DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-7, and 10, drawn to a battery module, in the reply filed on 02/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu, et. al. (CN111554837A, machine translation included with prior restriction, original attached with IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Wu recites a battery module (soft-pack battery assembly 300) comprising: a battery cell stack (soft pack cells 301) having a plurality of battery cells stacked in one direction (see Fig. 3, wherein the cells are stacked in the z direction out of the page), a module frame receiving the battery cell stack (end plate outer shell 206) therein, a busbar frame covering a front surface or a rear surface of the battery cell stack (“[p.4] The two integrated cover assemblies include a number of bus bars 400 and a signal acquisition assembly 410. Several of the bus bars 400 connect the soft pack cells 301 in series and parallel, and have a positive pole 401a and a negative pole 401b. The collection assembly 410 is used to collect series-parallel voltage and battery cell temperature, and has a plug-in terminal 411 for communicating with the outside world” ; these two cover assemblies are a busbar frame, as the busbars are integrated into them and as shown in Fig., 3, the signal acquisition assembly forms a thin frame around the cells 301), and an end plate (end plate inner shell 205) coupled to the module frame, the end plate covering the busbar frame (see Fig. 5, wherein the end plate inner shell 205 and the end plate outer shell 206 meet; see Fig. 2 and 3, wherein the cover plate assembly 410 is covered by the front end plate 201, which comprises the inner and outer shells described above), wherein the end plate has an opening (“[p.4] lead out holes of the plug-in terminals 411”), wherein a part of an inner member (plug in terminals 411, sometimes referred to as connector terminal 411), and wherein a gap between the inner member and the opening is sealed with a sealing member (ceramic sheath 460; “[p.4] the positive and negative electrodes 401 and the plug-in terminals 411 are provided with insulating and high-temperature resistant sheaths installed on the end plate 200.”). Wu at [p.1, 4], Fig. 1-3, 5-6.
Regarding the term “is sealed with,” a “seal” does not require total airtightness or watertightness, given that a seal may be selectively, partially, or non-permeable. Wu teaches there is a small communication area of the cavity, wherein the sheath is open to the outside, but this is described as “less than 5 mm2,” indicating a range which may present a sheath which has a negligible opening, indicating the sheath of Wu is a seal. Wu at [p.1, 4], Fig. 1-3, 5-6.
Fig. 1-2 of Wu.
Fig. 3, 5-6 of Wu.
Claim 1 is anticipated by Wu.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is anticipated by Wu.
Wu recites the inner member (plug in terminals 411) includes a busbar for electrical connection with an external device, and a protrusion of the busbar is exposed outside of the battery module through the opening, because the terminals 411 connect to the signal assembly 410, which is a part of the busbar frame as previously designated. Wu at Fig. 3, [p.4].
Claim 2 is anticipated by Wu.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 relies upon Claim 2. Claim 2 is anticipated by Wu.
Wu recites the sealing member (ceramic sheath 460) is in contact with the protrusion of the busbar. Wu at [p.4] (“the positive and negative electrodes 401 and the plug-in terminals 411 are provided with insulating and high-temperature resistant sheaths installed on the end plate 200.”).
Claim 3 is anticipated by Wu.
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 relies upon Claim 2. Claim 1 is anticipated by Wu.
Wu recites the inner member (plug in terminals 411) includes a module connector (here, this is also described as a “connector terminal 411”), and a terminal of the module connector is exposed outside the battery module (“a plug-in terminal 411 for communicating with the outside world”) through the opening (“lead-out holes of the plug-in terminals 411”). Wu at [p.4].
Claim 4 is anticipated by Wu.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 relies upon Claim 4. Claim 4 is anticipated by Wu.
Wu recites the sealing member (ceramic sheath 460) is a flame retardant material. Wu at [p.4] (“Wherein, in order to prevent flammable substances from flowing out of other parts of the end plate 200, the positive and negative electrodes 401 and the plug-in terminals 411 are provided with insulating and high-temperature resistant sheaths installed on the end plate 200.”).
Claim 6 is anticipated by Wu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, et. al. (CN111554837A), in view of Londarenko, et. al. (US20190103638A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 relies upon Claim 4. Claim 4 is anticipated by Wu.
Wu teaches a sealing member covers the protrusion of the bus bar, but does not teach direct contact.
Londarenko teaches a cover 200 for a battery can, having a conductive feedthrough 208 “[0028] can function as an electrical terminal,” and is electrically isolated from edge 206 by seal 212, which may comprise silicone. Londarenko at [0028]. However, this terminal also includes a vent 210 that is configured to prevent the escape of effluents, much like the “communication area” of Wu. Londarenko teaches the use of a silicone seal contacting the terminal provides a benefit of a hermetic seal which prevents the passage of moisture as well as electrical isolation.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the battery module of Wu, such that the sealing member is in contact with the module connector as in Londarenko, because Londarenko teaches a benefit of a hermetic seal which prevents the passage of moisture as well as electrical isolation.
Claim 5 is obvious over Wu, in view of Londarenko.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 relies upon Claim 6. Claim 6 is anticipated by Wu.
Wu teaches a seal comprises a flame retardant material; as modified by Londarenko, modified Wu teaches this seal includes silicone or polyurethane. Wu at [p.4]; Londarenko at [0028].
Claim 7 is obvious over Wu, in view of Londarenko.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is anticipated by Wu.
Londarenko teaches a battery pack. Londarenko at [0005].
Claim 10 is obvious over Wu, in view of Londarenko.
Conclusion
/K.R.H./Examiner , Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725