DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US-20200303701-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses:
A battery module comprising (groupings of two or more battery cells within the battery pack, see [0054] and Fig. 1) :
a battery cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells are stacked in one direction (“ the battery cells B in a direction (hereinafter, also referred to as a direction Z1),” see [0055] and Fig. 1),
a module frame that houses the battery cell stack and has an inner surface and an outer surface (frames F and top cover TC, see [0055] and Fig. 1),
and an end plate that is coupled to the module frame and covers a front surface or a rear surface of the battery cell stack (“end blocks E and the end plates 210 may be placed on the outer sides of the outermost battery cells B to provide fastening force for physically restraining the battery cells B of the battery pack,” see [0074] and Fig. 1),
wherein the module frame includes at least one venting part having a hole shape (discharge holes FV defined by the guide ribs GR, frames F, cell vent V, and module vent MV, see [0088], [0121] and Fig. 9),
and that defines an inlet port formed on an inner surface of the module frame and an outlet port formed on an outer surface of the module frame (see annotated Fig. 9 below),
and wherein a terminal region of the at least one venting part including the inlet port or the outlet port has a reverse tapered shape (inclined portions GR1 have a cross-sectional shape gradually decreasing in an upward direction of a discharge path, see [0123] and annotated Fig. 9 below).
and wherein, based on an axial cross section of the at least one venting part, a side surface of the at least one venting part extending between the inlet port and the outlet port has a concave shape (see [0123] and annotated Fig. 9 below).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses:
wherein: the concave shape enables an effluent flowing in through the inlet port to be moved to the outlet port along the concave shape (High-temperature gas discharged from the cell vent V of a battery cell B is guided toward a module vent MV of the top cover TC via guide ribs GR and a protruding barrier wall PW provided above the cell vent V without leakage between the top cover TC and the frames F to adjacent battery cells B,” see [0096], [121], and Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses
wherein: the at least one venting part includes a cover configured to open and close a hole of the at least one venting part (cell vent V and module vent MV, wherein at least the module vent MV is configured to broken open by pressurized gas, see [0112] and Figs. 1 and 5).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses:
wherein: the cover is located at a part of the at least one venting part corresponding to the inlet port (cell vent V is shown to be located at the inlet of the venting hole FV, see annotate Fig. 5 above).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim discloses:
wherein: the cover is provided in pairs (“module vents MV formed at positions corresponding to the cell vents V,” i.e., are paired sets, see [0055] and Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses:
wherein: the cover has a plate shape, and one edge of the cover is fixed to the module frame (at least one side of the module frame MV is fixed to the top cover TC, see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim discloses:
depending on an internal pressure of the battery module, the cover is curved along the side surface of the at least one venting part having the round shape (Figs. 1 and 5 shows the outer circumference is curved along the projection of the guide rib GR).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses:
wherein: when the one direction in which the plurality of battery cells are stacked is defined as a stacking direction, the at least one venting part is formed on one surface of the module frame extending along the stacking direction (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 10, annotated Fig. 1 of Kim below discloses:
wherein: when a direction from the front surface to the rear surface of the battery cell stack is defined as a longitudinal direction, a position in the longitudinal direction of the at least one venting part is closer to the front surface or the rear surface of the battery cell stack than to a central part of the battery cell stack having a same distance in the longitudinal direction as the front surface and the rear surface of the battery cell stack.
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses:
A battery pack comprising at least one battery module as set forth in claim 1 (a battery pack, see [0055] and Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim discloses:
wherein the concave shape includes a flat section between the inlet port and the outlet port (the extension portions GR2 have a uniform cross-sectional shape and may extend in parallel with each other in the upward direction of the discharge path (i.e., a flat section), see annotated Fig. 9 above and [0123]).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim discloses:
wherein a portion of the reverse tapered shape of the terminal region includes a curved part (at least the guide ribs GR are described as being elliptical in shape and, therefore, has a curved part, see [0078] and Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US-20200303701-A1) as applied to claim 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US-20150079426-A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim is silent toward the materials used of the cell vents V and modular vent MV and, therefore, does not teach:
wherein: the cover comprises aluminum.
To solve the same problem of providing a battery with a pressure relief valve (see Abstract), Chen teaches a pressure release plate 50 which can suitably be made of aluminum, see [0051]. Additionally, Chen teaches aluminum a is suitable material that has “desirable ductility and will not dash off after rupture,” see [0051].
Absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have used aluminum for the material of Kim’s cell vent V and/or modular vent MV because Chen teaches aluminum has “desirable ductility and will not dash off after rupture.”
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US-20200303701-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeon et al. (US-20220052392-A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim does not teach:
wherein: each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells comprises an electrode lead protruding from one end part of each battery cell, and the electrode lead is located on the front surface or the rear surface of the battery cell stack.
To solve the same problem designing a battery module with a gas outlet (see [0009]-[0010]), Jeon teaches disposing electrode leads 15 of the battery cells 10 at the front and back of the cell groups 2, see [0045] and Fig. 2. This discloser of Jeon teaches that having the electrode leads disposed in the front and rear of the cell stack is a conventional and successful structure.
Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success in disposing electrode leads disposed in the front and rear of the cell stack as taught by Jeon for the structure of Kim.
Response to Arguments
Double Patenting
In light of the amendments to Claim 1, the double patenting rejection in view of the 18025003 has been withdrawn. However, 18025003 remains pending and ongoing consideration is will be applied as the reference and instant applications continue prosecution.
Claim rejections under 35 USC §§ 102 and 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any embodiment of the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.E.C./
Kayla E. ClaryExaminer, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721