DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Per Applicant amendments dated December 30, 2025, Claims 1 and 6 are amended. Claim 15 is added. An amendment to the specification is provided. Claims 1-15 are pending and examined.
Status of Application
Applicant’s amendments to the specification are accepted and the objection in the Office Action dated September 30, 2025 is withdrawn.
In view of Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 (further limitations describing the claimed terminal cover part and connector cover part) and claim 6, the prior art of record was reconsidered for all that it teaches. The rejections in the recited Office Action are withdrawn and new rejections are provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-8 and 14 is/ are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagihara et al. [JP5916500B2, machine translation relied upon previously provided], hereinafter Yanagihara.
Regarding Claim 1, Yanagihara disclose a battery module [Yanagihara 0014 and throughout, Fig. 1, module 1] comprising:
a battery cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells are stacked [Yanagihara 0016 and throughout, Fig. 1, stack 3];
a module frame that houses the battery cell stack [Yanagihara throughout, Fig. 1 with parts 4, 3, 9 and 10];
end plates located on a first side and a second side of the battery cell stack [Yanagihara 0016 and throughout, Figs. 1-2 and others, end plates 9 and 10], an end plate having a terminal opening [Yanagihara 0020-0021, 0036 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, 6 and 8, terminal opening on top sides on left and right of end plate 9] and a connector opening [Yanagihara 0028 and throughout, Figs. 1, 2, 14, 16, and 18-21, connector opening is the rectangular hole in the front of end plate 9];
a terminal busbar that is exposed through the terminal opening [Yanagihara 0020-0021, 0036 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, 6 and 8, terminal busbar 31 with exposed portion 33 through terminal opening in end plate 9]; and
a module connector that is exposed through the connector opening [Yanagihara 0028, 0036 and throughout, Figs. 1, 2, 13, 14, 16, and 18-21, Battery controller 8 with circuit board 51 and circuit board connectors 52 (not shown in Figures per 0028) read on the module connector which provides communication between battery modules through communication line 73. Exposure to the battery controller 8 is provided through the rectangular hole in end plate 9.],
and a cover, the cover being a connection cover part that covers a portion with the module connector is exposed through the connector opening [Yanagihara 0028, 0036, and throughout, Fig. 13/14/16/18/19, Yanagihara’s rectangular protruding portion shown in Fig. 13/14/16 connects endplate 9 and circuit board 8 and covers the at least a portion of the battery controller 8/circuit board 51/connector 52 (module connector) exposed through the connector opening of end plate 9 where the module connectors are connected by communication lines 73.]. Yanagihara does not teach the terminal cover part as claimed; however, Yanagihara’s teaching about the connector cover part meets the claim limitation since only at least one of the terminal cover part and the connector cover part are required to meet the claim limitation.
Yanagihara discloses both terminal busbars openings and the connector openings in end plate 9 [Yanagihara Figs. 1, 2, 14, 16, and 18-21] and therefore does not disclose each end plate having a terminal opening and a connector opening, however, the skilled artisan would understand that Yanagihara’s battery module can be modified depending on the design requirements for its application. For example, the design may require the positive and negative electrodes are separated such that they are on opposite ends of the module and multiple connectors may be required for monitoring the status of the individual battery cells. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to modify Yanagihara such that the battery module has a terminal busbar and connector on each end and a terminal opening and a connector opening on each end plate 9 and 10. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make such modifications, which merely requires rearrangement of parts and duplication of the openings in end plate 9 for the end plate 10, with the predictable result of a battery module that meets design requirements for the specific application and also for the predictable result of separating the positive and negative electrode terminals, which would reduce the risk of shorting. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2144.04 VI, B, C.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Yanagihara discloses the battery module of claim 1,
further comprising a connection member connected to the module connector [Yanagihara 0036, 0042, Figs. 19/21, connection member 73],
wherein the cover is the connector cover part [Yanagihara, 0036, 0042, Figs. 18/19/21, The protruding portion on battery controller 8 as the connection cover part as described above.],
the connector cover part covers a portion where the connection member and the module connector are connected [Yanagihara Figs. 1, 2, 14, 16, and 18-21, As described in claim 1, the protruding portion on battery controller 8 as the connection cover part covers a portion where the connection member 73 and the module connector battery controller 8 are connected.].
Regarding Claim 5, modified Yanagihara discloses the battery module of claim 4, wherein:
the connector cover part is formed with a connector passing part through which the connection member passes [Yanagihara Figs. 1, 2, 14, 16, and 18-21, The connector passing part is inside of the protruding rectangular portion on battery controller 8.]
Regarding Claim 6, modified Yanagihara discloses the battery module according to claim 1, further comprising a busbar frame located between the battery cell stack and the end plate [Yanagihara 0016 and throughout, Figs. 2, 6, 8-11, 13, busbar frame 5].
Regarding Claim 7, modified Yanagihara discloses the battery module according to claim 6, wherein: the terminal busbar and the module connector are mounted on the busbar frame [Yanagihara 0021, 0028, and throughout, Fig. 13, terminal busbar 33/31 and controller 8 with circuit board 51 mounted/connector 52 are mounted on busbar frame 5].
Regarding Claim 8, modified Yanagihara discloses the discloses the battery module according to claim 6, further comprising an insulating cover located between the busbar frame and the end plate [Yanagihara 0024, Fig. 2, heat transfer sheet 11 made of resin and electrically insulating].
Regarding Claim 14, modified Yanagihara discloses a battery pack comprising the battery module according to claim 1 [Yanagihara 0036 and throughout, Fig. 19/21].
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagihara et al. [JP5916500B2, machine translation relied upon previously provided], hereinafter Yanagihara, as applied to claim 1, in view of Ohshiba et al. [US20150280190A1, dated October 1, 2015, as provided on the IDS dated May 8, 2023], hereinafter Ohshiba.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Yanagihara discloses the battery module of claim 1, further comprising and external busbar joined to the terminal busbar [Yanagihara 0036, 0042. Figs. 19, 21, busbar 72], but Yanagihara is silent to where the cover is the terminal cover part, the terminal cover part covers a portion where the terminal busbar and the external busbar are joined. Ohshiba discloses the cover is the terminal cover part covers a portion where the terminal busbar and external busbar are joined [Ohshiba 0054, 0088, Figs. 1A, 2- 4, 12A/B, 13A, where the terminal cover part is 4a or 4b covers a portion of the terminal busbar 61/62 and the external busbar 600]. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to modify Yanagihara to include Ohshiba’s terminal cover. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Ohshiba with Yanagihara as describe above with the predictable result of a terminal cover providing protection to the connection between the battery terminal and the inter busbar and providing shock protection for the user. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Yanagihara discloses the battery module according to claim 2, wherein: the terminal cover part is formed with a terminal passible part through which the external busbar passes [Ohshiba Fig. 12B as indicated by the arrows below].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagihara, as applied to claim 8, in view of Eom et al. [KR20160072312A, as provided on the IDS dated May 8, 2023, machine translation relied upon previously provided], hereinafter Eom.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Yanagihara discloses the battery module according to claim 8, but Yanagihara is silent to wherein: the cover is the terminal cover part and the terminal cover part is fastened to the end plate or the insulating cover through a hinge. Eom discloses a terminal cover part [Eom 0006, 0024 and throughout, Figs. 1-6, cover 20] for a terminal connection to a terminal with terminal opening 14 [Eom 0024 and throughout, Figs. 1-6, cover 20] . Eom’s terminal cover part 20 is connected to the cover body 10 via a hinge [Eom 0033 and throughout, Figs. 1-6]. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Eom’s teaching of a terminal cover part fastened with a hinge to Yanagihara’s battery module by adding a hinged cover portion over the exposed busbar terminals 33 on the upper surface of end plate 9 as applied to claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Eom’s teaching about hinged terminal cover portions with Yanagihara’s battery module for the predictable result of a battery pack with battery module terminal connections protected from short-circuiting [Eom 0006] and providing shock protection for the user. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. [US20180159096A1, dated June 7, 2018], hereinafter Kim.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim disclose a battery module [Kim abstract and throughout, Fig. 1, module 1] comprising:
a battery cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells are stacked [Kim 0043 and throughout, Fig. 1, stack 10];
a module frame that houses the battery cell stack [Kim 0080 and throughout, Figs. 1 and 10, where the frame is the housing parts that enclose the stack 10];
end plates located on a first side and a second side of the battery cell stack [Kim 0080, Fig. 1 and throughout, end plates 140 on a first side and 150 on a second side ] having a terminal opening [Kim 0054, 0080-0082, and throughout, Figs. 1, 5, Fig. 1 shows an opening in part in the upper region of end plate 140 that accommodates stepped connection end 61 shown in Fig. 5 for terminals 63, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kim is the upper region of end plate 140 is a terminal opening.] and a connector opening [Kim 0072, Fig. 1, 8, 9, Fig. 1 shows an opening in part of the upper region of end plate 150 that accommodates the protruding part 71 [Fig. 9] of end 70 which includes a module connector (connection pin 69 /wires 120/receptacle 80) coupled to an external measurement circuit through a circuit connector (not shown per 0072). The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kim is the upper region of end plate 150 is a connector opening.];
a terminal busbar that is exposed through the terminal opening [Kim 0054, 0080-0082, and throughout, Figs. 1, 5, 6, terminal busbar 63 within opening in part 61, which protrudes through the upper region of end plate 140];
a module connector that is exposed through the connector opening [Kim 0072, 0076-0077, and throughout, Figs. 1, 8, 9, 11, Module connector is connection pin 69 /wires 120/receptacle 80 coupled to an external measurement circuit through a circuit connector (not shown per 0072). The module connector as described is partially covered by connector cover 90 which protrudes through the connector opening in upper region of end plate 150. The module connector as described above would inherently be at least partially exposed; otherwise, it would not be possible to connect the battery module to an external measurement circuit through a circuit connector as described. See inherency MPEP 2112. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.]; and
a cover, the cover being at least one of a terminal cover part that covers a portion where the terminal busbar is exposed through the terminal opening, and a connector cover part that covers a portion where the module connector is exposed through the connector opening [Kim 0072, Fig. 8, 9, 11, and throughout, The housing for 90 reads on the cover as a connector cover part, which covers the module connector parts 120 and 80 as part of the module connector 69, 120, 80 as described above, which are exposed through the cover opening in 150 and covered by the housing for 90 [Fig. 11]. Therefore, Kim reads on the claimed cover as the at least a connection cover part that covers a portion where the module connector is exposed through the connector opening in 150.] Kim does not teach a terminal cover part; however, Kim teaches the claimed connector cover part and thus meets the limitation requirements.
Kim discloses both terminal busbars in end plate 140 and a module connector exposed in end plate 150 and therefore does not disclose each end plate having both a terminal opening and a connector opening, however, the skilled artisan would understand that Kim’s battery module can be modified depending on the design requirements for its application. For example, the design may require the positive and negative electrodes are separated such that they are on opposite ends of the module and multiple connectors may be required for monitoring the status of the individual battery cells on each end of the cell stack. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to modify Kim such that the battery module has both a terminal busbar and a module connector on each end and where the existing terminal opening and connector opening on each end plate 140 and 150 accommodate the terminal busbar and module connectors for an application requiring separation of the positive terminal side and negative terminal side. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make such modifications, which merely requires rearrangement of parts/duplication of parts, with the predictable result of a battery module that meets design requirements for the specific application and also for the predictable result of separating the positive and negative electrode terminals, which would reduce the risk of shorting. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2144.04 VI, B,C.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Kim disclose the battery module according to claim 1, further comprising a connection member connected to the module connector [Kim 0072, circuit connector, disclosed but not shown], wherein the cover is connector cover part, the connector cover part covers a portion where the connection member and the module connector are connected [Kim 0072 and throughout, Fig. 8, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kim is that the connection member is inserted into the hole of housing of 90 to connect with the module connector inside.].
Regarding Claim 5, modified Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 4, wherein: the connector cover part is formed with a connector passing part through with the connection member passes [Kim 0072, Fig. 8, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kim is that the connection member [Kim 0072] would be inserted in the hole in connection cover part housing 90, where the hole would be the connector passing part.].
Regarding Claim 6, modified Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 1, further comprising a busbar frame located between the battery cell stack and each of the end plate [Kim 0051-0053 and throughout, Figs. 1-2,5-6, 8, Busbar frame 67 is between the stack 10 and the end plate 140. With the modifications of Kim as described in claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for there to be a busbar frame on the side of the battery stack including end plate 150 to accommodate the opposite polarity terminal for the second terminal busbar required for modified Kim to separate the positive and negative terminals to reduce the risk of shorting. Further, it would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to provide such modifications for the reasons provided through mere rearrangement of parts and/or duplication of parts since the terminals, busbar frames, and busbars provide the same function if rearranged/duplicated such that the positive and negative terminals are separated. See MPEP See MPEP 2144.04 VI, B and C.].
Regarding Claim 7, modified Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 6, wherein the terminal busbar and the module connector are mounted on the busbar frame [Kim 0069, 0076-0077, and throughout, Figs. 1-2, 5-6, terminal busbar 63 on busbar frame 67 and module connector portion 69 is mounted to the busbar frame 67 as 69a].
Regarding Claim 8, modified Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 6, further comprising an insulating cover located between the busbar frame and the end plate [Kim 0072 Figs. 1, 8-10, insulating cover 50 between busbar frame 67 and end plate 140].
Regarding Claim 12, modified Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 8, wherein a connector opening hole is formed in a portion of the insulating cover corresponding to the connector opening [Kim Fig. 8 as indicated by arrows below, The upper portion of 50 where the arrows are pointing is a connector opening hole in insulating cover 50, which connects to the connector opening hole in 150 as described in claim 1.]
Regarding Claim 13, modified Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 12, wherein: the cover is the connector cover part [Kim 0072, Fig. 8, and throughout, housing of connector 90 as the cover as a connector cover part], and the connector cover part covers the connector opening hole [Kim Fig. 8, connector 90 covers the connector opening hole in 50 indicated by the arrows above in claim 12].
Regarding Claim 14, modified Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 1 but does not explicitly teach a battery pack; however, the skilled artisan would know that battery modules are for use in battery packs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Kim’s battery module in a battery pack. See MPEP (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. [US20180159096A1, dated June 7, 2018], hereinafter Kim, as provided in Claim 1, in view of Ohshiba et al. [US20150280190A1, dated October 1, 2015, as provided on the IDS dated May 8, 2023], hereinafter Ohshiba.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 1, but is silent to an external busbar joined to the terminal busbar. Ohshiba discloses an external busbar 600 connected to the terminals 61/62 [Ohshiba 0054, 0088, and throughout, Figs. 1A, 2- 4, 12A/B, 13A], which read on the claimed external busbar, the terminal cover part covers a portion where the terminal busbar and external busbar are joined [Ohshiba 0054, 0088, Figs. 1A, 2- 4, 12A/B, 13A, where the terminal cover part is 4a or 4b]. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to modify Kim to include Ohshiba’s external busbar and terminal cover. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Ohshiba with Kim as describe above with the predictable result of a battery module that can be connected with additional battery modules to form a battery pack with a terminal cover providing protection to the connection between the battery terminal and the inter busbar and providing shock protection for the user. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Kim discloses the battery module according to claim 2, wherein: the terminal cover part is formed with a terminal passing part through which the external busbar passes [Ohshiba Fig. 12B as indicated by the arrows below].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 depends on claim 8, which depends on claim 6, and claim 6 depends on claim 1. The closest prior art regarding claim 8 is Yanagihara and Kim.
Claim 10 requires a terminal opening hole is formed in a portion of the insulating cover corresponding to the terminal opening.
Yanagihara has an insulating cover as described in claim 8 and a terminal opening on the top left and right sides of end plate 9 as described in claim 1. Since the terminal opening is not covered by the insulating cover, it would not be obvious to provide a terminal opening hole in Yanagihara’s insulating cover.
Kim’s terminal opening is the upper cut out portion of end plate 140. The insulating cover is cover 50, which is already formed of a shape and size to receive the end plate. Since the terminal opening is not covered by the insulating cover, it would not be obvious to provide a terminal hole opening in Kim’s insulating cover.
Claim 11 depends on Claim 10, and is therefore also nonobvious.
New Claim 15 is allowed. The closest prior art of record for claim 15 is Yanagihara and Kim as provided above. Claim 15 requires a terminal opening hole is formed in a portion of an insulating cover corresponding to the terminal opening. Yanagihara has an insulating cover [Yanagihara 0024, Fig. 2, heat transfer sheet 11 made of resin and electrically insulating] and a terminal opening [Yanagihara 0020-0021, 0036 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, 6 and 8, terminal opening on top sides on left and right of end plate 9]. Since the terminal opening is not covered by the insulating cover, it would not be obvious to provide a terminal opening hole in Yanagihara’s insulating cover.
Kim’s terminal opening is the upper cut out portion of end plate 140 [Kim 0054, 0080-0082, and throughout, Figs. 1, 5, Fig. 1 shows an opening in part in the upper region of end plate 140 that accommodates stepped connection end 61 shown in Fig. 5 for terminals 63, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kim is the upper region of end plate 140 is a terminal opening.]. The insulating cover is cover 50 [Kim 0072 Figs. 1, 8-10, insulating cover 50 between busbar frame 67 and end plate 140], which is already formed of a shape and size to receive the end plate. Since the terminal opening is not covered by the insulating cover, it would not be obvious to provide a terminal hole opening in Kim’s insulating cover.
For these reasons, claim 15 is novel and nonobvious over the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended claim 1 to include limitations regarding the claimed cover: the cover being at least one of a terminal cover part that covers a portion where the terminal busbar is exposed through the terminal opening, and a connector cover part that covers a portion where the module connector is exposed through the connector opening. Previously, claim 1 required the cover being at least one of a terminal cover part that covers a portion where the terminal busbar is exposed and a connector cover part that covers a portion where the module connector is exposed, which did not require exposure through the terminal opening or the connector opening. Therefore, in light of the change in scope of the claimed invention, the prior art was reconsidered for all that it teaches, and the previous rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant provides arguments on pgs. 7-14 regarding the rejections provided in the Office Action dated September 30, 2025. No specific arguments are provided on pgs. 7-10. On pg. 11 regarding the prior art of Kim, the Applicant recites “The Office Action recognizes that Kim does not disclose an end plate having a connector opening and a module connector and states it would be obvious to provide these features. The Office Action cites no additional art in this rejection to provide these features and merely provides arguments.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this summarization of the Office Action. The Office Action on pg. 9 describes Kim’s end plates as end plates 140 and 150 where end plate 140 has a terminal opening. Further, on pg. 9, the Examiner recites that end plate 150 has a connector opening [Kim 0072, Fig. 1, 8, Fig. 1 shows an opening in part of the upper region of end plate 150 that accommodates the protruding part 71 of end 70 with sensing connector 90, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kim is the upper region of end plate 150 is a connector opening.] and a module connector that is exposed through the connector opening [Kim 0072, 0076-0077, and throughout, Figs. 1, 8, 9, 11, module connector is connection pin 69 to wires 120 to receptacle 80 exposed through connector cover 90 which protrudes through the connector opening in upper region of end plate 150]. As provided in the Office Action on pgs. 9-10, where the prior art differs from what is claimed is that in the instant invention each end plate includes both a terminal opening and a connector opening. In Kim, end plate 140 includes two terminal openings, one for each of the positive terminal and negative terminal. End plate 150 includes a connector opening. The Examiner correctly applies MPEP 2144.04 VI, C and describes the obviousness of modifying Kim such that each end plate has both claimed features.
On pg. 14, the Applicant alleges that the rejections improperly identify the end plates as corresponding to the claimed end plate as well as the claimed cover. In review of pgs. 9-13, it appears that the Applicant is referencing the prior art of Yanagihara, Lee, and Choi. Each of these will be addressed individually.
Regarding the prior art of Yanagihara, on pgs. 3-5 of the recited Office Action, the Examiner relied upon end portion 9 as the claimed end plate. Regarding the claimed covers, the Examiner relied upon specific portions of the end plate 9 as the terminal cover part and the connector covering part and not on the entirety of end plate 9. As the features of the end plate providing the covering features are distinct from the overall end plate, the prior art applied. With the new limitations describing both the terminal cover part covers a portion where the terminal busbar is exposed through the terminal opening and the connector cover part covers a portion where the module connector is exposed through the connector opening, the prior art of Yanagihara had to be reconsidered for all that it teaches. A rejection is provided above.
Regarding the prior art of Lee, on pgs. 13-15 of the recited Office Action, the Examiner relied upon end plates 60 as the claimed end plate. Regarding the claimed covers, the Examiner relied upon specific portions of the end plate 60 as the terminal cover part and not on the entirety of end plate 60. As the features of the end plate providing the covering features are distinct from the overall end plate, the prior art applied.
Regarding the prior art of Choi, on pgs. 17-19 of the recited Office Action, the Examiner relied upon end plates 61/62 as the claimed end plate. Regarding the claimed covers, the Examiner relied upon specific portions of the end plate 61/62 as the terminal cover part (for convenience, the recited Fig. showing the region that reads on the claimed terminal cover part is copied below) and not on the entirety of end plate 60. As the features of the end plate providing the covering features are distinct from the overall end plate, the prior art applied.
As provided previously, the Examiner recognizes that the instant invention has distinctive features over the recited prior art and allowable subject matter of claims 10 and 11 is provided above. Further, Claim 15 is indicated as allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/M. T. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724