DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the argument filed on 09/10/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 5-6 have been amended, no claims have been cancelled, and no new claims have been added. Thus, claims 1 and 3-8 are presently pending in this application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection set forth in the Final Office Action mailed on 07/13/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p.4-7 of “Remarks”, filed 09/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ejike et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20150282891 A1, “Ejike”) in view of Waitzman et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20170065491 A1, “Waitzman”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ejike et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20150282891 A1, “Ejike”) in view of Waitzman et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20170065491 A1, “Waitzman”).
Regarding claim 1, Ejike discloses the limitations of (Claim 1) a medical tube (100 in Fig. 1 and 2C) comprising:
a main body part (102 in Fig. 1) having a tubular shape (see Fig. 1 and para. 0036), the main body part (102) itself is configured to guide light from a light source (see para. 0037 and 0042 – main body part 102 is formed with light transmitting part 148 disposed within a wall 118 of the main body part 102 such that the main body part 102 itself guides light from a mated light supplying source);
at least one opening (124 in Fig. 2C) formed in a side face of the main body part (102, see Fig. 2C and para. 0041); and
a light transmitting part (144 in Fig. 2C) formed at one end (112 in Fig. 1) of the main body part (102, see para. 0040-0041), the light transmitting part (144) being configured to emit the light (see para. 0040).
However, Ejike fails to disclose the light transmitting part (144) extending all the way to the distal end of the main body part (102) incorporating its hemispherical distal end. Thus, Ejike fails to disclose (Claim 1) the light transmitting part having a hemispherical face shape.
Waitzman discloses a feeding tube assembly (10 in Fig. 1) comprising a main body part (12 in Fig. 1, see para. 0046), an optical fiber (50 in Fig. 1) extending therethrough (see para. 0051), and a light transmitting part (54 in Fig. 1) formed at one end of the main body part (12) and configured to emit light (see para. 0054 and 0055 – end dispersion element 54 disperses light which is a form of light transmission). Waitzman teaches (Claim 1) the light transmitting part (54) having a hemispherical face shape (see Fig. 1 and para. 0055).
Since Ejike discloses an endogastric tube comprising an optical fiber extending therethrough and light transmitting section at its distal end (see Fig. 2C), and Waitzman discloses an endogastric tube comprising an optical fiber extending therethrough and light transmitting section at its distal end, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light transmitting section of Ejike to extend to the distal end of the main body part and have a hemispherical face shape as taught by Waitzman. Waitzman discloses that having the light transmitting element at the endogastric tube’s distal end allows for the distal end of the feeding tube to be identified during insertion and movement within the patient (see para. 0003 and 0067). Ejike discloses that the light transmitting part (144) is to assist in simplifying the correct placement of the distal end of the endogastric tube (see Abstract).
Claim(s) 3-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ejike in view Waitzman of Coleman et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20020103420 A1, “Coleman”) in view of Mauge et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20060004317 A1, “Mauge”).
Regarding claim 3, modified Ejike discloses the medical tube of claim 1, as discussed above.
However, modified Ejike fails to disclose (Claim 3) further comprising: a first reflection layer provided over an inner circumferential face of the main body part; a second reflection layer provided over an outer circumferential face of the main body part; and a third reflection layer provided over a side face of the at least one opening, wherein the main body part is light transmissive.
Coleman discloses an optical endoscope system (see Fig. 4) that uses light to guide placement within the body (see para. 0001), wherein the system comprises a main body part (146 in Fig. 4) that is configured to guide light from a light source (28 in Fig. 1, see para. 0035-0036). Coleman teaches (Claim 3) a first reflection layer (148 in Fig. 4) provided on an inner circumferential face of the main body part (146, see Fig. 4 and para. 0035), and a second reflection layer (148 in Fig. 4) provided over an outer circumferential face of the main body part (146, see para. 0035 – outer and inner circumferential surfaces of main body part 146 may have a mirror or other light reflecting coating indicating a reflective layer).
Since Ejike discloses the main body part (102) is any suitable, biocompatible material that provides a light guide for light to be transmitted through the transparent, light transmitting part at its distal end (112, see Fig. 2C and para. 0034 and 0040), and Coleman discloses the main body part (146) may be fully made from a clear, biocompatible plastic that is coated in its outer and inner surface with a reflective coating to direct the light therein to its distal end, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the main body part of modified Ejike to be formed fully from a transparent, biocompatible material and having the first and second reflective layers as taught by Coleman. Coleman provides that the inner and outer reflective layers confine the light to the light transmissive portion of the main body part therebetween to direct a more powerful beam of light out the distal end (see para. 0035). In combination, Ejike’s main body part (102) is modified to be made of the same light transmissive material as its distal end (112), and wherein the main body part (102) is coated with a first and second reflective layer as taught by Coleman proximally of the distal end (112) to direct light towards the light transmitting part at the distal end (112).
Mauge discloses is a hydrocephalus shunt used to infuse therapeutic substances into the body (see para. 0009); however, the Mauge would have been reasonably pertinent and one in the art would have consulted such art and applied its teaching when faced with solving the problem of coating side holes in a catheter. Mauge discloses a main body part (401 in Fig 4) in the form a silicone tube of a catheter and side holes (411 in Fig. 4) wherein the inner and outer surface of main body part (401) and the annular surface (409 in Fig. 4) of the side holes (411) may be coated by the same medium (see para. 0077 and 0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one opening of modified Ejike to have a coating on the annular surface of said opening as taught by Mauge. Mauge provides that by coating the annular surfaces of the side holes it ensures all surfaces that are intended to come into contact with the interior medium of the catheter are able to provide the intended effect (see para. 0079). In combination, it would have been obvious to coat the annular surfaces of the at least one opening of Ejike as taught by Mauge and for said coating to be reflective as taught by Coleman as the light guided through modified Ejike would need to be reflected from the at least one openings to the distal end to ensure maximum light transmission.
Regarding claim 4, modified Ejike discloses the medical tube of claim 3, as discussed above.
In modified Ejike, Coleman discloses (Claim 4) wherein the first reflection layer (148 in Fig. 4) and the second reflection layer (148 in Fig. 4) are formed of a same material (see para. 0035 – reflective coatings 148 are referred to with the same reference number and as the same coating and thus are the same material).
In modified Ejike, Mauge discloses a coating on the annular surfaces (409 in Fig. 4) of side holes (411 in Fig. 4) in the catheter.
In combination, it would have been obvious to coat the annular surfaces of the at least one opening of modified Ejike as taught by Mauge and for said coating to be the same reflective material as the first and second reflection layers as taught by Coleman as the light guided through modified Ejike would need to be reflected from the at least one openings to the distal end to ensure maximum light transmission.
Regarding claim 8, modified Ejike discloses the medical tube of claim 1, as discussed above.
While modified Ejike discloses the main body part (102) is any suitable, biocompatible material that provides a light guide for light to be transmitted through the transparent, light transmitting part at its distal end (112, see Fig. 2C and para. 0034 and 0040), modified Ejike thus fails to disclose (Claim 8) wherein the main body part and the light transmitting part are formed of one material selected from a group consisting of silicone, polypropylene, elastomer, and a fluorocarbon resin.
Coleman discloses an optical endoscope system (see Fig. 4) that uses light to guide placement within the body (see para. 0001), wherein the system comprises a main body part (146 in Fig. 4) that is configured to guide light from a light source (28) to its distal end (see Fig. 1 and 4, see para. 0035-0036). Coleman teaches (Claim 8) wherein the main body part (146) and the light transmitting part are formed of one material (see Fig. 4 and para. 0035-0036 – examiner is interpreting the distal end of main body part 146 not covered in the reflective coating 148 as the light transmitting part, the main body part 146 and its distal end are formed of one, clear plastic material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical tube of modified Ejike to be formed fully from a clear plastic, biocompatible material and having the first and second reflective layers as taught by Coleman. Coleman provides that the inner and outer reflective layers confine the light to the light transmissive portion of the main body part therebetween to direct a more powerful beam of light out the distal end (see para. 0035). In combination, Ejike’s main body part (102) is modified to be made of the same light transmissive material as its distal end (112), and wherein the main body part (102) is coated with a first and second reflective layer as taught by Coleman proximally of the distal end (112) to direct light towards the light transmitting part at the distal end (112).
Mauge discloses is a hydrocephalus shunt used to infuse therapeutic substances into the body (see para. 0009); however, the Mauge would have been reasonably pertinent and one in the art would have consulted such art and applied its teaching when faced with solving the problem of light transmissible polymer materials for catheter. Mauge discloses a catheter portion comprising a light transmissible material that may be polypropylene (see para. 0127).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical tube of modified Ejike to be formed fully from a polypropylene as taught by Mauge as it is a highly flexible and light transmissible polymer preferable for catheter tubes (see para. 0127).
Claim(s) 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ejike in view of Waitzman in view of Coleman in view of Mauge as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Gross et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20070255230 A1, “Gross).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ejike discloses the medical tube of claim 3, as discussed above. In modified Ejike, Ejike discloses (Claim 5) the at least one opening (124 in Fig. 2C, see para. 0041).
While Ejike illustrates the at least one opening (124 in Fig. 2C) as having an elliptical shape, modified Ejike fails to disclose the at least one opening having a shape whose width increases towards the one end.
Gross discloses a delivery catheter (100 in Fig. 1) comprising openings (110 in Fig. 1), wherein Gross teaches an opening (110C) that has a shape whose width increases towards the distal end (see Fig. 4 and para. 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one opening of modified Ejike to have a shape whose width increases towards the one end as taught by Gross. Gross provides that the triangular shaped opening with the apex pointing towards the proximal end of the catheter allows a larger quantity of flowable material to be distributed more distally of the surgical site as the wider end of the triangle allows for more fluid flow than the apex point of the triangle (see para. 0037).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ejike discloses the medical tube of claim 5, as discussed above. In modified Ejike, Gross discloses (Claim 6) wherein the at least one opening (110C) has a shape of a triangle (see Fig. 4 and para. 0037).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ejike in view of Waitzman in view of Coleman in view of Mauge in view of Gross as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Iden (G.B Patent No. 2555611 A).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ejike discloses the medical tube of claim 6, as discussed above. In modified Ejike, Gross discloses wherein the at least one opening (110C) is a triangle.
However, Gross fails to explicitly disclose (Claim 7) wherein the triangle is an isosceles triangle with an apex angle smaller than 90 degrees.
Iden discloses a catheter tube (10 in Fig. 1) comprising openings (30 and 31) for infusion of substances (see Abstract), wherein Iden teaches the openings (30,31) may have the shape of isosceles triangles with an apex angle smaller than 90 degrees (see Fig. 2 and p.7, lines 8-15 – apex point 40 has an apex angle of the isosceles triangle that is smaller than a right angle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the triangular opening taught by modified Ejike to be an isosceles triangle having an apex angle smaller than 90 degrees as taught by Iden according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art could have modified the triangular opening of Gross to be an isosceles triangle have an acute apex angle as claimed by known methods of design choice for changing the shape of the opening. In combination, each opening would still perform the same function as an outlet for fluid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that changing the shape of the opening would yield results that were predictable. Additionally, see In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 ESPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Conclusion
/KAYLA M. TURKOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/COURTNEY FREDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783