DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kinomura et al. (USPUB 2014/0232182).
As to Claim 16, Kinomura discloses a charging plug for charging a battery of an electric vehicle wherein the charging plug comprises: a consumer-side connector for connecting the charging plug to a charging port of the electric vehicle (Figure 2 and 8); an actuation element for an operator or user of the electric vehicle to initiate at least one function that is associated with a charging process, wherein the actuation element is configured to be assigned the at least one function by the operator, which function is selectable by the operator from a plurality of eligible functions (Paragraph 131-132).
As to Claim 17, Kinomura discloses the charging plug of claim 16 wherein the charging plug comprises a plurality of electrical lines for connecting the consumer-side connector to a charging control device (Figure 8).
As to Claim 18, Kinomura discloses the charging plug of claim 16 further including a signal line for communicatively connecting the actuation element to a charging control device (Figure 8).
As to Claim 19, Kinomura discloses the charging plug of claim 16 wherein the plurality of eligible functions comprises one or more of the following functions: a) opening a charging flap of the electric vehicle in order to expose the charging port, b) closing the charging flap after the charging process has ended, c) activating charging readiness of the electric vehicle in order to enable the charging process, d) activating the charging process, e) interrupting or deactivating the charging process, f) continuing the charging process, g) setting a charging power or a charging current before or during the charging process, h) controlling the charging control device or settings thereof, i) controlling or setting a superordinate charging management system, j) outputting light signals or audio signals or light information or audio information on the charging plug, on a charger, or on a mobile terminal, k) a function regarding the environment of the electric vehicle, and i) identifying and/or authorizing an operator (Paragraphs 131-132).
As to Claim 20, Kinomura discloses the charging plug of claim 16 wherein the actuation element is able to be assigned the at least one function by the operator using a user interface (Paragraphs 131-132).
As to Claim 21, Kinomura discloses the charging plug of claim 16 wherein the actuation element is configured as a button, a switch, or a sensor (Paragraphs 131-132).
As to Claim 22, Kinomura discloses the charging plug of claim 16 wherein the consumer-side connector is configured as an IEC Type 2, an IEC Type 1 or a CCS connector (Figures 3 and 4, Elements 600 and 605).
As to Claim 23, Kinomura discloses the charging plug of claim 16 wherein the actuation element is configured to permit assignment of at least two functions of the plurality of functions, wherein the at least two functions are initiated by different types of actuation of the actuation element (Paragraph 131-132).
As to Claim 24, Kinomura discloses the charging plug of claim 23 wherein the different types of actuation comprise different actuation durations, numbers of actuations, actuation frequencies, or a combination thereof (Paragraph 131-132).
As to Claim 25, Kinomura discloses t charger for charging a battery of an electric vehicle, the charger comprising: a charging control device for regulating parameters for the charging of the battery; a grid-side connector for connecting the charger to a power grid, wherein the grid- side connector is connected to the charging control device; and a charging plug for connecting the charger to the electric vehicle, wherein the charging plug is connected to the charging control device and includes: a consumer-side connector for connecting the charging plug to a charging port of the electric vehicle; and an actuation element for an operator or user of the electric vehicle to initiate at least one function that is associated with the charging process, the actuation element being configured to be assigned the at least one function by the operator, the at least one function being selectable by the operator from a plurality of eligible functions (Figure 2 and 8, Paragraphs 131-132).
As to Claim 26, Kinomura discloses the charger of claim 25 further including a user interface for the operator to assign the at least one function to the actuation element (Paragraph 131-132).
As to Claim 27, Kinomura discloses the charger of claim 25 wherein the charging control device has a wireless communication interface (Paragraph 59).
As to Claim 28, Kinomura discloses the charger of claim 25 wherein the charging control device has a wired communication interface (Figure 2 and 8).
As to Claim 29, Kinomura discloses a method for charging the battery of an electric vehicle, the method comprising the steps of providing a charger for charging the battery, the charger including: a charging control device for regulating charging parameters; a grid-side connector for connecting the charger to a power grid, wherein the grid- side connector is connected to the charging control device; and a charging plug for connecting the charger to the electric vehicle, wherein the charging plug is connected to the charging control device and includes: a consumer-side connector for connecting the charging plug to a charging port of the electric vehicle; and an actuation element for an operator or user of the electric vehicle to initiate at least one function that is associated with the charging process, the actuation element being configured to be assigned the at least one function by the operator, the at least one function being selectable by the operator from a plurality of eligible functions; the operator assigning the at least one function to the actuation element; connecting the grid-side connector of the charger to a power grid; connecting the consumer-side connector of the charging plug to the electric vehicle; actuating the actuation element in order to initiate the at least one function when required; and charging the electric vehicle using the charger (Figure 2 and 8, Paragraphs 131-132).
As to Claim 30, Kinomura discloses the method of claim 29 wherein the actuation element is assigned by the charging control device (Paragraphs 131-132).
As to Claim 31, Kinomura discloses the method of claim 29 wherein the actuation element is assigned by a mobile terminal (Figure 9, and Paragraphs 125-126).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 32 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859