DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 23, 2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 13, 25, and 29 have been amended. New claim 49 has been added.
Claim 31 has been canceled.
Claims 1-13, 25-30, and 49 are pending in this application.
In view of the amendment filed March 23, 2026, the previous objection to claim 29 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Khoshnevisan does not teach “the amended limitation requiring the UE to determine whether the scheduled PUSCH transmission is codebook-based or non-codebook based on the CORESETPoolIndex of the CORESET in which the DCI is received, and to interpret the SRI field according to that determination” (page 13). Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Amended claim recites, in part:
determine the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set by identifying the SRS resource set associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex value as that of the CORESET in which the DCI is received;
interpret the SRI field according to the determined first SRS resource set or second SRS resource set; and
transmit the PUSCH transmission using an SRS resource from the determined first SRS resource set if the PUSCH transmission is codebook-based, or using an SRS resource subset from the determined second SRS resource set if the PUSCH transmission is non-codebook-based,
Applicant argues that this amended claim requires the UE to determine whether the scheduled PUSCH transmission is a codebook-based or non-codebook based. The amended portion requires the determination of the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resources according to the CORESET in which the DCI is received. However, such a determination of SRS resource set does not further lead the UE to determine whether the scheduled PUSCH transmission is codebook-based or non-codebook based transmission as Applicant argues. Limitation “transmit the PUSCH transmission using an SRS resource from the determined first SRS resource set” would be still required even if the determined first SRS resource set is associated with noncodebook-based, because the limitation simply recited that if the PUSCH transmission is codebook-based, then “transmit the PUSCH transmission using an SRS resource from the determined first SRS resource set” regardless of whether the determined first SRS resource set is used for codebook based transmission. In other words, Applicant does not tie the first SRS resource set with the codebook based or the second SRS resource set with the noncodebook based.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., determine whether the scheduled PUSCH transmission is codebook-based or non-codebook based on the CORESETPoolIndex of the CORESET in which the DCI is received) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues that Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that “different SRS resource sets may associate with different CORESET pool index values and that an SRI field may indicate an SRS resource within a set. However, Khoshnevisan determines the transmission mode (codebook or non-codebook) independently of the CORESET pool index” (pages 13-14). Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that one SRS resource set of the at least two SRS resource sets is configured for a CORESET pool index value of 0, while the other SRS resource set of the at least two resource sets is configured for a CORESET pool index value of 1 (para. [0090][0149])). Further, UE determines an SRS resource set from at least two SRS resource sets to use for a scheduled PUSCH based in part on the value of a CORESET pool index associated with the CORESET in which the DCI message is received that scheduled the PUSCH (para. [0149]). One or both the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set correspond to a codebook-based usage, and that one or both the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set correspond to a noncodebook-based usage (para. [0211]). That is, SRS resource set corresponding to a certain CORESETPoolIndex value is determined based on CORESET in which the DCI message was received, and because SRS resource set is associated with either codebook or noncodebook-based usage, the transmission mode is determined based on the CORESET pool index that corresponds to the CORESET in which the DCI message is received. Therefore, Khoshnevisan et al. discloses each and every limitation of the amended claims 1, 13, and 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, 13, 25-26, 29-30, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0289525).
Regarding Claim 1, Khoshnevisan et al. discloses A user equipment (UE)(UE (FIG. 5)),comprising: at least one memory (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses UE includes a memory (para. [0034])); and at least one processor (processor (para. [0034])) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: receive a configuration (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that a UE is configured (e.g., via RRC configuration) with at least two SRS resource set (para. [0090])), wherein the configuration indicates two sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets configured with usage 'codebook' or 'non-codebook' (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that one or both of the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set correspond to a codebook-based usage (para. [0181]); the at least two SRS resource sets have a usage field set to codebook in case of a codebook based usage (para. [0150]); alternatively, the at least two SRS resource sets have a usage field set to noncodebook in case of a noncodebook-based usage (para. [0150])), wherein a first SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets is configured for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and is associated with a first CORESETPoolIndex value (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that UE is configured to determine an SRS resource set from at least two SRS resource sets to use for a scheduled PUSCH (para. [0149]); one SRS resource set of the at least two SRS resource sets is configured for a CORESET pool index value of 0, while the other SRS resource set of the at least two resource sets is configured for a CORESET pool index value of 1 (para. [0090][0149])) and a second SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets is configured for the PUSCH transmission and is associated with a second CORESETPoolIndex value different from the first CORESETPoolIndex value (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that UE is configured to determine an SRS resource set from at least two SRS resource sets to use for a scheduled PUSCH (para. [0149]); that one SRS resource set of the at least two SRS resource sets is configured for a CORESET pool index value of 0, while the other SRS resource set of the at least two resource sets is configured for a CORESET pool index value of 1 (para. [0090])); receive a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling the PUSCH transmission (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses UE receives, in a CORESET, a DCI message scheduling an uplink shared channel (para. [0091][0223])), wherein, the DCI includes an SRS resource indicator (SRI) field (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that an SRS resource indicator field of the DCI message indicates one or more SRS resources within one of the SRS resource sets (para. [0091][0223])); determine the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set by identifying the SRS resource set associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex value as that of the CORESET in which the DCI is received (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that UE determines an SRS resource set from at least two SRS resource sets to use for a scheduled PUSCH based in part on a value of a CORESET pool index associated with the CORESET in which the DCI message is received that scheduled the PUSCH (para. [0149]); a first SRS resource set is associated with a CORESET pool index value 0 and a second SRS resource set is associated with a CORESET pool index value 1 (para. [0149])); interpret the SRI field according to the determined first SRS resource set or second SRS resource set (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that UE decodes which SRS resource set of the at least two SRS resource sets to use for the scheduled PUSCH, and that if the UE receives a DCI message in a CORESET with a CORESET pool value 0, an SRI field of the DCI message indicates one or more SRS resources within the first SRS resource set (para. [0150])); and transmit the PUSCH transmission using an SRS resource from the determined first SRS resource set if the PUSCH transmission is codebook-based, or using an SRS resource subset from the determined second SRS resource set if the PUSCH transmission is non-codebook-based (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that SRI field indicates one or more SRS resources with an SRS resource set, which UE uses to determine one or more parameters for one or more scheduled PUSCHs (para. [0145]); for a codebook-based PUSCH, a single SRS resource set has a usage field set to codebook, and for a noncodebook based PUSCH, a single SRS resource set has a usage field set to noncodebook (para. [0145]); one or both the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set correspond to a codebook-based usage (para. [0211]); one or both the first SRS resource set and second SRS resource set correspond to a noncodebook based usage (para. [0211])[Examiner’s Note: Based on CORESET used to transmit DCI, a first or second SRS resource set is determined where the first and second resource set is used for either codebook or noncodebook usage. Therefore, if the PUSCH transmission is codebook based, then corresponding resources from the determined first resource set is used for PUSCH transmission]), wherein the SRS resource or the SRS resource subset is indicated by the SRI field in the DCI (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses an SRS resource indicator field of the DCI message indicates one or more SRS resources within one of the SRS resource sets (para. [0091][0145][0223])).
Regarding Claim 2, Khoshnevisan et al. discloses The UE of claim 1, and further, Khoshnevisan et al. discloses wherein the different CORESETPoolIndex value is configured for each SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets by radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that UE is configured (e.g., RRC configuration) with at least two SRS resource sets (para. [0090]); one SRS resource set of the at least two SRS resource sets is configured for a CORESET pool index value of 0, while the other SRS resource set of the at least two SRS resource sets is configured for a CORESET pool index value of 1 (para. [0090])).
Regarding Claim 5, Khoshnevisan et al. discloses The UE of claim 1, and further, Khoshnevisan et al. discloses wherein the configuration further indicates two SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl lists (Khoshevisan et al. discloses that UE is configured with a list of one or more uplink shared channel power control parameters for uplink power control for a scheduled PUSCH (e.g., a list of SRI-PUSCH power control parameters with each member of the list corresponding to an uplink shared channel power control index (e.g., sri-PUSCH-powercontrolid: 0 … 15)(para. [0147])), wherein each SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl list is associated with a different CORESETPoolIndex value (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that UE is configured with at least two lists of uplink shared channel power control parameters, and each list corresponds to a specific value of a CORESET pool index (para. [0152])), and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit the PUSCH transmission further according to a power control parameter set of a SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl list (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that UE is configured with at least two lists of uplink shared channel power control parameters, and each list corresponds to a specific value of a CORESET pool index (para. [0152]); UE transmits on the uplink shared channel according to one or more uplink transmission parameters based in part on the SRI field in the received DCI message and a value of a CORESET pool index (para. [0232])), wherein the SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl list is also associated with the CORESETPoolIndex value according to the DCI (Khoshevisan et al. discloses that if UE receives a DCI message in a CORESET with a CORESET pool index value 0, an SRI filed in the received DCI message is used by the UE to determine an uplink shared channel power control index (para. [0153])).
Regarding Claim 6, Khoshnevisan et al. discloses The UE of claim 5, and further, Khoshnevisan et al. discloses wherein the CORESETPoolIndex value associated with the SRS resource set is the CORESETPoolIndex value of the CORESET transmitting the DCI (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that the UE is configured to determine an SRS resource set from at least two SRS resource sets to use for a scheduled PUSCH based in part on a value of a CORESET pool index associated with the CORESET in which the DCI message is received that scheduled the PUSCH (para. [0149]); one SRS resource set of the at least two SRS resource sets is configured for a CORESET pool index value of 0, while the other SRS resource set of the at least two SRS resource sets is configured for a CORESET pool index value of 1 (para. [0090])).
Regarding Claim 8, Khoshnevisan et al. discloses The UE of claim 6, and further, Khoshnevisan et al. discloses wherein the power control parameter set is determined by mapping a SRI value indicated by all bits in the SRI field in the DCI to the SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl list associated with the CORESETPoolIndex value (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that when UE receives a DCI message in a CORESET configured with a value of CORESET pool index, an SRI field value points to an uplink shared channel power control index (e.g., sri-PUSCH power controlid) in a corresponding list of uplink shared channel power control parameter (para. [0152]); each list of uplink shared channel power control parameter corresponds to a specific value of a CORESET pool index (para. [0152])).
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 is directed to a method claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, claim 13 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 25, Khoshnevisan et al. discloses A base station (base station (FIGS. 9, 12, para. [0214])) comprising: at least one memory (memory 1230 (FIG. 12)); and at least one processor (processor 1240 (FIG. 12)) coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to: transmits a configuration (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that UE is configured with (e.g., via RRC configuration) with at least two SRS resource sets (para. [0090])), wherein the configuration indicates two sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets configured with usage 'codebook' or 'non-codebook' (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that one or both the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set correspond to a codebook-based usage (para. [0181]); the at least two SRS resource sets have a usage field set to codebook in case of a codebook-based usage (para. [0150]); alternatively, the at least two SRS resource sets have a usage field set to noncodebook in case of a noncodebook-based usage (para. [0150]))), wherein a first SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets is configured for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and is associated with a first CORESETPoolIndex value (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that UE is configured to determine an SRS resource set from at least two SRS resource sets to use for a scheduled PUSCH (para. [0149]); one SRS resource set of the at least two SRS resource sets is configured for a CORESET pool index value of 0, while the other SRS resource set of the at least two resource sets is configured for a CORESET pool index value of 1 (para. [0090][0149])) and a second SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets is configured for the PUSCH transmission and is associated with a second CORESETPoolIndex value different from the first CORESETPoolIndex value (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that UE is configured to determine an SRS resource set from at least two SRS resource sets to use for a scheduled PUSCH (para. [0149]); that one SRS resource set of the at least two SRS resource sets is configured for a CORESET pool index value of 0, while the other SRS resource set of the at least two resource sets is configured for a CORESET pool index value of 1 (para. [0090])); transmit a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling the PUSCH transmission (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses UE receives, in a CORESET, a DCI message scheduling an uplink shared channel (para. [0091][0223])), wherein, the DCI includes an SRS resource indicator (SRI) field (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that if the UE receives a DCI message in a CORESET with a CORESET pool index value 0, an SRS resource indicator field of the DCI message indicates one or more SRS resources within one of the SRS resource sets (para. [0091][0223])); and receive the PUSCH transmission using an SRS resource from the first SRS resource set if the PUSCH transmission is codebook-based, or using a SRS resource subset from the second SRS resource set if the PUSCH transmission is non-codebook-based (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that SRI field indicates one or more SRS resources with an SRS resource set, which UE uses to determine one or more parameters for one or more scheduled PUSCHs (para. [0145]); for a codebook-based PUSCH, a single SRS resource set has a usage field set to codebook, and for a noncodebook based PUSCH, a single SRS resource set has a usage field set to noncodebook (para. [0145]); one or both the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set correspond to a codebook-based usage (para. [0211]); one or both the first SRS resource set and second SRS resource set correspond to a noncodebook based usage (para. [0211])), wherein the SRS resource or the SRS resource subset is indicated by the SRI field in the DCI (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses an SRS resource indicator field of the DCI message indicates one or more SRS resources within one of the SRS resource sets (para. [0091][0145][0223])) and corresponds to the SRS resource set associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex value as that of the CORESET via which the DCI was transmitted (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that UE determines an SRS resource set from at least two SRS resource sets to use for a scheduled PUSCH based in part on a value of a CORESET pool index associated with the CORESET in which the DCI message is received that scheduled the PUSCH (para. [0149]); a first SRS resource set is associated with a CORESET pool index value 0 and a second SRS resource set is associated with a CORESET pool index value 1 (para. [0149])).
Regarding Claims 26 and 30, Claims 26 and 30 are directed to apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 2 and 6. Therefore, claims 26 and 30 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 2 and 6.
Regarding Claim 29, Khoshnevisan et al. discloses The base station of claim 25, and further, Khoshnevisan et al. discloses wherein the configuration further indicates two SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl lists (Khoshevisan et al. discloses that UE is configured with a list of one or more uplink shared channel power control parameters for uplink power control for a scheduled PUSCH (e.g., a list of SRI-PUSCH power control parameters with each member of the list corresponding to an uplink shared channel power control index (e.g., sri-PUSCH-powercontrolid: 0 … 15)(para. [0147])), wherein each SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl list is associated with a different CORESETPoolIndex value (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that UE is configured with at least two lists of uplink shared channel power control parameters, and each list corresponds to a specific value of a CORESET pool index (para. [0152])), and the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to receive the PUSCH transmission further according to a power control parameter set of a SRI- PUSCH-PowerControl list (Khoshnevisan et al. discloses that UE is configured with at least two lists of uplink shared channel power control parameters, and each list corresponds to a specific value of a CORESET pool index (para. [0152]); UE transmits on the uplink shared channel according to one or more uplink transmission parameters based in part on the SRI field in the received DCI message and a value of a CORESET pool index (para. [0232])), wherein the SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl list is also associated with the CORESETPoolIndex value according to the DCI (Khoshevisan et al. discloses that if UE receives a DCI message in a CORESET with a CORESET pool index value 0, an SRI filed in the received DCI message is used by the UE to determine an uplink shared channel power control index (para. [0153])).
Regarding Claim 49, Claim 49 is directed to a method claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 25. Therefore, claim 49 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0289525) and further in view of Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0216639).
Regarding Claim 3, Khoshnevisan et al. teaches The UE of claim 1, however, Khoshnevisan et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the SRS resource set with a lower index in the two SRS resource sets both configured with usage 'codebook' or 'non-codebook' is associated with CORESETPoolIndex 0, and the SRS resource set with a higher index in the two SRS resource sets both configured with usage 'codebook' or 'non-codebook' is associated with CORESETPoolIndex 1. Wang et al. teaches such limitations.
Wang et al. is directed to SRS configuration and transmission in multi-DCI Multi-TRP and carrier aggregation. More specifically, Wang et al. teaches wherein the SRS resource set with a lower index in the two SRS resource sets both configured with usage 'codebook' or 'non-codebook' is associated with CORESETPoolIndex 0 (Wang et al. teaches that the SRS resource sets are configured with a parameter of usage, which is set to codebook, noncodebook (para. [0026]); SRS is associated with different TRP, e.g., different CORESETPool Index, where in the multi TRP operation with two TRP, two SRS resource sets are defined for codebook based transmission, and each SRS resource set is associated with different TRP (para. [0027]); SRS with the lowest or the highest SRS resource set ID is transmitted (para. [0127])), and the SRS resource set with a higher index in the two SRS resource sets both configured with usage 'codebook' or 'non-codebook' is associated with CORESETPoolIndex 1 (Wang et al. teaches that the SRS resource sets are configured with a parameter of usage, which is set to codebook, noncodebook (para. [0026]); SRS is associated with different TRP, e.g., different CORESETPool Index, where in the multi TRP operation with two TRP, two SRS resource sets are defined for codebook based transmission, and each SRS resource set is associated with different TRP (para. [0027]); SRS with the lowest or the highest SRS resource set ID is transmitted (para. [0127])[Examiner’s Note: because one SRS resource set is associated with one TRP (with CORESETPoolIndex 0), the other SRS resource set is associated with the other TRP (CORESETPoolIndex 1]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Khoshnevisan et al. so that wherein the SRS resource set with a lower index in the two SRS resource sets both configured with usage ‘codebook’ or ‘non-codebook’ is associated with CORESETPoolIndex 0, as taught by Wang et al. The modification would have allowed the system to reduce collision in multi-TRP operation (see Wang et al., para. [0023]).
Regarding Claim 4, Khoshnevisan et al. teaches The UE of claim 1, however, Khoshnevisan et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the SRS resource set with a lower index in the two SRS resource sets both configured with usage 'codebook' or 'non-codebook' is associated with CORESETPoolIndex 1, and the SRS resource set with a higher index in the two SRS resource sets both configured with usage 'codebook' or 'non-codebook' is associated with CORESETPoolIndex 0. Wang et al. teaches such limitations.
Wang et al. is directed to SRS configuration and transmission in multi-DCI Multi-TRP and carrier aggregation. More specifically, Wang et al. teaches wherein the SRS resource set with a lower index in the two SRS resource sets both configured with usage 'codebook' or 'non-codebook' is associated with CORESETPoolIndex 1 (Wang et al. teaches that the SRS resource sets are configured with a parameter of usage, which is set to codebook, noncodebook (para. [0026]); SRS is associated with different TRP, e.g., different CORESETPool Index, where in the multi TRP operation with two TRP, two SRS resource sets are defined for codebook-based transmission, and each SRS resource set is associated with different TRP (para. [0027]); SRS with the lowest or the highest SRS resource set ID is transmitted (para. [0127])), and the SRS resource set with a higher index in the two SRS resource sets both configured with usage 'codebook' or 'non-codebook' is associated with CORESETPoolIndex 0 (Wang et al. teaches that the SRS resource sets are configured with a parameter of usage, which is set to codebook, noncodebook (para. [0026]); SRS is associated with different TRP, e.g., different CORESETPool Index, where in the multi TRP operation with two TRP, two SRS resource sets are defined for codebook-based transmission, and each SRS resource set is associated with different TRP (para. [0027]); SRS with the lowest or the highest SRS resource set ID is transmitted (para. [0127]) [Examiner’s Note: because one SRS resource set is associated with one TRP (with CORESETPoolIndex 1), the other SRS resource set is associated with the other TRP (CORESETPoolIndex 0]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Khoshnevisan et al. so that wherein the SRS resource set with a lower index in the two SRS resource sets both configured with usage ‘codebook’ or ‘non-codebook’ is associated with CORESETPoolIndex 1, as taught by Wang et al. The modification would have allowed the system to reduce collision in multi-TRP operation (see Wang et al., para. [0023]).
Regarding Claims 27-28, Claims 27-28 are directed to apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 3-4. Therefore, claims 27-28 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 3-4.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0289525), and further in view of Hosseini et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0044385).
Regarding Claim 7, Khoshnevisan et al. teaches The UE of claim 6, however, Khoshnevisan et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the SRS resource of the SRS resource set for codebook based PUSCH transmission or the SRS resource subset of the SRS resource set for non-codebook based PUSCH transmission is indicated by all the bits in the SRI field in the DCI. Hosseini et al. teaches such a limitation.
Hosseini et al. is directed to uplink repetition configuration. More specifically, Hosseini et al. teaches wherein the SRS resource of the SRS resource set for codebook based PUSCH transmission or the SRS resource subset of the SRS resource set for non-codebook based PUSCH transmission is indicated by all the bits in the SRI field in the DCI (Hosseini et al. teaches that one or more SRS resources is indicated by a value of the corresponding bit field (e.g., an SRI field of DCI)(para. [0138][0139]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Khoshnevisan et al. so that the SRS resource of the SRS resource set is indicated by all the bits in the SRI field in the DCI, as taught by Hosseini et al. The modification would have allowed the system to support transmission of the repetitions (see Hosseini et al., para. [0006]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0289525), and further in view of Matsumura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0247563).
Regarding Claim 9, Khoshnevisan et al. teaches The UE of claim 5, and further, Khoshnevisan et al. teach wherein the CORESETPoolIndex value associated with the SRS resource set is indicated by one bit of the SRI field in the DCI (Khoshnevisan et al. teaches that if the UE receives a DCI message in a CORESET with a CORESET pool index value 0, an SRI field of the DCI message indicates one or more SRS resources within one of the SRS resource sets (para. [0091]), indicating that the CORESETPoolIndex value is associated with the SRS resource set).
However, Khoshnevisan et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the CORESETPoolIndex value associated with the SRS resource set is indicated by one bit of the SRI field in the DCI. Matsumura et al. teaches such a limitation.
Matsumura et al. is directed to terminal, radio communication method, and base station. More specifically, Matsumura et al. teaches that if the usage of the SRS resource set is codebook transmission, the maximum number of the SRI field value is 2 (the SRI field length is 1 bit) (para. [0156])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Khoshnevisan et al. so that the CORESETPoolIndex value associated with the SRS resource set is indicated by one bit of the SRI field in the DCI, as taught by Matsumura et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable appropriate determination of parameters related to UL transmission power control (see Matsumura et al., para. [0007]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0289525), Matsumura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0247563), and further in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0057080, hereinafter “Khoshnevisan’ 080).
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teachings of Khoshnevisan et al. and Matsumura et al. teach The UE of claim 9, however, the references do not explicitly teach wherein the one bit is an MSB of the SRI field. Khoshnevisan’ 080 teaches such a limitation.
Khoshnevisan’ 080 is directed to reference signal configurations for uplink beam selection. More specifically, Khoshnevisan’ 080 teaches that the downlink control message indicates the selected SRS resource set using one or more bits (e.g., most significant bits (MSBs)) of the SRI field of the downlink control message (para. [0121]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Khoshnevisan et al. and Matsumura et al. so that the one bit is the MSB of the SRI field, as taught by Khoshnevisan’ 080. The modification would have allowed the system to indicate the selected SRS resource set (see Khoshnevisan’ 080, para. [0121]).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0289525), Matsumura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0247563), and further in view of Tomeba et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0389885).
Regarding Claim 11, the combined teachings of Khoshnevisan et al. and Matsumura et al. teach The UE of claim 9, however, the references do not explicitly teach wherein the SRS resource of the SRS resource set for codebook based PUSCH transmission or the SRS resource subset of the SRS resource set for non-codebook based PUSCH transmission is indicated by all the bits excluding the one bit in the SRI field in the DCI. Tomeba et al. teaches such a limitation.
Tomeba et al. is directed to terminal apparatus, base station apparatus, and communication method. More specifically, Tomeba et al. teaches that the base station configures an SRI field including four bits, and that the one bit (SRS-QCL bit) that indicates an SRS resource set group is included in the multiple bits in the SRI field (para. [0169]). Further, Tomeba et al. teaches that the terminal apparatus is notified of an SRS resource using the remaining three bits (para. [0169]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Khoshnevisan et al. and Matsumura et al. so that the SRS resource of the SRS resource set is indicated by all the bits excluding the one bit in the SRI field in the DCI, as taught by Tomeba et al. The modification would have allowed the system to notify an SRI resource set group (see Tomeba et al., para. [0169]).
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teachings of Khoshnevisan et al. and Matsumura et al. teach The UE of claim 9, and further, the references teach wherein the power control parameter set is determined by mapping a SRI value indicated by all bits excluding the one bit in the SRI field in the DCI to the SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl list associated with the CORESETPoolIndex value (Khoshevisan et al. teaches that UE is configured with a list of one or more uplink shared channel power control parameters for uplink power control for a scheduled PUSCH (e.g., a list of SRI-PUSCH power control parameters with each member of the list corresponding to an uplink shared channel power control index (e.g., sri-PUSCH-powercontrolid: 0 … 15)(para. [0147]); that UE is configured with at least two lists of uplink shared channel power control parameters, and each list corresponds to a specific value of a CORESET pool index (para. [0152])).
However, the references do not explicitly teach wherein the power control parameter set is determined by mapping a SRI value indicated by all bits excluding the one bit in the SRI field in the DCI to the SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl list associated with the CORESETPoolIndex value. Tomeba et al. teaches such a limitation.
Tomeba et al. is directed to terminal apparatus, base station apparatus, and communication method. More specifically, Tomeba et al. teaches that the base station configures an SRI field including four bits, and that the one bit (SRS-QCL bit) that indicates an SRS resource set group is included in the multiple bits in the SRI field (para. [0169]). Further, Tomeba et al. teaches that the terminal apparatus is notified of an SRS resource using the remaining three bits (para. [0169]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Khoshnevisan et al. and Matsumura et al. so that the determination is made by mapping a SRI value indicated by all bits excluding the one bit in the SRI field in the DCI, as taught by Tomeba et al. The modification would have allowed the system to notify an SRI resource set group (see Tomeba et al., para. [0169]).
Conclusion
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417