory unit, said local metrological certificate being sent using said switch element to the first processing unit and being sent using said second local communication unit to said central processing unit, said first processing unit being configured to control that said at least one actual datum included in said local metrological certificate corresponds to said at least one actual datum stored in said first memory unit and if said control is positive, to send a positive verification signal to said central processing unit, said central processing unit being configured to generate said actual remote metrological certificate considering said positive verification signal (see paragraphs [0061], [0147]-[0149], [0151], [0211], [0216], [0234], and [0236]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Gresak et al. by including a system wherein said first local communication unit and said second local communication unit communicate substantially independently of each other with said central communication unit, said second processing unit generating said local metrological certificate using said at least one actual datum included in said second memory unit, said local metrological certificate being sent using said switch element to the first processing unit and being sent using said second local communication unit to said central processing unit, said first processing unit being configured to control that said at least one actual datum included in said local metrological certificate corresponds to said at least one actual datum stored in said first memory unit and if said control is positive, to send a positive verification signal to said central processing unit, said central processing unit being configured to generate said actual remote metrological certificate considering said positive verification signal, as disclosed by XIANG, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a switching component (see paragraph [0061]) and a server installed with a measuring instrument management system (see paragraph [0211]).
Regarding claim 11 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), Gresak et al. disclose a remote control process of a service station equipped with a forecourt area which comprises a forecourt terminal comprising a first local control module with a first processing unit, at least one local memory unit and at least one dispenser,
wherein the remote control process provides:
-configuring the forecourt terminal to provide a local control process by:
-sending control signals to said at least one dispenser to receive received-data that comprise at least an actual datum of the actual quantity of fuel dispensed by said dispenser and data correlated to said at least one actual datum and to said at least one dispenser (see paragraphs [0010], [0025], [0087], [0106]-[0107], and [0124]);
-storing the received-data in said at least one local memory unit (see paragraph [0134]);
-generating a local certificate processing the received-data (see Figure 3 and paragraph [0145]);
the remote control process further including:
-providing a remote management center comprising a central control module equipped with a central memory unit, a central processing unit and an operational interface associate to the central memory unit and to a central communication unit (see paragraphs [0128]-[0138]);
-configuring the central control module to:
-receiving a signal with the received-data said received-data being stored in said at least one local memory unit (see paragraphs [0137]-[0138]);
-remote and real-time displaying the operational of the service station for controlling and modifying each device in the forecourt area (see paragraphs [0137]-[0144]);
-generating a remote certificate processing said received-data (see paragraphs [0010] and [0031]);
-receiving said local certificate (see paragraphs [0137]-[0138]);
-comparing the remote certificate to the local certificate and controlling that data of said remote certificate correspond to data of said local certificate to generate an actual remote certificate of said actual quantity of fuel delivered (see paragraphs [0024] and [0149]);
-verifying the received-data to detect any anomalies to each device in the forecourt area and activate predefined alert-procedures (see paragraphs [0061] and [0118]-[0119]).
However, they do not disclose a process which comprises:
generating a local metrological certificate processing the received-data;
generating a remote metrological certificate processing said received-data;
receiving said local metrological certificate;
comparing the remote metrological certificate to the local metrological certificate and controlling that data of said remote metrological certificate correspond to data of said local metrological certificate to generate an actual remote metrological certificate.
XIANG discloses a process which comprises:
generating a local metrological certificate processing the received-data (see paragraph [0211]);
generating a remote metrological certificate processing said received-data;
receiving said local metrological certificate (see paragraph [0211]);
comparing the remote metrological certificate to the local metrological certificate and controlling that data of said remote metrological certificate correspond to data of said local metrological certificate to generate an actual remote metrological certificate (see paragraph [0211]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Gresak et al. by including a process which comprises: generating a local metrological certificate processing the received-data; generating a remote metrological certificate processing said received-data; receiving said local metrological certificate; and comparing the remote metrological certificate to the local metrological certificate and controlling that data of said remote metrological certificate correspond to data of said local metrological certificate to generate an actual remote metrological certificate, as disclosed by XIANG, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a server installed with a measuring instrument management system (see paragraph [0211]).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 12 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gresak et al. (USPGPUB 2010/0023162) in view of XIANG (USPGPUB 2022/0066433) as applied to claims 1-7 and 11 above, and further in view of McNinch (USPGPUB 2014/0114473).
Regarding claim 8 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), Gresak et al. in view of XIANG disclose the advanced system according to claim 6. However, they do not disclose a system wherein said first local control module comprises a first temporary management unit associated with the first processing unit and the second local control module comprises a second temporary management unit associated with the second processing, said first temporary management unit and said second temporary management unit being configured to be activated during a time range with absence of connectivity with said remote management center, and/or in that during said time range a temporary mode is activated in said forecourt area in which said first local control module is configured to control said forecourt area. McNinch discloses a system wherein said first local control module comprises a first temporary management unit associated with the first processing unit and the second local control module comprises a second temporary management unit associated with the second processing, said first temporary management unit and said second temporary management unit being configured to be activated during a time range with absence of connectivity with said remote management center, and/or in that during said time range a temporary mode is activated in said forecourt area in which said first local control module is configured to control said forecourt area (see paragraphs [0022]-[0025]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Gresak et al. in view of XIANG by including a system wherein said first local control module comprises a first temporary management unit associated with the first processing unit and the second local control module comprises a second temporary management unit associated with the second processing, said first temporary management unit and said second temporary management unit being configured to be activated during a time range with absence of connectivity with said remote management center, and/or in that during said time range a temporary mode is activated in said forecourt area in which said first local control module is configured to control said forecourt area, as disclosed by McNinch, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing backup power during a power outage (see paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 9 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), Gresak et al. in view of XIANG and further in view of McNinch disclose the advanced system according to claim 8. Furthermore, McNinch discloses a system wherein said first temporary management unit and said second temporary management unit are activated and are configured to retrieve all actual data stored respectively in said first memory unit and in said second memory unit during said time range with absence of connectivity, said second local control module being configured to manage said actual data stored during said time range with absence of connectivity in a backup mode by subsequently sending said actual data to said central memory unit, said first temporary management unit comprising a temporary interface configured for management locally and in a temporary mode of said forecourt area (see paragraphs [0022]-[0025]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Gresak et al. in view of XIANG by including a system wherein said first temporary management unit and said second temporary management unit are activated and are configured to retrieve all actual data stored respectively in said first memory unit and in said second memory unit during said time range with absence of connectivity, said second local control module being configured to manage said actual data stored during said time range with absence of connectivity in a backup mode by subsequently sending said actual data to said central memory unit, said first temporary management unit comprising a temporary interface configured for management locally and in a temporary mode of said forecourt area, as disclosed by McNinch, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing backup power during a power outage (see paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 12 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), Gresak et al. disclose a remote control process according to claim 11, including the following steps:
-remotely arranging said remote management center with respect to said forecourt area (see Figure 2);
-providing for a communication between at least said forecourt terminal and said remote management center through a communication network (see Figure 2);
-receiving from said central control module initialization signals for initializing said forecourt terminal and said at least one dispenser (see paragraphs [0137]-[0138]).
However, Gresak et al. in view of XIANG do not disclose a process including the following steps:
-activating a temporary management mode of said forecourt area in a time range with absence of connectivity with said remote management center;
-associating at least one temporary management unit with said forecourt terminal;
-activating said at least one temporary management unit during said time range with absence of connectivity;
-recovering all the actual data stored in said at least one memory unit during said time range with absence of connectivity using said at least one temporary management unit.
McNinch disclose a process including the following steps:
-activating a temporary management mode of said forecourt area in a time range with absence of connectivity with said remote management center (see paragraphs [0022]-[0025]);
-associating at least one temporary management unit with said forecourt terminal (see paragraphs [0022]-[0025]);
-activating said at least one temporary management unit during said time range with absence of connectivity (see paragraphs [0022]-[0025]);
-recovering all the actual data stored in said at least one memory unit during said time range with absence of connectivity using said at least one temporary management unit (see paragraph [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Gresak et al. in view of XIANG by including a process including the following steps: -activating a temporary management mode of said forecourt area in a time range with absence of connectivity with said remote management center; -associating at least one temporary management unit with said forecourt terminal; -activating said at least one temporary management unit during said time range with absence of connectivity; -recovering all the actual data stored in said at least one memory unit during said time range with absence of connectivity using said at least one temporary management unit, as disclosed by McNinch, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing backup power during a power outage (see paragraph [0022]).
Claim(s) 10 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gresak et al. (USPGPUB 2010/0023162) in view of XIANG (USPGPUB 2022/0066433) as applied to claims 1-7 and 11 above, and further in view of Wilson (USPGPUB 2001/0020198).
Regarding claim 10 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), Gresak et al. in view of XIANG disclose the advanced system according to claim 4. Furthermore, KABRE et al. disclose a system further comprising a plurality of dispensers equipped with various electronic control heads, said area controller comprising a device adapted to control a series of converter modules for converting the control signals received by said first processing unit into respective control signals adapted to control each head of said different electronic control heads of said plurality of dispensers (see paragraphs [0128]-[0136] and Figure 2). However, they do not disclose a multiplexer device. Wilson discloses a multiplexer device (see paragraph [0161]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Gresak et al. in view of XIANG by including a multiplexer device, as disclosed by Wilson, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a multiplexer controlling for signals (see paragraph [0161]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
M.K.C.
8/14/2026
/MICHAEL COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655