DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mickiewicz et al. (US 2019/0069934 A1).
Claim 1. Mickiewicz discloses a rod reduction device comprising:
a body (locking member 204) including a housing (locking member 204) defining a cavity (central opening 250);
a first member (pivoting arm 206a) and a second member (pivoting arm 206b), each of the first and second members extending distally from the housing (see Fig. 2A; note that the claim does not require that the first and second members be directly connected to the housing);
a first finger assembly (distal end of pivoting arm 206a including finger 274a) and a second finger assembly (distal end of pivoting arm 206b including finger 274b) being secured to respective distal ends of the first member and the second member, wherein the first finger assembly and the second finger assembly are configured to, collectively, releasably engage a vertebral anchor therebetween (see para. 0099); and
a screw assembly (housing 202 and proximal portion 304 of reducer shaft 300) defining a longitudinal axis, at least a portion of the screw assembly being positioned within the cavity of the housing (see Fig. 7F), wherein the screw assembly comprises:
an inner shaft (proximal portion 304 of reducer shaft 300) having exterior threading (exterior thread 316); and
an outer shaft (housing 202) having interior threading (threaded surface 218t) and circumscribing the inner shaft, wherein at least a portion of the outer shaft is rotatably coupled to the housing, wherein the exterior threading of the inner shaft is threadably engaged with the interior threading of the outer shaft, and wherein the inner shaft is movable along the longitudinal axis upon rotation of the outer shaft and configured to reduce a spinal rod into the vertebral anchor (Figs. 2A-10H).
Claim 2. Mickiewicz discloses a reduction carriage (distal portion 306) connected to a distal end of the inner shaft (Figs. 2A-10H).
Claim 3. Mickiewicz discloses wherein the reduction carriage is fixedly connected to the distal end of the inner shaft (via coupling 318; see para. 0117) (Figs. 2A-10H).
Claim 4. Mickiewicz discloses wherein the reduction carriage is rotationally connected to the distal end of the inner shaft (see para. 0117) (Figs. 2A-10H).
Claim 5. Mickiewicz discloses wherein the reduction carriage is configured to urge a spinal rod into the vertebral anchor (see Figs. 8C-8D) (Figs. 2A-10H).
Claim 6. Mickiewicz discloses wherein the reduction carriage is movable between a retracted position (see Fig. 8C) and a reduced position (see Fig. 8D) (Figs. 2A-10H).
Claim 7. Mickiewicz discloses wherein the outer shaft further comprises a knob (handle 402), wherein the knob is fixedly connected to a proximal end of the outer shaft (via reducer shaft 300; note that the claim does not require a direct connection between the knob and the outer shaft nor does the claim require that actuation of the knob have an effect on the outer shaft) (Figs. 2A-10H).
Claim 8. Mickiewicz discloses wherein the outer shaft is not translatable relative to the housing along the longitudinal axis (due to pins 244; see para. 0096) (Figs. 2A-10H).
Claim 9. Mickiewicz discloses wherein the first member and the second member collectively define a channel (see Fig. 8C, which shows that spinal rod 106 is located between pivoting arms 206a and 206b and thus in a channel defined by pivoting arms 206a and 206b) configured to receive a spinal rod (Figs. 2A-10H).
Claim 10. Mickiewicz discloses wherein the first and second finger assemblies comprise a first finger (finger 274a) and a second finger (finger 274b), respectively, each of the first and second fingers having a finger tip (see Fig. 5, which shows that fingers 274a and 274b each include a projection) at a distal end thereof (Figs. 2A-10H).
Claim 11. Mickiewicz discloses wherein the finger tip of each of the first and second fingers is configured to engage opposite sides of the vertebral anchor (see para. 0152) (Figs. 2A-10H).
Claim 12. Mickiewicz discloses wherein the finger tip of each of the first and second fingers is configured to snap into pockets on the opposite sides of the vertebral anchor (see para. 0152) (Figs. 2A-10H).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 17, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Mickiewicz fails to disclose that the inner shaft is movable along the longitudinal axis upon rotation of the outer shaft and configured to reduce a spinal rod into the vertebral anchor because reducer shaft 300 is rotated to effect distal movement of itself instead of housing 202 being rotated to effect distal movement of reducer shaft 300 (see pgs. 2-4). The Examiner disagrees. As noted by Applicant, Mickiewicz states that “at least a portion of the reducer shaft 300 can rotate relative to the instrument body 200 about the axis A1 to advance the reducer shaft 300 distally relative to the instrument body and a bone anchor 100 secured thereto, thereby urging a rod towards a rod seat of the bone anchor” (see para. 0113). Furthermore, it is noted that housing 202 is part of instrument body 200 (see para. 0073). Thus, in operation as described by Mickiewicz, holding housing 202 steady while rotating reducer shaft 300 results in distal movement of reducer shaft 300 relative to housing 202. However, claim 1 is directed to an apparatus, not a method, and thus the device of Mickiewicz need not be explicitly disclosed as functioning as recited in claim 1 but must instead be capable of such use. In the instant case, holding reducer shaft 300 steady and rotating housing 202 would result in housing 202 moving proximally relative to reducer shaft 300, which would also necessarily result in reducer shaft 300 moving distally relative to housing 202 as recited in claim 1. Furthermore, such movement is capable of occurring when the first and second finger assemblies are engaged with a vertebral anchor to result in the reduction of a spinal rod into the vertebral anchor. Accordingly, the device of Mickiewicz is capable of functioning as recited in claim 1 and therefore Mickiewicz anticipates claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIANNA N HARVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773