DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 6/22/2026. As directed, claim 1 has been amended, no claims have been added, and claims 2, 4, and 17 have been canceled. Thus claims 1, 3, 5-16, and 18-23 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-16, and 18-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Routledge (2019/0046395).
Regarding claim 1, Routledge discloses a training apparatus (10) for stimulating the back muscles associated with a person’s spine ([0139]), comprising two rows of shaped bodies (20) arranged so that the two rows run next to one another in a longitudinal direction; and connecting portions (portions of base 14, 114) disposed in a base plane, the base plan e running centrally through the connection portions (i.e. the invisible plane runs horizontally in line with the connecting portions and the flat horizontal extends on left sides, right sides, and centrally around and through the connecting portions) the connection portions (14, 114) connecting the shaped bodies to one another so that the shaped bodies project symmetrically from the base plane on opposing faces (i.e. left/right faces) of the base plane (as shown, the bodies 20 are symmetrically projected from left/right faces of the base); wherein each of the shaped bodies (20) has at least one bearing region (i.e. top 32, 132) that is configured as a bearing point or bearing surface for stimulating the back muscles (fig. 10 shows the top of the bodies for stimulating a user’s back), wherein the shaped bodies (20) are disposed as pairs (i.e. right/left pairs) comprising one of the shaped bodies in a first row (right) of the two rows and one of the shaped bodies in a second row (i.e. left) of the two rows, each of the pairs being arranged to be perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (as shown in figs. 2, 4, 10, the pair aligns perpendicular to the longitudinal extension of the base); and wherein the shaped bodies (20) of the shaped-body pairs form interspaces, in which portions of a spine can be accommodated in the longitudinal direction of the rows (fig. 19 shows the spine accommodated between the rows and left/right pairs), wherein the shaped bodies (20) together with the connecting portions (14) are formed monolithically ([0147] lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, Routledge discloses wherein the shaped bodies (20) project away from the base plane (base) on either side or on one side (as shown the bodies project away).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Routledge discloses wherein the shaped bodies (20) are spherical being configured to be partially spherical (i.e. hemispherical) (as shown, the bodies are generally hemispherical projecting at a top side).
Regarding claim 7, Routledge discloses wherein the shaped bodies (20) of each pair are connected via one of the connection portions (portions of base 14, 114 extend between and connect the base body pairs).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Routledge discloses wherein the connecting portions (14) transition into one another seamlessly such that an individual, common connecting element (through space) is formed, wherein the common connecting element in each case has a through opening passing through the base plane (as shown, there is a through space between the bodies 20).
Regarding claim 9, Routledge discloses wherein the monolithically-formed shaped bodies (20) together with the connecting portions have a closed-pore outside layer (as shown the outer material is not open pore;[0142], [0147]).
Regarding claim 10, Routledge discloses wherein the shaped bodies (20) and the connecting portions (14) are formed from a plastic ([0147]).
Regarding claim 11, Routledge discloses wherein the shaped bodies (20) and the connecting portions (14) are injection-molded ([0147] lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 12, Routledge discloses wherein the shaped bodies comprise an exterior that encloses a hollow space (fig. 17 shows an internal hollow space).
Regarding claim 13, Routledge discloses the hollow spaces are filled with a filler (i.e. as shown the bodies 20 do no collapse on themselves and are thus filled with matter are not a vacuum).
Regarding claim 14, Routledge discloses the composition of the filler (i.e. air) has a lower density than the composition of the shaped bodies (20).
Regarding claims 15, 16, 19, and 20, Routledge discloses wherein the distance between the bearing regions of the shaped bodies is between 30-50m which is within the claimed range ([0128]).
Regarding claims 21-23, Routledge discloses the connecting portions (portions of base 14) and common connecting element (14) are elastically deformable ([0147] lines 1-6 disclose ABS including rubbery butadiene blocks which have a modulus of 2.0-2.7GPa. Thus ABS has at least some resilient flexibility).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 71st paragraph through last paragraph that Routledge does not disclose base plane running centrally though the connecting portions. Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is noted that a plane is imaginary and the exact location of the imaginary plane is not found in the claim language. Routledge discloses bodies 20 are symmetrically projected from left/right faces of an imaginary plane along a top of the base 14, 18. The plane would therefore run horizontally along the x and y axis. The imaginary horizontal plane, which includes the connecting members, would therefore extend in a central region of the connecting members between the rows of shaped bodies. The plane also runs centrally through a left group and a right group of the connection portions. Thus Routledge teaches this limitation as claimed.
Conclusion
/LaToya M Louis/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785