DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 Jan 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant amends Claims 1 and 32 to recite the limitation of causing the trigger poppet to move under action of the high pressure fluid and unseat the secondary sealing portion from the housing and amends Claim 30 to recite the limitation where the trigger poppet and trigger piston are force apart by the high pressure fluid. Applicant argues that neither Ghormley nor Kalmanson et al disclose or teach these limitations. Applicant further argues that the trigger poppet (31) of Ghormley moves only and solely in response to the bias of the spring 37. However, as seen in Ghormley in at least Figure 1, the trigger poppet (31) is subject to a number of forces in order to maintain or move the trigger poppet. Once the trigger poppet of Ghormley is unseated by the energization of the coil, the flow of pressure fluid through flow path 29, in addition to the force of the spring 37, will act on the trigger poppet to contribute to move the trigger poppet by virtue of being within the flow path of the fluid. Therefore, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant further argues that it would not be obvious to modify Ghormley to allow for the high pressure fluid to move the trigger poppet as amended. However, this argument is moot since Ghormley discloses these limitations as discussed below.
Therefore, these arguments are unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 10, 12-15, 22, 24-27, 30, 32-33, 36, 41, 43-46, 53, and 55-58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghormley (US 2,624,542) in view of Kalmanson et al (US 2021/0299357).
Regarding Claim 1, Ghormley discloses a trigger valve (Figure 1). The valve comprising
a housing (10) enclosing, at least in part, a cavity (16 and connected areas shown in Figure 1),
a trigger poppet (31) including a poppet sealing portion (against 31) at least in part within the cavity (Figure 1), the trigger poppet (31) configured to receive an external input at, or toward, a receiving end thereof (via 46); and
a trigger piston (23) including a primary sealing portion (at the top of 23 with 31) and a major face at least in part within the cavity (Figure 1), the trigger piston (23) configured to receive high-pressure fluid therethrough (via 29), the trigger piston (23) having a minor face (at 22) opposite the major face and a secondary sealing portion (Figure 1);
wherein the trigger poppet (31) and trigger piston (23) are biased towards each other at least by the high-pressure fluid acting on the minor face (from 26), such that the high-pressure fluid is sealed from the cavity by the poppet sealing portion (against 31) and primary sealing portion (at the top of 23 at 31) in sealing engagement on each other (Figure 1),
wherein the secondary sealing portion (Figure 1) seals against the housing, or part thereof, preventing release of the high-pressure fluid therefrom (from 21), and
wherein the poppet sealing portion (against 31) when displaced from the primary sealing portion (Figure 1) by the external input unseals the sealing engagement and allows high-pressure fluid to flow into the cavity (from 29) and act on the major face causing the trigger poppet to move under action of the high-pressure fluid (by flow through path 29) and unseats the secondary sealing portion from the housing (Figure 1 from 21), or part thereof, to allow flow of high- pressure fluid to then do work, or cause work to be done (by allowing communication between 11 and 12),
but fails to expressly disclose wherein the primary sealing portion is an endless knife edge and the poppet sealing portion seals thereto, or the poppet sealing portion is an endless knife edge and the primary sealing portion seals thereto.
Kalmanson et al teach a trigger valve (Figure 5) with a trigger piston (153) including a primary sealing portion (see Annotated Figure A) wherein the primary sealing portion is an endless knife edge (see Annotated Figure A) and the poppet sealing portion seals thereto (see Annotated Figure A; where Ghormley discloses where the sealing portion is a poppet sealing portion (against 31), or the poppet sealing portion is an endless knife edge and the primary sealing portion seals thereto.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ghormley to incorporate the teachings of Kalmanson to provide for an endless knife edge. Doing so would be combining prior art elements according to known methods (the endless knife edge seal of Kalmanson with the valve of Ghormley) to yield predictable results (to seal the primary sealing portion and poppet sealing portion).
Annotated Figure A
Annotated Figure B - Ghormley
Regarding Claim 3, Ghormley discloses where the trigger piston (23) has a second end (toward 22), opposite and distal from a first end that has the primary sealing portion (toward 23), configured to act on a first external device or a second external device (14), wherein the second end is configured act as a hammer to impact on the first or the second external device (Figure 1 to 27).
Regarding Claim 5, Ghormley disclose where the trigger piston (23) moves in a first direction within the cavity (Figure 1) and the trigger poppet (31) moves in a second direction within the cavity (Figure 1), wherein the first direction and second direction are parallel to each other (Figure 1.
Regarding Claim 10, Ghormley disclose where the trigger poppet (31) is surrounded by, and the cavity filled by, ambient pressure, which may be atmospheric, environmental or another reference pressure when in sealing engagement (pressure from 12 and from 35).
Regarding Claim 12, Ghormley disclose where the cavity (16 and connected areas as shown in Figure 1) includes one or more leak paths from an interior thereof to an exterior thereof (via at least 26 and 35), including bleed ports, or less than perfect sealing about the trigger poppet, trigger piston, or parts thereof (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Ghormley disclose where the primary sealing portion (at the top of 23) and the poppet sealing portion are either or both a resilient material to at least in part conform and seal to the other, or vice versa (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 14, Ghormley disclose where there is a pilot port (29) through the trigger piston (23) to within a sealing periphery formed between the primary sealing portion and poppet sealing portion (Figure 1 at 31).
Regarding Claim 15, Ghormley disclose where a sealing area contained within the sealing periphery creates a first force from the high-pressure fluid (from 13 to 22 upward), that is less than a second force created by bias acting on the trigger poppet (Figure 1), such that the sealing engagement is maintained, wherein there is a third force (from 13 to 22 upward) from the high-pressure fluid acting on the minor face including with any further bias, when in sealing engagement, wherein the second force and third force drive the two portions together to form the sealing engagement (Figure 1), and wherein the high-pressure fluid creates a fourth force when acting on the major face that is greater than the third force including any further bias (from 28 in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 22, Ghormley discloses where a constant supply from a source of high-pressure fluid source is at a first flow rate (from 11) that is lower than a second flow rate when the sealing engagement is unsealed and, or the secondary sealing portion is unseated (Figure 1, when 21 is open).
Regarding Claim 24, Ghormley disclose where the interior of the cavity exhausts high-pressure fluid back through the pilot port into the high-pressure volume when unsealed (from 21).
Regarding Claim 25, Ghormley disclose where the high-pressure fluid pressure acting on the major face will reduce after unsealing (Figure 1 as the pressure drops as the port 21 opens), as the high-pressure fluid does work when the secondary sealing portion is unseated (Figure 1), such that the fourth force reduces to below the third force, allowing the trigger piston to be biased back towards the sealing engagement (via 27 and 48).
Regarding Claim 26, Ghormley disclose where unseating of the secondary sealing portion allows the high-pressure fluid to vent to ambient (via 35).
Regarding Claim 27, Ghormley disclose where the trigger poppet (31) is driven in the second direction, opposite to the first direction, when unsealed, by the high-pressure fluid, acting on the poppet sealing portion (upward as seen in the orientation of Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 30, Ghormley disclose a trigger valve (Figure 1). The valve comprising
a valve body (10), with an interior thereof defining a cavity (16 and connected areas shown in Figure 1),
a trigger poppet (31), at least in part located within the cavity (Figure 1); and
a trigger piston (23), at least in part located within the cavity (Figure 1);
the trigger poppet (31) and the trigger piston (23) having; first positions where the trigger poppet and the trigger piston are biased to be in sealing engagement with each other (shown in Figure 1), such that a supply of high-pressure fluid is prevented from entering between them, positions, wherein receipt of an external input unseals the sealing engagement (via 29 to open 21), the high-pressure fluid enters between them, forcing the trigger poppet and trigger piston apart (by the flow through 29), such that a flow of high-pressure fluid is released to then do work, or cause work to be done, on an external device (by allowing fluid to 12),
but fails to expressly disclose wherein the sealing engagement formed between an endless knife edge on the trigger piston sealing against the trigger poppet, or the sealing engagement formed between an endless knife edge on the trigger poppet sealing against the trigger piston.
Kalmanson et al teach a trigger valve (Figure 5) with a trigger piston (153) including sealing engagement (see Annotated Figure A) formed between an endless knife edge (see Annotated Figure A) on the trigger piston sealing against the trigger poppet (see Annotated Figure A), or the sealing engagement formed between an endless knife edge on the trigger poppet sealing against the trigger piston
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ghormley to incorporate the teachings of Kalmanson to provide for an endless knife edge. Doing so would be combining prior art elements according to known methods (the endless knife edge seal of Kalmanson with the valve of Ghormley) to yield predictable results (to seal the primary sealing portion and poppet sealing portion).
Regarding Claim 32, Ghormley disclose a method of operation of a trigger valve, (Figure 1). The valve comprising:
providing a housing (10) having a cavity therein (16 and connected areas shown in Figure 1), at least in part within which there is a trigger poppet (31), and a trigger piston (23);
biasing the trigger poppet and the trigger piston at least in part by a high-pressure fluid (via pressure on 22) such that in a first position the trigger poppet and the trigger piston are in sealing engagement with each other so that the high-pressure fluid is prevented from moving between them (Figure 1), and wherein a flow of high-pressure fluid is prevented from exiting the housing (Figure 1), or part thereto;
disturbing the trigger poppet (31) and/or the trigger piston (23) by an external input such that the trigger poppet and the trigger piston move under action of the high-pressure fluid (through 29) to a second position where high- pressure fluid can flow therebetween and drive them apart (via 39);
allowing the flow of high-pressure fluid, when the trigger poppet and/or the trigger piston to move to or toward the second position, to exit the housing, or part thereto (out 12);
working on an external device by the flow of high high-pressure exiting the housing, or part thereof (to 12); and
exhausting the high-pressure fluid between the trigger poppet and trigger piston such that the trigger poppet and/or the trigger piston can return, under the, or another bias, to the first position (at least by 27 and 48);
such that the trigger valve (Figure 1) allows or causes an instance of work to be done by the high-pressure fluid on the external device, in response to the external input, and thereafter reset itself in preparation for a further external input (Figure 1),
but fails to expressly disclose wherein the sealing engagement formed between an endless knife edge on the trigger piston sealing against the trigger poppet, or the sealing engagement formed between an endless knife edge on the trigger poppet sealing against the trigger piston.
Kalmanson et al teach a trigger valve (Figure 5) with a trigger piston (153) including sealing engagement (see Annotated Figure A) formed between an endless knife edge (see Annotated Figure A) on the trigger piston sealing against the trigger poppet (see Annotated Figure A), or the sealing engagement formed between an endless knife edge on the trigger poppet sealing against the trigger piston
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ghormley to incorporate the teachings of Kalmanson to provide for an endless knife edge. Doing so would be combining prior art elements according to known methods (the endless knife edge seal of Kalmanson with the valve of Ghormley) to yield predictable results (to seal the primary sealing portion and poppet sealing portion).
Regarding Claim 33, Ghormley disclose where the work is in the form of the high-pressure fluid acting on a first external device, including at least one of another surface, valve, or dose valve (via the output fluid 12) , and wherein the trigger piston (23) has a second end, opposite and distal from a first end that has a primary sealing portion (at 25), that can configured to act on the first external device or a second external device, and wherein the second end is configured to act as a hammer to impact on the first or second external device (at least 27).
Regarding Claim 36, Ghormley disclose where the trigger piston (23) moves in a first direction within the cavity (Figure 1) and the trigger poppet (31) moves in a second direction within the cavity (Figure 1), wherein the first direction and second direction are parallel to each other (Figure 1.
Regarding Claim 41, Ghormley disclose where the trigger poppet (31) is surrounded by, and the cavity filled by, ambient pressure, which may be atmospheric, environmental or another reference pressure when in sealing engagement (pressure from 12 and from 35).
Regarding Claim 43, Ghormley disclose where the cavity (16 and connected areas as shown in Figure 1) includes one or more leak paths from an interior thereof to an exterior thereof (via at least 26 and 35), including bleed ports, or less than perfect sealing about the trigger poppet, trigger piston, or parts thereof (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 44, Ghormley disclose where the primary sealing portion (at the top of 23) is an endless knife edge (Figure 1) and the poppet sealing portion seals thereto, either or both being a resilient material to at least in part conform and seal to the other, or vice versa (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 45, Ghormley disclose where there is a pilot port (29) through the trigger piston (23) to within a sealing periphery formed between the primary sealing portion and poppet sealing portion (Figure 1 at 31).
Regarding Claim 46, Ghormley disclose where a sealing area contained within the sealing periphery creates a first force from the high-pressure fluid (from 13 to 22 upward), that is less than a second force created by bias acting on the trigger poppet (Figure 1), such that the sealing engagement is maintained, wherein there is a third force (from 13 to 22 upward) from the high-pressure fluid acting on the minor face including with any further bias, when in sealing engagement, wherein the second force and third force drive the two portions together to form the sealing engagement (Figure 1), and wherein the high-pressure fluid creates a fourth force when acting on the major face that is greater than the third force including any further bias (from 28 in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 53, Ghormley discloses where a constant supply from a source of high-pressure fluid source is at a first flow rate (from 11) that is lower than a second flow rate when the sealing engagement is unsealed and, or the secondary sealing portion is unseated (Figure 1, when 21 is open).
Regarding Claim 55, Ghormley disclose where the interior of the cavity can exhaust high-pressure fluid back through the pilot port into the high-pressure volume when unsealed (from 21).
Regarding Claim 56, Ghormley disclose where the high-pressure fluid pressure acting on the major face will reduce after unsealing (Figure 1 as the pressure drops as the port 21 opens), as the high-pressure fluid does work when the secondary sealing portion is unseated (Figure 1), such that the fourth force reduces to below the third force, allowing the trigger piston to be biased back towards the sealing engagement (via 27 and 48).
Regarding Claim 57, Ghormley disclose where unseating of the secondary sealing portion allows the high-pressure fluid to vent to ambient (via 35).
Regarding Claim 58, Ghormley disclose where the trigger poppet (31) is driven in the second direction, opposite to the first direction, when unsealed, by the high-pressure fluid, acting on the poppet sealing portion (upward as seen in the orientation of Figure 1).
Claim(s) 23 and 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as obvious over Ghormley (US 2,624,542) in view of Kalmanson et al (US 2021/0299357).
Regarding Claims 23 and 54, Ghormley disclose all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where the high-pressure fluid is in the range of 10 to 50 bar, and ideally at around 16 bar.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause where the high-pressure fluid is in the range of 10 to 50 bar, and ideally at around 16 bar, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentable distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the valve of Ghormley would not operate differently with the claimed pressure dimensions since the pressure would function in the same manner as the inventor’s. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the pressure dimensions are “around” the claimed range.
Conclusion
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753