DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A) Applicant’s argument that Goel does not teach the thermally conductive filler claimed is not persuasive. Goel teaches alumina (col. 3 lines 35-40), which has a coefficient of thermal conductivity of 25-35 W/mK, which is within the range that the instant specification teaches is a thermally conductive filler, namely greater than 5 W/mK. Further, a reference disclosing optional inclusion of a particular component teaches compositions that both do and do not contain that component (MPEP 2123 I).
B) Applicant’s argument that Goel teaches a blocked polyisocyanate prepolymer instead of a blocked polyurethane prepolymer is not persuasive. Goel teaches the polyurethane (title, abstract, col. 2 lines 44-55). In column 2 lines 44-55, Goel teaches the diisocyanate is reacted with a polyol (thereby forming the urethane bond), and the remaining isocyanate groups are capped with blocking agents, thereby forming a blocked polyurethane prepolymer.
C) In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add the epoxy silane of Herndon et al. into the composition of Goel and would have been motivated to do so to increase adhesion.
D) In response to applicant's argument that Goel and Ming are nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Goel and Ming et al. are analogous art since they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely epoxy compositions with polyurethanes.
E) In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the curing agent in the amount of Ming et al. and would have been motivated to do so in order to adequately cure the adhesive.
F) Applicant’s argument that the high loading of thermal fillers in Ming would be physically incompatible with the PSA requirements of Goel is not persuasive. Arguments presented by applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. There is no evidence on the record that the teachings of Goel and Ming are incompatible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 11-13, 15, 17, 22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel (U.S. Pat. 4,803,257) in view of Herndon et al. (U.S. Pat. 5,139,857).
Regarding claims 1 and 26: Goel teaches a two-component system (col. 3 lines 40-45) comprising a blocked polyurethane prepolymer which is the reaction product of a polyisocyanate with a phenol (col. 2 lines 45-55), a polyepoxy (col. 3 lines 65-68) such as a diglycidyl ether of bisphenol A (example 4), which is an aromatic epoxy resin. A second part comprises a nucleophilic cross-liner/polyamine (col. 3 lines 40-50) and a catalyst (col. 3 lines 29-31), along with a thermally conductive filler/metal oxide (col. 3 lines 35-40).
Goel does not teach the epoxy silane. However, Herndon et al. teaches a similar composition comprising an epoxy silane (col. 5 lines 20-25). Goel and Herndon et al. are analogous art since they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely epoxy and blocked urethane compositions cured with amines. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add the epoxy silane of Herndon et al. into the composition of Goel and would have been motivated to do so to increase adhesion.
While Goel does not explicitly disclose the thermal conductivity, of the composition, mere recognition of latent properties or additional advantages in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention (MPEP 2145 II).
Regarding claim 2: Goel teaches the blocked polyurethane prepolymer is made by reacting an aromatic diisocyanate/toluene diisocyanate with a polyether polyol/poly(propylene oxide) polyol and capping with phenol (example 1).
Regarding claims 5 and 6: Goel teaches a diglycidyl ether of bisphenol A (example 4), which is a reaction product of a diphenol/bisphenol A with epichlorohydrin.
Regarding claim 7: Goel teaches up to 25% by weight of a polyepoxy resin (col. 3 lines 20-25), which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use an overlapping amount of the aromatic epoxy resin and would have been motivated to do so since Goel teaches overlapping amounts provide improved tack, peel and shear strengths.
Regarding claim 11: Goel teaches a triamine (example 1).
Regarding claim 12: Goel teaches polyamines/diamines containing poly(alkylene oxide) chains in the backbone (col. 3 lines 20-25).
Regarding claim 13: Goel teaches a triamine having a molecular weight in a range of 200-10,000 that has a poly(alkylene oxide) backbone (col. 3 lines 55-61).
Regarding claim 15: Goel teaches tertiary amine catalysts (col. 3 lines 29-30).
Regarding claim 17: Goel teaches the basic claimed composition as set forth above. Not disclosed is the amount of the accelerator. However, Herndon et al. teaches 0-6 parts of an accelerator (col. 5 lines 20-25), which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the amount of accelerator in Herndon et al. in the composition of Goel and would have been motivated to do so in order to accelerate the reaction to an acceptable level.
Regarding claim 22: Goel teaches mixing the components and heating to cure (example 1).
Claims 1-13, 15, 16, 22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel (U.S. Pat. 4,803,257) in view of Mayer et al. (US 2022/0227991).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 9, 10, and 26: Goel teaches a two-component system (col. 3 lines 40-45) comprising a blocked polyurethane prepolymer which is the reaction product of a polyisocyanate with a phenol (col. 2 lines 45-55), a polyepoxy (col. 3 lines 65-68) such as a diglycidyl ether of bisphenol A (example 4), which is an aromatic epoxy resin. A second part comprises a nucleophilic cross-liner/polyamine (col. 3 lines 40-50) and a catalyst (col. 3 lines 29-31), along with a thermally conductive filler/metal oxide (col. 3 lines 35-40).
Goel does not teach the epoxy silane. However, Mayer et al. teaches an epoxy silane, called an adhesion promoter, such as 3-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane (para. 173), which has the formula claimed in claim 8 where R1, R2, and R3 are methyl groups and R4 is propyl. The adhesion promoter is used in an amount of 0.1-5 wt% (para. 179). Goel and Mayer et al. are analogous art since they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely two component compositions having epoxy resins and blocked polyurethane prepolymers. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the silane of Mayer et al. in the composition of Goel and would have been motivated to do so to promote adhesion.
While Goel does not explicitly disclose the thermal conductivity, of the composition, mere recognition of latent properties or additional advantages in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention (MPEP 2145 II).
Regarding claim 2: Goel teaches the blocked polyurethane prepolymer is made by reacting an aromatic diisocyanate/toluene diisocyanate with a polyether polyol/poly(propylene oxide) polyol and capping with phenol (example 1).
Regarding claim 3: Goel teaches the blocked polyurethane prepolymer is made by reacting toluene diisocyanate with poly(propylene oxide) polyol and capping with phenol (example 1).
Not disclosed is the phenol is cardanol. However, Mayer et al. teaches an impact modifier that is the reaction product of a diol, a polyisocyanate and cardanol (abstract). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the cardanol of Mayer et al. as the phenol of Goel and would have been motivated to do so since it is based on natural, renewable resources and is inexpensive, as evidenced by Mayer et al. (para. 119).
Regarding claim 4: Goel teaches the basic claimed two component composition/kit as set forth above. Not disclosed is the amount of the blocked polyurethane. However, Mayer et al. teaches 3-45 wt% of the blocked polyurethane/impact modifier in part A/component K1 (para. 102). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use an overlapping amount of the blocked polyurethane as in Mayer et al. in the composition of Goel and would have been motivated to do so in order to sufficiently protect against impacts.
Regarding claims 5 and 6: Goel teaches a diglycidyl ether of bisphenol A (example 4), which is a reaction product of a diphenol/bisphenol A with epichlorohydrin.
Regarding claim 7: Goel teaches up to 25% by weight of a polyepoxy resin (col. 3 lines 20-25), which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use an overlapping amount of the aromatic epoxy resin and would have been motivated to do so since Goel teaches overlapping amounts provide improved tack, peel and shear strengths.
Regarding claim 11: Goel teaches a triamine (example 1).
Regarding claim 12: Goel teaches polyamines/diamines containing poly(alkylene oxide) chains in the backbone (col. 3 lines 20-25).
Regarding claim 13: Goel teaches a triamine having a molecular weight in a range of 200-10,000 that has a poly(alkylene oxide) backbone (col. 3 lines 55-61).
Regarding claim 15: Goel teaches tertiary amine catalysts (col. 3 lines 29-30).
Regarding claim 16: Goel teaches the basic claimed composition as set forth above. Not disclosed is the diazabicyclo[2.2.2]octane. However, Mayer et al. teaches a diazabicyclo[2.2.2]octane as an accelerator (para. 97). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the accelerator of Mayer et al. in the composition of Goel and would have been motivated to do so since Mayer et al. teaches they accelerate the reaction between amino groups and epoxy groups.
Regarding claim 22: Goel teaches mixing the components and heating to cure (example 1).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel (U.S. Pat. 4,803,257) in view of Mayer et al. (US 2022/0227991) or Herndon et al. (U.S. Pat. 5,139,857) as applied to claim 1 set forth above and in view of Ming et al. (US 2017/0288279).
Regarding claim 14: Goel teaches the basic claimed kit as set forth above. Not disclosed is the amount of nucleophilic crosslinker. However, Ming et al. teaches a similar composition having a curing agent in an amount of 0.01-90wt% (para. 60), which overlaps the claimed range. Goel and Ming et al. are analogous art since they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely epoxy compositions with polyurethanes. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the curing agent in the amount of Ming et al. and would have been motivated to do so in order to adequately cure the adhesive.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, and 22-24 of copending Application No. 18/702,823 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the copending requires a two-component thermally conductive adhesive formulation comprising a first part comprising a blocked polyurethane prepolymer which is the reaction product of a polyisocyanate with a phenol, an aromatic epoxy resin, an epoxy silane and a second part comprising a nucleophilic cross-linker capable of reacting with the blocked polyurethane prepolymer and the aromatic epoxy resin, and a catalyst capable of promoting the reaction of nucleophile with the blocked polyurethane prepolymer and the aromatic epoxy resin and wherein the first part and/or the second part comprise a thermally conductive filler, as does claim 1 of the instant. Claim 5 of the copending application overlaps in scope with claim 2 of the instant, claims 22-24 of the copending application overlap in scope with claim 6 of the instant
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/MEGAN MCCULLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767