Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29-30 and 32-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dindi et al. (US 2008/0308457 A1).
Dindi discloses a process for producing one or more hydrocarbon products from a renewable feedstock (e.g., fresh plant oil [0014]) comprising triglycerides, free fatty acids or combinations thereof (claims 1- 4), the process comprising the steps of
diluting the renewable feedstock with a diluent (e.g., paraffin [0059]) to form a diluted feedstock (claim 20) and the diluent if from a recycled stream;
contacting the diluted feedstock with hydrogen gas and sulfiding agent resulting the hydrogen gas dissolved in the diluted feedstock to form a diluted feedstock enriched with dissolved hydrogen (claim 18 and 19; [0018]);
subjecting the diluted feedstock enriched with dissolved hydrogen to a reactor comprising a catalyst bed (comprising Ni, Mo, Y-zeolite, alumina supporter ([0020]-[0032]) and to form a reaction effluent enriched with dissolved hydrogen (claim 1). The reactor is operated at a temperature of from 250-425o C, at a pressure of from 500-2500 psig (34-172 bars), and at a WHSV of from .05 to 100 hr-1 ([0044], [0052]). It would be expected the WHSV of Dindi would overlap the claimed LHSV 25 h-1;
further contacting the reaction effluent with hydrogens gas and sulfiding agent resulting the hydrogen gas dissolved in the reaction effluent to form a reaction effluent enriched with dissolved hydrogen ([0053]-[0058]);
further subjecting the reaction effluent enriched with dissolved hydrogen to at least an additional reactor comprising a reactor bed thereby producing further reactor effluent which can be further processed to form one or hydrocarbon products ([0053]-[0058] and wherein all hydrogen is dissolved ([0055]). The additional reactor is operated at a temperature of from 250-425o C, at a pressure of from 500-2500 psig (34-172 bars), and at a WHSV of from .05 to 100 hr-1 ([0044], [0052]).
Dindi further teaches the use of high-pressure separators and the use of multi-separators and an additional reactor as disclosed in U.S Patent Nos. 6,123,835; 6,428,686; 6,881,326 and 7,291,257. These patents disclose separating units as claimed. These patents also teach that H2S, NH3 and H2O are removed from hydrocarbon products including a recycling diluent, so these patents teach that a sulfiding agent is free from an additional diluent.
Dindi does not teach that undissolved hydrogen in the additional reactor is from 0.1 to 0.25, does not explicitly teach that ratio of hydrogen gas to the renewable feedstock from 3.5 wt.% to 6 wt. % or (10 to 700 Nm3/m3), does not teach the ratio of the diluent to the renewable feedstock is 99/1 to 50/50, and Dindi does not explicitly teach LHSV of 25 hr-1
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Dindi by having undissolved hydrogen in the additional reactor from 0.1 to 0.25 because Dindi teaches that the percentage of hydrogen in the diluent is greater than the percentage of hydrogen in the feed; thus, the hydrogen require for reaction is made available in the solution upstream of the reactor [0059]. Therefore, it is within the level of one of skill in the art to employ any amount of hydrogen gas including the claimed amount.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Dindi by having the ratio of hydrogen to the renewable feedstock from 3.5 wt.% to 6 wt. % or (10 to 700 Nm3/m3) because Dindi teaches that the percentage of hydrogen in the diluent is greater than the percentage of hydrogen in the feed; thus, the hydrogen require for reaction is made available in the solution upstream of the reactor [0059]. It is within the level of one of skill in the art of use ratio as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Dindi by utilizing a ratio of diluent to feedstock as claimed because Dindi teaches that the amount of diluent added can be set so that the substantially all the hydrogen required in the reactions is available in the solution [0059]. Therefore, it is within the level of one of skill in the art to add any effective amount of diluent including the claimed amount.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Dindi by utilizing a LHSV as claimed because Dindi teaches a WHSV of from .05 to 100 hr-1 (if the density is about .8 g/mL, a WHSV of 20 hr-1 corresponds to LHVS of 25 hr-1) and it is known that space velocity (whether expressed as LHSV or WHSV) is a result-effective variable directly related to residence time. Conversion between WHSV and LHSV is routine and depends on feed density and catalyst bulk density, both of which are well known for triglyceride/FFA renewable feeds. It is within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the space velocity within Dindi’s disclosed range to achieve desired conversion and throughput, and such optimization would inherently include operating conditions corresponding to an LHSV of about 25 hr⁻¹.
Response to Arguments
The argument that the examiner has not provide sufficient support to “recycling stream without diluent comprising only hydrogen and sulfide” is not persuasive because such limitations are not in the present claimed set.
The arguments that Dindi does not teach that undissolved hydrogen in the additional reactor is from 0.1 to 0.25 and does not explicitly teach that ratio of hydrogen gas to the renewable feedstock from 3.5 wt.% to 6 wt. % is not persuasive because the examiner maintains that it is within the level of one of skill in the art use the ratio/percentages as claimed.
The argument that Dindi does not teach LHSV of 25 hr-1 is not persuasive because of the new rejection above.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771