DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 7/6/26. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 5 and 9-10 have been amended, claims 7 and 13-22 have been canceled, and no new claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-6 and 8-12 are presently pending in the application. Claims 11-12 are withdrawn as being directed towards a non-elected group and species.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“retaining elements” in claim 9 (corresponding structure is gripping hooks, Page 10, lines 12-13).
“ejection means” in claim 10 (corresponding structure is spring-loaded ejection plunger, Page 10, lines 16-18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “according to claim 1 any preceding claim” however it is unclear as to which claim applicant is referring back to. As best understood claim 8 is dependent on claim 1, which is how the claim will be interpreted for examination purposes.
Any remaining claims are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harrison (2005/0028813).
Regarding claim 1, in fig. 1-3a Harrison discloses mesh nebulizer ([0023] mesh insert for atomization) comprising a dosing unit (11, 5b, 5a and 3) for providing a predetermined amount of a therapeutic agent (within medicament container 3), and a nebulizer head (portion surrounding nozzle 15 that contains the mesh insert [0023]), the nebulizer head comprises an aerosol generator ([0023] mesh insert atomizes the liquid) for generating an aerosol made from said therapeutic agent [0023], wherein said therapeutic agent is delivered in a portion container 3 to be opened by pressure [0033-0034]; wherein the dosing unit comprises an uptake chamber (where 3 resides) with a dosing opening (see opening of 3 in fig. 2 caused by the opening of frangible portion 17) for dispensing the therapeutic agent into the aerosol generator, an opening (where arrow is pointing in fig. 3a) for inserting the portion container 3 and a locking body 23 for locking the opening for inserting the portion container 3 [0035], wherein the dosing unit further comprises said portion container 3, the portion container having a top cover (top portion of 3) and a bottom cover (bottom portion of 3), which are connected along a sealing seam (3 has heat sealed flat-edges, which therefore form a sealing seam [0033]), a volume is formed between the top cover and the bottom cover (see fig. 1), which is filled with the therapeutic agent [0033]; wherein the locking body is adapted to be moved from an open position in which the locking body releases the opening for inserting the portion container (see fig. 3a) to a closed position (Fig. 1) in which the locking body closes the opening for inserting the portion container (Fig. 1); and wherein the locking body is further adapted to be moved from the closed position (Fig. 1) to a drainage position (Fig. 2) in which the locking body applies pressure to the portion container in a non-piercing way [0033-0034] to open the portion container and release the therapeutic agent into the aerosol generator [0033-0034], in which the aerosol is then generated upon demand ([0033-0034]).
Regarding claim 2, Harrison discloses that the movement of the locking body from the open position to the closed position is or comprises a linear movement (the linear movement occurs during locking as upper facing surface 21a is linear and slides along linear surface 23).
Regarding claim 3, Harrison discloses that the movement of the locking body from the open position to the closed position is or comprises a rotating movement (Fig. 1-3a shows pivoting rotation from an open to a closed position).
Regarding claim 4, Harrison discloses that the movement of the locking body from the closed position to the drainage position is or comprises a rotating movement (Fig.1-2 shows further pivoting rotation from a closed position to the final drainage position).
Regarding claim 8, Harrison discloses that the dosing unit comprises a removal handle (5b is a handle since the user can grip it with their hand to later removed used portion container 3) for discharged portion containers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-5, filed 7/6/26, with respect to the rejections of claim 1 under U.S.C. 103 in view of Pieters, Gallem, Leonard and Harrison as well as Pieters, Gallem, Leonard and Boyes have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Harrison.
Conclusion
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785