DETAILED ACTION
The instant Office action is responsive to the election of claims received 1/2/2026.
Claims 1-4,6-12,14-18 and 20 have been examined and are pending with this action.
Arguments
Applicant arguments are not persuasive based on the following arguments.
Applicant: Applicant argues that claims 5, 13 and 19 are dissolved in the respective independent claims and hence the claims are allowable.
Examiner: Applicant did not dissolve the entire claims 5, 13 and 19 into their respective independent claim. For instance, snooping communication between a dynamic host configurations protocol server and the terminal is not mentioned in amended claims. Applicant made minor amendments which do not put the claims in allowable condition and rejection is maintained and set forth below.
The minor amendments of creating instead of generating and to a path from any of the paths is disclosed in the citations.
Based on above explanation arguments made by applicant are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 7-8 & 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osada (JP 2009049648) in view of Taiki (JP 6692178 B2).
As per claim 1, Osada discloses a packet communication device connected to one or more paths, the packet communication device comprising a processor (Osada: “ to a packet routing control method for establishing a plurality of communication paths by connecting a VPN server on a remote network and a plurality of terminal devices in a local network by VPN connection”), configured to operations comprising:
distributing packets received from a terminal to a path of the one or more paths (Osada: , N communication paths are set on the assumption that packets can be equally distributed (one first communication path and two first communication paths). N-1 communication paths). ”), ;
acquiring an IP address of the terminal (Osada: the source address Src is distributed and encapsulated by the header having the IP address of the VPN server 101 and the global addresses of the wireless terminals MN1 and MN2 acquired at the initial setting”); and
Osada does not explicitly teach generations of application rule.
Taiki however discloses creating an application rule for packet processing based on the IP address (Taiki: “ traffic pattern data example>, the rule creation unit 207 of the edge node 105 may generate the redirect rule data 209 by itself & the rule creating unit 207 registers, in the filter rule data 208, the IP address and application related to the flow causing the abnormal traffic.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Osada in view of Taiki to figure out generations of application rule. One would be motivated to do so because this may be used to learn and enhance traffic pattern. (Taiki: [ABS]).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected based on rationale provided for claim 1.
As per claim 2, Osada/Taiki discloses the packet communication device according to claim 1, wherein the application rule for the packet processing comprises is at least one of a routing rule, a filtering rule, or a traffic control rule to perform policy-based routing for the packets received from the terminal (Taiki: “The filter function unit 202 applies the filter rule data 208, compares the source IP address of the packet and the application type sent from the DPI function unit 201 with the filter rule data”).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Osada in view of Taiki to figure out generations of application rule. One would be motivated to do so because this may be used to learn and enhance traffic pattern. (Taiki: [ABS]).
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected based on rationale provided for claim 1.
Claim 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osada (JP 2009049648) in view of Taiki (JP 6692178 B2) and in further view of Taiki (KR 20170064682 A).
As per claim 3, Osada discloses the packet communication device according to claim 1, the processor (Osada: “ to a packet routing control method for establishing a plurality of communication paths by connecting a VPN server on a remote network and a plurality of terminal devices in a local network by VPN connection”), further configured to execute operations comprising:
Osada does not explicitly teach generations of application rule.
Taiki however discloses updating the application rule when the IP address has been changed (Taiki: “A method for updating the traffic pattern and a method for updating the filter rule data 208 and the redirect rule data 209”).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Osada in view of Taiki to figure out generations of application rule. One would be motivated to do so because this may be used to learn and enhance traffic pattern. (Taiki: [ABS]).
Osada does not explicitly teach determination of change in the IP address.
Chang however discloses determining whether or not the IP address corresponding to a terminal identifier of the terminal has been changed (Chang: “the terminal 820 compares the recently received package name and the IP address list with the previously stored package name and IP address list, and if the changed package name and the IP address list are changed, The list can be updated (S806)”) according to a database storing the IP address and the terminal identifier (Chang: “subscriber profile corresponding to the IMSI from the internal database and transmits to the MME 50 a Location Update Answer Message including a fixed IP address allocated in advance to the corresponding subscriber (S405)”).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Osada in view of Taiki to figure out change in the IP address. One would be motivated to do so because this provides a multi-path packet data service adaptively according to an application service (Chang: [ABS]).
As per claim 4, Osada discloses the packet communication device according to claim 1, the processor (Osada: “ to a packet routing control method for establishing a plurality of communication paths by connecting a VPN server on a remote network and a plurality of terminal devices in a local network by VPN connection”), further configured to execute a method comprising;
Osada does not explicitly teach generations of application rule.
Taiki however discloses and updating the application rule when the IP address has been changed (Taiki: “A method for updating the traffic pattern and a method for updating the filter rule data 208 and the redirect rule data 209”)..
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Osada in view of Taiki to figure out generations of application rule. One would be motivated to do so because this may be used to learn and enhance traffic pattern. (Taiki: [ABS]).
Modified Osada does not explicitly teach Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol server.
determining whether or not the IP address has been changed (Chang: “the terminal 820 compares the recently received package name and the IP address list with the previously stored package name and IP address list, and if the changed package name and the IP address list are changed, The list can be updated (S806)”) ; and
receiving the IP address corresponding to a terminal identifier of the terminal from a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol server (Chang: “IETF based IP packet forwarding protocol is used, and in the control plane, protocols such as DHCP”).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Osada in view of Taiki to figure out change in the IP address. One would be motivated to do so because this provides a multi-path packet data service adaptively according to an application service (Chang: [ABS]).
Claims 9, 11-12, 15 and 17-18 are rejected based on rationale provided for claims 3-4
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 14 & 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Both claims 6, 14 & 20 needs to be dissolved into their respective independent claims for potential allowance.
Conclusion
This action is final. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
/SIBTE H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449