DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention 2, claims 1, 2 and 9-15 in the reply filed on 11/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the droplet control unit (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is unclear reciting “the first lead group is configured to transmit a constant current to the temperature sensor, and the second lead group is configured to electrically connect the temperature sensor and an external voltmeter”, because it is unclear what structural configuration(s) are being claimed, and if limitation(s) following the phrase “configured to” are part of the claimed invention (i.e., electrical connection, external voltmeter). In addition, the recitation appears to be missing an element for transmitting a constant current to the temperature sensor.
Claims 9, 10, 12 and 13 are unclear because the claims recite elements that have not been positively claimed. For example, it is unclear if “an orthographic projection of the temperature-sensitive layer on the substrate” and “an orthographic projection of the light-shielding layer on the substrate” in claim 9 are part of the claimed invention. Similarly, it is unclear if “an orthographic projection of the first lead group on the substrate” and “an orthographic projection of the second lead group on the substrate” in claim 10; “an orthographic projection of the insulating layer on the substrate” in claim 12; and “an orthographic projection of the first electrode on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the second electrode on the substrate” in claim 13 are part of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the temperature detection unit" in L4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "two of the first conductive pads, [...] two of the second conductive pads" in L6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "leads in the first lead group and the second lead group" in L2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the tooth electrodes of the first electrode and the tooth electrodes of the second electrode" in L4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Soto-Moreno et al. (US 2022/0219172).
Regarding claim 1, Soto-Moreno et al. teach:
1. A microfluidic chip, comprising:
a substrate (e.g., bottom plate 151 Figs. 1B-1C & ¶ 0268+) and at least one microfluidic module (e.g., digital microfluidic (DMF) apparatus Abstract and throughout the reference) located on the substrate (see Fig. 1A for example), wherein the microfluidic module comprises a droplet control unit (e.g., actuation electrodes layer 106 ¶ 0270 & Figs. 1A-1C) and at least one temperature detection unit (e.g., thermal control sub-system 5721 Fig. 57 & ¶ 0402; The thermal subsystem may include the TECs, heat sinks/fans, and one or more thermal sensors (including thermal sensors configured to monitor temperature of the cartridge, e.g., the air gap region and/or one or more thermal sensors configured to monitor the temperature of/within the housing, of the TECs, etc.). ¶ 0403; temperature sensors, thermistors 405 ¶ 0047, 0270, 0284+; thermal sensors ¶ 0403+), and
wherein the temperature detection unit comprises a temperature sensor (e.g., temperature sensors, thermistors 405 ¶ 0047, 0270, 0284+; thermal sensors ¶ 0403+), a first lead group (see e.g., circuit board ¶ 0284-0285, 0447-0449; pins, contacts, pads, plugs, buttons, etc. ¶ 0424) and a second lead group (see e.g., circuit board ¶ 0284-0285, 0447-0449; pins, contacts, pads, plugs, buttons, etc. ¶ 0424), the temperature sensor is fixed on the substrate (see Figs. 4A-4C, 61B, 67B for example).
Regarding claim 1, the reference appears to teach: the first lead group and the second lead group are electrically connected with the temperature sensor respectively, see the temperature detection unit being electrically connected (e.g., circuit board ¶ 0284-0285, 0447-0449; pins, contacts, pads, plugs, buttons, etc. ¶ 0424; & Figs. 4A-4C, 8B, 61B, 67B). In the event that the limitation is not shown with sufficient specificity, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to vary electrical connection of the circuit board to achieve desired function (see i.e., The actuation electrodes may be energized to move the droplets within the DMF device to different regions so that various reaction steps may be carried out under different conditions (e.g., temperature, combining with different reagents, magnetic regions, pump inlet regions, etc.) ¶ 0270; see also ¶ 0284, 0493+).
With regard to limitations in claims 1, 2, 14, 15 (e.g., [...] to transmit a constant current to the temperature sensor, and [...] to electrically connect the temperature sensor and an external voltmeter; the first direction is a direction in which a liquid droplet flows, etc.), these claim limitations are considered process or intended use limitations, which do not further delineate the structure of the claimed apparatus from that of the prior art. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Claim(s) 2 & 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soto-Moreno et al. (US 2022/0219172).
Regarding claims 2, 10, 12, although Soto-Moreno et al. do not explicitly teach claimed electrical connections and orientation of leads, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to vary electrical connection of the circuit board to achieve desired function (see ¶ 0270, 0284, 0493+). In addition, the lead orientation would have been obvious to increase efficiency, desired function as well as reduce electrical shocks (¶ 0332, 0422+).
Regarding claims 9-12, modified Soto-Moreno et al. teach:
9. The microfluidic chip according to claim 2, wherein the temperature sensor comprises a temperature-sensitive layer (see i.e., thermistors may be embedded at any layer of the electrode PCB board ¶ 0285 & Figs. 4A-4C, thermistor inherently comprises a coating layer) and a light-shielding layer (see i.e., the DMF device (e.g., bottom plate) includes several layers, which may include layers formed on printed circuit board (PCB) material; these layers may include protective covering layers, insulating layers, and/or support layers (e.g., glass layer, ground electrode layer, hydrophobic layer; hydrophobic layer, dielectric layer, actuation electrode layer, PCB, thermal control layer, etc.). Any of these surfaces may be rigid (e.g., glass, PCB, polymeric materials, etc.) ¶ 0268; see also a region of the bottom of the cartridge (e.g., the dielectric film) may be transparent or optically permeable for imaging (e.g., fluorescence) ¶ 0355) located on the substrate (see i.e., thermistors may be embedded at any layer of the electrode PCB board ¶ 0285 & Figs. 4A-4C; the DMF device (e.g., bottom plate) includes several layers, which may include layers formed on printed circuit board (PCB) material; these layers may include protective covering layers, insulating layers, and/or support layers (e.g., glass layer, ground electrode layer, hydrophobic layer; hydrophobic layer, dielectric layer, actuation electrode layer, PCB, thermal control layer, etc.). Any of these surfaces may be rigid (e.g., glass, PCB, polymeric materials, etc.) ¶ 0268; see also a region of the bottom of the cartridge (e.g., the dielectric film) may be transparent or optically permeable for imaging (e.g., fluorescence) ¶ 0355), the light-shielding layer is located on a side of the temperature-sensitive layer away from the substrate (see ¶ 0268, 0284-0285 & Figs. 1 and 4 for example), and the temperature-sensitive layer is in direct contact with the first lead group and the second lead group respectively (see ¶ 0284-0285 & Figs. 4A-4C for example).
10. The microfluidic chip according to claim 9, wherein the temperature-sensitive layer, the first lead group and the second lead group are located in a same layer (see ¶ 0268, 0284-0285 & Figs. 1 and 4 for example).
11. The microfluidic chip according to claim 9, wherein a part of the temperature-sensitive layer is located in a same layer with leads in the first lead group and the second lead group, and another part of the temperature-sensitive layer extends to a part of surface of at least one lead in the first lead group and the second lead group, away from the substrate (see ¶ 0268, 0284-0285 & Figs. 1 and 4 for example).
12. The microfluidic chip according to claim 9, wherein the temperature sensor further comprises an insulating layer (see e.g., insulating layers ¶ 0268), the insulating layer is located between the temperature-sensitive layer (204) and the light-shielding layer (see ¶ 0268, 0270 for example),
Regarding claim 15, modified Soto-Moreno et al. teach: 15. The microfluidic chip according to claim 9, wherein the temperature-sensitive layer further comprises a hollow area (e.g., cavity or void ¶ 0347), the hollow area extends along the first direction (see Fig. 29 for example). However, Soto-Moreno et al. do not explicitly teach: a maximum size of the hollow area along the first direction is less than or equal to a half of a maximum size of the temperature-sensitive layer along the first direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further modify the device of Soto-Moreno et al. to have a maximum size of the hollow area along the first direction is less than or equal to a half of a maximum size of the temperature-sensitive layer along the first direction, to control the temperature (Soto-Moreno et al. ¶ 0345, 0347-0348).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soto-Moreno et al. (US 2022/0219172) in view of Arisaka (US 2007/0113648).
Regarding claims 13-14, modified Soto-Moreno et al. teach: 13. The microfluidic chip according to claim 9, wherein the temperature sensor further comprises a first electrode and a second electrode that are not connected to each other (see Fig. 67B & ¶ 0449-0450 for example), and the first electrode, the second electrode, respective leads in the first lead group , and respective leads in the second lead group are in a same layer (see Fig. 67B & ¶ 0449-0450 for example). Regarding the first electrode is electrically connected with the first lead and the third lead respectively, and the second electrode is electrically connected with the second lead and the fourth lead respectively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to vary electrical connection of the circuit board to achieve desired function (see ¶ 0270, 0284, 0493+).
Although Soto-Moreno et al. teach a gear-shaped conductive vias 3105 (Fig. 31A), the reference does not explicitly teach: wherein both the first electrode and the second electrode are a gear-shaping electrode; 14. The microfluidic chip according to claim 13, wherein the gear-shaping electrode comprises at least three tooth electrodes extending in the first direction, and a connecting electrode extending in a direction perpendicular to the first direction, the connecting electrode electrically connects one ends of the respective tooth electrode, and the tooth electrodes of the first electrode and the tooth electrodes of the second electrode are spaced from each other, and an interval from the tooth electrodes of the first electrode to the tooth electrodes of the second electrode in the direction perpendicular to the first direction is less than or equal to 50 μm, wherein the first direction is a direction in which a liquid droplet flows.
Arisaka teaches: wherein both a first electrode (15) and a second electrode (16) are a gear-shaping electrode (see Fig. 2A for example); wherein the gear-shaping electrode comprises at least three tooth electrodes (e.g., comb-teeth electrode portion 15b) extending in the first direction (see Fig. 2A for example), and a connecting electrode (e.g., 15a) extending in a direction perpendicular to the first direction (see Fig. 2A for example), the connecting electrode electrically connects one ends of the respective tooth electrode, and the tooth electrodes of the first electrode and the tooth electrodes of the second electrode are spaced from each other (see Fig. 2A for example).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Soto-Moreno et al. with the teachings of Arisaka to adjust capacitance between electrodes (Arisaka ¶ 0024). Although Arisaka does not explicitly teach: an interval from the tooth electrodes of the first electrode to the tooth electrodes of the second electrode in the direction perpendicular to the first direction is less than or equal to 50 μm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust an interval from the tooth electrodes of the first electrode (205) to the tooth electrodes of the second electrode (206) in the direction perpendicular to the first direction (OA) is less than or equal to 50 μm to improve the sensitivity (Arisaka ¶ 0024).
Conclusion
/DEAN KWAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798
DEAN KWAK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1798