DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9-11, 13-16 and 18-23 in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 24 and 26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/24/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 13, 14, 15 and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the first fastener" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 15, it is unclear if the “shaft body” of line 4 is the same shaft body as in claim 1, or a different shaft body.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the first fastener" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The remainder of the claims are rejected for depending form a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9-11, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (2015/0069147) in view of in view of Sandling (4,617,957)
Regarding claim 1, Chen et al shows a fan air control assembly (110, 120,125) for a spray gun configured to control flow of a fan air portion of compressed air to a spray end of the spray gun, the fan air portion configured to shape a spray pattern emitted by the spray gun, wherein the fan air control assembly comprises: a knob (125); a valve assembly (110, 120) operably connected to the knob, the valve assembly comprising: a valve mount (the nut 120) having a shaft bore extending axially therethrough along a valve axis (fig 2), a valve member (110) disposed at least partially within the shaft bore and fixed to the knob (fig 2), wherein the valve member comprises: a shaft body (110) having a flow controller (the side of 110 opposite the lever 125) disposed within a flow control body of the valve mount, the flow controller including at least one flow blocker (the blocker portion of 110) extending at least partially about the valve axis and at least one flow passage (the portion of 110 without the flow blocker that allows fluid to flow); wherein the valve member is rotatable on the valve axis to actuate the valve assembly between a maximum flow state and a minimum flow state (valve 110 rotates to control the flow of fan air).
But fails to disclose the that the knob is a lever and
the valve mount comprising: a mount body; a position body extending from the mount body in a first axial direction; and a flow control body extending from the mount body in a second axial direction, wherein at least one flow opening extends through the flow control body.
Sandling shows a valve assembly including a fan lever (20) and a valve mount (3, 6, 10), the valve mount comprising: a mount body (6); a position body (10) extending from the mount body in a first axial direction; and a flow control body (3) extending from the mount body in a second axial direction, wherein at least one flow opening extends through the flow control body (fig 2), wherein the valve member comprises: a shaft body (4) having a flow controller (the side of 4 opposite 13) disposed within a flow control body of the valve mount, the flow controller including at least one flow blocker (the blocker portion of 4) extending at least partially about the valve axis and at least one flow passage (30); wherein the valve member is rotatable on the valve axis to actuate the valve assembly between a maximum flow state and a minimum flow state (fig 1, 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to use the lever an d valve of Sandling in place of the knob and valve of Chen et al. in order to make the valve fluid tight (abstract of Sandling) and easier to turn with the increased leverage from the lever.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the valve member further comprises: a connector (15, Sandling) disposed at an opposite axial end of the valve member from the flow controller (fig 2, Sandling), the connector disposed within the fan lever and fixed to the fan lever (fig 2).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the connector includes a head (the top of 15, Sandling) having a first diameter and a mount groove (the internal threads of 15) spaced in the second axial direction from the head, and wherein the valve member is fixed to the fan lever by a first fastener (13) extending through the fan lever and into the mount groove.
Regarding claim 5, wherein the at least one flow blocker comprises an arcuate axial projection (the side of 4 is arcuate and extends in the axial direction, Sandling).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the valve member includes a seal groove (the grove where seal 7 rides, Sandling) formed on an exterior of the shaft body of the valve member, wherein a valve seal (7) is disposed in the seal groove, and wherein the valve seal interfaces with a portion of the valve mount forming the shaft bore (fig 2).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the valve member includes a shoulder (the shoulder the shoulder of 4, Sandling) formed on the shaft body, the valve mount includes a brace (the portion of 3 that the shoulder fits into) formed within the shaft bore, and the brace interfaces with the shoulder to limit movement of the valve member in the first axial direction (fig 2).
Regarding claim 11 Chen et al as modified able shows the fan lever comprises: an adaptor (12 Sandling), wherein the first fastener (13) extends through the adaptor to interface with the valve member (4); and a lever cap (17), the lever cap receiving a portion of the adaptor and connected to the adaptor (fig 2), the lever cap including a lever arm (20) extending away from the valve axis (fig 3).
Regarding claim 22, wherein the at least one flow blocker is aligned with the flow opening to prevent any fan air flow therethrough with the valve assembly in the minimum flow state (fig 1 Sandling).
Regarding claim 23, Chen et al. as modified above shows a fluid sprayer (fig 1) comprising: a gun body (165) having a handle (140) extending therefrom; a trigger (155) extending from the gun body, the trigger configured to be actuated to control spraying by the fluid sprayer; the fan air control assembly of claim 1 (fig 2, 110, 115, 120, 125) mounted to the gun body, the fan air control assembly extending into a fan air flow path through the gun body to control flow of fan air through the gun body (fig 2,7).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (2015/0069147) as modified by Sandling (4,617,957) above, further in view of DeJager (4,475,712).
Regarding claim 6, Chen et al. as modified above shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 5 above, but fails to disclose, wherein the at least one flow blocker includes a plurality of flow blockers and wherein the at least one flow passage includes a plurality of flow passages.
DeJager teaches a similar valve with a flow controller, where the at least one flow blocker includes a plurality of flow blockers (30, one on each side) and wherein the at least one flow passage includes a plurality of flow passages (27, one on each side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to use the flow controller of DeJager instead of the flow controller of Chen as modified above, in order to make the valve lighter by eliminating unneeded material in the valve member.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (2015/0069147) as modified by Sandling (4,617,957) above, further in view of Shieh (2002/0148501)
Regarding claim 15, Chen et al as modified above shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 1, but fails to disclose a rotation notch is formed between a first circumferential end of the position body and a second circumferential end of the position body; and a rotation limiter extending from a shaft body of the valve member and disposed within the rotation notch; wherein the rotation notch limits movement of the rotation limiter in a first circumferential direction about the valve axis and in a second circumferential direction about the valve axis.
Shieh shows a valve with a rotation notch (29) is formed between a first circumferential end of the position body and a second circumferential end of the position body (fig 1); and a rotation limiter (42) extending from a shaft body (40) of the valve member and disposed within the rotation notch; wherein the rotation notch limits movement of the rotation limiter in a first circumferential direction about the valve axis and in a second circumferential direction about the valve axis (fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to add the rotation notch and rotation limiter of Shieh to the valve of Chen et al as modified above; in order to limit he valve rotation.
Claim(s) 16, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (2015/0069147) as modified by Sandling (4,617,957) and Shieh (2002/0148501) above, further in view of Flider (3,964,728).
Regarding claim 16, Chen et al. as modified above shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 15 above, but fails to disclose a spring interfacing with the fan lever and the valve mount, the spring configured to bias the fan lever in the second circumferential direction.
Flider teaches a valve having a spring (28) interfacing with the fan lever (25) and the valve mount (20), the spring configured to bias the fan lever in the second circumferential direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to add the sprig to the valve of Chen et ala s modified above in order to bias the valve in the normal position as taught by Flider (abstract)
Regarding claim 18, wherein: the valve member includes at least one valve groove (the space between 44 and 43 in Flider) oriented in the first axial direction; the fan lever includes at least one lever groove (29) oriented in the second axial direction; wherein a first spring arm of the spring is disposed in a first valve groove of the at least one valve groove and a second spring arm of the spring is disposed in a first lever groove of the at least one lever groove (fig 1).
Regarding claim 19, wherein the at least one valve groove includes a plurality of valve grooves formed on an end face of the position body (one on each side 43 and 44).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 14, 20 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 is allowable due to the details of the adaptor in combination with remainder of the claimed limitations.
Claim 20 is allowable due to the multiple lever grooves in combination with remainder of the claimed limitations.
Claim 21 is allowable because of the lever grooves and spring in combination with remainder of the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
/JASON J BOECKMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 2/24/2026