DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed May 26, 2025 in response to the Office Action of February 24, 2026 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claims 15, 17 and 21 have been amended.
Claims 16, 18, and 19 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-15, 17, 20-31 are pending.
Claims 1-14 and 24-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 15, 17, and 20-23 are currently under consideration as drawn to the elected invention.
In view of the claim amendments and Applicant’s arguments, the 112(a) rejection set forth in the previous Office Action of 02/24/2026 is hereby withdrawn.
In view of the claim amendments (removal of option (d)), the 103 rejection set forth in the previous Office Action of 02/24/2026 is hereby withdrawn.
In view of the claim amendments (removal of option (d)), the Double Patenting rejection set forth in the previous Office Action of 02/24/2026 is hereby withdrawn.
As noted in previous Office Action of 02/24/2026, prior art does not teach an anti-cancer combination of ELV-N32 or ELV-N34 plus anti-VEGF antibody; ELV-N32 or ELV-N34 plus Suramab. However, the instant claims are not limited these combinations. Thus, new rejections are made below.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “e. a therapeutically…” should be “d. a therapeutically …” because the original option d. has been removed. Appropriate correction is required.
NEW REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 20, which depends on claim 15, recites “wherein the compound of Formula I is:
,…
”
However, claim 15 recites Formula I as:
wherein the m is 1-4; X is O or S; R1 is H or Cl; R3 is H or Cl; R2 is H, butoxy, or Cl; and wherein, when: R2 is butoxy, m is 1 or 4, or when R1 and R2 are both Cl, and X is O, m is 3 or 4. For LAU-0901, wherein R1 and R2 are both Cl, and X is O, but m is 2; for LAU-09017, R2 is butoxy, but m is 2. Thus, claim 20 fails to include all the limitations of claim 15 and broaden the scope of claim 15.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 17, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bazan (Bazan et al., WO 2016/144995, Publication Date: 09/15/2016, of record) in view of Garcia (Garcia et al., CANCER TREATMENT REVIEWS, ELSEVIER, AMSTERDAM, NL, vol. 86, Publication Date: 03/26/2020, cited in IDS of 08/16/2024, of record) and Lopez (Lopez et al., Cancer Chemother Pharmacol, 67: 723-728, Publication Date: 09/21/2010, cited in IDS of 08/16/2024).
Bazan teaches compound of Formula (I), such as LAU-09015, LAU-0901 (the elected species) (claims 1, 2, 8 and 12).
Bazan teaches a method of treating a brain tumor with a PAF-receptor antagonist of formula (I), such as LAU-0901, LAU-09015 (claims 7 and 8).
Bazan teaches that the brain tumor can be a glioblastoma (claim 9), in particular GBM (Examples 6-9).
Taken together, Bazan teaches an anti-cancer composition comprising a PAF-receptor antagonist of Formula (I), such as LAU-0901, or LAU-09015. It is noted that LAU-0901, or LAU-09015 reads on the instant claims 18-20. However, Bazan does not teach combination with Suramab.
Garcia teaches VEGFs have been identified as key factors for inducing tumor angiogenesis. VEGF can stimulate the proliferation and survival of endothelial cells and increase the permeability of vessels, thereby supporting the metabolic demands (the bridging paragraph of pages 1-2).
Garcia teaches an important role of VEGF in cancer progression was supported by the association of elevated intra-tumoral VEGF expression levels with poorer prognosis or more aggressive disease in several solid tumor types, including metastatic colorectal cancer (mCRC), non-small-cell lung cancer (NSCLC), metastatic breast cancer (mBC), glioblastoma multiforme (GBM) and ovarian cancer (OC) (page 2, col. 1, the bottom paragraph).
Garcia teaches that bevacizumab can be used to treat GBM (page 10, col. 2), bevacizumab is an anti-VEGF antibody as evidenced by the instant claim 14.
Garcia also teaches that ongoing research into combining bevacizumab with other treatments (Table 4) to enhance its efficacy (page 15, col. 1, para. 4).
Lopez teaches suramab is a new pharmaceutical combination of two anti-angiogenic compounds, suramin and bevacizumab, which showed a high synergistic effect when administered jointly (Abstract).
Lopez teaches A greater inhibitory effect was obtained with Suramab compared to that obtained with Bevacizumab. Suramab significantly reduced tumor volume and prolonged survival of mice compared to controls (Abstract, and Fig. 2).
Lopez teaches that Suramab has a potent antiangiogenic effect because it inhibits not only VEGF (through Bevacizumab) but also other pro-angiogenic growth factors such as TGF-β, PDGF, bFGF, and postreceptor-inducible tyrosine phosphorylation of KDR (page 727, col. 1, para. 2).
Lopez teaches that the concentration and dose of suramin and bevacizumab used in Suramab are much lower than those pointed out as toxic levels of suramin and bevacizumab. Accordingly, no significant side effects were seen with Suramab (page 727, col. 1, para. 2).
Lopez teaches that Suramab could be employed in adjuvancy with chemotherapeutic agents for cancer therapy (page 727, col. 1, para. 3).
It would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the time the invention was filed to modify the method of treating a GBM with a PAF-receptor antagonist of formula (I), such as LAU-0901, LAU09015 as taught by Bazan and to combine LAU-0901 and Suramab, because Garcia teaches that bevacizumab is a well-known and standard compound for treating GBM and Lopez teaches that combination of bevacizumab and suramin (Suramab) shows synergistic anti-tumor effect. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated and have expected that combination with Suramab would enhance the efficacy of the treatment by combining multiple mode of actions. Because both components are well known in the art, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated and have reasonable expectation of success to make an anti-cancer composition comprising both components for a simpler application.
Claim 17 is a limitation of the alternative elovanoid composition of claim 15, but it does not exclude the other alternative compositions such as option (e) of claim 15 from which it depends. Similarly, claim 21 is a limitation of the alternative anti-VEGF antibody composition of claim 15, but it does not exclude the option (e) of claim 15.
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Bazan teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising a PAF-receptor antagonist and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and excipient, making the composition suitable for therapeutic use in vivo (page 13, para 3; the bridging paragraph of pages 15-16).
Double Patenting
Claims 15, 17, and 20-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,070,463 B2 (hereinafter Pat. 463) in view of Bazan (Bazan et al., WO 2016/144995, Publication Date: 09/15/2016, of record) and Garcia (Garcia et al., CANCER TREATMENT REVIEWS, ELSEVIER, AMSTERDAM, NL, vol. 86, Publication Date: 03/26/2020, cited in IDS of 08/16/2024, of record) and Lopez (Lopez et al., Cancer Chemother Pharmacol, 67: 723-728, Publication Date: 09/21/2010, cited in IDS of 08/16/2024).
Claim 1 of Pat. 463 teaches a method for treating a seizure caused by a brain tumor, the method comprising the steps: (a) selecting a subject in need of treatment, wherein the subject has been diagnosed with a brain tumor; and (b) administering a therapeutic composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a platelet-activating factor (PAF) receptor antagonist and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, wherein the PAF receptor antagonist is: LAU-09015, LAU-09018, LAU-09021, LAU-09023, LAU-09025. These PAF-receptor antagonists read on the antagonists of instant claims 18-20.
Claim 2 of Pat. 463 teaches that the brain tumor is selected from the group consisting of: a glioblastoma, an astrocytoma, an oligodendroglioma, an ependymal tumor, a neuronal tumor and a combination of glial tumors.
Taken together, the claims of Pat. 463 teach using PAF-receptor antagonists (such as LAU-09015) in a pharmaceutical composition to treat brain tumor related conditions and a therapeutic composition comprising a PAF-receptor antagonist and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. However, the claims of Pat. 463 do not teach the combinations such as PAF-receptor antagonist + Suramab as instantly claimed.
Bazan, Garcia, and Lopez’s teachings are described above. In particular, Bazan teaches Bazan teaches compound of Formula (I), such as LAU-09015, LAU-0901, LAU-09018, LAU-09021, LAU-09023, and LAU09025 (claim 11), and treating tumor cancers with these antagonists (claim 7). Bazan teaches that the brain tumor can be a glioblastoma (claim 9), in particular GBM (Examples 6-9). Garcia teaches that bevacizumab is the standard treatment for GBM (page 10, col. 2), bevacizumab is an anti-VEGF antibody as evidenced by the instant claim 14. Lopez teaches that Suramab is a new pharmaceutical combination of two anti-angiogenic compounds, suramin and bevacizumab, which showed a high synergistic effect when administered jointly
It would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of treating a GBM with a PAF-receptor antagonist of formula (I), such as LAU-09015, LAU-0901, LAU-09018, LAU-09021, LAU-09023, or LAU09025 as taught by the claims of Pat. 463 and to combine these antagonists and Suramab as taught by Bazan, Garcia and Lopez, because both these PAF-receptor antagonists and Suramab are well-known and standard compound for treating GBM, as evidenced by Bazan, Garcia and Lopez. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated and have expected that combination would enhance the efficacy of the treatment by combining multiple modes of action for treating GBM. Because both components are well known in the art, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated and have reasonable expectation of success to make an anti-cancer composition comprising both components for a simpler application.
Claim 17 is a limitation of the alternative elovanoid composition of claim 15, but it does not exclude the other alternative compositions such as option (e) of claim 15 from which it depends. Similarly, claim 21 is a limitation of the alternative anti-VEGF antibody composition of claim 15, but it does not exclude the option (e) of claim 15.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHENG LU/ Examiner, Art Unit 1642
/SAMIRA J JEAN-LOUIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1642