DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Groups 2-6, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on December 23rd 2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1 (Claim 1) in the reply filed on December 23rd, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden to examine the full scope of the claimed invention. This is not found persuasive because the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. US 2016/0013474 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Liu discloses a lithium manganese phosphate-carbon composite material [Abstract], wherein the lithium manganese phosphate has the general formula LiMnxM1-xPO4 wherein M can be Zr and 0.6≤x≤1.0 [0021-0023], thus Liu discloses a lithium zirconium phosphate with the general formula LiaZrbMc(PO4)d where M is manganese, and the subscripts are as follows:
a = 1.0, which falls within the claimed range
0≤b≤0.4, which overlaps with the claimed range
0.6≤c≤1.0, which falls within the claimed range
d = 1.0, which falls within the claimed range
Liu discloses that the composite material (lithium zirconium manganese phosphate-carbon composite material) has a BET [0054] specific surface area of 9-100 m2/g [0015], which falls within the claimed range. Liu discloses that the composite material has a mean particle diameter of 0.1-150 µm [0014], which overlaps with the claimed range. Liu discloses that the composite material has a tamped density (tapped density) of 0.1-10 g/cm3 [0016], or 100-10,000 g/L, which overlaps with the claimed range. Further, in the embodiments, Liu discloses that primary particles are agglomerated together, thus forming secondary particles that are aggregated primary particles [0092].
In regards to the value of “b”, the mean particle diameter, and the tamped density, the Examiner directs Applicant to MPEP 2144.05 I. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the overlapping ranged disclosed by Liu because selection of the overlapping portion or ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
With regards to the limitation “as determined by static light scattering (SLS)”, Examiner notes that the measurement method does not further limit the structure of the product and thus is not given undue weight.
Conclusion
/A.E.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1726 /DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726