DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a front-end configured to generate a synthesized aperture...” in claim 78, and all dependent claims thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 65-77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 65, the claim limitation “acousto-optic imaging” in the preamble is indefinite because the body of the claims does not recite any limitation directed to acousto-optic imaging. Both the first and signal are acoustic echo signals, and both first and second acoustic echo signals are caused by transmitting acoustic signals transmitted by a transmitter. Therefore, the claim 65 is indefinite because it is unclear how claim limitation “acousto-optic imaging” is related to the body of the claim.
Claims 66-77 are rejected as they depend from rejected claim 65.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 65-69, 71-82 and 84-89 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byrnes et al. (US 2019/0083059; hereinafter Byrnes), in view of NAGATA et al. (US 2012/0157837; hereinafter Nagata).
Regarding claim 65, Byrnes discloses a massively multi-frequency ultrasound encoded tomography. Byrnes shows a method of acousto-optic imaging (see fig. 1-3; par. [0008], [0010], [0037]) comprising: receiving a first signal from a first receive sub-aperture of a sensor array, wherein the first receive sub-aperture comprises one or more array elements of a first type (see fig. 1-4, 8; par. [0032], [0033]); receiving a second signal from a second receive sub-aperture of the sensor array (see fig. 1-4, 8; par. [0033]), wherein the second receive sub-aperture comprises one or more array elements of a second type different from the first type (see figs. 1-4, 8; par. [0032], [0033], [0049]), wherein the second type is an optical sensor (see fig. 1-4, 8 and par. [0033], [0049]); and synthesizing a combined signal using first and second signal (see par. [0010], [0016], [0017], [0036], [0039]), and the combined signal being from a synthesized aperture formed by the first receive sub-aperture and the second receive sub-aperture of the sensor array (see par. [0010], [0016], [0017], [0036], [0039]). Furthermore, Byrnes teaches the first receiver sub-aperture receiving a first set of acoustic echo signals in response to acoustic signal transmitted by a transmitter and generating a first signal based on the first set of acoustic echo signal (see fig. 1-4, 8; par. [0032]).
But, Byrnes fails to explicitly state a receiver beam former receiving the first and second signals; the optical sensor which is the second type configured to receiving a second set of acoustic echo signals in response to acoustic signals transmitted by transmitter and generating a second signal based on the second set of acoustic echo signals.
Nagata discloses an ultrasound probe and ultrasound examination device using the same. Nagata also shows two different receiving sub-aperture to detect first and second signal (see fig. 1A and 1B; 5A, 7 and 8), and further show receiver beam former receiving the first and second signals (see par. [0008], [0078], [0103], [0177); the optical sensor which is the second type configured to receiving second set of acoustic echo signals in response to acoustic signals transmitted by transmitter and generating a second signal based on the second set of acoustic echo signals (see fig. 1; par. [0082], [0273]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of a receiver beam former receiving the first and second signals; the optical sensor which is the second type configured to receiving a second set of acoustic echo signals in response to acoustic signals transmitted by transmitter and generating a second signal based on the second set of acoustic echo signals in the invention of Byrnes, as taught by Nagata, to improve signal-to noise ratio of receives signals and storing the received signals temporalty in digital memory for later phasing addition using the beam former and using the optical sensor to detect ultrasound echo would benefit by no longer needing for microfabrication of the piezoelectric elements and electrical connections, and possibility of improve the S/N ratio and improve the resolution in the beam forming.
Regarding claim 66, Byrnes shows phase matching the first signal and the second signal (see par. [0030], [0035], 0036], [0038]).
Regarding claim 67, Byrnes shows wherein phase matching the first signal and the second signal comprises applying a first delay to the first signal or a second delay to the second signal (see par. [0030], [0035], 0036], [0038]), the first delay and the second delay being determined based at least in part on a difference between a first propagation time from the one or more array elements of a first type to a medium being imaged and a second propagation time from the one or more array elements of a second type to the medium (see par. [0030], [0035], 0036], [0038]).
Regarding claim 68, Byrnes shows wherein the first delay or the second delay is determined based at least in part on a transmit and/or receive foci (see par. [0030], [0035], 0036], [0038]).
Regarding claim 69, Byrnes shows filtering the first signal to reduce noise in the first signal and filtering the second signal to reduce noise in the second signal (see par. [0046], [0069]).
Regarding claim 71, Byrnes shows wherein the first signal is a combination of signals originating from a plurality of array elements of the first type or the second signal is a combination of signals originating from a plurality of array elements of the second type (see figs. 1-4, 8; par. [0032], [0033], [0049]).
Regarding claim 72, Byrnes shows one or more of the following, before phase matching the first signal and the second signal: generating the first signal by combining signals originating from a plurality of array elements of the first type (see figs. 1-4, 8; par. [0032], [0033], [0049]); and generating the second signal by combining signals originating from a plurality of array elements of the second type (see figs. 1-4, 8; par. [0032], [0033], [0049]).
Regarding claim 73, Byrnes shows further comprising forming a larger effective array element from a plurality of array elements of the first type (see figs. 1-4, 8; par. [0032], [0033], [0049]).
Regarding claim 74, Byrnes reducing the effective dimensionality of the synthesized aperture (see figs. 1-4, 8; par. [0032], [0033], [0049]).
Regarding claim 75, Byrnes shows frequency matching the first signal and the second signal; and/or amplitude matching the first signal and the second signal; and/or phase matching the first signal and the second signal (see par. [0030], [0035], 0036], [0038]).
Regarding claim 76, Byrnes shows wherein the combination of the first signal and the second signal is a coherent combination (see fig. 1-4, 8 and par. [0010], [0016], [0017], [0036], [0039]).
Regarding claim 77, Byrnes shows selecting the first sub-aperture for transmitting acoustic signals (see fig. 1-4 and 8); and selecting the first sub-aperture or the second sub-aperture for receiving acoustic echoes in response to the acoustic signals (see fig. 1-4 and 8).
Regarding claim 78, Byrnes discloses a massively multi-frequency ultrasound encoded tomography. Byrnes shows an apparatus for imaging a target (see abstract; figs. 1-4), comprising: one or more array elements of a first type forming a first receive sub-aperture (see fig. 1-4, 8; par. [0032], [0033]); one or more array elements of a second type different from the first type and forming a second receive sub-aperture (see fig. 1-4, 8; par. [0033]), the second type being an optical sensor (see fig. 1-4, 8; par. [0033]), wherein the first sub-aperture receives a first signal having a first phase (see fig. 1-4, 8; par. [0032]) and the second sub-aperture receives a second signal having a second phase (see fig. 1-4, 8; par. [0033]); and a front-end configured to generate a synthesized aperture at least in part by combining the first signal and the second signal (see par. [0010], [0016], [0017], [0036], [0039]). Furthermore, Byrnes shows that the first set of acoustic echo signals is in response to acoustic signals transmitted by a transmitter and generates the first signal (see fig. 1-4, 8; par. [0032]).
But, Byrnes fails to explicitly state a receiver beam former receiving the first and second signals; the optical sensor which is the second type configured to receiving a second set of acoustic echo signals in response to acoustic signals transmitted by transmitter and generating a second signal based on the second set of acoustic echo signals.
Nagata discloses an ultrasound probe and ultrasound examination device using the same. Nagata also shows two different receiving sub-aperture to detect first and second signal (see fig. 1A and 1B; 5A, 7 and 8), and further show receiver beam former receiving the first and second signals (see par. [0008], [0078], [0103], [0177); the optical sensor which is the second type configured to receiving second set of acoustic echo signals in response to acoustic signals transmitted by transmitter and generating a second signal based on the second set of acoustic echo signals (see fig. 1; par. [0082], [0273]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of a receiver beam former receiving the first and second signals; the optical sensor which is the second type configured to receiving a second set of acoustic echo signals in response to acoustic signals transmitted by transmitter and generating a second signal based on the second set of acoustic echo signals in the invention of Byrnes, as taught by Nagata, to improve signal-to noise ratio of receives signals and storing the received signals temporalty in digital memory for later phasing addition using the beam former and using the optical sensor to detect ultrasound echo would benefit by no longer needing for microfabrication of the piezoelectric elements and electrical connections, and possibility of improve the S/N ratio and improve the resolution in the beam forming.
Regarding claim 79, Byrnes shows wherein the front-end is further configured to generate the synthesized aperture by phase matching the first signal and the second signal (see par. [0030], [0035], 0036], [0038]).
Regarding claim 80, Byrnes shows wherein phase matching the first signal and the second signal comprises applying a first delay to the first signal or a second delay to the second signal (see par. [0030], [0035], 0036], [0038]), the first delay and the second delay being determined based at least in part on a difference between a first propagation time from the one or more array elements of a first type to a medium being imaged and a second propagation time from the one or more array elements of a second type to the medium (see par. [0030], [0035], 0036], [0038]).
Regarding claim 81, Byrnes shows wherein the first delay or the second delay is determined based at least in part on a transmit and/or receive foci (see par. [0030], [0035], 0036], [0038]).
Regarding claim 82, Byrnes shows wherein the front-end is further configured to generate the synthesized aperture by filtering the first signal to reduce noise in the first signal and filtering the second signal to reduce noise in the second signal (see par. [0046], [0069]).
Regarding claim 84, Byrnes shows wherein the front-end is further configured to generate the synthesized aperture by frequency matching the first signal and the second signal (see par. [0011]).
Regarding claim 85, Byrnes shows wherein the first signal is a combination of signals originating from a plurality of array elements of the first type (see fig. 1-4, 8; par. [0032]) or the second signal is a combination of signals originating from a plurality of array elements of the second type (see fig. 1-4, 8; par. [0033]).
Regarding claim 86, Byrnes shows wherein the front-end is further configured to generate the synthesized aperture by: frequency matching the first signal and the second signal; and/or amplitude matching the first signal and the second signal; and/or phase matching the first signal and the second signal (see par. [0030], [0035], 0036], [0038]).
Regarding claim 87, Byrnes shows wherein the combination of the first signal and the second signal is a coherent combination (see fig. 1-4, 8 and par. [0010], [0016], [0017], [0036], [0039]).
Regarding claim 88, Byrnes shows wherein the front-end is further configured to combine the first signal and the second signal by: selecting the first sub-aperture for transmitting acoustic signals; and selecting the first sub-aperture or the second sub-aperture for receiving acoustic echoes in response to the acoustic signals.
Regarding claim 89, Byrnes shows wherein the front-end is further configured to combine the first signal and the second signal by: selecting an element from the one or more array elements of the first type for transmitting acoustic signals (see fig. 1-4 and 8); and selecting the first aperture or the second sub-aperture for receiving acoustic echoes in response to the acoustic signals (see fig. 1-4 and 8).
Claims 70 and 83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byrnes et al. (US 2019/0083059; hereinafter Byrnes), in view of NAGATA et al. (US 2012/0157837; hereinafter Nagata) as applied to claims 65 and 78 above, and further in view of Hossack et al. (US 5,957,852).
Regarding claims 70 and 83, Byrnes and Nagata disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Byrnes shows amplitude match the first signal and the second signal (see par. [0035], [0036], [0038], [0040]), but fails to explicitly state amplifying the first signal or the second signal by an amplification gain.
Hossack discloses an ultrasonic harmonic imaging. Hossack teaches amplifying a first signal by a gain amplifier (see 54 and 56 in fig. 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of amplifying a first signal by a gain amplifier in the invention of Byrnes and Nagata, as taught by Hossack, to be able to compensate for weak signal which may caused by attenuation.
Response to Arguments
The previous rejection under 35 USC 112 (b) to claims 72-74 has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to prior art rejection of the independent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any rejection applied in the prior office action of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The examiner has provided new prior art Nagata.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHDEEP MOHAMMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797