DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments regarding “the belt support panel 126 cannot extend to the end tilt arm assembly 46” and “the lower run of the side draper belt 138 may extend below the panels 136” have been considered but are not persuasive, as these arguments do not appear clearly tied to a claim limitation not being disclosed by the applied reference.
In particular, independent claim 1 does not recite that the tensioning mechanism tensions only the elongated draper track and not the draper belt. Rather, claim 1 recites “a tensioning mechanism coupled between the first end of the elongated draper track and the other of the first and second support legs for tensioning the elongated draper track across the first and second support legs to support the draper belt.” The claim therefore requires that the tensioning mechanism result in support of the draper belt but does not exclude configurations in which belt tension is transmitted through intermediate structures.
As shown in Duerksen (See annotated Fig. 3), the belt tensioning mechanism 140 applies tension to the draper belt 138 via the outboard roller 134. This tension is transmitted through the belt support panel 136, which extends longitudinally across the header and supports at least a portion of the draper belt. Accordingly, under broadest reasonable interpretation, tensioning the draper belt necessarily tensions the supporting structure, including the belt support panel and associated track-like elements, thereby supporting the draper belt as claimed.
Applicant’s contention that “the lower run of the side draper belt 138 may extend below the panels 136” does not negate this disclosure. Claim 1 does not require exclusive support of the return run, nor does it require that the support structure contact the belt along its entire length. The claim merely recites supporting “at least a portion of the draper belt.”
Further, Applicant’s argument regarding elements not being “between” are not persuasive. Under BRI, the term “extending between” does not require direct contact with each element or uninterrupted physical connection. For example, in a broad but reasonable sense, the Mississippi River is between Washington, D.C. and California even through it contacts neither Washington, D.C. nor California.
Additionally, the term “coupled” is sufficiently broad to encompass both indirect and direct coupling relationships. Duerksen’s belt tensioning mechanism 140 is operatively coupled to the support legs through the draper arm assemblies 44 and associated mounting structure fixed relative to the header frame. As such, the coupling requirement is met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duerksen et al. (US 20200375107 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Duerksen teaches a draper header (40) for harvesting agricultural crops, the draper header comprising:
a header frame (42) extending longitudinally between opposite first and second ends (46) and having at least first and second support legs (44) spaced apart between the first and second ends thereof.
a draper belt (138) rotatably supported by the header frame (42) and extending across the first and second support legs (44) for transporting harvested agricultural crops.
a tension draper track assembly (52) operatively coupled between the first and second support legs (44) for supporting at least a portion of the draper belt (138), the tension draper track assembly including an elongated draper track (136) extending between a first end and an opposite second end (46), the second end of the elongated draper track secured to one of the first and second support legs (44), and.
a tensioning mechanism (140) coupled between the first end of the elongated draper track (136) and the other of the first and second support legs (44) for tensioning the elongated draper track across the first and second support legs to support the draper belt (138). (See Duerksen annotated Fig. 3 and zoomed in Fig. 3 below)
Regarding claim 2, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 1 wherein the draper belt (138) includes a top run (upper run) and an opposite return run (lower run) spaced parallel and below the top run. (See Duerksen [0066])
Regarding claim 3, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 2 wherein the tension draper track assembly (54) is adapted and arranged for supporting the return run (lower run, via 136 belt support panel [0066]) of the draper belt (138).
Regarding claim 24, Duerksen teaches a draper header for harvesting agricultural crops, the draper header (40) comprising:
a header frame (42) extending longitudinally between opposite first and second ends (46) and having at least first and second support legs (44) spaced apart between the first and second ends thereof.
a draper belt (138) rotatably supported by the header frame (42) and extending across the first and second support legs (44) for transporting harvested agricultural crops.
a tension draper track assembly (52) operatively coupled between the first and second support legs (44) for supporting at least a portion of the draper belt (138), the tension draper track assembly including at least a first and a second elongated draper track (136) each extending between a first end and an opposite second end (46), the second end of the first elongated draper track secured to the first support leg (44) and the second end of the second elongated draper track secured to the second support leg (44), and.
a tensioning mechanism (140) coupled between the first end of the first elongated draper track (136) and the first end of the second elongated draper track for tensioning the first and second elongated draper tracks across the first and second support legs (44) to support the draper belt (138). (See Duerksen annotated Fig. 3 below)
Regarding claim 25, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 24 wherein the draper belt (134) includes a top run (upper run) and an opposite return run (lower run) spaced parallel and below the top run. (See Duerksen [0066])
Regarding claim 26, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 25 wherein the tension draper track assembly (54) is adapted and arranged for supporting the return run (lower run, via 136 belt support panel [0066]) of the draper belt (138).
Regarding claim 27, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 26 wherein the first ends of each of the first and second elongated draper tracks (136) include a downwardly-extending tab with corresponding holes extending therethrough. (See Duerksen annotated Fig. 3 below)
Regarding claim 28, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 27 wherein the tensioning mechanism (140) further includes a fastener received by the holes in the downwardly-extending tabs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8, 10, 29-31, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duerksen et al. (US 20200375107 A1) in view of Hoffman et al. (US 20130105282 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 3, the tensioning mechanism (140), and elongated draper track (136).
Duerksen fails to teach a rod coupled to and extending from the first end of the elongated draper track.
Hoffman teaches a rod (236) coupled to and extending from the first end (outer end) of the elongated draper track (228).
Hoffman states, "The elongate spring support 236 is formed as a threaded rod with a head 702 (FIG. 7) at its outer end." (Hoffman [0040])
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen with the elongate spring support as disclosed by Hoffman to provide an robust, accessible, and efficient way to apply and adjust tension on a draper belt system.
Regarding claim 5, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 4 and the first and second support legs (44).
Duerksen fails to teach wherein the other of the first and second support legs has a hole for receiving the rod therethrough.
Hoffman teaches wherein the other of the first and second support legs (202A) has a hole for receiving the rod (236) therethrough.
Hoffman states, "The elongate spring support 236 is formed as a threaded rod with a head 702 (FIG. 7) at its outer end. The tension in the coil spring 240 is communicated to the head 702 which abuts the outer side wall 704 (FIG. 7) of arm 202A at a point adjacent to the pivot pin 216. This arrangement communicates the tension in the coil spring 240 to the arm 202A itself." (Hoffman [0040] and annotated Fig. 4 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen with the support legs and the rod as disclosed by Hoffman to simplify the tensioning mechanism assembly. Thus, reducing the manufacturing costs and makes field maintenance easier for operators.
Regarding claim 6, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 5, the tensioning mechanism (140), the elongated draper track (136), and the first and second support legs (44).
Duerksen fails to teach wherein the tensioning mechanism further includes a fastening element for securing the rod through the hole and tensioning the elongated draper track across the first and second support legs.
Hoffman teaches wherein the tensioning mechanism further includes a fastening element (238) for securing the rod (236) through the hole and tensioning the elongated draper track (228) across the first and second support legs (202A, 202B).
Hoffman states, "This permits the tensioning beam 230 to pivot about its front end to a greater extent and thereby to move the translating roller carriage 228 farther toward the middle of the draper platform when the spring retainer 238 translates inwardly and away from arm 202A on the elongate spring support 236." (Hoffman [0049])
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen with the fastening element as disclosed by Hoffman to adjust the rod’s position precisely to set tension on the belt based on belt wear or different crop conditions.
Regarding claim 7, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 6, the elongated draper track (136), and the first and second support legs (44).
Duerksen fails to teach wherein tension of the elongated draper track across the first and second support legs can be increased and decreased by tightening and loosening the fastening element.
Hoffman teaches wherein tension of the elongated draper track (228) across the first and second support legs (202A, 202B) can be increased and decreased by tightening and loosening the fastening element (238).
Hoffman states, "The tension in coil spring 240 can be adjusted by placing a wrench on head 702 and rotating it. This rotation causes the spring retainer 238 to threadedly move up and down along the length of the elongate spring support 236, and thus causes the inner end of coil spring 240 to move up and down along the length of the elongate spring support 236." (Hoffman [0041])
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen with the fastening element as disclosed by Hoffman to finely tune the belt tension so that the belt runs smoothly and tight enough to prevent slippage. Thus, preventing damage or excessive wear from loose or overly tightened draper belts.
Regarding claim 8, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 7, the tensioning mechanism (140), the first and second support legs (44), the elongated draper track (136), and the draper header (40).
Duerksen fails to teach a spring mounted between the fastening element and the other of the first and second support legs to dampen vibrations and reduce loading in the elongated draper track during use of the draper header.
Hoffman teaches a spring (240) mounted between the fastening element (238) and the other of the first and second support legs (202A) to dampen vibrations and reduce loading in the elongated draper track (228) during use of the draper header (102).
Hoffman states, "The outer end of coil spring 240 abuts the rear end of tensioning beam 230. Tensioning beam 230 extends generally fore-and-aft and is disposed inside the loop of the conveyor belt 108. Tensioning beam 230 serves to communicate the tension in coil spring 240 to the translating roller carriage 228. The rear end of tensioning beam 230 is slidably supported on the elongate spring support 236 resting against the outer end of coil spring 240. Thus, any tension in spring 240 is applied to the rear end of tensioning beam 230 and tends to push it outward." (Hoffman [0042])
Hoffman further states, "The front end of tensioning beam 230 is coupled to the front guide rod 224 and elongate bar 204 which restrains the front end of tensioning beam 230 and communicates the tension in the tensioning beam 230 directly to the arm 202A." (Hoffman [0043])
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen with a coil spring as disclosed by Hoffman to absorb and dissipate forces acted on the rod. Thus, protecting the elongated draper track and reducing fatigue or cracking on the frame.
Regarding claim 10, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 8 wherein the elongated draper track (136) includes a first and an opposite second side, the first side arranged to face and engage the draper belt. (See Duerksen [0066] and annotated Fig. 3 below)
Regarding claim 29, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 28, the tensioning mechanism (140), the first and second elongated draper tracks (136), and the first and second support legs (44).
Duerksen fails to teach further includes a fastening element for securing the fastener through the holes in the downwardly-extending tabs.
Hoffman teaches further includes a fastening element (238) for securing the fastener (702) through the holes in the downwardly-extending tabs (222).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen with a spring retainer for securing the head through the holes in the downwardly-extending bracket as disclosed by Hoffman to reinforce, stabilize, and allow for easy adjustments to the anchor point. Thus, properly tensioning the draper track and improving durability.
Regarding claim 30, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 29, the first and second elongated draper tracks (136), and the first and second support legs (44).
Duerksen fails to teach wherein tension of the first and second elongated draper tracks across the first and second support legs can be increased and decreased by tightening and loosening the fastening element.
Hoffman teaches wherein tension of the elongated draper tracks (228) across the first and second support legs (202A, 202B) can be increased and decreased by tightening and loosening the fastening element (238).
Hoffman states, "The tension in coil spring 240 can be adjusted by placing a wrench on head 702 and rotating it. This rotation causes the spring retainer 238 to threadedly move up and down along the length of the elongate spring support 236, and thus causes the inner end of coil spring 240 to move up and down along the length of the elongate spring support 236." (Hoffman [0041])
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen with the fastening element as disclosed by Hoffman to finely tune the belt tension so that the belt runs smoothly and tight enough to prevent slippage. Thus, preventing damage or excessive wear from loose or overly tightened draper belts.
Regarding claim 31, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 30, and the tensioning mechanism (140), the first and second support legs (44), the first and second elongated draper track (136), and the draper header (40).
Duerksen fails to teach a spring mounted between the fastening element and at least one of the downwardly-extending tabs to dampen vibrations and reduce loading in the first and second elongated draper tracks during use of the draper header.
Hoffman teaches a spring (240) mounted between the fastening element (238) and the at least one of the downwardly-extending tabs to dampen vibrations and reduce loading in the first and second elongated draper tracks (228) during use of the draper header (102).
Hoffman states, "The outer end of coil spring 240 abuts the rear end of tensioning beam 230. Tensioning beam 230 extends generally fore-and-aft and is disposed inside the loop of the conveyor belt 108. Tensioning beam 230 serves to communicate the tension in coil spring 240 to the translating roller carriage 228. The rear end of tensioning beam 230 is slidably supported on the elongate spring support 236 resting against the outer end of coil spring 240. Thus, any tension in spring 240 is applied to the rear end of tensioning beam 230 and tends to push it outward." (Hoffman [0042])
Hoffman further states, "The front end of tensioning beam 230 is coupled to the front guide rod 224 and elongate bar 204 which restrains the front end of tensioning beam 230 and communicates the tension in the tensioning beam 230 directly to the arm 202A." (Hoffman [0043])
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen with a coil spring as disclosed by Hoffman to absorb and dissipate forces acted on the rod. Thus, protecting the elongated draper track and reducing fatigue or cracking on the frame.
Regarding claim 33, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 31 wherein the first and second elongated draper tracks (136) each include a first and an opposite second side, the first sides of the first and second elongated draper tracks arranged to face and engage the draper belt (134). (See Duerksen annotated Fig. 3 below)
Claims 9, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duerksen et al. (US 20200375107 A1) in view of Hoffman et al. (US 20130105282 A1) as applied to claims 4-8, 10, 29-31, and 33 above, and further in view of Cook (US 20210147152 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Duerksen in view of Hoffman teaches draper header of claim 7 wherein the tensioning mechanism (140), the other of the first and second support legs (44), the elongated draper track (136), the draper header (40).
Duerksen in view of Hoffman fails to teach an elastomeric component (306) mounted between the fastening element (320).
Cook teaches an elastomeric component (306) mounted between the fastening element (320).
Cook states, "The direction in which the belt tensioner 310 moves to release the travel stop 312 from the tensioner mount 306 may have a bearing on other aspects of the mechanism design. For example, if the opening 322 is positioned to require the belt tensioner 310 to pivot in a direction that is not perpendicular to the roller rotation axis 308, it might be necessary to provide an articulated joint to allow such motion. In the example of FIGS. 4A-4C, the receiver 318 is formed as a spherical rod end fitting that is connected to the roller axle 402 by a bolt 404, to allow the displacement necessary to release the belt tensioner 310 from the tensioner mount 306. Other mechanisms (e.g., ball joints or elastomeric bushings) may be used in other embodiments. " (Cook [0047] and annotated Fig. 4A below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen in view of Hoffman with the tensioner mount as disclosed by Cook to add an additional layer of vibration damping, shock absorption, and noise reduction. Thus, making the tensioning system more durable and stable during operations.
Regarding claim 32, Duerksen in view of Hoffman teaches draper header of claim 30 wherein the tensioning mechanism (140), the first and second elongated draper tracks (136), the draper header (40), and at least one of the downwardly-extending tabs.
Duerksen in view of Hoffman fails to teach an elastomeric component (306) mounted between the fastening element (320).
Cook teaches an elastomeric component (306) mounted between the fastening element (320).
Cook states, "The direction in which the belt tensioner 310 moves to release the travel stop 312 from the tensioner mount 306 may have a bearing on other aspects of the mechanism design. For example, if the opening 322 is positioned to require the belt tensioner 310 to pivot in a direction that is not perpendicular to the roller rotation axis 308, it might be necessary to provide an articulated joint to allow such motion. In the example of FIGS. 4A-4C, the receiver 318 is formed as a spherical rod end fitting that is connected to the roller axle 402 by a bolt 404, to allow the displacement necessary to release the belt tensioner 310 from the tensioner mount 306. Other mechanisms (e.g., ball joints or elastomeric bushings) may be used in other embodiments. " (Cook [0047] and annotated Fig. 4A below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen in view of Hoffman with the tensioner mount as disclosed by Cook to add an additional layer of vibration damping, shock absorption, and noise reduction. Thus, making the tensioning system more durable and stable during operations.
Claims 11-16, 34-39, 40-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duerksen et al. (US 20200375107 A1) in view of Hoffman et al. (US 20130105282 A1) as applied to claims 4-8, 10, 29-31, and 33 above, and further in view of Hasenour et al. (US 20190104684 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Duerksen in view of Hoffman teaches the draper header of claim 10, the elongated draper track (136), and the draper belt (138).
Duerksen in view of Hoffman fails to teach further comprising a low-friction material covering the first side of the elongated draper track to reduce friction and wear on the draper belt as it engages the elongated draper track.
Hasenour teaches further comprising a low-friction material (210) covering the first side of the elongated draper track (204) to reduce friction and wear on the draper belt (114) as it engages the elongated draper track.
Hasenour states, "The belt guide 204 is illustrated in FIG. 2 in an exploded view. The belt guide 204 is formed in two layers. It includes an elongate support strip 208 that is fixed to the top of the support arms 200 and a wear strip 210 that is fixed to the support strip 208." (Hasenour [0052])
Hasenour further states, " Wear strip 210 is attached to support strip 208 with a plurality of fasteners 214 (such as threaded fasteners, rivets, or clips) better spaced apart and attached adjacent to the leading edge edges and to the trailing edges of the wear strip 210 and the support strip 208. In FIG. 2, 31 fasteners 214 are shown." (Hasenour [0054])
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen in view of Hoffman with the wear strip as disclosed by Hasenour to provide a smoother belt movement, reduce wear, improve energy efficiency, and better crop flow. Thus, enhancing the performance and lifespan of the draper header.
Regarding claim 12, Duerksen in view of Hoffman teaches the draper header of claim 10, the first and second sides of the elongated draper track (136), and the draper belt (138).
Duerksen in view of Hoffman fails to teach further comprising a low-friction material covering both the first and second sides of the elongated draper track to reduce friction and wear on the draper belt as it engages the elongated draper track.
Hasenour teaches further comprising a low-friction material (210) covering both the first and second sides of the elongated draper track (204) to reduce friction and wear on the draper belt (114) as it engages the elongated draper track.
Hasenour further states, " Wear strip 210 is attached to support strip 208 with a plurality of fasteners 214 (such as threaded fasteners, rivets, or clips) better spaced apart and attached adjacent to the leading edge edges and to the trailing edges of the wear strip 210 and the support strip 208. In FIG. 2, 31 fasteners 214 are shown." (Hasenour [0054] and annotated Fig. 2 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen in view of Hoffman with the wear strip covering both the first and second sides of the belt guide as disclosed by Hasenour to provide complete protection to the draper belt, Thus, increasing draper belt and track life throughout the whole system.
Regarding claim 13, Duerksen in view of Hoffman teaches the draper header of claim 10, the second end of the elongated draper track (136), the draper belt (138), and header frame (42).
Duerksen in view of Hoffman fails to teach further comprising a pair of low-friction elements flanking the second end of the elongated draper track to reduce friction and wear on the draper belt as it rotates across the header frame.
Hasenour teaches further comprising a pair of low-friction elements (210) flanking the second end of the elongated draper track (204) to reduce friction and wear on the draper belt (114) as it rotates across the header frame (102).
Hasenour further states, " Wear strip 210 is attached to support strip 208 with a plurality of fasteners 214 (such as threaded fasteners, rivets, or clips) better spaced apart and attached adjacent to the leading edge edges and to the trailing edges of the wear strip 210 and the support strip 208. In FIG. 2, 31 fasteners 214 are shown." (Hasenour [0054])
Hasenour further states, "The support strip 208 is fixed to the top of one or more support arms with fasteners 212. Fasteners 212 are preferably threaded fasteners, rivets or clips. In one arrangement, shown here, every support arm 200 is fixed to the support strip with a fastener 212. In an alternative arrangement, a couple of fasteners 212 can be used to fix the opposing ends of the support strip 208 to support arms 200 at opposing ends of the support strip." (Hasenour [0053])
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen in view of Hoffman with the wear strip flanking the second end of the belt guide as disclosed by Hasenour to improve draper belt performance and extend the life of the belt guides.
Regarding claim 14, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 11 wherein the elongated draper track (136) has a cross-section defined by a substantially planar horizontal upper portion extending laterally between a pair of angled side portions. (See Duerksen annotated Fig. 3 below) (Examiner's Note: It is noted that Hasenour (US 20190104684 A1) also discloses an elongated draper track (204) having a cross section defined by a substantially planar horizontal upper portion (210) extending laterally between a pair of angled side portions (500, 502) (See Hasenour [0055]; Fig. 5))
Regarding claim 15, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 14 and the first and second support legs (44).
Duerksen fails to teach wherein the one of the first and second support legs includes a coupling bracket extending substantially perpendicularly therefrom for securing the second end of the elongated draper track to the one of the first and second support legs.
Hoffman teaches wherein the one of the first and second support legs (202A, 202B) includes a coupling bracket (222) extending substantially perpendicularly therefrom for securing the second end of the elongated draper track (228) to the one of the first and second support legs.
Hoffman states, "Roller mount 220 includes a bracket 222, a front guide member (here shown as a front guide rod 224), a rear guide member (here shown as a rear guide rod 226), a translating roller carriage 228, a tensioning beam 230, and a spring assembly 232." (Hoffman [0035] and annotated Fig. 4 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen with the first and second arms includes a coupling bracket as disclosed by Hoffman to provide a rigid and stable attachment to keep the track aligned under stress of crop flow, belt motion, and vibration during operation.
Regarding claim 16, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 14 and the other of the first and second support legs (44).
Duerksen fails to teach wherein the other of the first and second support legs further includes a downwardly-extending tensioning bracket through which the hole extends for receiving the rod therethrough.
Hoffman teaches wherein the other of the first and second support legs (202A, 202B) further includes a downwardly-extending tensioning bracket (222) through which the hole extends for receiving the rod (236) therethrough.
Hoffman states, "Roller mount 220 includes a bracket 222, a front guide member (here shown as a front guide rod 224), a rear guide member (here shown as a rear guide rod 226), a translating roller carriage 228, a tensioning beam 230, and a spring assembly 232." (Hoffman [0035] and annotated Fig. 4 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen with the first and second arms includes a downwardly-extending tensioning bracket as disclosed by Hoffman to provide a rigid and stable attachment to keep the track aligned under stress of crop flow, belt motion, and vibration during operation.
Regarding claim 34, Duerksen in view of Hoffman teaches the draper header of claim 33.
Duerksen in view of Hoffman fails to teach further comprising a low-friction material covering the first side of the first and second elongated draper tracks to reduce friction and wear on the draper belt as it engages the first and second elongated draper tracks.
Hasenour teaches further comprising a low-friction material (210) covering the first side of the first and second elongated draper tracks (204) to reduce friction and wear on the draper belt (114) as it engages the first and second elongated draper tracks.
Hasenour states, "The belt guide 204 is illustrated in FIG. 2 in an exploded view. The belt guide 204 is formed in two layers. It includes an elongate support strip 208 that is fixed to the top of the support arms 200 and a wear strip 210 that is fixed to the support strip 208." (Hasenour [0052])
Hasenour further states, " Wear strip 210 is attached to support strip 208 with a plurality of fasteners 214 (such as threaded fasteners, rivets, or clips) better spaced apart and attached adjacent to the leading edge edges and to the trailing edges of the wear strip 210 and the support strip 208. In FIG. 2, 31 fasteners 214 are shown." (Hasenour [0054] and annotated Fig. 6)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen in view of Hoffman with the wear strip as disclosed by Hasenour to provide a smoother belt movement, reduce wear, improve energy efficiency, and better crop flow. Thus, enhancing the performance and lifespan of the draper header.
Regarding claim 35, Duerksen in view of Hoffman teaches the draper header of claim 33, the first and second sides of the elongated draper track (136), and the draper belt (138).
Duerksen in view of Hoffman fails to teach further comprising a low-friction material covering both the first and second sides of the first and second elongated draper tracks to reduce friction and wear on the draper belt as it engages the first and second elongated draper tracks.
Hasenour teaches further comprising a low-friction material (210) covering both the first and second sides of the first and second elongated draper tracks (204) to reduce friction and wear on the draper belt (114) as it engages the first and second elongated draper tracks.
Hasenour further states, " Wear strip 210 is attached to support strip 208 with a plurality of fasteners 214 (such as threaded fasteners, rivets, or clips) better spaced apart and attached adjacent to the leading edge edges and to the trailing edges of the wear strip 210 and the support strip 208. In FIG. 2, 31 fasteners 214 are shown." (Hasenour [0054] and annotated Fig. 6 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen in view of Hoffman with the wear strip covering both the first and second sides of the belt guide as disclosed by Hasenour to provide complete protection to the draper belt, Thus, increasing draper belt and track life throughout the whole system.
Regarding claim 36, Duerksen in view of Hoffman teaches the draper header of claim 33, the second ends of the first and second end of the elongated draper tracks (136), the draper belt (138), and header frame (42).
Duerksen in view of Hoffman fails to teach further comprising a pair of low-friction elements flanking the second ends of the first and second elongated draper tracks to reduce friction and wear on the draper belt as it rotates across the header frame.
Hasenour teaches a pair of low-friction elements (210) flanking the second ends of the first and second elongated draper tracks (204) to reduce friction and wear on the draper belt (114) as it rotates across the header frame (102).
Hasenour further states, " Wear strip 210 is attached to support strip 208 with a plurality of fasteners 214 (such as threaded fasteners, rivets, or clips) better spaced apart and attached adjacent to the leading edge edges and to the trailing edges of the wear strip 210 and the support strip 208. In FIG. 2, 31 fasteners 214 are shown." (Hasenour [0054])
Hasenour further states, "The support strip 208 is fixed to the top of one or more support arms with fasteners 212. Fasteners 212 are preferably threaded fasteners, rivets or clips. In one arrangement, shown here, every support arm 200 is fixed to the support strip with a fastener 212. In an alternative arrangement, a couple of fasteners 212 can be used to fix the opposing ends of the support strip 208 to support arms 200 at opposing ends of the support strip." (Hasenour [0053])
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen in view of Hoffman with the wear strip flanking the second end of the belt guide as disclosed by Hasenour to improve draper belt performance and extend the life of the belt guides.
Regarding claim 37, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 34 wherein the first and second elongated draper tracks (136) have a cross-section defined by a substantially planar horizontal upper portion extending laterally between a pair of angled side portions. (See Duerksen annotated Fig. 3 below)
Regarding claim 38, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 37 and the first and second support legs (44).
Duerksen fails to teach wherein the first and second support legs each include a coupling bracket extending substantially perpendicularly therefrom for securing the second ends of the first and second elongated draper tracks to the respective first and second support legs.
Hoffman teaches wherein the one of the first and second support legs (202A, 202B) includes a coupling bracket (222) extending substantially perpendicularly therefrom for securing the second end of the elongated draper track (228) to the one of the first and second support legs.
Hoffman states, "Roller mount 220 includes a bracket 222, a front guide member (here shown as a front guide rod 224), a rear guide member (here shown as a rear guide rod 226), a translating roller carriage 228, a tensioning beam 230, and a spring assembly 232." (Hoffman [0035] and annotated Fig. 4 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen with the first and second arms includes a coupling bracket as disclosed by Hoffman to provide a rigid and stable attachment to keep the track aligned under stress of crop flow, belt motion, and vibration during operation.
Regarding claim 39, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 38 wherein the elongated draper (136) track is a material selected from the group consisting of metal (Duerksen [0066] "metal strip"), polymer, and composite.
Regarding claim 40, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 39 wherein the draper belt (138) includes a plurality of cleats (218) extending transversely across and outwardly from the draper belt for aiding in transporting the harvested crops across the draper header (40).
Regarding claim 41, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 40 wherein the header frame (42) further includes a front portion (58) and a rear portion (56) extending longitudinally between the first and second ends (46) thereof. (Duerksen [0050] and annotated Fig. 1 below)
Regarding claim 42, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 41 further comprising a cutter bar assembly (68) operatively extending across the front portion (58) of the header frame (42) for cutting the crops to be harvested.
Regarding claim 43, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 42 further comprising a rear wall (64) extending substantially vertically from the rear portion (56) of the header frame (42) between the first and second ends (46) thereof, the rear wall including an opening (66) therethrough for transferring cut crops from the draper header (40).
Regarding claim 44, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 43 further comprising at least one crop pick-up reel (reel [0049]) operatively coupled to the header frame (42) for engaging the crops to be harvested. (Examiner's Note: draper header reel is mentioned in the specification but not mentioned in the drawings)
Claims 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duerksen et al. (US 20200375107 A1) in view of Hoffman et al. (US 20130105282 A1) as applied to claims 11-16, 34-39, 41-44 above, and further in view of Hasenour et al. (US 20190104684 A1) and still further in view of Watts et al. (US 6202397 B1).
Regarding claim 17, Duerksen in view of Hoffman and Hasenour teaches the draper header of claim 16, the tensioning mechanism (140), and the elongated draper track (136).
Duerksen in view of Hoffman and Hasenour fails to teach wherein the tensioning mechanism further includes a pair of arms coupled to and extending from the first end of the elongated draper track for engaging the downwardly-extending tensioning bracket to limit rotation of the tension draper track assembly between the post and the downwardly-extending tensioning bracket.
Watts teaches wherein the tensioning mechanism (70) further includes a pair of arms (96) coupled to and extending from the first end of the elongated draper track (64) for engaging the downwardly-extending tensioning bracket to limit rotation of the tension draper track assembly (106) between the post (108) and the downwardly-extending tensioning bracket (42, 106).
Watts states, "The other arm 96 of the bell crank is pinned to a strut 100. Rotation of the bell crank 86 about the pin 92 causes the slider 78 and tensioning bar 72 to move toward or away from the drive roller 56." (Watts Col. 3 lines 16-20 and annotated Fig. 2 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the draper header as taught by Duerksen in view of Hoffman and Hasenour with the pair of arms as disclosed by Watts to balance the load on both sides of the draper track’s first end. Thus, reducing twisting moments and distributing tension forces along the rod.
Regarding claim 18, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 17 wherein the elongated draper track (136) is a material selected from the group consisting of metal (Duerksen [0066] "metal strip"), polymer, and composite.
Regarding claim 19, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 18 wherein the draper belt (138) includes a plurality of cleats (218) extending transversely across and outwardly from the draper belt for aiding in transporting the harvested crops on the draper header (40).
Regarding claim 20, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 19 wherein the header frame (42) further includes a front portion (58) and a rear portion (56) extending longitudinally between the first and second ends (46) thereof. (Duerksen [0050] and annotated Fig. 1 below)
Regarding claim 21, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 20 further comprising a cutter bar assembly (68) operatively extending across the front portion (58) of the header frame (42) for cutting the crops to be harvested.
Regarding claim 22, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 21 further comprising a rear wall (64) extending substantially vertically from the rear portion (56) of the header frame (42) between the first and second ends (46) thereof, the rear wall including an opening (66) therethrough for transferring cut crops from the draper header (40).
Regarding claim 23, Duerksen teaches the draper header of claim 22 further comprising at least one crop pick-up reel (reel [0049]) operatively coupled to the header frame (42) for engaging the crops to be harvested. (Examiner's Note: draper header reel is mentioned in the specification but not mentioned in the drawings)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOSE ANTONIO. MARTINEZ
Examiner
Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671