DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-36 are cancelled. Claims 37-45 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai (US PG Pub. 20210191138) in view of Ueda (US PG Pub. 20150252978)
Regarding claim 37, Zhai discloses a projector comprising:
a display panel (para. 0048; co-axial light path RGB combined light will hit a fly-eye array lens 310 for homogenization before illuminating micro-display panel);
a first red light emitting diode (LED) (long wavelength red LED 301 of fig. 4) configured to emit a first light having a first wavelength (para. 0048; deep red (DR) wavelength of 640-660 nm);
a second red LED (short wavelength red (R) LED 302 of fig. 4) configured to emit a second light having a second wavelength shorter than the first wavelength (para. 0048; red-amber wavelength around 620 nm);
a blue LED (blue(B) wavelength LED 303 of fig. 4) configured to emit a third light having a third wavelength (para. 0048; blue wavelength LED 303 may have a long blue (LB) wavelength chip of 460-470 nm);
a blue laser light source (pump short wavelength blue (BP) LED 307 of fig. 4) (para. 0011; The red, green and blue light source or devices could be semiconductor light emitting diodes (LEDs), laser light source) configured to emit a fourth light having the third wavelength (para. 0016; top pump short blue LED light may have peak wavelength of 430-450 nm); and
a phosphor (converted green (CG) LED 304 of fig. 4) configured to convert the fourth light (BP) into a fifth light having a fourth wavelength (~540nm; para. 0003) longer than the third wavelength (~540nm; para. 0003),
wherein the first light (301), the second light (302), the third light (303), and the fifth light (304) are directed in a first direction (a direction toward condenser lens 320 of fig. 4);
a first dichroic mirror (deep red reflector mirror 308A of fig. 4) configured to reflect the first light (301);
a second dichroic mirror (dichroic mirror 305 of fig. 4) configured to reflect the second light (302); and
a third dichroic mirror (blue reflector mirror 308B of fig. 4) configured to reflect the third light transmit the fifth light (green) emitter from the phosphor toward the display panel (para. 0048; co-axial light path RGB combined light will hit a fly-eye array lens 310 for homogenization before illuminating micro-display panel).
Zhai fails to teach wherein the second dichroic mirror is disposed to cross the first dichroic mirror, and also fails to teach wherein the third dichroic mirror is configured to reflect the fourth light emitted from the blue laser light source toward the phosphor; however, if Zhai had the particular light source arrangement as the instant application the third dichroic mirror would be configured to reflect the to reflect the fourth light emitted from the blue laser light source toward the phosphor; therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a multichannel high brightness light engine; since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (This is further evidenced by Zhai fig. 25 wherein the deep red LED 2401 and red-amber LED 2402 are combined by a X-plate dichroic mirror 2408 these two wavelengths (short and long wavelength) red light are very similar to the current application.). In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Zhai fails to explicitly teach a housing having an inner space; a lens provided at a first side of the housing and wherein the first red LED and the second red LED are located closer to the display panel than the blue laser diode is located with respect to the display panel.
Zhai discloses the first red light source close to the modulator; however, the second red light source is not, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention was made to place the second red light source close to the modulator because it allows for more efficient and precise control over the red light's path and intensity. Having a more direct path reduces the light energy lost over a particular distance therefore, the projector can achieve a brighter reds on the projection screen; since, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Regarding claim 38, Zhai discloses wherein the second dichroic mirror (305) selectively reflects light having the second wavelength while transmitting light having wavelengths longer (red) and shorter (blue light from laser) than the second wavelength (blue light is shorter in wavelength than red).
Regarding claim 39, Zhai discloses wherein the third dichroic mirror (dichroic mirror 308B) is configured to reflect the third light (303) in the first direction, and
wherein the green phosphor (CG 304) is configured to emit the fifth light (green light) in the first direction (illustrated in fig. 4).
Zhai fails to teach wherein the third dichroic mirror is configured to reflect the third and the fourth light emitted from the blue laser light source toward the phosphor in a second direction opposite to a first direction toward the display panel, and transmits the fifth light emitted from the phosphor toward the display panel in the first direction; however, if Zhai had the particular light source arrangement as the instant application the third dichroic mirror would be configured to reflect the third and the fourth light; therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a multichannel high brightness light engine; since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Regarding claim 40, Zhai discloses wherein the fifth light (green) transmitted through the third dichroic mirror (308B) has a wavelength longer than the third wavelength (blue LED) reflected by the third dichroic mirror (the third dichroic mirror reflects the light from the blue LED; green light is longer than the light from the blue LED).
Regarding claim 41, Zhai discloses wherein the first dichroic mirror (308A) is configured to transmit the second light (red light from 302), and the fifth light (green).
Zhai fails to teach wherein the first dichroic is configured to transmit the third light; however, if Zhai had the particular light source arrangement as the instant application the first dichroic mirror would be configured to transmit the third light; therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a multichannel high brightness light engine; since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Regarding claim 42, Zhai discloses wherein the second dichroic mirror (305) is configured to transmit the fifth light (green light) emitted from the phosphor (converted green (CG) LED 304).
Regarding claim 43, Zhai discloses wherein the phosphor (CG) is configured to absorb the fourth light (light from blue laser BP) having the third wavelength and emit the fifth light (green) having a wavelength longer than the third wavelength (para. 0016; top pump short blue LED light may have peak wavelength of 430-450 nm).
Regarding claim 44, Zhai discloses wherein the third dichroic mirror (308B) is configured to reflect light having the third wavelength (blue LED light) and transmit light having wavelengths longer than the third wavelength (red and green light is transmitted to display device).
Regarding claim 45, Zhai discloses wherein the first wavelength is 650 nm (301; para. 0048; red LED 301 with deep red (DR) wavelength of 640˜660 nm), the second wavelength (302) is 615 nm (para. 0048; short wavelength red (R) LED 302 with red-amber wavelength around 620 nm), the third wavelength (303) is 415 nm (para. 0048; blue wavelength LED 303 may have a long blue(LB) wavelength chip of 460˜470 nm and a short blue(SB) wavelength chip of 430˜440 nm packaged on a same substrate), and the fourth wavelength is 550 nm (para. 0003; Green and amber LEDs, with peak wavelengths at approximately 540 nm and 575 nm).
Zhai fails to explicitly teach the specific second wavelength at 615nm and the third wavelength is 415nm; however, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the red and blue light sources to the specific wavelengths in order to achieve a desired color gamut of the projection device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach or suggest such a hierarchical wavelength-selective routing relationship.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhai discloses an arrangement that is VERY similar to the instant application although not explicitly disclosing the hierarchical wavelength-selective routing relationship. However, Zhai is an obvious rearrangement of the light elements and the dichroic mirrors, therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a multichannel high brightness light engine; since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANELL L OWENS/Examiner, Art Unit 2882 /TOAN TON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2882