DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Action is in response to Applicant’s remarks and amended claims filed on December 29, 2025. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10, 12-15, 17, 19-21, and 25-26 are now pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendment
2. The outstanding rejections of Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-17, 19-21, and 25-26 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claims 1, 8, and 15 filed on December 29, 2025.
Specification
3. The amendments to the specification regarding the title received on December 29, 2025. These amendments to the title are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10, 12-15, 17, 19-21, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jheng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2014/0220981 A1), in view of Wu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2005/0122941 A1), and Gu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0117018 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jheng et al. teach a time segment request method, performed by a terminal configured with at least a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) and a second SIM (read as dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) UE (Fig(s).1 @ 101, 2, ; Abstract)), the method comprising:
receiving time segment configuration information (read as trigger condition) from a first base station or a second base station (read as eNodeB in Network(s) 1 and/or #2 (Fig(s).1 and 4 @ 710; Paragraph [0024])); and
wherein the method further comprises at least one of:
transmitting a request for obtaining the time segment configuration information to the first base station via the first SIM (read as “… UE 101 establishes an active data connection with Network #1 registered by SIM1. UE 101 transmits and/or receives ongoing data traffic over the data connection.”(Fig(s).1-2; Paragraph [0023])) [[and/]]or
transmitting the request (system information) to the second base station via the second SIM. (read as “… UE 101 also monitors paging signals or system information over Network #2 registered by SIM2.”(Fig(s).1-2; Paragraph [0023]))
However, Jheng et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the time segment configuration information is determined through negotiation between the first base station and the second base station;
in response to determining that the second SIM is to communicate with a second base station during communication between the first SIM and a first base station,
controlling the first SIM to communicate with the first base station and
controlling the second SIM to communicate with the second base station, based on the time segment configuration information.
Wu et al. teach a method wherein the time segment configuration information is determined through negotiation between the first base station and the second base station (read as “the mobile terminal 20 hands over the data communication from the BSS 11 to the BSS 41 in the cell 40, an authentication request 711 with the temporary authentication identity stored in a SIM card is sent to the MSC 12 via the BSS 41 and MSC 42, and authentication information 713 with the IMSI corresponding to the mobile terminal 20, and a plurality of RANDs and SRESs is sent to the MSC 42. In step S612, the MSC 42 and mobile terminal 20 authenticate each other using CHAP 714.”(Fig(s).4 and 6; Paragraph [0034]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the mobile switching center to handle BSS switching as taught by Wu et al. with the dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) UE as taught by Jheng et al. for the purpose of enhancing cell handover transfers for dual SIM devices in communication network.
However, Jheng et al. and Wu et al. fail to explicitly teach in response to determining that the second SIM is to communicate with a second base station during communication between the first SIM and a first base station,
controlling the first SIM to communicate with the first base station and
controlling the second SIM to communicate with the second base station, based on the time segment configuration information.
Gu et al. in response to determining that the second SIM is to communicate with a second base station during communication between the first SIM and a first base station (read as “a circuitry for determining a request of a radio transmission or reception, adapted to determine a request of a radio transmission or reception of the second SIM card while the first SIM card is in a connection state, …”(Paragraph [0008]) Also, “a dual-SIM UE is a UE with two sets of baseband radio frequency, SIM1 and SIM2 belong to different operators or a same operator,”(Paragraph [0075])),
controlling the first SIM to communicate with the first base station (read as first SIM card is in a connection state (Paragraph [0008]) Also, “a dual-SIM UE is a UE with two sets of baseband radio frequency, SIM1 and SIM2 belong to different operators or a same operator,”(Paragraph [0075])) and
controlling the second SIM to communicate with the second base station, based on the time segment configuration information (read as time gap). (read as “the dual-SIM UE can perform the radio transmission or reception of the second SIM card by the time gap of the non-data transmission or the radio frequency circuit chain.”(Paragraph [0038]) Also, “a dual-SIM UE is a UE with two sets of baseband radio frequency, SIM1 and SIM2 belong to different operators or a same operator,”(Paragraph [0075]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for operating two SIMs simultaneous based on a time gap request as taught by Gu et al. and the mobile switching center to handle BSS switching as taught by Wu et al. with the dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) UE as taught by Jheng et al. for the purpose of improving utilization of handover resources for dual SIM devices in communication network.
Regarding claim 8, Jheng et al. teach a time segment configuration method, performed by a first base station, comprising:
transmitting time segment configuration information (read as trigger condition) to the terminal (Fig(s).4 @ 710),
However, Jheng et al. fail to explicitly teach in response to determining that a request for obtaining time segment configuration information is received from a terminal,
wherein the time segment configuration information is for indicating that the terminal controls a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) to communicate with the first base station and
controls a second SIM to communicate with a second base station based on the time segment configuration information in response to determining that the second SIM is to communicate with the second base station during communication between the first SIM and the first base station;
and wherein the time segment configuration information is determined through negotiation between the first base station and the second base station.
Wu et al. teach a method where in response to determining that a request for obtaining time segment configuration information is received from a terminal, and wherein the time segment configuration information is determined through negotiation between the first base station and the second base station. (read as “the mobile terminal 20 hands over the data communication from the BSS 11 to the BSS 41 in the cell 40, an authentication request 711 with the temporary authentication identity stored in a SIM card is sent to the MSC 12 via the BSS 41 and MSC 42, and authentication information 713 with the IMSI corresponding to the mobile terminal 20, and a plurality of RANDs and SRESs is sent to the MSC 42. In step S612, the MSC 42 and mobile terminal 20 authenticate each other using CHAP 714.”(Fig(s).4 and 6; Paragraph [0034]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the mobile switching center to handle BSS switching as taught by Wu et al. with the dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) UE as taught by Jheng et al. for the purpose of enhancing cell handover transfers for dual SIM devices in communication network.
However, Jheng et al. and Wu et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the time segment configuration information is for indicating that the terminal controls a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) to communicate with the first base station and
controls a second SIM to communicate with a second base station based on the time segment configuration information in response to determining that the second SIM is to communicate with the second base station during communication between the first SIM and the first base station;
Gu et al. teach a method wherein the time segment configuration information (read as time gap) is for indicating that the terminal (read as dual-SIM UE) controls a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) (read as first SIM card) to communicate with the first base station (read as first base station) (read as “a radio transmission or reception of a second SIM card is performed by requesting a time gap of a non-data transmission or a radio frequency circuit chain from the first serving base station, thus, a service of the second SIM card is performed with as little impact as possible on a service of the first SIM card.”(Paragraph [0017])) and
controls a second SIM (read as second SIM card) to communicate with a second base station based (read as other base station) on the time segment configuration information (read as time gap) in response to determining that the second SIM (read as second SIM card) is to communicate with the second base station during communication between the first SIM (read as first SIM card) and the first base station. (read as “the time gap of the non-data transmission can be used to perform a radio transmission or reception for other serving base stations.”(Paragraph [0018]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for operating two SIMs simultaneous based on a time gap request as taught by Gu et al. and the mobile switching center to handle BSS switching as taught by Wu et al. with the dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) UE as taught by Jheng et al. for the purpose of improving utilization of handover resources for dual SIM devices in communication network.
Regarding claim 15, Jheng et al. teach a time segment configuration method, performed by a second base station, comprising:
transmitting time segment configuration information (read as trigger condition) to a terminal (Fig(s).4 @ 710),
However, Jheng et al. fail to explicitly teach
in response to determining that a request for obtaining time segment configuration information is received from a terminal,
wherein the time segment configuration information is for indicating that the terminal controls a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) to communicate with a first base station and
controls a second SIM to communicate with the second base station based on the time segment configuration information in response to determining that the second SIM is to communicate with the second base station during communication between the first SIM and the first base station, and
wherein the time segment configuration information is determined through negotiation between the first base station and the second base station.
Wu et al. teach a method where in response to determining that a request for obtaining time segment configuration information is received from a terminal, and wherein the time segment configuration information is determined through negotiation between the first base station and the second base station. (read as “the mobile terminal 20 hands over the data communication from the BSS 11 to the BSS 41 in the cell 40, an authentication request 711 with the temporary authentication identity stored in a SIM card is sent to the MSC 12 via the BSS 41 and MSC 42, and authentication information 713 with the IMSI corresponding to the mobile terminal 20, and a plurality of RANDs and SRESs is sent to the MSC 42. In step S612, the MSC 42 and mobile terminal 20 authenticate each other using CHAP 714.”(Fig(s).4 and 6; Paragraph [0034]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the mobile switching center to handle BSS switching as taught by Wu et al. with the dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) UE as taught by Jheng et al. for the purpose of enhancing cell handover transfers for dual SIM devices in communication network.
However, Jheng et al. and Wu et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the time segment configuration information is for indicating that the terminal controls a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) to communicate with a first base station and
controls a second SIM to communicate with the second base station based on the time segment configuration information in response to determining that the second SIM is to communicate with the second base station during communication between the first SIM and the first base station,
Gu et al. teach a method wherein the time segment configuration information (read as time gap) is for indicating that the terminal (read as dual-SIM UE) controls a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) (read as a first SIM) to communicate with a first base station (read as first base station) (read as “a radio transmission or reception of a second SIM card is performed by requesting a time gap of a non-data transmission or a radio frequency circuit chain from the first serving base station, thus, a service of the second SIM card is performed with as little impact as possible on a service of the first SIM card.”(Paragraph [0017])) and
controls a second SIM (read as a second SIM) to communicate with the second base station based on the time segment configuration information (read as time gap) in response to determining that the second SIM (read as a second SIM) is to communicate with the second base station (read as other base station)during communication between the first SIM (read as a first SIM) and the first base station (read as first base station). (read as “the time gap of the non-data transmission can be used to perform a radio transmission or reception for other serving base stations.”(Paragraph [0018]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for operating two SIMs simultaneous based on a time gap request as taught by Gu et al. and the mobile switching center to handle BSS switching as taught by Wu et al. with the dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) UE as taught by Jheng et al. for the purpose of improving utilization of handover resources for dual SIM devices in communication network.
Regarding claim 3, and as applied to claim 1 above, Jheng et al., as modified by Wu et al. and Gu et al., teach a method wherein at least one of
transmitting the request for obtaining the time segment configuration information to the first base station via the first SIM (Fig(s).1-2) [[and/]]or
transmitting the request for obtaining the time segment configuration information to the second base station via the second SIM (Fig(s).1-2) comprises:
in response to determining that the second SIM is to communicate with the second base station during the communication between the first SIM and the first base station (Fig.2),
transmitting the request for obtaining the time segment configuration information to the first base station via the first SIM (Fig(s).1-2), [[and/]]or
transmitting the request for obtaining the time segment configuration information to the second base station via the second SIM (Fig(s).1-2), or
transmitting the request for obtaining the time segment configuration information to the first base station via the first SIM and transmitting the request for obtaining the time segment configuration information to the second base station via the second SIM. (Fig(s).1-2)
Regarding claim 4, and as applied to claim 1 above, Jheng et al., as modified by Wu et al. and Gu et al., teach a method further comprising at least one of:
transmitting information of the second base station to the first base station via the first SIM (Fig(s).1-2); [[and/]]or
transmitting information of the first base station to the second base station via the second SIM (Fig(s).1-2),
wherein at least one of
the information of the first base station (read as indication (e.g.: upcoming activity)) or
the information of the second base station (read as indication) comprises at least one of:
an identifier of a corresponding base station,
a communication technology type of the corresponding base station, or
configuration information of the corresponding base station. (read as “UE sends an indication to network when a suspension event is received to trigger the UE to switch the RF resources away from receiving signal from one registered network temporarily.”(Paragraph [0008]) Also, “The proposed indication may further contain a suspension period to inform the network that the UE may not be able to receive its downlink signal or transmit its uplink signal in this upcoming period.”(Paragraph [0008]))
Regarding claim 5, and as applied to claim 4 above, Jheng et al., as modified by Wu et al. and Gu et al., teach a method further comprising at least one of:
transmitting the information of the second base station to the first SIM via the second SIM (Fig(s).1-2); [[and/]]or
transmitting the information of the first base station to the second SIM via the first SIM. (Fig(s).1-2)
Regarding claim 7, and as applied to claim 1 above, Jheng et al., as modified by Wu et al. and Gu et al., teach a method wherein controlling the first SIM to communicate with the first base station (Fig(s).1 @ Network 1 and 2 @ 202, SIM 1) and
controlling the second SIM to communicate with the second base station, based on the time segment configuration information (Fig(s).1 @ Network 2 and 2 @ 202, SIM 2) comprises:
determining a target time segment based on the time segment configuration information (Fig.2 @ 213); and
controlling the second SIM to communicate with the second base station within the target time segment (Fig(s).1 @ Network 2 and 2 @ 202, 213, SIM 2) and
controlling the first SIM to communicate with the first base station outside the target time segment (Fig(s).1 @ Network 1 and 2 @ 202, 213, SIM 1); or
controlling the first SIM to communicate with the first base station within the target time segment (Fig(s).1 @ Network 1 and 2 @ 202, 213, SIM 1) and
controlling the second SIM to communicate with the second base station outside the target time segment. (Fig(s).1 @ Network 2 and 2 @ 202, 213, SIM 2)
Regarding claims 10 and 17, and as applied to claims 8 and 16 above, Jheng et al. teach “UE 101 supports DSDS feature such that multiple SIM cards can be used to access multiple networks, e.g., SIM1 used to access network #1 and SIM2 used to access network #2.”(Fig(s).1-2; Paragraph [0022]) Also, Jheng et al. teach a method for receiving information of the second base station transmitted from the terminal (Fig(s).1-2); Also, Jheng et al. teach a method for determining the second base station based on the information of the second base station (Fig(s).1-2);
Gu et al. teach “a dual-SIM UE data transmission method and device, storage medium and user equipment.”(Paragraph [0002])
However, Jheng et al. and Gu et al. fail to explicitly teach determining the time segment configuration information in negotiation with the second base station.
Wu et al. teach a method further comprising:
determining the time segment configuration information in negotiation with the second base station. (read as “the mobile terminal 20 hands over the data communication from the BSS 11 to the BSS 41 in the cell 40, an authentication request 711 with the temporary authentication identity stored in a SIM card is sent to the MSC 12 via the BSS 41 and MSC 42, and authentication information 713 with the IMSI corresponding to the mobile terminal 20, and a plurality of RANDs and SRESs is sent to the MSC 42. In step S612, the MSC 42 and mobile terminal 20 authenticate each other using CHAP 714.”(Fig(s).4 and 6; Paragraph [0034]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and transmitting a request to a second serving base station as taught by Gu et al. and the mobile switching center to handle BSS switching as taught by Wu et al. with the dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) UE as taught by Jheng et al. for the purpose of improving utilization of handover resources for dual SIM devices in communication network.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, and as applied to claims 10 and 17 above, Jheng et al. teach “UE 101 supports DSDS feature such that multiple SIM cards can be used to access multiple networks, e.g., SIM1 used to access network #1 and SIM2 used to access network #2.”(Fig(s).1-2; Paragraph [0022])Also, Jheng et al. teach a method for transmitting first service information corresponding to the communication between the first SIM and the first base station to the second base station (Fig(s).1 @ Network 1, Network 2 and 2 @ 202, 213, SIM 1),
Wu et al. teach “a method and system for data communication handoff across heterogeneous wireless networks.”(Fig(s).4-6; Paragraph [0002])
However, Jheng et al. and Wu et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the negotiation request is for requesting the second base station to determine the time segment configuration information based on the first service information and second service information corresponding to communication between the second SIM and the second base station.
Gu et al. teach a method further comprising:
wherein the negotiation request is for requesting the second base station to determine the time segment configuration information based on the first service information and second service information corresponding to communication between the second SIM and the second base station. (read as “request the time gap of the non-data transmission for connecting the second SIM card to the second serving base station, …”(Paragraph [0053]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and transmitting a request to a second serving base station as taught by Gu et al. and the mobile switching center to handle BSS switching as taught by Wu et al. with the dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) UE as taught by Jheng et al. for the purpose of improving utilization of handover resources for dual SIM devices in communication network.
Regarding claims 13 and 20, and as applied to claims 10 and 17 above, Jheng et al. teach “UE 101 supports DSDS feature such that multiple SIM cards can be used to access multiple networks, e.g., SIM1 used to access network #1 and SIM2 used to access network #2.”(Fig(s).1-2; Paragraph [0022])
Wu et al. teach “a method and system for data communication handoff across heterogeneous wireless networks.”(Fig(s).4-6; Paragraph [0002])
However, Jheng et al. and Wu et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein determining the time segment configuration information in negotiation with the second base station comprises:
in response to determining that a negotiation request transmitted from the second base station is received, determining the time segment configuration information.
Gu et al. teach a method wherein determining the time segment configuration information in negotiation with the second base station comprises:
in response to determining that a negotiation request transmitted from the second base station is received, determining the time segment configuration information. (Fig.6 @ 601)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for operating two SIMs simultaneous as taught by Gu et al. and the mobile switching center to handle BSS switching as taught by Wu et al. with the dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) UE as taught by Jheng et al. for the purpose of improving utilization of handover resources for dual SIM devices in communication network.
Regarding claims 14 and 21, and as applied to claims 13 and 17 above, Jheng et al. teach “UE 101 supports DSDS feature such that multiple SIM cards can be used to access multiple networks, e.g., SIM1 used to access network #1 and SIM2 used to access network #2.”(Fig(s).1-2; Paragraph [0022]) Also, Jheng et al. teach a method for receiving second service information corresponding to communication between the second SIM and the second base station from the second base (Fig(s).1 @ Network 2 and 2 @ 202, 213, SIM 2),
Wu et al. teach “a method and system for data communication handoff across heterogeneous wireless networks.”(Fig(s).4-6; Paragraph [0002])
However, Jheng et al. and Wu et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein determining the time segment configuration information comprises:
determining the time segment configuration information based on the second service information and first service information corresponding to the communication between the first SIM and the first base station.
Gu et al. teach a method wherein determining the time segment configuration information comprises:
determining the time segment configuration information based on the second service information and first service information corresponding to the communication between the first SIM and the first base station. (Fig.6 @ 601)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for operating two SIMs simultaneous as taught by Gu et al. and the mobile switching center to handle BSS switching as taught by Wu et al. with the dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) UE as taught by Jheng et al. for the purpose of improving utilization of handover resources for dual SIM devices in communication network.
Regarding claim 25, Jheng et al., as modified by Wu et al. and Gu et al., teach an electronic device (Fig.2 @ 201), comprising:
a processor (Fig.2 @ 202), and
a memory (Fig.2 @ 203) for storing processor-executable instructions (read as program (Fig.2 @ 204)),
wherein the processor (Fig.2 @ 202) is configured to implement the time segment request method according to any one of the claim 1. (Fig(s).2 @ 202 and 4 @ 710)
Regarding claim 26, Jheng et al., as modified by Wu et al. and Gu et al., teach a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Fig.2 @ 203) storing a computer program (Fig.2 @ 204), wherein the program (Fig.2 @ 204) is executed by a processor (Fig.2 @ 202) to perform the time segment request method according to any one of the claim 1. (Fig(s).2 @ 202 and 4 @ 710)
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10, 12-15, 17, 19-21, and 25-26 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Hong (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0232296 A1) teach “information sending methods, base station handover methods, information receiving methods, information sending apparatuses, base station handover apparatuses, information receiving apparatuses, an electronic device and a computer readable storage medium.”(Fig.14; Paragraph [0002])
Hong (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0224771 A1) teach “a method for updating a radio notification area, an apparatus for updating a radio notification area, an electronic device and a computer readable storage medium.”(Fig.13; Paragraph [0002])
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
March 25, 2026