DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-5 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on December 3, 2025. However, the claims were also cancelled, therefore, the restriction is moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nauka et al (US 2018/0126631) in view of Knoerzer (US 5,230,963).
With regards to claims 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 14, and 15, Nauka teaches a three-dimensional printing build material (abstract) that includes a polymer particle (abstract) that includes polyolefins (0038) and a radiation absorbing additive (abstract), and water (0021).
Nauka does not teach the addition of the crosslinkable group on the polymer.
Knoerzer teaches a multilayer film (abstract) containing a polypropylene and maleated polypropylene (abstract) and teaches the motivation for using a maleic anhydride modified polypropylene resin to be because ads to the adhesion effect of the polymer (column 2, lines 7-19). Nauka and Knoerzer are analogous in the art of polymeric compositions. In light of the benefit above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the modified polymer of Knoerzer as the polymer of Nauka, thereby obtaining the present invention.
Nauka does not teach the addition of the multifunctional compound.
However, it is well known to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention that the motivation for adding multifunctional monomers to be because they increase the reactivity for crosslinking of the composition. In light of the benefit above one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention would know to add a multifunctional monomer to the composition of Nauka, thereby obtaining the present invention.
With regards to claim 8, Nauka teaches the polymer to be a copolymer of polyethylene and polypropylene (0039).
With regards to claim 12, Nauka teaches the particle size of the polymer to be from 1 µm to about 100 µm (0038).
With regards to claim 13, Nauka teaches the absorbing agent to include metal dithiolenes (0035).
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763