DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 ,3 and 6, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, et. al. (CN111554837A), in view of Liu, et. al. (CN111934052A).
Regarding Claim 1, Wu teaches a battery module (soft-pack battery assembly 300) comprising: a battery cell stack (soft pack cells 301) having a plurality of battery cells stacked in one direction (see Fig. 3, wherein the cells are stacked in the z direction out of the page), a module frame receiving the battery cell stack (end plate outer shell 206) therein, a busbar frame covering a front surface or a rear surface of the battery cell stack (“[p.4] The two integrated cover assemblies include a number of bus bars 400 and a signal acquisition assembly 410. Several of the bus bars 400 connect the soft pack cells 301 in series and parallel, and have a positive pole 401a and a negative pole 401b. The collection assembly 410 is used to collect series-parallel voltage and battery cell temperature, and has a plug-in terminal 411 for communicating with the outside world” ; these two cover assemblies are a busbar frame, as the busbars are integrated into them and as shown in Fig., 3, the signal acquisition assembly forms a thin frame around the cells 301), and an end plate (end plate inner shell 205) coupled to the module frame, the end plate covering the busbar frame (see Fig. 5, wherein the end plate inner shell 205 and the end plate outer shell 206 meet; see Fig. 2 and 3, wherein the cover plate assembly 410 is covered by the front end plate 201, which comprises the inner and outer shells described above), wherein the end plate has an opening (“[p.4] lead out holes of the plug-in terminals 411”), wherein a part of an inner member (plug in terminals 411, sometimes referred to as connector terminal 411), and wherein a gap between the inner member and the opening is sealed with a sealing member (ceramic sheath 460; “[p.4] the positive and negative electrodes 401 and the plug-in terminals 411 are provided with insulating and high-temperature resistant sheaths installed on the end plate 200.”). Wu at [p.1, 4], Fig. 1-3, 5-6.
Regarding the term “is sealed with,” a “seal” does not require total airtightness or watertightness, given that a seal may be selectively, partially, or non-permeable. Wu teaches there is a small communication area of the cavity, wherein the sheath is open to the outside, but this is described as “less than 5 mm2,” indicating a range which may present a sheath which has a negligible opening, indicating the sheath of Wu is a seal. Wu at [p.1, 4], Fig. 1-3, 5-6.
Fig. 1-2 of Wu.
Fig. 3, 5-6 of Wu.
However, Wu is silent as to “wherein the inner member includes a busbar for electrical connection with an external device or a module connector, wherein a protrusion of the busbar or a terminal of the module connector is exposed to the outside the battery module through the opening, and wherein a gap between the protrusion of the busbar and the opening or a gap between the terminal of the module connector and the opening is sealed by the sealing member.”
Liu teaches a battery pack having a plurality of battery cores (i.e. cells) 10, wherein on the outer assembly a mounting frame 38 is welded and fixed to the upper cover and the lower cover 42 of the aluminum shell 40 (i.e. the exterior case). Liu at [p.4-5], Fig. 1-2. This frame is affixed to the front bracket assembly 50 (note that despite the label, this component appears on both sides of the pack), wherein the rear bracket assembly 50 includes a plastic rear bracket 71 and an output copper bar 72, wherein, “The plastic rear bracket 71 is provided with an interface through hole 73 corresponding to the position of the output interface 61 so that the output interface 61 is exposed after the plastic rear bracket 71 is fixed to the aluminum shell 40.” Id. at [p.6.]. This “output copper bar 72” is a busbar, as evidenced by “the tabs of the battery core pass through the plastic front bracket and are connected to the copper bar, and the flexible circuit board is electrically connected to the copper bar .” Id. at [p.2]. However, this copper bar is fixed to the output interface 61, shown in Fig. 15-16, such that the “the output interface 61 is “exposed.” Id. at [p.6.], Fig. 15-16. Finally, “the protective cover 91 and the plastic upper cover 81 can effectively seal the long copper bars 82 after installation.” Id. at p.7.
This teaches an inner member (long copper bar 82, output copper bar 72) which includes a busbar for electrical connection with an external device or a module connector (in this case, this is essentially both; the busbar meets the output interface 61, which is a module connector because it connects the module to an external electrical connection via the interface), wherein a protrusion of the busbar or a terminal of the module connector is exposed to the outside battery module through the opening (the output copper bar 72 passes through a through-hole in the in the plastic rear bracket 71, which in turn connects to the output interface 61, which is exposed), and wherein a gap between the protrusion of the busbar and the opening or a gap between the terminal of the module connector and the opening is sealed by the sealing member (while the ceramic sheath of Wu is the “sealing member” for the purposes of the below combination, Li does teach the protective plastic covers seal the copper bars 82, and strongly implies that the interface is sealed so by this plastic cover). Liu at p. 6-7. Finally, Liu teaches that this may “improve the sealing effect.” Id. Further, Liu at least implies this structure permits external connection while maintaining a proper seal on the internal components of the module. Id.
Fig. 1-2 of Li.
Fig. 15-16 of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the battery module of Wu, such that the inner member includes a busbar for electrical connection with an external device or a module connector, wherein a protrusion of the busbar or a terminal of the module connector is exposed to the outside the battery module through the opening, and wherein a gap between the protrusion of the busbar and the opening or a gap between the terminal of the module connector and the opening is sealed by the sealing member as in Li, because Liu teaches this improves sealing while permitting external connection.
Claim 1 is obvious over Wu, in view of Liu.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Wu.
Wu recites the sealing member (ceramic sheath 460) is in contact with the protrusion of the busbar. Wu at [p.4] (“the positive and negative electrodes 401 and the plug-in terminals 411 are provided with insulating and high-temperature resistant sheaths installed on the end plate 200.”).
Claim 3 is obvious over Wu, in view of Liu.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Wu.
Wu recites the sealing member (ceramic sheath 460) is a flame retardant material. Wu at [p.4] (“Wherein, in order to prevent flammable substances from flowing out of other parts of the end plate 200, the positive and negative electrodes 401 and the plug-in terminals 411 are provided with insulating and high-temperature resistant sheaths installed on the end plate 200.”).
Claim 6 is obvious over Wu, in view of Liu.
Claims 5, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of Liu, and further in view of Londarenko, et. al. (US20190103638A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Wu.
Wu teaches a sealing member covers the protrusion of the bus bar, but does not teach direct contact.
Londarenko teaches a cover 200 for a battery can, having a conductive feedthrough 208 “[0028] can function as an electrical terminal,” and is electrically isolated from edge 206 by seal 212, which may comprise silicone. Londarenko at [0028]. However, this terminal also includes a vent 210 that is configured to prevent the escape of effluents, much like the “communication area” of Wu. Londarenko teaches the use of a silicone seal contacting the terminal provides a benefit of a hermetic seal which prevents the passage of moisture as well as electrical isolation.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the battery module of Wu, such that the sealing member is in contact with the module connector as in Londarenko, because Londarenko teaches a benefit of a hermetic seal which prevents the passage of moisture as well as electrical isolation.
Claim 5 is obvious over Wu, in view of Liu, further in view of Londarenko.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 relies upon Claim 6. Claim 6 is obvious over modified Wu.
Wu teaches a seal comprises a flame retardant material; as modified by Londarenko, modified Wu teaches this seal includes silicone or polyurethane. Wu at [p.4]; Londarenko at [0028].
Claim 7 is obvious over Wu, in view of Liu, further in view of Londarenko.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Wu.
Londarenko teaches a battery pack. Londarenko at [0005].
Claim 10 is obvious over Wu, in view of Liu, further in view of Londarenko.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725