DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group XIII (NTPDase3 antibody comprising the amino acid sequences of Table 2A and methods of making the same) as well as the species of IgG1, PD-1, and intracellular flow in the reply filed on 8/17/26 is acknowledged. Applicant declines to make the required election for the other species groups set forth in the Restriction mailed 2/18/26 (p.5).
Upon further consideration, the species of IgG class and secondary binding partner is withdrawn; claims reciting these species (claim 10) require the CDRs of Table 2A which are allowable over the prior art.
The restriction requirement is final.
Claims 1-2, 6, 10, 19, 21-28, and 30-36 are pending.
Claims 28 and 30-36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/17/26. The elected invention (antibodies comprising SEQ ID NOs: 51-56) is allowable over the prior art. The methods of claims 28 and 30-36 would be examined if they were rewritten to depend from a claim containing these sequence requirements or else rewritten to require these sequences. See allowable subject matter below.
Claims 1-2, 6, 10, 19, and 21-27 are under examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “or any range in between, inclusive, including” is missing a conjunction in the list. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 6 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: MPEP §2173.05(s) notes that incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table is permitted only in exceptional circumstances”. In this case, there appears to be no compelling reason the contents of the table or figure could not be reproduced in the claim itself.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: the method is one of producing the antibody of claim 1. However, the claim cultures a cell encoding “at least one anti-NTPDase3 antibody”, i.e., any antibody, not just the antibody of claim 1. Claims are allowed to encompass inoperative embodiments and it is immediately apparent to the skilled artisan that culturing a different antibody would not produce the antibody of claim 1. However, for unequivocal antecedent basis, the terminology should be amended to clearly require the nucleic acid to encode the antibody of claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 6 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 6 and 10 contain a Markush group that includes non-elected inventions. Non-elected inventions must be removed or else written such that the claims require the elected subject matter. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush grouping of the various alternatives in claim 2 is improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons:
The first option is that the antibody is “therapeutic”
The second alternative is that the antibody “promotes” certain activities. These do not require the same structure; the structure providing therapeutic efficacy may or may not be the same structure providing the variety of claimed functions. Further, these are clearly not the same use as an antibody being therapeutic requires being administered to some subject for some unclaimed disease, while simply promoting the claimed functions are useful in clinical and research settings that do not involve specific therapy.
Promoting CDC activity against NTPDase3+ cells is not claimed by any shared structure with promoting ADCC activity and the former does not require proximity to tumor cells, which the latter does and so the uses are also not common.
Alternative (ii) requires activity against intratumoral cells while (iii) requires cytosis of immune cells and so are directed to a different use.
Alternative (iv) does not require any of the above functions but binding when compared to a set of other antibodies, none of which is required by the above.
At line 15, the alternatives continue (optionally) with limitations directed to the FcɣRIIIa binding portion, which is not the same as the antigen binding structure above.
At line 18, this limitation is directed to the format of the antibody (Fab; sdFv) which is not a common structure required above.
At line 21, an alternative is that the antibody is monoclonal, which is directed to a method of producing the antibody rather than any specific structure or use
The claim lists the antibody as conjugated to an “agent”, where these agents and conjugation is a separate structure from those above and are directed to wholly different uses.
The claims list alternatives such as the conjugated agent being a drug, toxin, radionuclide, or tag. These are all different structures that are used for different reasons (therapy, diagnostics, etc.) and so do not share a common use.
Similarly, claim 10 contains an improper Markush group:
The first “option” is that the antibody comprises an Fc region.
The next option is that the antibody is hypo-fucosylated or fucosylated. This structure—the amount of fucose on the antibody—is structurally separate from having an Fc region of a certain isotype.
The antibody being human or humanized is separate structure from the Fc isotype or fucose content. These are not art recognized alternatives.
The antibody being bispecific refers to an additional binding moeity, which is a separate structure from the Fc region, fucose, etc.
Similarly, claim 24 contains an improper Markush group:
The first alternative is that the nucleic acid expresses the antibody of claim 1
The second alternative is that the host cell comprises any heavy or light chain. A nucleic acid encoding a protein is structurally distinct from the protein itself. Moreover, expressing a single chain does not have the same use as expressing an intact, functional antibody.
Alternative c is that the host cell comprises both the nucleic acid and a vector containing the nucleic acid. This includes vectors that express and do not express the antibody, where these alternatives have distinctly different uses.
Similarly, claim 25 contains an improper Markush group:
The first alternative is a device or kit optionally comprising “a label to detect at least one anti-NTPDase3 antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof”
The second is a device or kit optionally comprising “a complex comprising the anti-NTPDase3 antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof”. A label to detect an antibody is structurally distinct from a complex of the antibody. Further, while the label is for detection, the complex does not necessarily share that use. Complexes of the antibody are also the means by which the antibody exerts a therapeutic effect and does not involve detection.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 10, 19, 23, 24, 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are replete with exemplary language. The claim(s) currently use exemplary language (e.g. such as, optionally, preferably, in particular, including, etc.). Such language does not further limit the claim but potentially causes confusion over the claim scope.
For example, the word “optionally” is not per se indefinite. However, in this case, the use of the term “optionally” creates confusion as to whether or not the optional language is setting forth alternative embodiments (requirements) or are merely examples which do not limit the claim. Claim 1 requires the antibody to have one of either (a) or (b). The claim then sets forth “optionally” i-iii. It is unclear if these optional functions are “optional” because they apply depending on whether (a) or (b) is selected or if they are wholly separate functions from the structures in (a) or (b). Further, options (i) and (iii) appear to be the same requirements but reciting different ranges, despite the fact that each individually also contains numerous alternative ranges that significantly overlap. These “options” also use “preferably” as well as “or any range in between, inclusive” and “including”. These are additional options/preferences, creating confusion as to whether or not the first options might be requirements or if the claim is a string of preferences.
The use of “optionally” combined with “and/or” also creates confusion. For example, claim 1 appears to require (a) OR (b). Following this phrase with “optionally” creates confusion as to whether or not these are meant to be “optionally” for (a) and/or (b), i.e., it is unclear if “optionally” is being used in the same way as “and/or” in which case (a) or (b) are not required but rather are other alternatives to the optional list.
Adding to the confusion is the recitation of multiple, narrowing ranges/limitations. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, the claims recite, e.g., a broad range of “at least 2x10-6 or lower” followed by a number of potentially narrower ranges. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Further, “at least” indicates the initial value could be any number equal to or higher than the stated number, e.g., at least 2x10-6 includes 2x10-6 and all values higher up to infinity. However, the claim also states “or lower”, and so a reasonable interpretation is that every “preference” range in these claims covers all numbers and so there is no actual difference between any of the ranges, bringing into question why the ranges are listed separately.
Finally, if these options/preferences/inclusions are not meant to be limitations that define the legal protection sought by the claim, they do not belong in the claim. See MPEP § 2173.05(d) which states that “[d]escription of examples or preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than the claims. If stated in the claims, examples and preferences may lead to confusion over the intended scope of a claim." Therefore, exemplary language should either be positively recited as a claim limitation or removed from the claim altogether.
While claim 1 is used above as an example, the same reasoning applies to Applicant’s use of “and/or”, “optionally”, “preferably”, etc., throughout the claims.
As a further example, it is unclear if the “options” of claim 24 are meant to refer to the host cell or the nucleic acid within the host cell.
Therefore, claims 1, 2, 6, 10, 19, 23, 24, 25 are indefinite.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites an antibody that comprises “an amino acid sequence that can be encoded by a nucleic acid that hybridizes under stringent conditions to the nucleic acid of…sequences listed in table 2A”. The sequences in, e.g., table 2A are amino acids and not nucleic acids. The phrase “the nucleic acid of” does not find proper antecedent basis when referring to amino acids and, further, it is unclear if the claim is suggesting that the antibody comprises an amino acid sequence that hybridizes to the claimed sequences, is encoded by a nucleic acid that hybridizes the amino acids, or if the antibody contains the sequences themselves.
Additionally, the claim recites the antibody comprises CDRs at least 60% identical to sequences listing in table 2A but also that the whole of the variable chain is 60% identical to sequences listed in table 2A. Table 2A only provides the CDRs while variable chains comprise framework sequences. It is unclear whether the claim is requiring the variable region to omit the necessary framework sequences or if the sequence comparison is meant to encompass more than the specific sequences claimed.
Therefore, claim 6 is indefinite.
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the additional antigen binding site". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim earlier recites “at least one additional antigen binding site”. Since there is not a single such binding site, it is unclear if these limitations refer to just one of the “at least one” or all additional binding sites.
Further, claim 10 recites the antibody has certain CDR sequences as well as “human framework sequences to form humanized heavy and light chains”. However, the instant specification teaches that CDRs such as those in Table 2A are already human CDRs. Human CDRs with human framework regions would not fall under the ordinary definition of “humanized”, suggesting that Applicant is using the term in a non-standard way. If this is the case, there is no special definition within the specification that sets forth this new interpretation and so the scope of the claims is unclear.
Therefore, claim 10 is indefinite.
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites “therapeutically effective amount” but does not recite any therapy. MPEP §2173.05(c) provides guidance on an “effective amount”. Here, there is no function to be achieved and more than one therapy can be implied. For example, claims 30-35 are directed to different effects of the antibody that might be considered therapeutic. The claim itself provides one “option” for the therapy, which clearly indicates there are other possible therapies encompassed by the claim.
Therefore, claim 19 is indefinite.
Claim 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the immunoglobulin heavy and/or light chain polypeptide" in alternative b. There is no earlier recitation of these chains and so there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Therefore, claim 24 is indefinite.
Claims 1-2, 6, 10, 19, 21-27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is directed to any NTPDase3 antibody or fragment thereof defined by the binding target and forming a stable complex. As such, the claim is directed to an antibody defined entirely by function (binding); the broadest, reasonable interpretation is that parts (a) and onward are all alternatives/optional limitations and are not required. These options include inhibiting enzymatic activity or having particular EC50 values. As such, the antibody is defined entirely by function. See MPEP §2163(I)(A) which states:
"The claimed invention as a whole may not be adequately described where an invention is described solely in terms of a method of its making coupled with its function and there is no described or art recognized correlation or relationship between the structure of the invention and its function. A biomolecule sequence described only by a functional characteristic, without any known or disclosed correlation between that function and the structure of the sequence, normally is not a sufficient identifying characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the claimed sequence.”
In this case, antibodies generally share certain characteristics such as Fc regions or hinge regions. However, these structures are not correlated with the binding function of the antibody. The hyper variable regions (HVRs), i.e., complementarity determining regions (CDRs) of an antibody, are well established in the art as the portion of the binding region which imparts the specificity of an antibody. However, there is no way to a priori look at an antigen sequence (NTPDase3) and envisage the combination of six CDRs that will bind that antigen. First, even highly related CDRs may not bind the same target. See for example Kussie (cited on form 892) who demonstrates that a single amino acid change in the heavy chain of an antibody which binds p-axophenylarsonate (Ars) completely abrogates the ability of the antibody to bind Ars but adds the functionality of binding the structurally related p-azophenylsulfonate (e.g., abstract). Second, even when provided with several related antibodies that bind the desired target, this does not represent the astronomical and potentially unknowable breadth of all possible amino acid sequences which will result in the desired binding properties. This is exemplified by the Court decision in Abbvie (Abbvie v Janssen 759 F.3d 1285 (Fed. Cir. 2014)), where Abbvie developed over 200 antibodies that shared 99.5% identity in the variable regions (p.7) and which bound the target, but in no way allowed one to envisage the unique structure of Centocor’s antibodies which bound the same target but shared only 50% sequence similarity (see table on page 11).
Thus, the art recognizes that the CDRs define the binding properties of an antibody and that even single amino acid changes to this region can completely abrogate the binding specificity of an antibody. As a further example, see Chen (cited on form 892) which demonstrates single amino acid changes in the VH CDR2 sequence can increase binding, decrease binding, destroy binding, or have no effect on binding when compared to the wild-type antibody. Making changes to the CDR sequence of an antibody is a highly unpredictable process and the skilled artisan could not a priori make any predictions regarding such mutations with any reasonable expectation of success nor envisage the breadth of structurally unrelated CDR combinations that would still possess the required functions.
The specification discloses certain specific combinations of six CDRs. However, as discussed above, without any way to determine how broad the genus of such antibodies is, there is no way to determine if these antibodies represent the full breadth of what is claimed. The disclosure of these specific antibodies would not convey to the artisan that Applicant was in possession of the full genus of all antibodies which possess the required functions nor does it allow the skilled artisan to envisage the specific structure of such antibodies.
Further note the decision in Amgen v. Sanofi 2017, where the Court supported previous decisions (Centocor 2011; Abbvie 2014) that defining an antibody solely by what it binds does not satisfy the written description requirement, stating that this would allow patentees to “claim antibodies by describing something that is not the invention, i.e., the antigen”. MPEP 2163 states “disclosure of an antigen fully characterized by its structure, formula, chemical name, physical properties, or deposit in a public depository does not, without more, provide an adequate written description of an antibody claimed by its binding affinity to that antigen, even when preparation of such an antibody is routine and conventional”. It is appreciated that certain claims do include at least one CDR, e.g., claim 6 requires CDRs 60% identical to a set of six CDRs instantly disclosed. However, as above, arbitrarily altering any amino acid in the CDR of an antibody is unpredictable and the specification does not convey possession of any CDRs other than those of the disclosed antibodies. Further, it is well-known in the art that specificity of an antibody stems from the interaction of six CDRs and CDRs are not generally recognized as interchangeable, such that using one CDR from one antibody would not be reasonably expected to confer the same binding properties or even the same binding target when combined with two to five CDRs from other antibodies. As such, the specification fails to set forth a structure-function correlation sufficient to claim all possible antibodies defined by function and fewer than six CDRs or alterations thereof.
Claims such as claim 2 explicitly recite the antibody as, e.g., a single domain antibody. The instant specification does not appear to disclose any examples of a single domain antibody—an antibody defined by only three light chain CDRs or only three heavy chain CDRs—and such antibodies with the instantly claimed properties are not readily known in the art.
Similarly, claim 10 requires the antibody is human or humanized. Human CDRs such as those in table 2A do not represent CDRs from other species (humanized).
Claims 21 and 22 are directed to only the heavy or light chain of the antibody. Under §112d, a dependent claim must provide a further limitation. This means that instant claim 1 also encompasses antibodies with the claimed functions that are only a heavy or light chain while the instant specification does not describe such chains with the claimed function nor is there a reason to expect these functions to be provided by a single chain similar to the single domain discussion above.
This is also highlighted when comparing the antibodies of US 20150196663 (form 892) to those of US 20150266947 (form 892). Both publications screened for antibodies using the same library of antibodies (Sheet’s library; ‘663 paragraphs 50, 69 and ‘947 paragraph 131). The six CDRs of ‘947 SEQ ID NO: 11 and reference scFv15 are aligned below:
The two antibodies share identical CDRs (e.g., CDR-L1), similar CDRs (e.g., CDR-H1, CDR-L2), and highly disparate CDR sequences (e.g., CDR-H3, CDR-L3). One could not envisage which portions of the CDRs are necessary to impart the claimed binding properties or which could be mutated without affecting such properties, nor does the instant specification provide guidance to this effect. As such, the disclosure of one antibody sequence does not convey possession of other antibodies with the same binding properties; possession of the precisely defined sequence of six CDRs is required.
Additionally, claim 10 recites IgG1 or IgG3 Fc regions that are “ADCC active”. There is insufficient description of the specific structures of these isotypes that confer the active vs inactive functions.
Therefore, claims 1-2, 6, 10, 19, 21-27 do not meet the written description requirement.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The specification fails to disclose the complete sequence and structure of the monoclonal antibodies in claim 2, such as “PBI#30 and its affinity maturation variants”. The art recognizes that specifying the sequence of the variable region alone is not sufficient to determine the entire structure of an antibody, and that making monoclonal antibodies is an unpredictable process. Further, even with the full sequence, monoclonal antibodies are so unique that a skilled artisan cannot simply construct one; the actual hybridoma which secretes the antibody must be present in order to make it. Thus deposit of said hybridoma is required for compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph. MPEP § 2404.02 recognizes that when undue experimentation would be required for an artisan to make a biological product, deposit can be required. The examiner has concluded that in order to make the actual antibodies in claims 2, the hybridoma is required. While the monoclonal antibodies themselves are not claimed, they are required to be available to determine if a potentially infringing antibody meets the claim requirements for the antibody’s properties.
Elements required for practicing a claimed invention must be known and readily available to the public or obtainable by a repeatable method set forth in the specification. When biological material is required to practice an invention, and if it is not so obtainable or available, the enablement requirements of 335 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph may be satisfied by a deposit of the material. See 37 CFR § 1.802. There is no evidence that, e.g., PBI#30 and the breadth of all “affinity maturation variants” are readily known or available. While the CDRs and even the variable regions of PBI#30 may be disclosed, this is not the whole of the antibody nor do four affinity maturation variants represent the breadth of all possible variants as claimed.
The specification lacks sufficient deposit information for these monoclonal antibodies. Because the public availability of these deposits are unknown and cannot be reproducibly isolated from nature without undue experimentation, a suitable deposit for patent purposes is required. If a deposit is made under the terms of the Budapest Treaty, then an affidavit or declaration by applicants or someone associated with the patent owner who is in a position to make such assurances, or a statement by an attorney of record over his or her signature, stating that the deposit has been made under the terms of the Budapest Treaty and that all restrictions imposed by the depositor on the availability to the public of the deposited material will be irrevocably removed upon the granting of a patent, would satisfy the deposit requirements. See 37 CFR § 1.808.
If a deposit is not made under the terms of the Budapest Treaty, then an affidavit or Declaration by Applicants or someone associated with the patent owner who is in a position to make such assurances, or a statement by an attorney of record over his or her signature, stating that the deposit has been made at an acceptable depository and that the following criteria have been met:
(a) during the pendency of the application, access to the deposit will be afforded to one determined by the Commissioner to be entitled thereto;
(b) all restrictions imposed by the depositor on the availability to the public of the deposited material will be irrevocably removed upon the granting of a patent;
(c) the deposit will be maintained for a term of at least thirty (30) years and at least five (5) years after the most recent request for the furnishing of a sample of the deposited material;
(d) a viability statement in accordance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.807; and
(e) the deposit will be replaced should it become necessary due to inviability, contamination or loss of capability to function in the manner described in the specification.
In addition the identifying information set forth in 37 § CFR 1.809(d) should be added to the specification. See 37 CFR § 1.803-1.809 for additional explanation of these requirements.
Therefore, claim 2 is not enabled.
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 25 recites a “device or kit” in the preamble as does claim 26. Claim 25 contains optional language that under the broadest reasonable interpretation is not required and so does not provide additional limitations. The instant specification does not contain an explicit definition of a “device or kit” and there is no standard definition in the art which would require any specific structure other than the recited antibodies or nucleic acid. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation in the preamble is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Therefore, claims 25 and 26 do not provide a further limitation and do not comply with §112d.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 19, and 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1-2) as being anticipated by Powers (US 20200191787; form 892).
Initially, it is noted that the broadest reasonable interpretation of the “optional” portions—including any “preferred” or inclusive examples—of the claim is that these are not claim limitations and so need not be addressed.
Regarding claim 1, Powers teaches an antibody that binds CD39L3 (claim 8). CD39L3 is a synonym for NTPDase3 (abstract), meaning the antibody of Powers is an anti-NTPDase3 antibody that comprises at least one antigen binding domain that binds NTPDase3 at a site. The limitations regarding “that binds” and “forms a stable immune complex” are functions of the antibody whereas the instant claim is to a composition of matter. As the antibody of Powers binds the same target, the properties of the antibody must also be the same. Further, Powers teaches forming immunocomplexes (paragraph 80) and that the antibody binding the target is sufficient to isolate the target (claim 8), suggesting the formation of a stable immune complex is a property of the Powers antibody. This formation and subsequent isolation of NTPDase3 from its substrate also meets the limitations of alternative part (b) of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, this claim is entirely directed to properties of the antibody. The Powers antibody meets all of the structural limitations of the composition claim and so any properties must be present. Chemical compounds and their properties are inseparable (In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA1963)), as are their processes and yields (In re Von Schickh, 362 F.2d 821, 150 USPQ 300 (CCPA 1966)). Further, Powers teaches the treatment of diabetes (claim 8), indicating the antibody is therapeutic, meeting the limitations of this alternative.
Regarding claim 19, Powers teaches the invention includes pharmaceutical preparations comprising acceptable carriers (e.g. starting at paragraph 140).
Regarding claim 21, Powers teaches isolated nucleic acids encoding the antibodies (paragraph 63). This nucleic acid would have 100% identity to itself (alternative ii).
Regarding claim 22, Powers teaches the antibody comprises heavy/light chains (paragraph 54) and nucleic acids encoding these antibodies as above.
Regarding claim 23, Powers teaches placing the DNA (nucleic acid) encoding the antibody into an expression vector (paragraph 63).
Regarding claim 24, Powers teaches the nucleic acid in a host cell (paragraph 63).
Regarding claim 25, as above, the claim requires no limitations other than the antibody of claim 1, which is anticipated as above.
Regarding claim 25, as above, the claim requires no limitations other than the nucleic acid of claim 21, which is anticipated as above.
Regarding claim 27, Powers teaches transforming mammalian cells (host cells) with the nucleic acids encoding the antibody (see analysis of claim 24) to allow for the cell (hybridoma) to be cultured and express the antibody (paragraph 60) followed by isolation of the antibody (paragraph 62).
Therefore, claims 1-2, 19, and 21-27 are anticipated.
Allowable Subject Matter
Applicant’s elected invention is an antibody comprising CDRs of SEQ ID NOs: 51-56 as set forth in table 2a. This combination of six CDRs was not discovered in the prior art. For the reasons set forth in the written description rejection, the combination of six precise CDRs defines the binding properties of an antibody and even single amino acid changes are unpredictable. Without the exact sequences or a motivation to arrive at this claimed combination, the claims are non-obvious.
Conclusion
/Adam Weidner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675