DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Office apologies for the misspelling of Qin in the prior Office action which was due to spellcheck issue that was not caught.
The Applicant has argued that the amended claims overcome the prior art because Qin has a baffle within the annular space and that the annular space is not uniform; the Office respectfully disagrees because Qin discloses this structure in ancient art whilst Qin’s invention was an improvement to that configuration, nonetheless that structure and claimed elements are known in the art as evidenced by the Figure 2, reproduced below:
Regarding the drawings the Applicant has argued that the “toilet” and “washing device” are convention elements that are convention and well known in the art and so need not be disclosed; the Office respectfully disagrees because there are many variants of these devices and it would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill how the instant invention would interact with them
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the newly amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Additionally, this feature of a uniform annular gap appears not to be critical to the invention as evidenced by the applicants embodiments of non- uniform annular gaps as evidence in the applicant’s written disclosure (PG Pub. US 2024/0011665), highlighted below:
[0077] In the embodiment of FIGS. 3A-3C, the cross section of the narrowed section is longitudinally designed to be continuously narrowed in the direction toward the water outlet 114 (see also FIG. 2B). More preferably, the length of the narrowed section 132 is as long as possible, that is, the continuous narrowing range is as long as possible (for example, from one end of the housing 110 of the instant heating unit 100 to the other end thereof), so that a uniform and continuous small slope can be obtained, which is favorable for both turbulence and more uniform heating. However, it is also conceivable that the cross section of the narrowed section 132 is narrowed discontinuously, for example, in a stepped manner or intermittently. In the case of continuous narrowing, the cross section of the narrowed section 132 can be uniformly narrowed, that is, the narrowing slope remains the same along the longitudinal direction, but it may also be that the narrowing slope is variable, for example, the narrowing slope toward the water outlet 114 is large first and then becomes small, or is small first and then becomes big, or the like. In another embodiment as shown in FIG. 7, the annular gap includes a narrowed section 132 and a non-narrowed section, the non-narrowed section comprising a large diameter section 136 (the right section in the figure) and a small diameter section 134 (the left side section in the figure), while the narrowed section 132 is located between the large diameter section 136 and the small diameter section 134. As can be seen from FIG. 7, in this embodiment, the narrowing in the narrowed section 132 is still uniform narrowing, that is, the slope remains the same.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the toilet and washing device of claims 15-16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 does not have a narrowed section, so the proper article should be indefinite , i.e., “a”, not “the. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qin (CN 104776587 A) with English translation provided by Applicant referenced.
Regarding claim 1, Qin (Q) discloses an instant heating unit for heating washing water of a toilet, the instant heating unit comprising a housing (100, Figure 3) having a water inlet (101) and a water outlet (102), configured for washing water to be heated flowing into the housing (100) through the water inlet and flowing out of the housing through the water outlet (114); and a heating device (200), the heating device being of a hollow tube shape (203,Figure 4), arranged inside the housing (100), and extending along the longitudinal direction of the housing (Figure 2), wherein an inner cavity and a longitudinal center line are defined inside the heating device ; wherein an annular gap (region between (100 and 200) in Figure 2) is formed between the outer surface of the heating device and the inner surface of the housing, the washing water configured to flow into the interior of the heating device from the water inlet, to flow from the interior of the heating device to the annular gap, and to flow out of the water outlet through the annular gap (Abstract, See arrow path in Figure 2) and wherein the heating device (200, Figure 2) is arranged at the center in the housing, so that the gap width of the annular gap is circumferentially distributed in a uniform manner in each cross section along the longitudinal center line.
Regarding claim 2, Qin (Q) discloses the instant heating unit according to claim 1, wherein the longitudinal center line (parallel to arrows in Figure 20 of the heating device (200) coincides with the longitudinal center line of the inner cavity of the housing (100).
Regarding claim 7, Qin (Q) discloses the instant heating unit according to claim 1, wherein the heating device is arranged such that the flowing direction of the washing water therein is opposite to the flowing direction thereof in the annular gap (arrow in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Qin (Q) discloses the instant heating unit according to claim 1, wherein the housing (100) further comprises a transitioning opening (Below 910, Figure 10) and a water mixing section (Below 900 in Figure 10), the washing water is configured to laterally leave, through the transitioning opening, the annular gap (region between (100 and 200) in Figure 2) and enter the water mixing section, and the water mixing section is in direct communication with the water outlet (500 in Figure 10).
Regarding claim 9, Qin (Q) discloses the instant heating unit according to claim 8, wherein a first spoiler mechanism (912, Figures 10 &13) is provided in the water mixing section, and the first spoiler mechanism comprises a baffle capable of defining a tortuous path (912) for the washing water to flow in the water mixing section.
Regarding claim 10, Qin (Q) discloses the instant heating unit according to claim 1, wherein the instant heating unit further comprises a second spoiler mechanism (Protrusion near curved arrows in Figure 10), the second spoiler mechanism comprises vanes, and the washing water that leaves the interior of the heating device hits the vanes and flows to the annular gap (Curved arrow and region between (100 and 200) in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Qin (Q) discloses the instant heating unit (100) according to claim 10, wherein the second spoiler mechanism (Protrusion near curved arrows in Figure 10) is arranged at or close to an end of the housing (100) of the instant heating unit that is away from the water inlet (101, Figure 3).
Regarding claim 12, Qin (Q) discloses the instant heating unit according to claim 10, wherein the vanes of the second spoiler mechanism (Protrusion near curved arrows in Figure 10) can be rotated. As a clarification, the figures disclose that the vanes are perpendicular to the flow, but could readily be rotates or angled from the center to create less turbulence, if desired.
Regarding claim 13, Qin (Q) discloses the instant heating unit according to claim 1, wherein a water-cooling heat-conducting plate (900, i.e., radiating cooper plate, Figures 10 &13) capable of contacting the washing water inside the housing (100) is attached to the instant heating unit, and the water-cooling heat-conducting plate (900) is used for heat dissipation for a control circuit (700).
Regarding claim 14, Qin (Q) discloses the instant heating unit according to claim 1, wherein the instant heating unit comprises an independent temperature safety device, the temperature safety device comprises a temperature sensor (601), and when the temperature sensor detects that the temperature of the washing water exceeds a preset temperature, the temperature safety device can stop the washing water from entering the instant heating unit (Claim 8).
Regarding claim 15, Qin (Q) discloses a toilet, comprising the instant heating unit according to claim 1; a water inlet pipe, the water inlet pipe connected to the water inlet (101 Figure 3) of the instant heating unit, so as to cause the washing water to flow into the instant heating unit; and a washing device, wherein the water outlet (102) of the instant heating unit (Page 3, Description, par. 5-8) is connected to the washing device, so as to cause the heated washing water to wash (Page 3, par. 11-12).
Regarding claim 16, Qin (Q) discloses the toilet according to claim 15, wherein the toilet further comprises an inlet sensor (Page 6, Par.5) and an outlet sensor (500) to monitor a temperature of the washing water, and the toilet further comprises a controller (910), wherein the inlet sensor and the outlet sensor transmit monitored water temperature information to the controller, thereby controlling the heating power of the heating device (Claim 14).
Regarding claim 17, Qin (Q) discloses the instant heating method for heating washing water of a toilet by means of the instant heating unit according to claim 1, comprising causing washing water to be heated to flow, via a water inlet (101, Figure 3) of the instant heating unit, into housing (100); causing the washing water to flow, via the water inlet (101), into a hollow tubular heating device arranged inside the housing; causing the washing water to flow from the interior of the heating device to an annular gap (Space between (100 and 200) in Figure 2), the annular gap being formed between the outer surface of the heating device and the inner surface of the housing; and causing the washing water to flow out of the water outlet of the instant heating unit (100) through the annular gap (Claim 5).
Regarding claim 18, Qin (Q) discloses the instant heating method according to claim 17, wherein the instant heating method further comprises causing the washing water to laterally flow, through a transitioning opening (Below 910, Figure 10) formed on the housing (100), out of the annular gap ((100 and 200) in Figure 2), and into a water mixing section (Below 900 in Figure 10), wherein the water mixing section is in direct communication with the water outlet (102).
Regarding claim 19, Qin (Q) discloses the instant heating method according to claim 17, wherein the method further comprises causing the washing water to flow along a tortuous path (Below (912) in Figure 10) for the washing water to flow in the water mixing section (Below 900 in Figure 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin (CN 104776587 A) in view of Loktev et al. (US 2004/0256375).
Regarding claim 3, Qin (Q) discloses the instant heating unit according to claim 2, but not that the annular gap comprises a narrowed section and a non-narrowed section, the non-narrowed section comprising a large diameter section and a small diameter section , and wherein the narrowed section is located between the large diameter section and the small diameter section.
However Loktev (L) disclose a water heater (Abstract), wherein the annular gap (16, Figure 1) comprises a narrowed section (@25) and a non-narrowed section (@16), the non-narrowed section comprising a large diameter section (Below numeral 10 in Figure 1) and a small diameter section (Below numeral 25 in Figure 1), and wherein the narrowed section is located between the large diameter section and the small diameter section. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to taper the annular gap in order to create turbulence and increase the heat transfer rate to the water.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin (CN 104776587 A) in view of Quinn (US 2022/0243955).
Regarding claim 4, Qin (Q) discloses the instant heating unit according to claim 1, but not that the annular gap comprises a narrowed section, and the gap width of the narrowed section narrows down along the longitudinal direction of the housing and towards the water inlet.
However, Quinn discloses water heater, wherein the annular gap (Between 150 and 130 in Figure 1) comprises a narrowed section (Area directly below numeral 125 in Figure 1), and the gap width of the narrowed section narrows down along the longitudinal direction of the housing and towards the water inlet (140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to taper the external pipe in order to seal the device and prevent leakage.
Regarding claim 5, Qin (Q), as modified, discloses the instant heating unit (100) according to claim 4, wherein the gap width of the narrowed section continuously and uniformly narrows down along the longitudinal direction and towards the water inlet Area directly below numeral 125 in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Qin (Q), as modified, discloses the instant heating unit (100) according to claim 4, wherein the size of the annular gap (Q-Space between (100 and 200) in Figure 2) is in a range of 2 to 5 mm, so that vortexes are generated in the washing water that flows to the water outlet (Q-Claim 5) via the narrowed section.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOHN E. BARGERO
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762