DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 18 March 2026 has been entered. Applicant amended claims 1, 13-14 and previously cancelled claim 12. Accordingly, claims 1-11 and 13-15 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remarks:
Takata at least does not teach or suggest "transmit[ing] authentication result verification information, as information for verifying false acceptance which is acceptance of another person in false authentication, including registered biometric information used for the biometric authentication among biometric information of the plurality of users registered in advance, authentication result detailed information including a similarity when it is determined that authentication succeeds by the biometric authentication and including biometric information acquired by a terminal that is a transmission source of the authentication request, and the terminal ID to a staff terminal used by a staff member of an airport or an airline, the authentication result detailed information, the registered biometric information and a name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the staff member using the staff terminal" and "storing the registered biometric information and authentication result detailed information in association with each other with respect to an authentication-successful person."
Examiner’s remarks:
As disclosed in the current office action, Takata teaches the claimed limitation of transmit authentication result verification information (paragraphs 84-86) as information …including registered biometric information used for the biometric authentication among biometric information of the plurality of users registered in advance (paragraphs 109-110), authentication result detailed information including a similarity when it is determined that authentication succeeds by the biometric authentication (paragraph 85) and including biometric information acquired by a terminal that is a transmission source of the authentication request to a staff terminal used by a staff member of an airport or an airline(paragraphs 85-86 and 34-35); the authentication result detailed information, the registered biometric information, and the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the staff member using the staff terminal (paragraphs 85-86); and stores the registered biometric information (paragraph 40) and authentication result detailed information in association with each other with respect to, an authentication-successful person (paragraphs 85 and 110).
The prior art Chae in view of Yamada and Kusumi resolves the deficiencies of Takata. Chae teaches acquiring biometric information about a person to be authenticated among a plurality of terminals (paragraphs 64, 66-67, and 101); the authentication request includes biometric information about the person to be authenticated and a terminal ID for identifying the terminal (paragraphs 80 and 283-284 ); the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the [server] (paragraphs 73, 98, and 276). Kusumi teaches the authentication result verification includes the terminal ID (paragraph 46); the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the staff member (paragraph 81).
Applicant’s remarks:
Chae, Hayashi and Kusumi also do not disclose that a device transmits the acquired biometric information of the authentication successful person and the registered biometric information to the staff terminal.
Examiner’s remarks:
See examiner’s remarks above.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 13-14 and the limitation “"transmit[ing] authentication result verification information, as information for verifying false acceptance which is acceptance of another person in false authentication” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
As indicated in the examiner’s remarks above and in the current office action, the limitations in the independent claims do not overcome the prior art applied in the 35 USC 103 rejection. Thus, the independent claims are not allowable and their dependent claims are not allowed based on their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takata et al US 20130013527 (hereinafter Takata), in view of Chae US 20220027443 (hereinafter Chae), in further view of Yamada et al US 20130263282 (hereinafter Yamada), and in further view of Kusumi et al US 20170078100 (hereinafter Kusumi).
As to claim 1, Takata teaches a server device (Figure 1 and paragraph 145 reveal a data center which include an immigration server 10, an ID information server 20, a personal identification server 30, and a verification server 40) comprising:
at least one processor (paragraph 145 discloses the servers each includes CPU) configured to:
receive an authentication request from a terminal (paragraph 85 and Figure 10, step S122, reveal the normal passport control client terminal sends a request for biometric matching(which is an authentication request to the immigration server)) , the terminal having acquired biometric information about a person to be authenticated among a terminal (paragraph 84 and Figure 10, steps S116 and S118 disclose the normal passport control client terminal obtains biometric information from a passenger to be authenticated), the authentication request including biometric information about the passenger to be authenticated (paragraph 85 discloses the normal immigration client terminal transmits the fingerprint and facial biometric information obtained and S118, as well as a watch list matching request (which is the authentication request to the personal identification server); and
perform biometric authentication using biometric information about the person to be authenticated and biometric information about each of a plurality of users registered in advance (paragraph 85 discloses personal identification server performs the biometric authentication by comparing the received biometric information with the biometric information in the biometric information watch list to determine whether there is the biometric information matching or similar to the received biometric information. The watch list refers to individuals that are registered who are prohibited from boarding aircraft. Paragraph 109 reveals the verification server determines whether the passenger’s biometric information is identical to the person who has been registered in the immigration information database);
transmit authentication result verification information (paragraphs 84-86 and 129 disclose biometric information result of an authentication successful person (successful, wherein their biometric information matched, matching of the biometric information is performed at the personal identification server) is transmitted from the personal identification server to be displayed on the biometric information watch list matching result. The biometric information (fingerprint) is transmitted and recorded/registered in the immigration server. Paragraph 85 also reveals the normal immigration client terminal transmit biometric information as well as watch list matching request to the personal identification server), as information …including registered biometric information used for the biometric authentication among biometric information of the plurality of users registered in advance (paragraphs 109-110 reveals the immigration server requests the verification server to determine whether the biometric information obtain by the person is identical to the registered biometric information), authentication result detailed information including a similarity when it is determined that authentication succeeds by the biometric authentication (paragraph 85 reveals the result responded to the normal immigration client terminal may be the presence of the matching or similar information, or may be the information list of the biometric information watch list with a similarity higher than a predetermined value) and including biometric information acquired by a terminal that is a transmission source of the authentication request to a staff terminal used by a staff member of an airport or an airline (paragraph 85 also reveals the normal immigration client terminal transmit biometric information as well as watch list matching request (which is an authentication request to the immigration server) to the personal identification/immigration server; Figure 15 and paragraphs 85-86 further disclose the matched/compared result of the authentication successful person’s biometric information is provided to the operator of the normal passport control client terminal. Furthermore, biometric information watch list check result is registered. The watch list information is further shown in Figures 4, 7-8. Paragraphs 34-35 reveals the immigration control pertain to inspection at an airport), the authentication result detailed information, the registered biometric information, and the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the staff member using the staff terminal (Figure 15 and paragraphs 85-86 further disclose the matched/compared result of the authentication successful person’s biometric information is provided to the operator of the normal passport control client terminal. Furthermore, biometric information watch list check result is registered. The watch list information is further shown in Figures 4, 7-8); and
a storage unit (paragraph 40 discloses a database) that stores the registered biometric information (paragraph 40 discloses the databases stores biometric information watch list, biometric information watch list matching result, and immigration biometric information; paragraph 109-110 reveal biometric information in a database of person(s) who is/are registered in advance. The verification server determines whether the passenger of the biometric information is identical to the person who has been registered in the immigration information. Paragraph 5 and 7 disclose watch list database of plurality of registration data) and authentication result detailed information in association with each other with respect to, an authentication-successful person (paragraph 85 reveals the personal identification server makes a determination with the obtained passenger’s biometric information and the registered biometric watch list information, and delivers a result to the immigration server. The result include the presence of the matching or similar information or may be the information list of the biometric information watch list with a similarity higher than a predetermined value. Paragraph 110 reveals the verification server determines that the biometric information is the same as one of the registered biometric, the verification determines the information pertains to the same person and responds to the immigration server with a result of authentication OK).
Takata does not teach acquiring biometric information about a person to be authenticated among a plurality of terminals; the authentication request includes biometric information about the person to be authenticated and a terminal ID for identifying the terminal; the authentication result verification as information for verifying false acceptance which is acceptance of another person in false authentication, authentication result detail information including the terminal ID, the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the staff member.
Chae teaches acquiring biometric information about a person to be authenticated among a plurality of terminals (paragraphs 64 and 66-67 disclose plurality of authentication terminals, and user that approaches one of the authentication terminals, wherein a condition that the biometric authentication using the authentication terminal is successful. Paragraph 101 also discloses referring to FIG. 10 is a table for showing a data storage example of the approaching user list. As shown in FIG. 10, the approaching user list is a list indicating users who have approached the authentication terminal . In this embodiment, a plurality of authentication terminals are included, and therefore the approaching user list shows, for each authentication terminal , the users who have approached the authentication terminal . For example, the approaching user list stores, for each authentication terminal ID, the user ID of each user who has approached the authentication terminal and the wireless communication ID for uniquely identifying the second wireless communication unit ); the authentication request includes biometric information about the person to be authenticated and a terminal ID for identifying the terminal (paragraphs 80 and 283-284 disclose the authentication request transmitted includes the authentication terminal ID of the authentication terminal and the face image photographed); the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the [server] (paragraph 98 discloses the authentication terminal list stores the authentication terminal ID for uniquely identifying the authentication terminal, an authentication terminal name indicating the name of the authentication terminal, and authentication terminal position information. Paragraph 73 also reveals authentication terminal ID is included in the notification that is sent to the server. Paragraph 276 discloses a staff member confirms the displayed message that indicates that the authentication has been successful).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takata’s teachings of authenticating among a single terminal and authentication result with Chae’s teachings of a plurality of terminals to enhance security at the airport by preventing impersonation (paragraph 7 of Chae).
The combination of Takata in view of Chae does not teach the authentication result verification as information for verifying false acceptance which is acceptance of another person in false authentication, authentication result detail information including the terminal ID, the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the staff member.
Yamada teaches transmit authentication result verification information (paragraph 44 reveals upon successful authentication, the authentication success information is transmitted to the usage limit clearing unit), as information for verifying false acceptance which is acceptance of another person in false authentication (paragraphs 43-44 reveals authentication result verification information determines that the user is false and the authentication fails when the level of similarity is less than a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takata’s teachings of authenticating among a single terminal and authentication result in view of Chae’s teachings of a plurality of terminals with Yamada’s authentication result verification to reduce false user acceptance errors in which the authentication is mistakenly determined despite the user being a false user occur stochastically in biometric authentication from brute force attacks (paragraphs 5-7 of Yamada).
The combination of Takata in view of Chae and Yamada does not teach, but Kusumi teaches the authentication result includes the terminal ID (paragraph 46 and Figure 1 and reference number 53 reveals an authentication result verification that includes terminal ID and the authentication device ID); the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the staff member (paragraph 81 and Figure 1 disclose an administrator/staff member uses the providing device 50 which includes the authentication result information such as the terminal ID. Figure 7 also shows additional authentication data stored in the terminal information storage unit of the providing device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takata’s teachings of authenticating among a single terminal and authentication result in view of Chae’s teachings of a plurality of terminals and Yamada’s authentication result verification with further Kusumi’s teachings of the authentication result to provide a system that accurately and promptly responds to authentication request while ensuring security (paragraphs 7-8 and 184 of Kusumi).
As to claim 2, the combination of Takata in view of Chae, Yamada, and Kusumi teaches wherein the authentication result detailed information stored in the storage unit ( Takata: paragraph 40 discloses the databases stores biometric information watch list, biometric information watch list matching result, and immigration biometric information) further includes a terminal ID for identifying a transmission source of the authentication request (Chae: paragraph 98 reveals the storage example of the authentication terminal list which includes storing an authentication terminal ID, authentication terminal name, and terminal position information), and
the at least one processor (Takata: paragraph 145 discloses servers each includes CPU) is configured to generate authentication result verification information including at least the biometric information registered in advance, the terminal ID, and biometric information acquired by the terminal (Chae: paragraph 98 reveals storage example of the authentication terminal list which includes storing an authentication terminal ID, authentication terminal name, and terminal position information. Paragraphs 199, 201-202 reveal various authentication result verification such as an authentication restriction notification, an authentication failure notification, and an authentication success notification. Paragraph 73 discloses the notification include the authentication terminal ID and user identification, wherein paragraphs 79-80, 95, and 107 reveal the user identification is identification information[which includes biometric information] received in advanced. Takata: paragraph 85 reveals the personal identification server makes a determination with the obtained passenger’s biometric information and the registered biometric watch list information, and delivers a result to the immigration server. The result include the presence of the matching or similar information or may be the information list of the biometric information watch list with a similarity higher than a predetermined value. Paragraph 110 reveals the verification server determines that the biometric information is the same as one of the registered biometric, the verification determines the information pertains to the same person and responds to the immigration server with a result of authentication OK. Paragraphs 84-85 disclose biometric information is obtained from the normal passport control client terminal which also sends the biometric authentication matching request to the immigration server). Motivation similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
As to claim 3, the combination of Takata in view of Chae, Yamada, and Kusumi teaches wherein the authentication result detailed information includes a similarity when it is determined that authentication succeeds by the biometric authentication (Takata: paragraph 85 reveals the authentication result which include information list of the biometric information watch list with a similarity high than a predetermine value. Chae: Paragraphs 120-122 disclose similarity computation is used to determine whether acquired biometric information pertain to successful authentication). Motivation similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
As to claim 4, the combination of Takata in view of Chae, Yamada, and Kusumi teaches wherein the at least one processor (Takata: paragraph 145 discloses the servers each includes CPU) analyzes the authentication result detailed information and determines whether to generate the authentication result verification information (Hayashi: paragraphs 490 -495, 663-665 reveal the authentication system server calculates points based on the identification information registered and received biometric information for certification. Based on the points, the server computes the points given to the registered temporal information and validation result information and the calculated attain points is the authentication result verification information and an updated validation result information). Motivation similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
As to claim 5, the combination of Takata in view of Chae, Yamada, and Kusumi teaches wherein the at least one processor (Takata: paragraph 145 discloses the servers each includes CPU) determines whether to generate the authentication result verification information based on the similarity (Takata: paragraph 85 reveals that the personal identification server makes a determination with the obtained passenger’s biometric information and the registered biometric watch list information, and delivers a result to the immigration server. The result include the presence of the matching or similar information or may be the information list of the biometric information watch list with a similarity higher than a predetermined value. Paragraph 110 reveals the verification server determines that the biometric information is the same as one of the registered biometric, the verification determines the information pertains to the same person and responds to the immigration server with a result[authentication result verification] of authentication OK. Chae: Paragraphs 120-122 disclose similarity computation is used to determine whether acquired biometric information pertain to successful authentication). Motivation similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
As to claim 6, the combination of Takata in view of Chae, Yamada, and Kusumi teaches wherein the at least one processor (Takata: paragraph 145 discloses the servers each includes CPU. Chae: paragraphs 49 and 92 reveal the server 10 includes authentication module, the server comprises processor) generates the authentication result verification information in a case where a similarity included in the authentication result detailed information is smaller than a first threshold value (Chae: paragraph 120 discloses the authentication module calculates a similarity degree based on the acquired authentication information and the registered authentication information. When the similarity degree is less than a threshold value, the authentication module determines that authentication is not successful, and when the similarity degree is equal to or more than the threshold value, the authentication module determines that authentication is successful). Motivation similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
As to claim 7, the combination of Takata in view of Chae, Yamada, and Kusumi teaches wherein the at least one processor (Takata: paragraph 145 discloses the servers each includes CPU. Chae: paragraphs 49, 92, and 111 reveal the server 10 includes authentication module, the server comprises processor) generates the authentication result verification information in a case where a difference between a first similarity having a largest value and a second similarity having a second largest value is smaller than a second threshold value (Chae: paragraphs 121-122 disclose computing the difference between the abstract biometric feature amounts and this difference may be directly used as the similarity degree, or the similarity degree may be calculated by substituting those feature amounts into a predetermined calculation formula. When the feature amounts are expressed as vectors, the distance between the vectors may be the similarity degree. Paragraph 120 discloses the authentication module calculates a similarity degree based on the acquired authentication information and the registered authentication information and determine the similarity degree is less than a threshold value). Motivation similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
As to claim 8, the combination of Takata in view of Chae, Yamada, and Kusumi teaches wherein in a case where a plurality of pieces of the authentication result detailed information is stored for a same authentication-successful person (Chae: paragraph 113 discloses feature amount of the face stored in the user database corresponds to the registered authentication information. Paragraph 112 reveals the feature amount data includes the image acquired by server 10 from the authentication terminal and image photographed by the photographing unit 36 and uploaded to the server 10),
the at least one processor (Takata: paragraph 145 discloses the servers each includes CPU. Chae: paragraphs 49 and 92 reveal the server 10 includes authentication module, the server comprises processor) determines whether to generate the authentication result detailed information based on a result of a statistical process on time series data having a similarity included in each of the plurality of pieces of authentication result detailed information as an element (Chae: paragraphs 121-122 discloses computing the difference between the abstract biometric feature amounts and this difference may be directly used as the similarity degree, or the similarity degree may be calculated by substituting those feature amounts into a predetermined calculation formula. When the feature amounts are expressed as vectors, the distance between the vectors may be the similarity degree. Paragraph 120 discloses the authentication module calculates a similarity degree based on the acquired authentication information and the registered authentication information and determine the similarity degree is less than a threshold value. The similarity degree can also be said to be the probability that the authentication information is similar. Paragraphs 100 and 115 reveal the acquired image/biometric data is based time series data such as GPS data and when a user is within a predetermined distance from the authentication terminal). Motivation similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
As to claim 9, the combination of Takata in view of Chae, Yamada, and Kusumi teaches wherein the at least one processor (Takata: paragraph 145 discloses the servers each includes CPU) transmits the authentication result verification information to a staff terminal used by a staff member of an airport or an airline (Takata: paragraphs 85- 86 reveal the normal immigration client terminal receives the result from the personal identification server and an operator of the airport terminal of the normal immigration client terminal makes a determination based on the result).
As to claim 10, the combination of Takata in view of Chae, Yamada, and Kusumi teaches wherein the at least one processor (Takata: paragraph 145 discloses the servers each includes CPU. Chae: paragraphs 49, 92, and 111 reveal the server 10 includes authentication module, the server comprises processor) analyzes the authentication result detailed information periodically or at a predetermined timing and transmits, to the staff terminal, information about a flight of a related authentication-successful person together with the authentication result verification information determined to be required to be generated (Chae: paragraphs 109 and 111 disclose the user terminal may periodically upload the user ID to the server 10, the user ID received is the identification information. The authentication module performed authentication based on the authentication information acquired by the authentication terminal. Paragraph 140 discloses the authentication result such as the notification (such as successful authentication) is editable by the administrator of the authentication system. Paragraph 73 discloses the notification include the authentication terminal ID and user identification, wherein paragraphs 79-80, 95, and 107 reveal the user identification is identification information[which includes biometric information] received in advanced. Takata: paragraphs 85- 86 reveal the normal immigration client terminal receives the result from the personal identification server and an operator of the normal immigration client terminal makes a determination based on the result). Motivation similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
As to claim 11, the combination of Takata in view of Chae, Yamada, and Kusumi teaches wherein the biometric information is a face image or a feature amount extracted from the face image (Takata: paragraph 85 discloses biometric information involves facial biometric information. Chae: paragraphs 95 and 97 disclose face image and the face feature of the face are part of the authentication information). Motivation similar to the motivation presented in claim 1.
As to claim 13, Takata teaches a method for controlling a server device (Figure 9 discloses method pertaining to the immigration server), the method comprising:
by the server device, receiving an authentication request from a terminal (paragraph 85 and Figure 10, step S122, reveal the normal passport control client terminal sends a request for biometric matching(which is an authentication request to the immigration server), the terminal having acquired biometric information about a person to be authenticated among a terminal (paragraph 84 and Figure 10, steps S116 and S118 disclose the normal passport control client terminal obtains biometric information from a passenger to be authenticated), the authentication request including biometric information about the person to be authenticated (paragraph 85 discloses the normal immigration client terminal transmits the fingerprint and facial biometric information obtained and S118, as well as a watch list matching request (which is the authentication request to the personal identification server);
performing biometric authentication using biometric information about the person to be authenticated and biometric information about each of a plurality of users registered in advance (paragraph 85 discloses personal identification server performs the biometric authentication by comparing the received biometric information with the biometric information in the biometric information watch list to determine whether there is the biometric information matching or similar to the received biometric information. The watch list refers to individuals that are registered who are prohibited from boarding aircraft. Paragraph 109 reveals the verification server determines whether the passenger’s biometric information is identical to the person who has been registered in the immigration information database);
transmitting authentication result verification information (paragraphs 84-86 and 129 disclose biometric information result of an authentication successful person (successful, wherein their biometric information matched, matching of the biometric information is performed at the personal identification server) is transmitted from the personal identification server to be displayed on the biometric information watch list matching result. The biometric information (fingerprint) is transmitted and recorded/registered in the immigration server. Paragraph 85 also reveals the normal immigration client terminal transmit biometric information as well as watch list matching request to the personal identification server), as information …including registered biometric information used for the biometric authentication among biometric information of the plurality of users registered in advance (paragraphs 109-110 reveals the immigration server requests the verification server to determine whether the biometric information obtain by the person is identical to the registered biometric information), authentication result detailed information including a similarity when it is determined that authentication succeeds by the biometric authentication (paragraph 85 reveals the result responded to the normal immigration client terminal may be the presence of the matching or similar information, or may be the information list of the biometric information watch list with a similarity higher than a predetermined value) and including biometric information acquired by a terminal that is a transmission source of the authentication request to a staff terminal used by a staff member of an airport or an airline (paragraph 85 also reveals the normal immigration client terminal transmit biometric information as well as watch list matching request (which is an authentication request to the immigration server) to the personal identification/immigration server; Figure 15 and paragraphs 85-86 further disclose the matched/compared result of the authentication successful person’s biometric information is provided to the operator of the normal passport control client terminal. Furthermore, biometric information watch list check result is registered. The watch list information is further shown in Figures 4, 7-8. Paragraphs 34-35 reveals the immigration control pertain to inspection at an airport), the authentication result detailed information, the registered biometric information, and the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the staff member using the staff terminal (Figure 15 and paragraphs 85-86 further disclose the matched/compared result of the authentication successful person’s biometric information is provided to the operator of the normal passport control client terminal. Furthermore, biometric information watch list check result is registered. The watch list information is further shown in Figures 4, 7-8); and
storing the registered biometric information (paragraph 40 discloses the databases stores biometric information watch list, biometric information watch list matching result, and immigration biometric information; paragraph 109-110 reveal biometric information in a database of person(s) who is/are registered in advance. The verification server determines whether the passenger of the biometric information is identical to the person who has been registered in the immigration information. Paragraph 5 and 7 disclose watch list database of plurality of registration data) and authentication result detailed information in association with each other with respect to, an authentication-successful person (paragraph 85 reveals the personal identification server makes a determination with the obtained passenger’s biometric information and the registered biometric watch list information, and delivers a result to the immigration server. The result include the presence of the matching or similar information or may be the information list of the biometric information watch list with a similarity higher than a predetermined value. Paragraph 110 reveals the verification server determines that the biometric information is the same as one of the registered biometric, the verification determines the information pertains to the same person and responds to the immigration server with a result of authentication OK).
Takata does not teach acquiring biometric information about a person to be authenticated among a plurality of terminals; the authentication request includes biometric information about the person to be authenticated and a terminal ID for identifying the terminal; the authentication result verification as information for verifying false acceptance which is acceptance of another person in false authentication, authentication result detail information including the terminal ID, the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the staff member.
Chae teaches acquiring biometric information about a person to be authenticated among a plurality of terminals (paragraphs 64 and 66-67 disclose plurality of authentication terminals, and user that approaches one of the authentication terminals, wherein a condition that the biometric authentication using the authentication terminal is successful. Paragraph 101 also discloses referring to FIG. 10 is a table for showing a data storage example of the approaching user list. As shown in FIG. 10, the approaching user list is a list indicating users who have approached the authentication terminal . In this embodiment, a plurality of authentication terminals are included, and therefore the approaching user list shows, for each authentication terminal , the users who have approached the authentication terminal . For example, the approaching user list stores, for each authentication terminal ID, the user ID of each user who has approached the authentication terminal and the wireless communication ID for uniquely identifying the second wireless communication unit ); the authentication request includes biometric information about the person to be authenticated and a terminal ID for identifying the terminal (paragraphs 80 and 283-284 disclose the authentication request transmitted includes the authentication terminal ID of the authentication terminal and the face image photographed); the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the [server] (paragraph 98 discloses the authentication terminal list stores the authentication terminal ID for uniquely identifying the authentication terminal, an authentication terminal name indicating the name of the authentication terminal, and authentication terminal position information. Paragraph 73 also reveals authentication terminal ID is included in the notification that is sent to the server. Paragraph 276 discloses a staff member confirms the displayed message that indicates that the authentication has been successful).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takata’s teachings of authenticating among a single terminal and authentication result with Chae’s teachings of a plurality of terminals to enhance security at the airport by preventing impersonation (paragraph 7 of Chae).
The combination of Takata in view of Chae does not teach the authentication result verification as information for verifying false acceptance which is acceptance of another person in false authentication, authentication result detail information including the terminal ID, the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the staff member.
Yamada teaches transmit authentication result verification information (paragraph 44 reveals upon successful authentication, the authentication success information is transmitted to the usage limit clearing unit), as information for verifying false acceptance which is acceptance of another person in false authentication (paragraphs 43-44 reveals authentication result verification information determines that the user is false and the authentication fails when the level of similarity is less than a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takata’s teachings of authenticating among a single terminal and authentication result in view of Chae’s teachings of a plurality of terminals with Yamada’s authentication result verification to reduce false user acceptance errors in which the authentication is mistakenly determined despite the user being a false user occur stochastically in biometric authentication from brute force attacks (paragraphs 5-7 of Yamada).
The combination of Takata in view of Chae and Yamada does not teach, but Kusumi teaches the authentication result verification includes the terminal ID (paragraph 46 and Figure 1 and reference number 53 reveals an authentication result verification that includes terminal ID and the authentication device ID); the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the staff member (paragraph 81 and Figure 1 disclose an administrator/staff member uses the providing device 50 which includes the authentication result information such as the terminal ID. Figure 7 also shows additional authentication data stored in the terminal information storage unit of the providing device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takata’s teachings of authenticating among a single terminal and authentication result in view of Chae’s teachings of a plurality of terminals and Yamada’s authentication result verification with Kusumi’s teachings of the authentication result to provide a system that accurately and promptly responds to authentication request while ensuring security (paragraphs 7-8 and 184 of Kusumi).
As to claim 14, Takata teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer (paragraph 144 discloses a storage device within a computer that includes CPU. The storage device stores instruction and each function/program is executed by the CPU) mounted on a server device (Figure 1 and paragraph 145 reveal a data center which include an immigration server 10, an ID information server 20, a personal identification server 30, and a verification server 40) to execute processing (paragraph 145 discloses the servers each includes CPU) comprising:
receiving an authentication request from a terminal (paragraph 85 and Figure 10, step S122, reveal the normal passport control client terminal sends a request for biometric matching(which is an authentication request to the immigration server), the terminal having acquired biometric information about a person to be authenticated among a plurality of terminals (paragraph 84 and Figure 10, steps S116 and S118 disclose the normal passport control client terminal obtains biometric information from a passenger to be authenticated), the authentication request including biometric information about the person to be authenticated (paragraph 85 discloses the normal immigration client terminal transmits the fingerprint and facial biometric information obtained and S118, as well as a watch list matching request (which is the authentication request to the personal identification server);
performing biometric authentication using biometric information about the person to be authenticated and biometric information about each of a plurality of users registered in advance (paragraph 85 discloses personal identification server performs the biometric authentication by comparing the received biometric information with the biometric information in the biometric information watch list to determine whether there is the biometric information matching or similar to the received biometric information. The watch list refers to individuals that are registered who are prohibited from boarding aircraft. Paragraph 109 reveals the verification server determines whether the passenger’s biometric information is identical to the person who has been registered in the immigration information database);
transmitting authentication result verification information (paragraphs 84-86 and 129 disclose biometric information result of an authentication successful person (successful, wherein their biometric information matched, matching of the biometric information is performed at the personal identification server) is transmitted from the personal identification server to be displayed on the biometric information watch list matching result. The biometric information (fingerprint) is transmitted and recorded/registered in the immigration server. Paragraph 85 also reveals the normal immigration client terminal transmit biometric information as well as watch list matching request to the personal identification server), as information …including registered biometric information used for the biometric authentication among biometric information of the plurality of users registered in advance (paragraphs 109-110 reveals the immigration server requests the verification server to determine whether the biometric information obtain by the person is identical to the registered biometric information), authentication result detailed information including a similarity when it is determined that authentication succeeds by the biometric authentication (paragraph 85 reveals the result responded to the normal immigration client terminal may be the presence of the matching or similar information, or may be the information list of the biometric information watch list with a similarity higher than a predetermined value) and including biometric information acquired by a terminal that is a transmission source of the authentication request to a staff terminal used by a staff member of an airport or an airline (paragraph 85 also reveals the normal immigration client terminal transmit biometric information as well as watch list matching request (which is an authentication request to the immigration server) to the personal identification/immigration server; Figure 15 and paragraphs 85-86 further disclose the matched/compared result of the authentication successful person’s biometric information is provided to the operator of the normal passport control client terminal. Furthermore, biometric information watch list check result is registered. The watch list information is further shown in Figures 4, 7-8. Paragraphs 34-35 reveals the immigration control pertain to inspection at an airport), the authentication result detailed information, the registered biometric information, and the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the staff member using the staff terminal (Figure 15 and paragraphs 85-86 further disclose the matched/compared result of the authentication successful person’s biometric information is provided to the operator of the normal passport control client terminal. Furthermore, biometric information watch list check result is registered. The watch list information is further shown in Figures 4, 7-8); and
storing the registered biometric information (paragraph 40 discloses the databases stores biometric information watch list, biometric information watch list matching result, and immigration biometric information; paragraph 109-110 reveal biometric information in a database of person(s) who is/are registered in advance. The verification server determines whether the passenger of the biometric information is identical to the person who has been registered in the immigration information. Paragraph 5 and 7 disclose watch list database of plurality of registration data) and authentication result detailed information in association with each other with respect to, an authentication-successful person (paragraph 85 reveals the personal identification server makes a determination with the obtained passenger’s biometric information and the registered biometric watch list information, and delivers a result to the immigration server. The result include the presence of the matching or similar information or may be the information list of the biometric information watch list with a similarity higher than a predetermined value. Paragraph 110 reveals the verification server determines that the biometric information is the same as one of the registered biometric, the verification determines the information pertains to the same person and responds to the immigration server with a result of authentication OK).
Takata does not teach acquiring biometric information about a person to be authenticated among a plurality of terminals; the authentication request includes biometric information about the person to be authenticated and a terminal ID for identifying the terminal; the authentication result verification as information for verifying false acceptance which is acceptance of another person in false authentication, authentication result detail information including the terminal ID, the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the staff member.
Chae teaches acquiring biometric information about a person to be authenticated among a plurality of terminals (paragraphs 64 and 66-67 disclose plurality of authentication terminals, and user that approaches one of the authentication terminals, wherein a condition that the biometric authentication using the authentication terminal is successful. Paragraph 101 also discloses referring to FIG. 10 is a table for showing a data storage example of the approaching user list. As shown in FIG. 10, the approaching user list is a list indicating users who have approached the authentication terminal . In this embodiment, a plurality of authentication terminals are included, and therefore the approaching user list shows, for each authentication terminal , the users who have approached the authentication terminal . For example, the approaching user list stores, for each authentication terminal ID, the user ID of each user who has approached the authentication terminal and the wireless communication ID for uniquely identifying the second wireless communication unit ); the authentication request includes biometric information about the person to be authenticated and a terminal ID for identifying the terminal (paragraphs 80 and 283-284 disclose the authentication request transmitted includes the authentication terminal ID of the authentication terminal and the face image photographed); the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the [server] (paragraph 98 discloses the authentication terminal list stores the authentication terminal ID for uniquely identifying the authentication terminal, an authentication terminal name indicating the name of the authentication terminal, and authentication terminal position information. Paragraph 73 also reveals authentication terminal ID is included in the notification that is sent to the server. Paragraph 276 discloses a staff member confirms the displayed message that indicates that the authentication has been successful).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takata’s teachings of authenticating among a single terminal and authentication result with Chae’s teachings of a plurality of terminals to enhance security at the airport by preventing impersonation (paragraph 7 of Chae).
The combination of Takata in view of Chae does not teach the authentication result verification as information for verifying false acceptance which is acceptance of another person in false authentication, authentication result detail information including the terminal ID, the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the staff member.
Yamada teaches transmit authentication result verification information (paragraph 44 reveals upon successful authentication, the authentication success information is transmitted to the usage limit clearing unit), as information for verifying false acceptance which is acceptance of another person in false authentication (paragraphs 43-44 reveals authentication result verification information determines that the user is false and the authentication fails when the level of similarity is less than a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takata’s teachings of authenticating among a single terminal and authentication result in view of Chae’s teachings of a plurality of terminals with Yamada’s authentication result verification to reduce false user acceptance errors in which the authentication is mistakenly determined despite the user being a false user occur stochastically in biometric authentication from brute force attacks (paragraphs 5-7 of Yamada).
The combination of Takata in view of Chae and Yamada does not teach, but Kusumi teaches the authentication result verification includes the terminal ID (paragraph 46 and Figure 1 and reference number 53 reveals an authentication result verification that includes terminal ID and the authentication device ID); the name of the terminal based on the terminal ID being provided to the staff member (paragraph 81 and Figure 1 disclose an administrator/staff member uses the providing device 50 which includes the authentication result information such as the terminal ID. Figure 7 also shows additional authentication data stored in the terminal information storage unit of the providing device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takata’s teachings of authenticating among a single terminal and authentication result in view of Chae’s teachings of a plurality of terminals and Yamada’s authentication result verification with Kusumi’s teachings of the authentication result to provide a system that accurately and promptly responds to authentication request while ensuring security (paragraphs 7-8 and 184 of Kusumi).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Takata in view of Chae, Yamada, and Kusumi teaches wherein the acquired biometric information includes a plurality of acquired face images obtained from the authentication-successful person at different authentication points among the plurality of terminals (Chae: Figure 8 and paragraphs 95, 98-101 show table of different user face photograph with the corresponding user ID. Figures 9 and 10 shows the corresponding tables of the authentication terminal position information of different terminals , the terminal ID, and the user ID), the authentication result verification information includes a terminal ID for identifying each terminal that acquired each acquired face image (Kusumi: paragraph 46 and Figure 1 and reference number 53 reveals an authentication result verification that includes terminal ID and the authentication device ID. Paragraph 73 reveals the authentication can include image data of a face of a user), and the staff terminal displays the plurality of acquired face images and the registered biometric information in a side-by-side manner with corresponding terminal identification information (Kusumi: paragraph 81 and Figure 1 disclose an administrator/staff member uses the providing device 50 which includes the authentication result information such as the terminal ID. Figure 7 also shows additional authentication data stored in the terminal information storage unit of the providing device. Chae: Figure 8 and paragraphs 95, 98-101 show table of face photograph. The table in Figure 8 corresponds to the tables shown in Figure 9 and 10 of the terminal ID and name and the user ID).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takata’s teachings of authenticating among a single terminal and authentication result in view of Chae’s teachings of authentication tables and Yamada’s authentication result verification with Kusumi’s authentication result table that is displayed to the administrator/staff such that the staff can flexible responds to the authentication request and accurately satisfy the demand of the terminal side that requests authentication (paragraph 7 of Kusumi).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2437
/BENJAMIN E LANIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437