DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 03/02/2026. Claims 1-18 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 8 and 14-18 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 4-8, 11-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vishwanath (US PGPub 20140067091), in view of Augustin (US PGPub 20200096962), and further in view of Dancie (US PGPub 20200382912).
As per Claim 1, Vishwanath teaches of a user interface for parameterizing an automation unit, comprising (Figs 1-2 and Par 27, The industrial controller 30 may include a processor 32 suitable for executing computer instructions or control logic useful in automating a variety of plant equipment, such as a turbine system 34, a temperature sensor 36, a valve 38, and a pump 40.Par 26, The control system 10 [automation unit] may include a computer system 12 suitable for executing a variety of field device configuration and monitoring applications, and for providing an operator interface through which an engineer or technician may monitor the components of the control system 10.)
a display that is designed to output a graphical user interface and a processor that is programmed to output a primary dialog and a plurality of secondary dialogs graphically on the display, (Figs 2 and 6-10 and Par 43, FIG. 6 is an embodiment of a screen 182 having a hierarchical display 184 suitable for displaying certain components of the control system 10, including a distributed I/O 186 of the controller 30, linking devices 44, 54, segments 60, 188, and devices, such as devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192. The screen 182 may be included in the GUI 104 of the commissioning/decommissioning system 25, and may be used as an interface to view the status of the various devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192, as well as to commission, decommission, and clear the various devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192.)
wherein the primary dialog maps to a base function of the automation unit, for a performance of which the automation unit is designed, (Fig 6 and Par 28, In the depicted embodiment, the turbine system 34, the temperature sensor 36, the valve 38, and the pump 40 [a plurality of secondary functions] are communicatively connected to the industrial controller 30 [base function] by using linking devices 44 and 46 suitable for interfacing between an I/O network 48 and an H1 network 50. FIG. 6 is an embodiment of a screen 182 having a hierarchical display 184 [primary dialog] suitable for displaying certain components of the control system 10, including a distributed I/O 186 of the controller 30 [base function of the automation unit/industrial controller], linking devices 44, 54, segments 60, 188, and devices, such as devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192 [a plurality of follow-on functions].)
wherein each secondary dialog maps to a follow-on function, which is necessary for performing the base function, and has interaction elements[, via which the automation unit can be parameterized], whereby the follow-on function can be performed, and (FIG. 6 is an embodiment of a screen 182 having a hierarchical display 184 [primary dialog] suitable for displaying certain components of the control system 10, including a distributed I/O 186 of the controller 30 [base function of the automation unit/industrial controller], linking devices 44, 54, segments 60, 188, and devices, such as devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192 [a plurality of follow-on functions]. Par 46, FIG. 7 shows an embodiment of a dialog box 212 that may be used, for example, by the wizard 114 to guide the user during commissioning activities.)
wherein the primary dialog provides, for each secondary dialog, a selection element, by actuating which the respective secondary dialog can be opened directly from the primary dialog and at least one input means which allows an operation of the selection elements and/or the interaction elements. (Figs 6-10 and Par 45, Further depicted in FIG. 6 is context menu 204 useful in selecting various process, such as the commissioning process 124, the decommissioning process 152, and the clearing process 166. In use, a mouse may be used to select a device [actuating], such as the device 34, and a GUI action, such as a mouse right click, may be used to display the context menu 204 [opened directly]. It is to be noted that other actions, such as keyboard actions, voice command actions, and so forth, may be used to display the context menu 204. A menu item 206 labeled "commission" may be used to execute the commissioning process 124. Par 46, FIG. 7 shows an embodiment of a dialog box 212 that may be used, for example, by the wizard 114 to guide the user during commissioning activities. The dialog box 212 may be included in the GUI 104 of the commissioning/decommissioning system 25. Par 47, As mentioned above, the user may initiate the commissioning process 124 by using the context menu 204, which may in turn activate the dialog box 212. The dialog box 212 includes a section 214 suitable for listing the selected device 34 and/or other selected devices, as well as a section 216 suitable for listing any associated placeholders 120 for the selected devices.)
Vishwanath does not specifically teach, however Augustin teaches each secondary dialog has interaction elements, via which the automation unit can be parameterized, (Par 3, Automated industrial plants use a wide variety of field devices for process instrumentation to control processes. These are frequently provided with an operating unit upon which, for example, the field device is parameterized by user input for its operation within an automation system of the plant or for displaying process data relating to the field device. Par 6, DE 10 2010 062 908 B4 discloses that the validation of the parameterization of devices can in principle also be performed on site with the aid of a display provided on a field device. For this, the parameters input are displayed on the field device's display. A parameter list in the user's possession containing the parameter IDs (parameter identification codes) and parameter values that correspond to the parameters can be used to verify the correctness of the individual parameters. If the displayed parameters match those shown in the list, the user can confirm, for example, by signing an inspection record that the user-validated parameter values conform to the prespecified values and that, in addition, the correct safety-critical field device has been verified. However, this procedure has the disadvantage that parameter lists for complex field devices usually include a large number of device parameters so that visually checking the individual parameters is very laborious and has a certain susceptibility to errors. Moreover, on-site operator access to safety-critical field devices is frequently difficult. Par 17, If there were any changes to the parameterization during the commissioning or in the subsequent operation of the field device, there is also a change to the second checking characteristic calculated by the field device. Par 27, The commissioning tool 3 and the engineering station 4 are used to parameterize the safety-critical field devices F1, F2, . . . Fn. The engineering station 4 is provided with an operating unit 6 via which a user 7 can make various operator inputs required to perform the method for parameterizing a field device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add each secondary dialog has interaction elements, via which the automation unit can be parameterized, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Augustin, into that of Vishwanath because this modification can help improve customization for tailoring to specific user requirements without redesigning the entire system and scalability with flexibility by configuring the automated industrial controller using graphical user interface.
Neither Vishwanath nor Augustin specifically teaches, however Dancie teaches of wherein by actuating any of the selection elements, a user directly reaches the respective secondary dialog (Par 72, The first user's avatar is a selectable UI element triggering the display of a second user interface (e.g., user interface 1000 [primary/first dialog] of FIG. 10) including a map view centered on the selected avatar. Alternatively, in some embodiments, the first user's avatar [selection element] is a selectable UI element directly triggering [actuating] the display [secondary dialog] of the messaging UI (e.g., messaging UI 1100 of FIG. 11). As a consequence, the messaging UI can be accessed directly via the user's avatar, instead of using conventional navigation elements, such as buttons or arrows.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add that by actuating any of the selection elements, a user directly reaches the respective secondary dialog, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Dancie, into that of Vishwanath and Augustin because this modification can help improve productivity and reduce fatigue for task by directly opening another or secondary GUI window for another control when available.
As per Claim 4, Vishwanath further teaches of the user interface as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor is programmed to output the primary dialog and simultaneously a respective one of the secondary dialogs adjacent thereto on the display. (FIG. 6 is an embodiment of a screen 182 having a hierarchical display 184 [primary dialog] suitable for displaying certain components of the control system 10, including a distributed I/O 186 of the controller 30 [base function of the automation unit/industrial controller], linking devices 44, 54, segments 60, 188, and devices, such as devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192 [a plurality of follow-on functions]. Par 46, FIG. 7 shows an embodiment of a dialog box 212 that may be used, for example, by the wizard 114 to guide the user during commissioning activities. Figs 6-10 and Par 45, Further depicted in FIG. 6 is context menu 204 useful in selecting various process, such as the commissioning process 124, the decommissioning process 152, and the clearing process 166. In use, a mouse may be used to select a device [actuating], such as the device 34, and a GUI action, such as a mouse right click, may be used to display the context menu 204 [opened directly].)
As per Claim 5, Vishwanath further teaches of the user interface as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor is programmed to output the primary dialog and the secondary dialogs alternately on the display, only one dialog being output at any time. (FIG. 6 is an embodiment of a screen 182 having a hierarchical display 184 [primary dialog] suitable for displaying certain components of the control system 10, including a distributed I/O 186 of the controller 30 [base function of the automation unit/industrial controller], linking devices 44, 54, segments 60, 188, and devices, such as devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192 [a plurality of follow-on functions]. Par 46, FIG. 7 shows an embodiment of a dialog box 212 that may be used, for example, by the wizard 114 to guide the user during commissioning activities. Figs 6-10 and Par 45, Further depicted in FIG. 6 is context menu 204 useful in selecting various process, such as the commissioning process 124, the decommissioning process 152, and the clearing process 166. In use, a mouse may be used to select a device [actuating], such as the device 34, and a GUI action, such as a mouse right click, may be used to display the context menu 204 [opened directly].)
As per Claim 6, Vishwanath further teaches of the user interface as claimed in claim 5, wherein each secondary dialog provides a return element, the actuation of which effects an immediate return to the primary dialog. (Fig. 7 and Par 46, FIG. 7 shows an embodiment of a dialog box 212 that may be used, for example, by the wizard 114 to guide the user during commissioning activities. Par 49, If no matching placeholders 120 are found, for example, if no matching placeholder 120 has been previously created, the section 216 may not include any placeholder row entries 222. Regardless of the number of matching placeholders 120 found, the user may then select one of the listed placeholders to be used during the commissioning process 124, and then activate the "Next>" button 246. The user may also activate the "Cancel" button 248 to exit out of the dialog 212, or activate the "help" button 250 to display help information related to the dialog 212 and the wizard 114. In some cases, the user may have selected a placeholder having certain information different from the selected live device. Accordingly, a warning of mismatched information dialog box may be provided, as described in more detail with respect to FIG. 8.)
As per Claim 7, Vishwanath teaches of the user interface as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor is programmed to output a second primary dialog and multiple second secondary dialogs graphically on the display, wherein the second primary dialog maps to a second base function of the automation unit, for the performance of which the automation unit is designed, and (Fig 6 and Par 28, In the depicted embodiment, the turbine system 34, the temperature sensor 36, the valve 38, and the pump 40 [a plurality of secondary functions] are communicatively connected to the industrial controller 30 [base function] by using linking devices 44 and 46 suitable for interfacing between an I/O network 48 and an H1 network 50. FIG. 6 is an embodiment of a screen 182 having a hierarchical display 184 [primary dialog] suitable for displaying certain components of the control system 10, including a distributed I/O 186 of the controller 30 [base function of the automation unit/industrial controller], linking devices 44, 54, segments 60, 188, and devices, such as devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192 [a plurality of follow-on functions].)
wherein each second secondary dialog maps to a follow-on function, which is necessary for performing the second base function, and (FIG. 6 is an embodiment of a screen 182 having a hierarchical display 184 [primary dialog] suitable for displaying certain components of the control system 10, including a distributed I/O 186 of the controller 30 [base function of the automation unit/industrial controller], linking devices 44, 54, segments 60, 188, and devices, such as devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192 [a plurality of follow-on functions]. Par 46, FIG. 7 shows an embodiment of a dialog box 212 that may be used, for example, by the wizard 114 to guide the user during commissioning activities.)
Neither Vishwanath nor Dancie specifically teaches, however Augustin teaches that each second secondary dialog … has interaction elements, via which the automation unit can be parameterized. (Par 3, Automated industrial plants use a wide variety of field devices for process instrumentation to control processes. These are frequently provided with an operating unit upon which, for example, the field device is parameterized by user input for its operation within an automation system of the plant or for displaying process data relating to the field device. Par 6, DE 10 2010 062 908 B4 discloses that the validation of the parameterization of devices can in principle also be performed on site with the aid of a display provided on a field device. For this, the parameters input are displayed on the field device's display. A parameter list in the user's possession containing the parameter IDs (parameter identification codes) and parameter values that correspond to the parameters can be used to verify the correctness of the individual parameters. If the displayed parameters match those shown in the list, the user can confirm, for example, by signing an inspection record that the user-validated parameter values conform to the prespecified values and that, in addition, the correct safety-critical field device has been verified. However, this procedure has the disadvantage that parameter lists for complex field devices usually include a large number of device parameters so that visually checking the individual parameters is very laborious and has a certain susceptibility to errors. Moreover, on-site operator access to safety-critical field devices is frequently difficult. Par 17, If there were any changes to the parameterization during the commissioning or in the subsequent operation of the field device, there is also a change to the second checking characteristic calculated by the field device. Par 27, The commissioning tool 3 and the engineering station 4 are used to parameterize the safety-critical field devices F1, F2, . . . Fn. The engineering station 4 is provided with an operating unit 6 via which a user 7 can make various operator inputs required to perform the method for parameterizing a field device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add each second secondary dialog … has interaction elements, via which the automation unit can be parameterized, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Augustin, into that of Vishwanath and Dancie because this modification can help improve customization for tailoring to specific user requirements without redesigning the entire system and scalability with flexibility by configuring the automated industrial controller using graphical user interface.
As per Claim 8, Vishwanath teaches of a method for parameterizing an automation unit, (Figs 1-2 and Par 27, The industrial controller 30 may include a processor 32 suitable for executing computer instructions or control logic useful in automating a variety of plant equipment, such as a turbine system 34, a temperature sensor 36, a valve 38, and a pump 40.Par 26, The control system 10 [automation unit] may include a computer system 12 suitable for executing a variety of field device configuration and monitoring applications, and for providing an operator interface through which an engineer or technician may monitor the components of the control system 10.)
outputting, by a processor, a primary dialog graphically on a display, wherein the primary dialog maps to a base function of the automation unit, for the performance of which the automation unit is designed, (Fig 6 and Par 28, In the depicted embodiment, the turbine system 34, the temperature sensor 36, the valve 38, and the pump 40 [a plurality of secondary functions] are communicatively connected to the industrial controller 30 [base function] by using linking devices 44 and 46 suitable for interfacing between an I/O network 48 and an H1 network 50. FIG. 6 is an embodiment of a screen 182 having a hierarchical display 184 [primary dialog] suitable for displaying certain components of the control system 10, including a distributed I/O 186 of the controller 30 [base function of the automation unit/industrial controller], linking devices 44, 54, segments 60, 188, and devices, such as devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192 [a plurality of follow-on functions].)
wherein the primary dialog provides, for each secondary dialog from a plurality of secondary dialogs, a selection element, by actuating which the respective secondary dialog can be opened directly from the primary dialog, and wherein each secondary dialog maps to a follow- on function that is necessary for performing the base function, in a selection step, detecting, by the processor or a further processor, an actuation of one of the selection elements by a user and outputting the selected secondary dialog graphically on the display, whereby the follow-on function of the selected secondary dialog is performed, (Figs 6-10 and Par 45, Further depicted in FIG. 6 is context menu 204 useful in selecting various process, such as the commissioning process 124, the decommissioning process 152, and the clearing process 166. In use, a mouse may be used to select a device [actuating], such as the device 34, and a GUI action, such as a mouse right click, may be used to display the context menu 204 [opened directly]. It is to be noted that other actions, such as keyboard actions, voice command actions, and so forth, may be used to display the context menu 204. A menu item 206 labeled "commission" may be used to execute the commissioning process 124. Par 46, FIG. 7 shows an embodiment of a dialog box 212 that may be used, for example, by the wizard 114 to guide the user during commissioning activities. The dialog box 212 may be included in the GUI 104 of the commissioning/decommissioning system 25. Par 47, As mentioned above, the user may initiate the commissioning process 124 by using the context menu 204, which may in turn activate the dialog box 212. The dialog box 212 includes a section 214 suitable for listing the selected device 34 and/or other selected devices, as well as a section 216 suitable for listing any associated placeholders 120 for the selected devices.)
and the selection step and the processing step are repeated until all follow-on functions are performed, whereby the base function is performed. (Par 39, The process 124 may then derive and display (block 138) a list of one or more placeholders 120 associated with the device 34. In the depicted embodiment, the process 124 may then provide (block 140) for the selection of at least one placeholder 120 to be used for commissioning the device 34. Accordingly, the user may select the placeholder 120 and continue commissioning by using the placeholder's 120 device information. Par 49, Fig. 6-7, Regardless of the number of matching placeholders 120 found, the user may then select one of the listed placeholders to be used during the commissioning process 124, and then activate the "Next>" button 246. The user may also activate the "Cancel" button 248 to exit out of the dialog 212, or activate the "help" button 250 to display help information related to the dialog 212 and the wizard 114. In some cases, the user may have selected a placeholder having certain information different from the selected live device. Par 44, In the depicted embodiment, the screen 182 uses a hierarchical tree control 194 suitable for displaying a tree structure. For example, the root is displayed as the distributed I/O 186 of the controller 30, and the next level of the tree includes the linking device 44.)
Neither Vishwanath nor Dancie specifically teaches, however Augustin teaches of in a processing step, evaluating, by the processor or further processor actuations of interaction elements in the selected secondary dialog by the user and parameterizing the automation unit accordingly, (Par 3, Automated industrial plants use a wide variety of field devices for process instrumentation to control processes. These are frequently provided with an operating unit upon which, for example, the field device is parameterized by user input for its operation within an automation system of the plant or for displaying process data relating to the field device. Par 6, DE 10 2010 062 908 B4 discloses that the validation of the parameterization of devices can in principle also be performed on site with the aid of a display provided on a field device. For this, the parameters input are displayed on the field device's display. A parameter list in the user's possession containing the parameter IDs (parameter identification codes) and parameter values that correspond to the parameters can be used to verify the correctness of the individual parameters. If the displayed parameters match those shown in the list, the user can confirm, for example, by signing an inspection record that the user-validated parameter values conform to the prespecified values and that, in addition, the correct safety-critical field device has been verified. However, this procedure has the disadvantage that parameter lists for complex field devices usually include a large number of device parameters so that visually checking the individual parameters is very laborious and has a certain susceptibility to errors. Moreover, on-site operator access to safety-critical field devices is frequently difficult. Par 17, If there were any changes to the parameterization during the commissioning or in the subsequent operation of the field device, there is also a change to the second checking characteristic calculated by the field device. Par 27, The commissioning tool 3 and the engineering station 4 are used to parameterize the safety-critical field devices F1, F2, . . . Fn. The engineering station 4 is provided with an operating unit 6 via which a user 7 can make various operator inputs required to perform the method for parameterizing a field device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add in a processing step, evaluating, by the processor or further processor actuations of interaction elements in the selected secondary dialog by the user and parameterizing the automation unit accordingly, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Augustin, into that of Vishwanath and Dancie because this modification can help improve customization for tailoring to specific user requirements without redesigning the entire system and scalability with flexibility by configuring the automated industrial controller using graphical user interface.
Re Claim 11, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 4. Thus, claim 11 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 4.
Re Claim 12, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 5. Thus, claim 12 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 5.
Re Claim 13, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 6. Thus, claim 13 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 6.
Re Claim 15, it is the system claim, having similar limitations of claim 1. Thus, claim 15 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1.
Re Claim 16, it is the system claim, having similar limitations of claim 1. Thus, claim 16 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1.
Re Claim 17, it is the product claim, having similar limitations of claim 8. Thus, claim 17 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 8.
Re Claim 18, it is the product claim, having similar limitations of claim 8. Thus, claim 18 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 8.
5. Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vishwanath (US PGPub 20140067091), in view of Augustin (US PGPub 20200096962), in view of Dancie (US PGPub 20200382912), and further in view of Vollmer (WO 2010142775).
As per Claim 2, none of Vishwanath, Augustin and Dancie specifically teaches, however Vollmer teaches of the user interface as claimed in claim 1, the base function and the follow-on functions are defined by a functional analysis system technology of a value analysis, in conformity with DIN EN 16271 and/or VDI 2800. (Figure 69: Linkage of functions Wohinz et al., 2008 according to VDI Guideline VDI 2800))
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add each secondary dialog has interaction elements, via which the automation unit can be parameterized, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Vollmer, into that of Vishwanath, Augustin and Dancie because this modification can help improve customization for tailoring to specific user requirements without redesigning the entire system and scalability with flexibility by configuring the automated industrial controller using graphical user interface.
Re Claim 9, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 2. Thus, claim 9 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 2.
6. Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vishwanath (US PGPub 20140067091), in view of Augustin (US PGPub 20200096962), in view of Dancie (US PGPub 20200382912), and further in view of Schmidt (CN 104169817).
As per Claim 3, none of Vishwanath, Augustin and Dancie specifically teaches, however Schmidt teaches of the user interface as claimed in claim1, wherein the base function is a start-up of the automation unit and/or a start-up of a second automation unit connected to the automation unit. (Claim 6, The control device according to claim any one of 1 to 3, wherein the logic module (5) is configured to start the automation device or initializing the logic module (5) through the power trigger and/or response from the communication master (2) receives the start command to the communication main device (2) transmitting a logic module (5) state of the telegram as diagnostic information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the base function is a start-up of the automation unit and/or a start-up of a second automation unit connected to the automation unit, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Schmidt, into that of Vishwanath, Augustin and Dancie because this modification can help improve customization for tailoring to specific user requirements without redesigning the entire system and scalability with flexibility by configuring the automated industrial controller using graphical user interface.
Re Claim 10, it is the method claim, having similar limitations of claim 3. Thus, claim 10 is also rejected
under the similar rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 3.
7. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vishwanath (US PGPub 20140067091), in view of Augustin (US PGPub 20200096962), in view of Dancie (US PGPub 20200382912), and further in view of Ye (CN 206461662 U).
As per Claim 14, Vishwanath teaches of designed to output a primary dialog and multiple secondary dialogs graphically on a display of the terminal device, wherein the primary dialog maps to a base function of the automation unit, for the performance of which the automation unit is designed, and (Figs 2 and 6-10 and Par 43, FIG. 6 is an embodiment of a screen 182 having a hierarchical display 184 suitable for displaying certain components of the control system 10, including a distributed I/O 186 of the controller 30, linking devices 44, 54, segments 60, 188, and devices, such as devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192. The screen 182 may be included in the GUI 104 of the commissioning/decommissioning system 25, and may be used as an interface to view the status of the various devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192, as well as to commission, decommission, and clear the various devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192. Fig 6 and Par 28, In the depicted embodiment, the turbine system 34, the temperature sensor 36, the valve 38, and the pump 40 [a plurality of secondary functions] are communicatively connected to the industrial controller 30 [base function] by using linking devices 44 and 46 suitable for interfacing between an I/O network 48 and an H1 network 50. FIG. 6 is an embodiment of a screen 182 having a hierarchical display 184 [primary dialog] suitable for displaying certain components of the control system 10, including a distributed I/O 186 of the controller 30 [base function of the automation unit/industrial controller], linking devices 44, 54, segments 60, 188, and devices, such as devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192 [a plurality of follow-on functions].)
wherein each secondary dialog maps to a follow-on function, which is necessary for performing the base function, and, (FIG. 6 is an embodiment of a screen 182 having a hierarchical display 184 [primary dialog] suitable for displaying certain components of the control system 10, including a distributed I/O 186 of the controller 30 [base function of the automation unit/industrial controller], linking devices 44, 54, segments 60, 188, and devices, such as devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192 [a plurality of follow-on functions]. Par 46, FIG. 7 shows an embodiment of a dialog box 212 that may be used, for example, by the wizard 114 to guide the user during commissioning activities.)
whereby the follow-on function can be performed, and wherein the primary dialog provides, for each secondary dialog, a selection element, by actuating which the respective secondary dialog can be opened directly from the primary dialog. (Figs 6-10 and Par 45, Further depicted in FIG. 6 is context menu 204 useful in selecting various process, such as the commissioning process 124, the decommissioning process 152, and the clearing process 166. In use, a mouse may be used to select a device [actuating], such as the device 34, and a GUI action, such as a mouse right click, may be used to display the context menu 204 [opened directly]. It is to be noted that other actions, such as keyboard actions, voice command actions, and so forth, may be used to display the context menu 204. A menu item 206 labeled "commission" may be used to execute the commissioning process 124. Par 46, FIG. 7 shows an embodiment of a dialog box 212 that may be used, for example, by the wizard 114 to guide the user during commissioning activities. The dialog box 212 may be included in the GUI 104 of the commissioning/decommissioning system 25. Par 47, As mentioned above, the user may initiate the commissioning process 124 by using the context menu 204, which may in turn activate the dialog box 212. The dialog box 212 includes a section 214 suitable for listing the selected device 34 and/or other selected devices, as well as a section 216 suitable for listing any associated placeholders 120 for the selected devices.)
Vishwanath does not specifically teach, however Augustin teaches that each secondary dialog … has interaction elements, via which the automation unit can be parameterized, (Par 3, Automated industrial plants use a wide variety of field devices for process instrumentation to control processes. These are frequently provided with an operating unit upon which, for example, the field device is parameterized by user input for its operation within an automation system of the plant or for displaying process data relating to the field device. Par 6, DE 10 2010 062 908 B4 discloses that the validation of the parameterization of devices can in principle also be performed on site with the aid of a display provided on a field device. For this, the parameters input are displayed on the field device's display. A parameter list in the user's possession containing the parameter IDs (parameter identification codes) and parameter values that correspond to the parameters can be used to verify the correctness of the individual parameters. If the displayed parameters match those shown in the list, the user can confirm, for example, by signing an inspection record that the user-validated parameter values conform to the prespecified values and that, in addition, the correct safety-critical field device has been verified. However, this procedure has the disadvantage that parameter lists for complex field devices usually include a large number of device parameters so that visually checking the individual parameters is very laborious and has a certain susceptibility to errors. Moreover, on-site operator access to safety-critical field devices is frequently difficult. Par 17, If there were any changes to the parameterization during the commissioning or in the subsequent operation of the field device, there is also a change to the second checking characteristic calculated by the field device. Par 27, The commissioning tool 3 and the engineering station 4 are used to parameterize the safety-critical field devices F1, F2, . . . Fn. The engineering station 4 is provided with an operating unit 6 via which a user 7 can make various operator inputs required to perform the method for parameterizing a field device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add each secondary dialog … has interaction elements, via which the automation unit can be parameterized,, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Augustin, into that of Vishwanath because this modification can help improve customization for tailoring to specific user requirements without redesigning the entire system and scalability with flexibility by configuring the automated industrial controller using graphical user interface.
None of Vishwanath, Augustin and Dancie specifically teaches, however Ye teaches of a HTML code for parameterizing an automation unit, suitable for storage on a web server on the automation unit that is designed to communicate with a web client on a terminal device, and suitable for execution in the web client, (A specific embodiment: Industrial field device supporting Web service technology, performing a program operation in the form of object scene of the industrial field device operation and product configuration, provide the external interface of the class and object form. and the industrial field device through URL uniform resource locator and HTML Web document hyper text markup language tag resource… FIG. 1 is a diagram of according to the specific embodiment of this utility model adopts Web services technology uses a RPC protocol of the equipment monitoring device to the remote industrial equipment operation and schematic diagram of control. In FIG. 1, the remote control system comprising a device monitor 101 and the industrial field device 102. monitor device 101 is a server for the device parameter configuration and the production data configuration. device monitor 101 comprises supporting Web service technology of the first client end device 103 and first server end device 104. industrial field device 102 comprises second supporting Web service technology of the server end device 105 and second client end device 106. first client end device 101 of the monitor device 103 sends request establishment mode of proxy service object through Http protocol transmitted to the industrial field device 102, industrial field devices 102 supports the Web service technology. using the second server end device 105 receives the request of the first client end device 103, supports the Web service technology of internal object itself directly call as a remote proxy object, configuration method for parameter of device industrial production device. producing the product parameter, the agent service object executing method operation result, equipment operation state information, the product information is organized to Html XML or text format, first server end device by the industrial field device based on Web service technology of the second client end device 106 of the port returns to the device monitor 101 104 interface to realize the device monitor 101 remote operation and monitoring of industrial field device 102.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a HTML code for parameterizing an automation unit, suitable for storage on a web server on the automation unit that is designed to communicate with a web client on a terminal device, and suitable for execution in the web client, as conceptually seen from the teaching of Ye, into that of Vishwanath, Augustin and Dancie because this modification can help improve customization for tailoring to specific user requirements without redesigning the entire system by using HTML for web services, configuring the automated industrial controller using parameters.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims 1, 8 and 14-18 and their dependent claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument of the remark on pages 9-10 that Vishwanath’s screen 182 having a hierarchical display is not a dialog interface that maps a specific base function of an automation unit, the examiner would like to point out that Vishwanath teaches of the primary dialog [screen 182 in Fig. 6] maps [displays accordingly] to a base function [controller system 186] of the automation unit, for a performance of which the automation unit is designed, where in Fig 6 and Par 43-44, The screen 182 may be included in the GUI 104 of the commissioning/decommissioning system 25, and may be used as an interface to view the status of the various devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192, as well as to commission, decommission, and clear the various devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192. FIG. 6 is an embodiment of a screen 182 having a hierarchical display 184 suitable for displaying certain components of the control system 10, including a distributed I/O 186 of the controller 30, linking devices 44, 54, segments 60, 188, and devices, such as devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192. The screen 182 may be included in the GUI 104 of the commissioning/decommissioning system 25, and may be used as an interface to view the status of the various devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192, as well as to commission, decommission, and clear the various devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192. Vishwanath’s screen 182 can display and map the base function, the controller system 186 with the status of each linking devices [as follow-on functions] but able to commissioning or decommissioning devices [follow-on functions] as in par 21, Industrial control systems may include controller systems suitable for interfacing with a variety of field devices, such as sensors, pumps, valves, and the like. For example, sensors may provide inputs to the controller system, Par 28, In the depicted embodiment, the turbine system 34, the temperature sensor 36, the valve 38, and the pump 40 [a plurality of secondary functions] are communicatively connected to the industrial controller 30 [base function] by using linking devices 44 and 46 suitable for interfacing between an I/O network 48 and an H1 network 50. FIG. 6 is an embodiment of a screen 182 having a hierarchical display 184 [primary dialog] suitable for displaying certain components of the control system 10, including a distributed I/O 186 of the controller 30 [base function of the automation unit/industrial controller], linking devices 44, 54, segments 60, 188, and devices, such as devices 34, 36, 189, 190, 192 [a plurality of follow-on functions]. Also in par 44, Additionally, certain icons 196, 198, 200, 202, and 204 may be used to display information associated with the devices 189, 36, 34, 190, and 192, respectively. For example, the "checkmark" icon 204 may be used to denote that the device 192 is commissioned and operating in the control system 10. Likewise, the icon 202 may be used to indicate that the device 190 is not yet connected (e.g., is not a "live" device) to the control system 10. Status information for the live devices 189, 34, and 36, may be provided by the icons 196, 198, 200 denoting the initialized status 130, the uninitialized status 132, and the mismatched status 134, respectively. By providing the icons 196, 198, 200, 202, and 204, the screen 182 may more efficiently provide status 122 information, as well as the hierarchy of interconnected components of the control system 10. It’s obvious that an icon or small display can be also used to display the status or the base function of an automation unit such as Distributed I/O controller 186 as in the wizards.
9. Applicant’s argument of the remark on pages 10-11 with respect to claims 1, 8 and 14-18 and their dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAE UK JEON whose telephone number is (571)270-3649. The examiner can normally be reached 9am-6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/JAE U JEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2193