DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13, 17-18, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 2019/0131596).
As to Claim 11, Yang et al. discloses a battery module comprising:
a battery cell stack formed by stacking a plurality of battery cells, a module frame for housing the battery cell stack, (see e.g. battery cells 50, 52, 54, and etc. housed in battery module 30, [0042] and Figs. 8) and an insulating sheet layer located between the battery cell stack and an upper surface of the module frame (see e.g. faceplate 660, which is made of the insulating material plastic and top cover plate 150, which reads on the claimed upper surface. 660 can reasonably be said to be between located between the battery cells and the upper surface, [0064]-[0065] and Fig. 15),
wherein an opening is formed in the upper surface of the module frame (see e.g. aperture 1010 in top cover plate 150, Fig. 23), and
wherein a protrusion formed in the insulating sheet layer is inserted into the opening (see e.g. coupling tab member 766 formed in faceplate 660 which reads on the claimed protrusion and is inserted into aperture 1010, [0064], [0071], and Fig. 15).
As to Claim 12, Yang et al. discloses a battery module comprising: the battery module of claim 11, wherein:
the module frame comprises a frame member to which the battery cell stack is mounted (see e.g. u-shaped frame member 120, Fig. 4), and an upper plate that is located opposite to a bottom part of the frame member, and has the opening formed therein (see e.g. top cover plate 150, which reads on the upper plate, is located opposite to the bottom plate of 120, and has opening 1010 formed therein, [0043] and Fig. 4, Fig. 23, and Illustration 1 below).
As to Claim 13, Yang et al. discloses the battery module of claim 12, wherein: the frame member further comprises side surface parts respectively extending upward from opposite sides of the bottom part (see e.g., Fig. 4 and Illustration 1 below).
Illustration 1: Reproduction with annotation of Fig. 4 of Yang et al. .
As to Claim 17, Yang et al. discloses the battery module of claim 11, wherein:
the protrusion of the insulating sheet layer is exposed to the outside of the module frame by the opening (see e.g. coupling tab member 766, which reads on the claimed protrusion and is exposed to the outside of the module frame by aperture 1010, Figs. 2, 4, and 15).
As to Claim 18, Yang et al. discloses the battery module of claim 11, wherein:
the battery module further comprises end plates located on each of an opened first side and an opened second side of the module frame (see e.g. side cover plates 160/162, [0042] and Fig. 4), and the opening is formed adjacent to one of the end plates than a central part of the battery cell stack (see e.g. apertures 1010 in top cover plate 150, which are closer to the end plates 160/162 than the center of the battery cell stack, Figs. 4 and 23).
As to Claim 20, Yang et al. discloses the battery module of claim 11, wherein: the insulating sheet layer is adhered to an upper surface of the module frame (see e.g. faceplate 660, which reads on the claimed insulating sheet layer and can reasonably be said to be adhered to upper surface 150 because these components are assembled together to form a module and fastened together using bolt 170 and coupling tabs 760, [0114] and Figs. 4 and 23).
As to Claim 22, Yang et al. disclsoes a battery pack comprising the battery module of claim 11 (see e.g. battery system 10, [0041] and Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2019/0131596) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Schmid-Schoenbei et al. (US 2018/0348305).
As to Claim 14, Yang et al. discloses the battery module of claim 11.
Yang et al. does not disclose a battery module that further comprises a temperature sensor between a lower surface of the insulating sheet layer where the protrusion is formed and the battery cell stack.
Schmid-Schoenbei et al., also working in the field of battery module design, teaches a batter module in which a temperature sensor is positioned above a battery cell stack (see e.g., sensor element 11 above battery cell 20, [0023] and Fig. 1). Schmid-Schoenbei et al. further teaches that this arrangement allows for the temperature of the battery to be monitored (see e.g. [0028]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to similarly provide Yang et al.’s battery module with the temperature sensor taught by Schmid-Schoenbei et al. such that said sensor is adjacent to the battery stack of Yang et al. such that the temperature sensor is between a lower surface of the insulating sheet layer where the protrusion is formed and the battery cell stack. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such an addition in order to allow the temperature of the battery to be monitored, as taught by Schmid-Schoenbei et al..
As to Claim 15, Yang et al. in view of Schmid-Schoenbei et al. teaches the battery module of claim 14, as set forth above.
Yang et al.’s battery module comprises an insulating sheet layer comprising a protrusion, and further comprises a recessed part formed inside said protrusion (see e.g. Figs. 16, 32, and Illustration 2 below). Yang et al. in view of Schmid-Schoenbei et al. as applied above does not disclose a part of the temperature sensor is arranged in the recessed part.
Schmid-Schoenbei et al., also working in the field of battery module design, teaches a batter module in which a temperature sensor is positioned above a battery cell stack (see e.g., sensor element 11 above battery cell 20, [0023] and Fig. 1). Schmid-Schoenbei et al. further teaches that this arrangement allows for the temperature of the battery to be monitored (see e.g. [0028]).
Illustration 2: Reproduction with annotation of Figs. 16 and 32 of Yang et al. .
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to similarly provide Yang et al.’s battery module with the temperature sensor taught by Schmid-Schoenbei et al. such that said sensor is adjacent to the battery stack of Yang et al. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such an addition in order to allow the temperature of the battery to be monitored, as taught by Schmid-Schoenbei et al. Further, said artisan would have recognized that the recessed part of Yang et al. would be an obvious location to arrange at least part of a temperature sensor, as said recessed part is adjacent to the battery stack of Yang et al.’s battery module.
As to Claim 16, Yang et al. in view of Schmid-Schoenbei et al. teaches the battery module of claim 14 wherein the temperature sensor is implemented using a thermistor device (see e.g. Schmid-Schoenbei et al.: [0003], which teaches that the temperature sensor may be a semiconductor temperature sensor element, which reads on the claimed thermistor device).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2019/0131596) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Luz et al. (DE 102018209045A1, as read via machine translation).
As to claim 19, Yang et al. discloses the battery module of claim 11.
However, in Yang et al.’s battery module the insulating sheet layer comprises plastic rather than a polycarbonate (PC) film (see e.g. faceplate 660, which is made of the insulating material plastic and top cover plate 150, which reads on the claimed upper surface. [0064]-[0065] and Figs. 4, 7, 15 and 23).
Luz et al., also working in the field of battery module design, teaches an analogous battery module comprising a module frame (see e.g. housing 3) having a lid that may be made of a thermoplastic material, preferably polycarbonate (see e.g. [0023] and Fig. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would therefore have found it obvious to modify the plastic insulation sheet of Yang et al. to be a polycarbonate insulation material as taught by Luz et al., because Luz et al. teaches that polycarbonate is a preferable material for a battery housing.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2019/0131596) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2012/0028094).
As to claim 21, Yang et al. discloses the battery module of claim 11, including an insulating sheet layer (see e.g. faceplate 660, [0064]-[0065] and Fig. 15).
Yang et al. is silent as to the thickness of the insulating sheet layer, and does not explicitly disclose an insulating sheet layer having a thickness of 0.1 mm to 0.3 mm.
Kim et al., also working on the problem of battery module design, teaches a battery module (see e.g. battery pack 100, [0040] and Figs. 1 and 3) having an insulating sheet layer with a thickness of about 0.05 to about 0.3 mm, which substantially overlaps and thereby renders obvious the instantly-claimed range of 0.1 mm to 0.3 mm (see e.g. insulation member 120, [0012], [0040], and Figs. 1 and 3). Kim et al. further teaches that this insulating sheet layer prevents undesirable short circuits between the battery cells of the battery module and external devices (see e.g. [0044]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to design the insulating sheet member of Yang et al. to have a thickness of 0.1 mm to 0.3 mm, because Kim et al. teaches that an insulating sheet member of this thickness prevents undesirable short circuits between the battery cells of the battery module and external devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Yumoto et al. (US 2021/0111460) discloses a battery module having an insulting sheet layer having protrusions that insert into grooves in an upper surface of the module frame.
/A.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TONG GUO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723