DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 14-18 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Horibe (US20180083304).
Regarding Claim 1, Horibe discloses an all-solid-state battery ([0017]) comprising:
A support that includes on surface (substrate-120A acts as support, [0036]);
A plurality of unit battery cells that are arranged in a first direction that is parallel with the surface of the support on the surface of the support (plurality of battery layers act as battery cells ([007])),
Each unit battery cell including a first electrode portion and a second electrode portion stacked with a solid electrolyte portion therebetween in a second direction that is perpendicular to the surface of the support (each solid thin film battery element-122 includes a cathode-126 and an anode-130 stacked with an electrolyte-128 stacked between them, Fig. 1, [0039]),
An electrode connection portion that extends in the second direction (vias-144 act as electrode connection portion, [0034], Fig. 1), and connects first electrode portions and second electrode portions of different unit cells in series (thin film battery elements are connected in series, [0051]).
Regarding Claim 2, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above. Horibe further discloses wherein in one of the pluralities of unit battery cells, edges of the first electrode portion and the second electrode portion are disposed to be displaced from each other by a predetermined distance in the first direction (Fig. 1 shows electrode portions are displaced from each other).
Regarding Claim 3, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above. Horibe further discloses wherein in one of the pluralitiy of unit battery cells and another of the plurality of unit battery cells connected to the one of the plurality of unit battery cells, the electrode connection portion between the one of the plurality of unit battery cells and the another of the plurality of unit battery cells is in contact with a bottom surface of one end of the second electrode portion of the one of the plurality of unit battery cells and a top surface of one end of the first electrode portion of the another of the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 1, vias-144/146 acting as electrode connection portion).
Regarding Claim 4, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above. Horibe further discloses wherein the electrode connection portion between the one of the pluralities of unit battery cells and the another of the plurality of unit battery cells extends to the support while covering a side surface of one end of the first electrode portion of the another of the plurality of unit battery cells (Fig. 1, vias-144/146 acting as electrode connection portion).
Regarding Claim 5, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above. Horibe further discloses the solid electrolyte portion covers a top surface and aside surface of the first electrode portion of one of the plurality of unit battery cells (electrolyte-128 covers top surface a side surface of the cathode-126, Fig. 1, [0039]).
Regarding Claim 6, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above. Horibe further discloses wherein the solid electrolyte portions included in the different unit battery cells are divided by the electrode connection portion in the first direction (electrolyte portions-128 are divided by the vias-144/146 for each plurality of unit cells, Fig. 1, [0039]).
Regarding Claim 7, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above. Horibe further discloses the second electrode portions that neighbor each other in the first direction are divided by a margin electrolyte portion (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, a margin electrolyte portion can be any portion of an electrolyte that divides the neighboring second electrode portions, and therefore the electrolyte portion-128 that contacts the anode-130 and the anode current collector-132 acts as margin electrolyte, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above. Horibe further discloses a first current collecting portion that is connected to a first connection portion located at one outer side of the plurality of unit battery cells (current collector-124 acts as first current collecting portion, and via-144 acts as first connection portion, Fig. 1, [0039]); and a second current collecting portion that is connected to a second electrode portion located at the outermost side of the plurality of the unit battery cells (current collector-132acts as second current collecting portion, and via-146 acts as second connection portion, Fig. 1, [0039]).
Regarding Claim 14, Horibe discloses an all-solid-state battery comprising ([0017]):
A support that includes first and second surfaces that face toward opposite directions on surface (substrates-120(A-C) acts as support, [0036]);
A plurality of upper unit battery cells that are arranged in a first direction that is parallel with the surface of the support on the surface of the support (plurality of battery layers act as battery cells ([007])), Each upper unit battery cell including a first electrode portion and a second electrode portion stacked with a solid electrolyte portion therebetween in a second direction that is perpendicular to the surface of the support (each solid thin film battery element-122 includes a cathode-126 and an anode-130 stacked with an electrolyte-128 stacked between them, Fig. 1, [0039]), An upper electrode connection portion that extends in the second direction (vias-144 act as electrode connection portion, [0034], Fig. 1), and connects first electrode portions and second electrode portions of different unit cells in series (thin film battery elements are connected in series, [0051]), and
A plurality of lower unit battery cells that are arranged in a first direction that is parallel with the second surface of the support on the surface of the support (plurality of battery layers act as battery cells ([007])), Each lower unit battery cell including a third electrode portion and a fourth electrode portion stacked with a solid electrolyte portion therebetween in a second direction that is perpendicular to the surface of the support (each solid thin film battery element-122 includes a cathode-126 and an anode-130 stacked with an electrolyte-128 stacked between them, Fig. 1, [0039]), An lower electrode connection portion that extends in the second direction (vias-144 act as electrode connection portion, [0034], Fig. 1), and connects third electrode portions and fourth electrode portions of different unit cells in series (thin film battery elements are connected in series, [0051]).
Regarding Claim 15, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above. Horibe further discloses wherein in one of the pluralities of the upper unit battery cells, edges of the first electrode portion and the second electrode portion are disposed to be displaced from each other by a predetermined distance in the first direction (Fig. 1 shows electrode portions are displaced from each other).
Horibe further discloses wherein in one of the pluralities of the lower unit battery cells, edges of the third electrode portion and the fourth electrode portion are disposed to be displaced from each other by a second predetermined distance in the first direction (Fig. 1 shows electrode portions are displaced from each other).
Regarding Claim 16, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above. Horibe further discloses wherein in one of the plurality of upper unit battery cells and another of the plurality of unit battery cells connected to the one of the plurality of upper unit battery cells, the electrode connection portion between the one of the plurality of upper unit battery cells and the another of the plurality of upper unit battery cells is in contact with a bottom surface of one end of the second electrode portion of the one of the plurality of upper unit battery cells and a top surface of one end of the first electrode portion of the another of the plurality of upper battery cells (Fig. 1, vias-144/146 acting as electrode connection portion).
Horibe further discloses wherein in one of the plurality of lower unit battery cells and another of the plurality of lower unit battery cells connected to the one of the plurality of lower unit battery cells, the electrode connection portion between the one of the plurality of lower unit battery cells and the another of the plurality of lower unit battery cells is in contact with a bottom surface of one end of the fourth electrode portion of the one of the plurality of lower unit battery cells and a top surface of one end of the thrid electrode portion of the another of the plurality of lower battery cells (Fig. 1, vias-144/146 acting as electrode connection portion).
Regarding Claim 17, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above. Horibe further discloses wherein the upper electrode connection portion extends to the support while covering a side surface of one end of the first electrode portion of one of the plurality of upper unit battery cells (Fig. 1, vias-144/146 acting as electrode connection portion, substrates-120A-C act as support, [0039]), and the lower electrode connection portion extends to the support, while covering a side surface of one end of the third electrode portions on one of the plurality of upper unit battery cells (Fig. 1, vias-144/146 acting as electrode connection portion, substrates-120A-C act as support, [0039]).
Claim 18, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above. Horibe further discloses wherein the second electrode portions that neighbor each other in the first direction are divided by an upper margin electrolyte portion, the fourth electrolyte portions that neighbor each other in the first direction are divided by a lower margin electrolyte potion (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, a margin electrolyte portion can be any portion of an electrolyte that divides the neighboring second electrode portions, and therefore the electrolyte portion-128 that contacts the anode-130 and the anode current collector-132 acts as margin electrolyte, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 20, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Horibe further discloses a first current collecting portion and a second current collecting portion that are respectively located at opposing outermost sides of the plurality of upper unit battery cells and respectively connected to the first electrode portion and the second electrode portion; and a third current collecting portion and a fourth current collecting portion that are respectively located at opposing outermost sides of the plurality of lower unit battery cells (current collector-124 acts as first current collecting portion, and via-144 acts as first connection portion, Fig. 1, [0039], current collector-132acts as second current collecting portion, and via-146 acts as second connection portion, Fig. 1, [0039]) and
Respectively connected to the third electrode portion and the fourth electrode portion, wherein the first current collecting portion is connected with the third current collecting portion, and the second current collecting portion is connected with the fourth current collecting portion (current collector-124 acts as first current collecting portion, and via-144 acts as first connection portion, Fig. 1, [0039], current collector-132acts as second current collecting portion, and via-146 acts as second connection portion, Fig. 1, [0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horibe (US20180083304).
Regarding Claim 11, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Horibe does not directly disclose wherein the maximum thickness in the second direction of the first current collecting portion and the second current collecting portion is the same as the sum of the maximum thicknesses in which the first electrode portion, the solid electrolyte portion and the second electrode portion are stacked in the second direction.
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim “wherein the maximum thickness in the second direction of the first current collecting portion and the second current collecting portion is the same as the sum of the maximum thicknesses in which the first electrode portion, the solid electrolyte portion and the second electrode portion are stacked in the second direction” can be interpreted to mean that the first current collecting portion and the second current collecting portion thicknesses at their most thickness points is less that the thickness of the overall first electrode portion, solid electrolyte portion and second electrode portion.
Horibe discloses wherein the thickness of the overall solid thin film batteries can be 10 um or less ([0045]). Horibe further discloses wherein the overall thickness of the battery layer can be adjusted ([0061]). Horibe further discloses wherein the current collectors are thinner than the overall solid battery structure including the first and second electrode portion and solid electrolyte portion (Fig. 1, Fig. 4).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Horibe to have wherein the maximum thickness in the second direction of the first current collecting portion and the second current collecting portion is the same as the sum of the maximum thicknesses in which the first electrode portion, the solid electrolyte portion and the second electrode portion are stacked in the second direction.
Regarding Claim 12, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above. Horibe does not directly disclose wherein the support comprises an electrolyte support. However, Horibe discloses wherein the substrate can be formed of an alumina ceramic ([0037]), which is an electrolytic material.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Horibe to have wherein the support comprises an electrolyte support.
Regarding Claim 13, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above. Horibe discloses wherein the first all-solid-state battery layer and the second all-solid-state battery layer respectively include the support, the plurality of unit battery cells, and the electrode connection portion ([0039]).
Horibe does not directly disclose wherein the all-solid-state battery comprises a first all-solid-state battery layer and a second all-solid-state battery layer that are stacked in the second direction and connected in parallel with each other.
Horibe further discloses the first and second layers and the third and fourth layers of the stacked battery layers can be connection parallel ([0052]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Horibe to have wherein the all-solid-state battery comprises a first all-solid-state battery layer and a second all-solid-state battery layer that are stacked in the second direction and connected in parallel with each other.
Claim(s) 8, 9 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horibe (US20180083304) in view of Hiroshi (JP2015220105A, see Machine Translation for citations).
Regarding Claim 8, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Horibe does not directly disclose wherein the conductivity of the margin electrolyte portion is lower than conductivity of the solid electrolyte portions.
Hiroshi discloses a solid electrolyte battery stack that has a first electrolyte layer that acts as marginal electrolyte layer and a second electrolyte layer that acts as the solid electrolyte portions (first ion-conductive solid electrolyte layer, and second ion-conductive solid electrolyte layer, [0011], [0022]). Hiroshi further discloses wherein the ion-conductive solid electrolytes can be formed of various materials ([0028]). Hiroshi discloses wherein this structure has improved battery reliability ([0012]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Horibe with the teachings of Hiroshi to have wherein the conductivity of the margin electrolyte portion is lower than conductivity of the solid electrolyte portions. This modification would yield the expected result of improved battery reliability.
Regarding Claim 9, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above. Hirobe does not directly disclose wherein a top end of the electrode connection portion is in contact with a boundary between the second electrode portion and the margin electrolyte portion.
Hiroshi discloses a solid electrolyte battery stack that has a first electrolyte layer that acts as marginal electrolyte layer and a second electrolyte layer that acts as the solid electrolyte portions (first ion-conductive solid electrolyte layer, and second ion-conductive solid electrolyte layer, [0011], [0022]). Hiroshi further discloses an electrode connection portion (first terminal-31 acts as electrode connection portion, Fig. 1). Hiroshi further discloses wherein the electrode connection portion has a top surface that is in contact with both the first ion conductive layer acting as marginal electrolyte and the second electrolyte layer (Fig. 1, [0022]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Horibe with the teachings of Hiroshi to have wherein a top end of the electrode connection portion is in contact with a boundary between the second electrode portion and the margin electrolyte portion.
Regarding Claim 19, Horibe discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Hirobe does not directly disclose wherein a top end of the upper electrode connection portion is disposed to be in contact with the boundary between the second electrode portion and the upper margin electrolyte portion, and a lower end of the lower electrode connection portion is disposed to be in contact with the boundary between the fourth electrode portion and the lower margin electrolyte portion.
Hiroshi discloses a solid electrolyte battery stack that has a first electrolyte layer that acts as marginal electrolyte layer and a second electrolyte layer that acts as the solid electrolyte portions (first ion-conductive solid electrolyte layer, and second ion-conductive solid electrolyte layer, [0011], [0022]). Hiroshi further discloses an electrode connection portion (first terminal-31 acts as electrode connection portion, Fig. 1). Hiroshi further discloses wherein the electrode connection portion has a top surface that is in contact with both the first ion conductive layer acting as marginal electrolyte and the second electrolyte layer (Fig. 1, [0022]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Horibe with the teachings of Hiroshi to have wherein a top end of the upper electrode connection portion is disposed to be in contact with the boundary between the second electrode portion and the upper margin electrolyte portion, and a lower end of the lower electrode connection portion is disposed to be in contact with the boundary between the fourth electrode portion and the lower margin electrolyte portion.
Conclusion
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728