DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on February 23, 2026. Claims 1, 4 and 11 are currently amended. Claims 2 and 3 are canceled. Claims 1 and 4-13 are pending review in this action. The previous 35 U.S.C 112 rejection is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s corresponding amendment.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WIPO Patent Publication No. 2019/107717, hereinafter Jo. (The equivalent U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0076025 is used in lieu of a formal translation of Jo).
Regarding claim 1, Jo teaches a battery module (200). The battery module (200) comprises a sub-module comprising a cell stack (100) (paragraph [0057] and figure 2). The cell stack (100) comprises a plurality of battery cells (110) and heat dissipation plates (130, “cooling fins”) located between adjacent battery cells (110) (paragraphs [0058, 0071, 0072] and figure 2).
A front bus bar frame (225) is coupled to a first side of the cell stack (100) in a longitudinal direction of the cell stack. A rear bus bar frame (225) is coupled to a second side of the cell stack (100) in the longitudinal direction of the cell stack. The first side of the cell stack (100) is opposite to the second side of the cell stack (paragraphs [0086-0088] and figures 2 and 6).
A housing comprises a main housing (230 and 240) accommodating the sub-module (paragraphs [0057, 0093-0097] and figures 1 and 2). The housing (230 and 240) further includes upper sidewall (240a, “upper cover”) and lower sidewall (240b, “lower cover”) (paragraph [0120] and figure 1). The upper sidewall (240a, “upper cover”) and lower sidewall (240b, “lower cover”) cover a variety of openings of the main housing (230 and 240) – e.g., upper bolt openings and lower bolt openings located in the four corners of each side plate (240) (figure 2).
A coolant inlet (H2) passes through a first side of the main housing (230 and 240) in a longitudinal direction of the main housing (230 and 240). The coolant inlet (H2) supplies coolant into a receiving space of the sub-module (paragraph [0091] and figures 1 and 9).
A coolant outlet (H2) passes through a second side of the main housing (230 and 240) in the longitudinal direction of the main housing (230 and 240). The coolant outlet (H2) discharges the coolant to an outside of the main housing (230 and 240). The first side of the main housing (230 and 240) is opposite to the second side of the main housing (230 and 240) (paragraph [0091] and figures 1 and 9).
It is noted that the instant claim includes intended use limitations. Specifically, the claim recites that the “insulating oil inlet … [is] configured to supply insulating oil…” and that the “insulating oil outlet … [is] configured to discharge the insulating oil…”.
In apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114.
In the present case, Jo’s coolant inlet (H2) is capable of supplying insulating oil as the coolant and Jo’s coolant outlet (H2) is capable of discharging insulation oil as the coolant.
Each of the heat dissipation plates (130, “cooling fins”) comprises a base plate (133, “body portion”) located between adjacent battery cells (110) (paragraphs [0098, 0099]).
Each heat dissipation plate (130, “cooling fin”) further comprises a pair of edge cover portions (135c and 135d) bent at an upper end and a lower end of the base plate (133, “body portion”) to cover respective edges of one of the adjacent battery cells (110) (paragraphs [0101-0103] and figures 4 and 5).
Jo further teaches a coolant passage (132) for guiding the flow of coolant. The coolant passage (132) passes between a first common edge (115c) of the battery cells (110) and corresponding edge cover portions (135c). The coolant passage (132) further passes between a second common edge (115d) of the battery cells (110) and corresponding edge cover portions (135d) (paragraphs [0102, 0103] and figure 4).
Jo further teaches that the upper sidewall (240a, “upper cover”) is mounted onto edge cover portion (135c) (paragraphs [0119-0122, 0117]). Therefore, the coolant passage (132) is necessarily located between the upper sidewall (240a, “upper cover”) and the first common edge (115c) of the battery cells.
Similarly, Jo teaches that the lower sidewall (240b, “lower cover”) is mounted onto edge cover portion (135d) (paragraphs [0119-0122, 0117]). Therefore, the coolant passage (132) is necessarily located between the lower sidewall (240a, “lower cover”) and the second common edge (115d) of the battery cells.
Regarding claim 4, Jo teaches that the coolant introduced through the coolant inlet (H2) into the housing passes through opening (H1) in the front bus bar frame (225) and is introduced into the coolant passage (132) (paragraphs [0088, 0089, 0092]).
Regarding claim 5, Jo teaches that the coolant passes through opening (H1) in the rear bus bar frame (225) after passing through the coolant passage (132) and is discharged to the outside of the housing through the coolant outlet (H2) (paragraphs [0088, 0089]).
Regarding claim 12, Jo teaches a battery pack comprising the battery module of claim 1 (paragraph [0146]).
Regarding claim 13, Jo teaches a vehicle comprising the battery module of claim 1 (paragraph [0146]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0153060, hereinafter Haeusler in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2019/107717, hereinafter Jo. (The equivalent U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0076025 is used in lieu of a formal translation of Jo).
Regarding claim 1, Haeusler teaches a battery block (2). The battery block (2) comprises a sub-module comprising a cell stack. The cell stack comprises a plurality of battery cells (3) (paragraph [0024] and figure 3). Thermally conductive cell holders (21, “cooling fins”) are located between adjacent battery cells (3) (paragraphs [0012, 0030] and figure 3).
A housing (7) comprises a main housing accommodating the sub-module. A lower cover covers a lower opening of the main housing. An upper cover covers an upper opening of the main housing (paragraphs [0024, 0025] and figure 1).
A distributor (10a, “inlet”) passes through a first side of the main housing in a longitudinal direction of the main housing. The distributor (10a, “inlet”) supplies a dielectric cooling fluid into a receiving space of the sub-module (paragraphs [0025, 0026] and figures 1 and 4).
A collector (10b, “outlet”) passes through a second side of the main housing in the longitudinal direction of the main housing. The collector (10b, “outlet”) discharges the dielectric cooling fluid to an outside of the main housing. The first side of the main housing is opposite to the second side of the main housing (paragraphs [0025, 0036] and figures 1 and 4).
Haeusler’s dielectric cooling fluid is considered equivalent to the instantly recited “insulating oil”. Alternatively, an “insulating oil” is capable of being flown through Haeusler’s system of distributor (10a, “inlet”) and collector (10b, “outlet”).
Haeusler teaches that the battery cells (3) have current diverters (“cell tabs”) (18a and 18b) located on opposite sides of the cell stack (paragraph [0028] and figures 2-4). Haeusler does not provide details on the electrical interconnection between the battery cells (3).
Each of the thermally conductive cell holders (21, “cooling fins”) comprises a body portion located between adjacent battery cells (3) (paragraphs [0012, 0030] and figure 3).
Each thermally conductive cell holder (21, “cooling fin”) further comprises a pair of edge cover portions (22a/22b and/or 26) bent at an upper end and a lower end of the body contact portion to cover respective edges of one of the adjacent battery cells (3) (paragraphs [0012, 0030] and figure 3).
A flow passage (15a) is formed between the upper cover and a first common edge of the plurality of battery cells (3) (paragraphs [0026, 0030] and figures 1 and 3). The dielectric fluid (“insulating oil”) flows through flow passage (15a).
Haeusler further teaches a flow passage (15b) formed between the lower cover and a second common edge of the plurality of battery cells (3) (paragraphs [0026, 0030] and figures 1 and 3). The dielectric fluid (“insulating oil”) flows through flow passage (15b).
Haeusler further teaches channel (23a) between the first common edge of the plurality of battery cells (3) and edge cover portions (22a) and channel (23b) between the second common edge of the plurality of battery cells (3) and edge cover portions (22b) (paragraph [0030] and figure 3).
Haeusler fails to teach a front bus bar frame and a rear bus bar frame.
Bus bars supported on a frame are widely used in the art to electrically interconnect pouch cells arranged in a stack – see, e.g. Jo (paragraphs [0086, 0087]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a front bus bar frame coupled to the current diverters (“cell tabs”) (18a) on the first side of Haeusler’s cell stack and a rear bus bar frame coupled to the current diverters (“cell tabs”) (18b) on the second side of Haeusler’s cell stack for the purpose of providing a stable electrical connection for the battery cells in the cell stack.
Regarding claim 4, Haeusler teaches that the battery cells are flowed around on all four sides by the dielectric fluid (“insulating oil”) after being introduced through the distributor (10a, “inlet”) (paragraph [0026] and figure 1).
Haeusler as modified by Jo teaches a front bus bar frame. To achieve the flow intended by Haeusler, the dielectric fluid (“insulating oil”) would necessarily pass through the front bus bar frame and then enter the flow passage (15a/15b).
Regarding claim 5, Haeusler teaches that the battery cells are flowed around on all four sides by the dielectric fluid (“insulating oil”) and then the dielectric fluid (“insulating oil”) is discharged through the collector (10b, “outlet”) (paragraph [0026] and figure 1).
Haeusler as modified by Jo teaches a rear bus bar frame. To achieve the flow intended by Haeusler, the dielectric fluid (“insulating oil”) would necessarily pass through the rear bus bar frame after passing through the flow passage (15a/15b) and prior to being discharged to the outside through the collector (10b, “outlet”).
Regarding claim 12, Haeusler as modified by Jo teaches a battery pack comprising the battery block (2) of claim 1 (paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 13, Haeusler as modified by Jo teaches a vehicle comprising the battery block (2) of claim 1 (paragraph [0006]).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0153060, hereinafter Haeusler in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2019/107717, hereinafter Jo as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0372736, hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 6, Haeusler teaches a battery module having a housing and an upper cover.
Haeusler fails to teach terminal assemblies.
It is well-known in the art that a battery module requires external terminals for the purpose of electrically connecting a load to the battery module. Kim teaches a battery module comprising a stack of pouch battery cells arranged within a housing having an upper cover (201) (paragraphs [0051, 0053, 0054]). Kim teaches a pair of terminal assemblies, each including an external terminal (300) partially exposed to the outside through the upper cover (201) (paragraph [0055] and figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a pair of terminal assemblies – one for each polarity – and to partially expose them through the upper cover for the purpose of providing a means for connecting a load to Haeusler’s battery module.
Regarding claim 7, Haeusler as modified by Kim teaches that each terminal assembly comprises an internal terminal (110) fixed to the front bus bar frame (Kim’s paragraph [0058] and figure 3). Given that the internal terminal (110) is used to conduct current from the battery cells, it would necessarily be electrically connected to the electrode leads of all the battery cells – including the one located at an outermost position of the cell stack.
Each terminal assembly further comprises a sealing member (S, “terminal spacer”) inserted through the upper cover (201) (Kim’s paragraph [0083] and figure 8).
Each terminal assembly further comprises an external terminal (300) connected to the internal terminal (110) via busbar (500) inside the housing. The external terminal (300) passes through the sealing member (S, “terminal spacer”) and is exposed to the outside of the housing (Kim’s paragraphs [0058, 0083] and figure 8).
Regarding claim 8, Haeusler as modified by Kim teaches that the upper cover comprises a spacer receiving groove (210) into which the sealing member (S, “terminal spacer”) is inserted and a spacer insertion hole passing through a bottom surface of the spacer receiving groove (210) (Kim’s figure 8).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0153060, hereinafter Haeusler in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2019/107717, hereinafter Jo as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0331164, hereinafter Kwon.
Regarding claim 6, Haeusler teaches a battery module having a housing and an upper cover.
Haeusler fails to teach terminal assemblies.
It is well-known in the art that a battery module requires external terminals for the purpose of electrically connecting a load to the battery module. Kwon teaches a battery module (20) comprising a stack of pouch battery cells (1) arranged within a housing (23) having an upper cover (23c) (paragraphs [0039, 0056, 0064] and figures 5b and 7). Kwon teaches a pair of terminal assemblies, each including an external terminal (22b and 22c) partially exposed to the outside through the upper cover (23c) (paragraph [0063] and figure 7).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a pair of terminal assemblies – one for each polarity – and to partially expose them through the upper cover for the purpose of providing a means for connecting a load to Haeusler’s battery module.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0153060, hereinafter Haeusler in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2019/107717, hereinafter Jo and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0331164, hereinafter Kwon as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 2,892,006, hereinafter Belove.
Regarding claim 7, Haeusler as modified by Kwon teaches that each terminal assembly comprises an internal busbar (14a and 14b, “internal terminal”). The internal busbar (14a, “internal terminal”) is attached (“fixed”) to a front busbar assembly (22, “bus bar frame”) and is connected to an electrode lead of a battery cell located at an outermost position of the cell stack. Each terminal assembly also includes an external terminal (22b and 22c) connected to the corresponding internal busbar (14a and 14b, “internal terminal”) inside the housing. The external terminals (22b and 22c) are exposed to the outside of the housing (Kwon’s paragraph [0063]).
Haeusler as modified by Kwon fails to teach: 1) that both internal busbars (14a and 14b, “internal terminal”) are attached (“fixed”) to the front bus bar frame and 2) a terminal spacer.
Regarding 1), the ordinarily skilled artist would understand that attaching both internal busbars (14a and 14b, “internal terminal”) to the front bus bar frame would be an obvious modification motivated by the choice to locate both external terminals on the same side of the housing.
The ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be capable of choosing to attach both internal busbars (14a and 14b, “internal terminal”) to the front bus bar frame for the purpose of locating both external terminals on the same side of the housing and in this way simplifying the connection of an external load to the battery module.
Regarding 2), Belove teaches an arrangement for sealing an external terminal (21) passing through the cover (15) of a battery for the purpose of preventing a leak (col. 3, lines 68-75; col. 4, lines 1-13). Belove teaches surrounding the external terminal (21) with an epoxy sealing member (51, “terminal spacer”), such that the epoxy sealing member (51, “terminal spacer”) passes through the cover (15) and the external terminal (21) passes through the epoxy sealing member (51, “terminal spacer”) (col. 4, lines 20-24 and figure 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an epoxy sealing member (51, “terminal spacer”) in the assembly of Haeusler as modified by Kwon for the purpose of preventing the dielectric liquid from leaking around the external terminals.
Regarding claim 8, Hausler as modified by Kwon and Belove teaches that the upper cover comprises a receiving groove into which the epoxy sealing member (51, “terminal spacer”) is inserted and an insertion hole through a bottom surface of the receiving groove (see Figure 1 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1 - Belove's assembly)]
Regarding claim 9, Haeusler as modified by Belove teaches that each terminal assembly comprises a pair of compressible sealing washers (23 and 23-1, “O-rings”) (col. 3, lines 70-73). A first compressible sealing washer (23-1, “O-ring”) is located between an edge of the epoxy sealing member (51, “terminal spacer”) and the bottom surface of the spacer receiving groove. A second compressible sealing washer (23-1, “O-ring”) is located in a space defined by the external terminal (21), an inner surface of an opening (“through-hole”) formed in the epoxy sealing member (51, “terminal spacer”) and the inner head (22, “internal terminal”) (Belove’s figure 4).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0153060, hereinafter Haeusler in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2019/107717, hereinafter Jo as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2019/132290, hereinafter Seo and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0132622, hereinafter Gohl. (The equivalent U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0168864 is used in lieu of a formal translation of Seo).
Regarding claim 10, Haeusler teaches a housing (7) comprising a main housing, a lower cover covering a lower opening of the main housing and an upper cover covering an upper opening of the main housing (paragraphs [0024, 0025] and figure 1).
Haeusler does not provide information on the coupling of the upper cover and the lower cover to the main housing.
Haeusler fails to teach an upper binder and a lower binder.
Battery housings that include an upper cover (500) and a lower cover (200) fastened to a main housing (300 and 400) are well-known in the art – see, e.g. Seo (paragraph [0037] and figure 3).
The fastening and sealing of a cover to a main housing by an adhesive (“binder”) is likewise widely used in the art – see, e.g. Gohl (paragraph [0099]).
Therefore it would have obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fasten and seal Haeusler’s upper cover and lower cover to the main housing via adhesive (“binder”) applied along the perimeter for the purpose of preventing the dielectric fluid from leaking out.
In the combination of Haeusler, Seo and Gohl there would be an adhesive (“upper binder”) applied along the perimeter of the upper cover and thus crossing the upper cover in a width direction of the upper cover. Similarly, there would be an adhesive (“lower binder”) applied along the perimeter of the lower cover and thus crossing the lower cover in a width direction of the lower cover.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0153060, hereinafter Haeusler in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2019/107717, hereinafter Jo as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2019/132290, hereinafter Seo and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0316070, hereinafter Lee. (The equivalent U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0168864 is used in lieu of a formal translation of Seo).
Regarding claim 11, Haeusler teaches a housing (7) comprising a main housing, a lower cover covering a lower opening of the main housing and an upper cover covering an upper opening of the main housing (paragraphs [0024, 0025] and figure 1).
Haeusler does not provide information on the coupling of the upper cover and the lower cover to the main housing.
Haeusler fails to teach a pair of gaskets for sealing located at a first fastening portion between the main housing and the upper cover and a second fastening portion between the main housing and the lower cover.
Battery housings that include an upper cover (500) and a lower cover (200) fastened to a main housing (300 and 400) are well-known in the art – see, e.g. Seo (paragraph [0037] and figure 3).
The inclusion of gaskets at fastening portions for the purpose of preventing a leak is also well-known – see Lee who teaches a sealing member (241, “gasket”) at a fastening portion between a casing cover (230) and a casing body (210) of a battery pack. A circulating insulating oil coolant passes through the casing body (210) and the purpose of the sealing member (241, “gasket”) is to prevent the coolant from leaking (paragraphs [0048, 0054] and figure 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple Haeusler’s upper cover and lower cover to the main housing via gaskets for the purpose of preventing the dielectric fluid from leaking out.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 12 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 14 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/029,841 in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0153060, hereinafter Haeusler.
Claims 1, 2, 14 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/029,841 include all of the limitations of Claims 1, 12 and 13 except for a lower cover covering a lower opening of the main housing and an upper cover covering an upper opening of the main housing and an insulating oil passage formed between the upper cover and a first common edge of the battery cells, between a lower cover and a second common edge of the battery cells and between the first and second common edges and the corresponding edge cover portions.
It is customary in the art to have a housing with a lower cover covering a lower opening of the main housing and an upper cover covering an upper opening of the main housing – see, e.g. Haeusler (paragraphs [0024, 0025] and figure 1). Haeusler further describes the claimed passage (paragraphs [0026, 0030] and figures 1 and 3).
It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist to include a lower cover covering a lower opening of the main housing and an upper cover covering an upper opening of the main housing for the purpose of protecting the cell stack from the environment and to form the claimed passage for the purpose of directing the insulating oil around the battery cells and effectively cooling them.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on February 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues against the Jo reference by asserting that Jo’s upper/lower sidewalls (240a/240b, “upper/lower cover”) do not define an insulating oil passage between themselves and the corresponding battery cell edges.
However, claim 1 as phrased does not require that the upper/lower cover defines an insulating oil passage between itself and the corresponding battery cell edge. The claim requires that an insulating oil passage is formed between the upper/lower cover and the corresponding battery cell edge. In Jo’s configuration, the passage is located in space between the upper/lower sidewalls (240a/240b, “upper/lower cover”) and the corresponding battery cell edges. Thus, it is “formed” in that location.
The rejection is proper and is maintained.
Applicant appears to argue that Haeusler’s support collars (22a and 22b) are not “edge cover portions bent at an upper end and a lower end of the body contact portion” by asserting that they are “separate structural elements projecting from adjacent cells”.
The support collars (22a and 22b, “edge cover portions”) are not separate elements from the cell holders (21, “cooling fins”). This is clearly seen in figure 3. Each cell holder (21, “cooling fin”) has a body portion positioned between adjacent battery cells (3). This is visible in figure 3 and discussed in paragraph [0030]. Support collars (22a and 22b, “edge cover portions”), as well as holding collars (26), extend from an upper and lower end of the body portion (paragraph [0030] and figure 3). Furthermore, Haeusler describes the heat transfer from the battery cells to the support collars (22a and 22b, “edge cover portions”) of the cell holders (21, “cooling fins”) (paragraph [0012]). This clearly indicates that the support collars (22a and 22b, “edge cover portions”) are parts of the cell holders (21, “cooling fins”).
The rejection is proper and is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US PG Pub 2020/0119415.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA
Examiner
Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724