DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-7 and 9-19 as amended are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/172317 A1 (“Kobayashi”) in view of WO 2019/230661 A1 (“Shigaki”).
The citations of WO 2021/172317 A1 refer to US 2023/0106050, an English language equivalent. A partial machine translation of WO 2019/230661 A1 is enclosed.
As to claims 1-4, Kobayashi teaches a resin composition comprising a maleimide compound (abstract). Kobayashi teaches the maleimide compound is most preferably one having an indane structure of formula M3 (para. 0055-0056). This structure meets formula (1) of claim 2 where r is 0, formula (2) of claim 3 where r is 0, n ranges from 1 to 10 (see para. 0055-0056 for corresponding range of nx), q is 2, and Ra is methyl, and has meta orientated arylene structure as required by claim 4.
While not exemplified, Kobayashi teaches the resin composition may contain elastomer (para. 0141), and taches many styrenic polymers (para. 0142), and that such elastomer should be solid at 25 degrees c for improving crack resistance (para. 0144), and as such, the use of a solid styrenic elastomer is an obvious modification suggested by Kobayashi.
While not exemplified, Kobayashi teaches that the composition may include other resin solids for providing desired performance, including compounds containing polymerizable compound (para. 0091). Among those suitable for wiring boards include polyphenylene ether containing two or more carbon-carbon double bonds (para. 0136). While Kobayashi does not discuss polyphenylene ether with terminal methacryl groups, Kobayashi refers to WO 20119/230661 (“Shigaki”), where Shigaki teaches that such polyphenylene ether useful for wiring board may be terminated with methacrylic groups.
As such, the addition of methacryl terminated polyphenylene ether for modifying the properties of a wiring board, is an obvious modification suggested by Kobayashi in view of Shigaki.
As to claims 5-6, while not exemplified, Kobayashi teaches that the elastomer may be hydrogenated versions of styrene copolymers, including hydrogenated versions of those recited by claim 6 (para. 0142), and as such, the use of such resins is an obvious modification suggested by Kobayashi.
As to claim 7, Kobayashi does not exemplify the recited amount of elastomer and maleimide compound. However, Kobayashi teaches the composition is most preferably composed of 5 to 90 % by mass of the maleimide compound (para. 0062), with the elastomer present in preferably 0.1 to 50 parts per 100 parts resin solids (para. 0145). This calculates to a range of maleimide from 9 to approximately 99 parts of maleimide per 100 parts of the total, which encompasses the recited range. Kobayashi teaches the use of maleimide in this range provides chemical resistance, while maintaining water absorption and thermal resistance (para. 0062). As such, the use of styrene, including in amounts providing maleimide in the recited amount, is obvious from the ranges taught by Kobayashi.
As to claim 9, Kobayashi teaches and exemplifies the use of inorganic filler for purposes of improving dielectric properties, flame resistance and thermal expansion (para. 0163, 0210).
As to claim 10, Kobayashi does not exemplify the recited proportions. However, Kobayashi teaches the composition is most preferably composed of 5 to 90 % by mass of the maleimide compound (para. 0062), with the elastomer present in preferably 0.1 to 50 parts per 100 parts resin solids (para. 0145). Further, Kobayashi teaches filler present in 50 parts to 1600 parts per 100 parts of resin (para. 0167) depending on desired properties. This calculates to approximately 55 to 2900 parts of fller to 100 parts of maleimide and styrene elastomer, which encompasses the recited range. The use of the recited amount of filler for improving the characteristics of dielectric properties and thermal expansion, including in the recited range, is an obvious modification within the teaching of Kobayashi.
As to claim 11, Kobayashi does not exemplify the recited proportions. However, Kobayashi teaches the composition is most preferably composed of 5 to 90 % by mass of the maleimide compound (para. 0062), with the elastomer present in preferably 0.1 to 50 parts per 100 parts resin solids (para. 0145), and the unsaturated component (organic component) present in 0.1 to 50 parts per 100 parts of resin (para. 0138). This is calculated to provide between 0.1 and 90 parts of the styreneic elastomer per 100 parts of the three recited components, which substantially overlaps the recited range. It would be an obvious modification to use the recited amount of styrenic polymer for providing crack resistance without impairing the invention.
As to claim 12, Kobayashi does not exemplify the recited proportions. However, Kobayashi teaches the composition is most preferably composed of 5 to 90 % by mass of the maleimide compound (para. 0062), with the elastomer present in preferably 0.1 to 50 parts per 100 parts resin solids (para. 0145), and the unsaturated component (organic component) present in 0.1 to 50 parts per 100 parts of resin (para. 0138). This is calculated to provide between 0.1 and 90 parts of the polymerizable polyphenylene ether per 100 parts of the three components, which encompasses the recited range. As such, the use of the recited amount of organic component as recited is an obvious modification as taught to be within the recited amounts.
As to claim 13, Kobayashi teaches a prepreg of the composition as recited (para. 0187).
As to claims 14 and 15, Kobayashi teaches a film or metal foil with resin as recited, formed from the composition (paras. 0200-0203).
As to claim 16, Kobayashi teaches the metal clad laminate of an insulating layer or a cured product on metal foil (para. 0190).
As to claim 17, Kobayashi teaches a wiring board of a cured product of the resin composition and a circuit (wiring) thereon (paras. 0198-0199).
As to claim 18, Kobayashi teaches an insulating layer of cured prepreg and metal foil (paras. 0190-0197).
As to claim 19, Kobayashi teaches wiring on cured product of prepreg to form a wiring board (para. 0198).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 and 9-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/KREGG T BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764