DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 01/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the spring recited in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weldon et. al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0191516), hereinafter, “Weldon.”
Regarding claim 1, Weldon teaches a delivery device (30; Fig. 2A) for an auxetic device (10; Fig. 2A), comprising:
a hollow tubular constraining device with a longitudinal axis (28; Fig. 2A);
a longitudinal controlling device (27; Fig. 2A), sized to fit concentrically within the constraining device (28) along its longitudinal axis; and
a mechanism (50; Fig. 4) coupled to the constraining device (28) and the controlling device (27), wherein:
an end of the controlling device (27) is offset along the longitudinal axis of the constraining device (28) from an end of the constraining device so as to form a chamber ("LC"; Fig. 2A) between the end of the constraining device (28) and the end of the controlling device (27), the chamber (LC) configured to accept the auxetic device (10), and
the mechanism (50) is configured to cause a size of the chamber (LC) to be adjusted
along the longitudinal axis of the constraining device (28; see Fig. 2B showing the chamber
reduced in size as the "linkage" 32 moves "pusher" 27 distally relative to "sheath" 28.).
Regarding claim 3, Weldon teaches the mechanism (50) is a user-actuated mechanism (pp. [0041]) comprised of a plurality of gears (54 and 58; Fig. 4, it is noted, “threaded flight” 54 and 58 are considered gears as they have similar structure to elements 116 and 118 in Fig. 4 of Applicant’s Specification which are considered gears by Applicant (pp. [0043] of Applicant’s Specification)) coupled to the constraining device (28) and the controlling device (27, pp. [0014]), and the chamber size is adjusted in response to a user actuating the mechanism (see pp. [0041]).
Regarding claim 4, Weldon teaches each of the plurality of gears (54 and 58) comprise a jack screw (“threaded flight” pp. [0041]), and the constraining device (28) and controlling device (27) are each coupled to a respective one of the jack screws (54/58) by a runner (56 and 60; Fig. 4, pp. [0014]).
Regarding claim 5, Weldon teaches the jack screw (54) coupled to the constraining device (28) has a different thread pitch than the jack screw (58) coupled to the controlling device (27, pp. [0041]).
Regarding claim 6, Weldon teaches wherein the jack screw (54) coupled to the constraining device (28) has a coarser thread pitch than the jack screw (58) coupled to the controlling device (27, pp. [0041]).
Regarding claim 7, Weldon teaches each of the jack screws (54/58) is coupled to a thumb wheel (62; Fig. 4) such that rotation of the thumb wheel (62) imparts a corresponding rotation to each of the jack screws (pp. [0041]).
Regarding claim 11, Weldon teaches an end of the controlling device (27) abuts an end of the auxetic device (10) when the auxetic device (10) is inserted into the chamber (LC, pp. [0034]).
Regarding claim 12, Weldon teaches the auxetic device (10) is a stent (pp. [0034]).
For the purposes of claim 9, the following embodiment of Weldon applies.
Regarding claim 1, Weldon teaches a delivery device (30; Fig. 2A) for an auxetic device (10; Fig. 2A), comprising:
a hollow tubular constraining device with a longitudinal axis (28; Fig. 2A);
a longitudinal controlling device (27; Fig. 2A), sized to fit concentrically within the constraining device (28) along its longitudinal axis; and
a mechanism (500; Fig. 5) coupled to the constraining device (28) and the controlling device (27), wherein:
an end of the controlling device (27) is offset along the longitudinal axis of the constraining device (28) from an end of the constraining device so as to form a chamber ("LC"; Fig. 2A) between the end of the constraining device (28) and the end of the controlling device (27), the chamber (LC) configured to accept the auxetic device (10), and
the mechanism (500) is configured to cause a size of the chamber (LC) to be adjusted
along the longitudinal axis of the constraining device (28; pp. [0053], see Fig. 2B showing the chamber
reduced in size as "pusher" 27 moves distally relative to "sheath" 28.)
Regarding claim 9, Weldon teaches the mechanism (500) is a spring (506; Fig. 5) coupled to the constraining device (28) and the controlling device (27, pp. [0053], it is noted, spring 506 is coupled to the constraining device and controlling device through biasing racks 34 and 36 to move them).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weldon in view of Sullivan et. al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0106977), hereinafter, “Sullivan.”
Regarding claim 2, Weldon teaches a central core (26; Fig. 2B), but does not exility disclose radiopaque markers as claimed.
Weldon further teaches protrusions (25; Fig. 2C) on the central core (26) for engaging with the auxetic device (10).
Sullivan teaches a similar configured stent deliver device with a hollow tubular constraining device (40; Fig. 2B), a longitudinal controlling device (30; Fig. 2B), and a central core (32; Fig. 2B) with protrusions (38; Fig. 2B) for engaging with the auxetic device (34; Fig. 2B, pp. [0032]). Sullivan further teaches radiopaque markers can be placed where the protrusions (38) are located (see pp. [0047]).
Sullivan is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of stent delivery devices. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the central core of Weldon to incorporate the teachings of Sullivan by providing radiopaque markers at the stent engaging protrusions. Doing so would allow a practitioner to better position the auxetic device by being able to see when the auxetic device begins exiting the constraining device and when it has been fully deployed.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weldon in view of Ringwala et. al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0137715)(priority to 11/12/2019), hereinafter, “Ringwala.”
Regarding claim 8, Weldon does not explicitly teach a motor as claimed.
Ringwala teaches a stent delivery device with a hollow tubular constraining device (150; Fig. 7), a longitudinal controlling device (152; Fig. 7), and a mechanism (162; Fig. 13) for moving the controlling device (152) relative to the constraining device (150) to push a stent (120; Fig. 7) wherein the mechanism can be manually driven via a thumbwheel of alternatively driven by an electric motor (pp. [0086]).
Ringwala is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of stent delivery devices. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mechanism control means of Weldon to incorporate the teachings of Ringwala by providing a motor coupled to the jack screws. Doing so would be a simple substitution of one known actuation mechanism for another to obtain predictable results of providing a stent delivery device with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10, Weldon does not explicitly disclose the controlling device inserts at least partially into the auxetic device.
Ringwala teaches a stent delivery device with hollow tubular constraining device (150; Fig. 7) and a longitudinal controlling device (152; Fig. 7), that inserts at least partially into the auxetic device (120; Fig. 7) when the auxetic device (120) is inserted into the chamber (see Figs. 6 and 7, pp. [0070]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controlling device of Weldon to incorporate the teachings of Ringwala by inserting it at least partially into the auxetic device. Doing so would provide a more secure connection between the controlling device and stent which would allow the stent to be pushed and retracted in needed as taught by Ringwala (pp. [0070]).
Conclusion
/DANIEL ICET/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/ELIZABETH HOUSTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771