DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: numbers are mentioned in the claims, but the rest of the claims do not have any numbers mentioned, they should be gotten rid of to match the language of the other claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6-10 and 13 recites the limitation "the top support member of the rider supporting structure" in line 11 of claim 6, line 9 of claim 7, line 7 of claim 8, line 9 of claim 9, line 12 of claim 10 and lines 13-14 of claim 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 5-7, 9-11 and 13 recites the limitation "the at least top structural member" in line 2 of claim 5, line 5 of claim 6, in line 5 of claim 7, lines 5-6 of claim 9, line 5 of claim 10, lines 6-8 of claim 11 and line 11 of claim 7 There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 6, 7, and 9-13 recites the limitation "the at least bottom structural member" in line 8 of claim 6, lines 5-6 of claim 7, line 4-5 of claim 9, line 8 of claim 10, and lines 6-8 of claim 11, lines 2-3 of claim 12 and lines 4-10 of claim 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 6-10 and 12-14 recites the limitation "the at least one rear structural member" in structure" in lines 2-3 of claim 6, lines 2-3 of claim 7, lines 2-5 of claim 8, lines 2-3 of claim 9, lines 2-3 of claim 10, line 2-3 of claim 12, lines 7-8 of claim 13 and line 9 of claim 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 10-14 recites the limitation "the at least one front structural member" in lines 9-10 of claim 10, lines 2-3 of claim 11, lines 6-7 of claim 12, line 8 of claim 13 and line 6 of claim 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160121964 A1 ("Nagaya") in view of US 20120175178 A ("Iwakami").
Claim 1: Nagaya teaches a vehicle (10) comprising: a frame comprising a plurality of structural elements (17, 18, 19, 20; Fig. 3) coupled with each other to define a compartment (35; para. 38, lines 4-6); at least one energy unit compartment (36) positioned on one of the plurality of structural elements, the at least one energy unit compartment adapted to accommodate at least energy unit (26, 29) (Fig. 5; para. 39, lines 1-5); and a thermal management system adapted to maintain a temperature of the at least one energy unit compartment, wherein the thermal management system comprising: at least one inlet fluid passage/channel (41, 42) mounted on at least one of the plurality of structural elements and adapted to allow a flow of fluid from the ambient environment towards the at least one energy unit compartment, wherein the at least one energy unit compartment is exposed to the flow of fluid entering through the at least one inlet fluid passage/channel (para. 49, lines 4-11); and at least one outlet fluid passage/channel (40, 40a) mounted on at least one of the plurality of structural elements and positioned downstream with respect to the at least one energy unit compartment (Fig. 5), wherein the at least one outlet fluid passage/channel is adapted to allow egress of the flow of fluid from the vehicle (para. 44, lines 5-9). But does not teach that the compartment is adapted to accommodate a cargo.
However, Iwakami in a similar field of art teaches the compartment (38) is adapted to accommodate a cargo (para. 118, lines 1-14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Nagaya with the features of Iwakami. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Iwakami teaches the compartment so as to provide a storage box that “is supported to the cross member 107, which is provided over between the rear frames 29 and the cross member 114” (para. 99, lines 1-3).
Claim 2: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Nagaya further teaches the vehicle, wherein the frame (17, 18, 19, 20) comprises a rider supporting structure (14, 14A) positioned rearward with respect to the compartment (35), the rider supporting structure is adapted to be operatively coupled with a rear wheel (13) of the vehicle (Figs. 3 and 5), wherein the rider supporting structure comprises at a top support member (14A), and a bottom support member (14), wherein the top support member is adapted to hold a rider of the vehicle, and the top support member is positioned at a height with respect to the compartment (35) in manner that a centre of gravity of the rider remains higher than a centre of gravity of the compartment (Fig. 5).
Iwakami in a similar field of art teaches a center of gravity of the rider remains higher than a centre of gravity of the cargo held in the compartment (38) (para. 118, lines 1-14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Nagaya with the features of Iwakami. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Iwakami teaches the compartment is a storage box that “the storage box 38 is arranged below the riding seat 39 on which a rider sits” (para. 118, lines 1-2).
Claim 3: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Nagaya further teaches the vehicle, wherein the plurality of structural elements comprises at least one front structural member (18), at least one rear structural member (19a), at least one bottom structural member (20), and at least one top structural member (17, 19) (Fig. 3).
Claim 4: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Nagaya further teaches the vehicle, further comprising a handlebar (15) adapted to be operated to control a direction of traversing of the vehicle, wherein the handlebar is positioned longitudinally spaced apart from a steering axis of the vehicle (16) (Figs. 3 and 5).
Claim 5: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 4 as noted above. Nagaya further teaches the vehicle, wherein the handlebar (15) is mounted on the at least one top structural member of the frame (17 via 16; Fig. 3), wherein a vertical axis of the handlebar is spaced apart from a vertical central axis of the compartment (35).
Claim 7: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Nagaya further teaches the vehicle, wherein: the at least one energy unit compartment (36) is mounted on the at least one rear structural member (19a) (para. 39, lines 1-5); an inlet fluid passage/channel (41) of the thermal management system is positioned on the at least one top structural member (19), the inlet fluid passage/channel comprises an inlet (42) located at a front end of the vehicle (Figs. 3 and 5); and the at least one outlet fluid passage/channel (40, 40a) positioned rearward with respect to the compartment (35) and below the top support member (14A) of the rider supporting structure (Fig. 5), wherein the inlet fluid passage/channel is adapted to allow a flow of fluid from the ambient environment through a front end of the vehicle towards the at least one energy unit compartment (para. 45, lines 1-10 and para. 49, lines 4-11), and the at least one outlet fluid passage/channel is adapted to egress the flow of fluid flowing through a rear end of the vehicle (para. 44, lines 5-9).
Claim 8: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Nagaya further teaches the vehicle, wherein: the at least one energy unit compartment (36) is mounted on the at least one rear structural member (19a) (para. 39, lines 1-5); an inlet fluid passage/channel (41) of the thermal management system is positioned on the at least one rear structural member (end point of the passage/channel 40 is considered to be on the end); and the at least one outlet fluid passage/channel (40, 40a) positioned rearward with respect to the compartment (35) and below the top support member (14A) of the rider supporting structure (Fig. 5), wherein the inlet fluid passage/channel is adapted to allow a flow of fluid from the ambient environment towards the at least one energy unit compartment (para. 45, lines 1-10 and para. 49, lines 4-11), and the at least one outlet fluid passage/channel is adapted to egress the flow of fluid flowing through a rear end of the vehicle (para. 44, lines 5-9).
Claim 9: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Nagaya further teaches the vehicle, wherein: the at least one energy unit compartment (36) is mounted on the at least one rear structural member (19a) (para. 39, lines 1-5); an inlet fluid passage/channel (41) of the thermal management system is positioned on the at least one top structural member (19), wherein the inlet fluid passage/channel comprises an inlet (42) located on a top portion (Figs. 3 and 5). and the at least one outlet fluid passage/channel (40, 40a) positioned rearward with respect to the compartment (35) and below the top support member (14A) of the rider supporting structure (Fig. 5), wherein the inlet fluid passage/channel is adapted to allow a flow of fluid from the ambient environment towards the at least one energy unit compartment (para. 45, lines 1-10 and para. 49, lines 4-11), and the at least one outlet fluid passage/channel is adapted to egress the flow of fluid flowing through a rear end of the vehicle (para. 44, lines 5-9).
Claim 11: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Nagaya further teaches the vehicle wherein: the at least one energy unit compartment (36), an inlet fluid passage/channel (41) of the thermal management system, wherein the inlet fluid passage/channel comprises an inlet (42) located on a front portion of the at least one top structural member (19), and an outlet (40, 40a) located on the at least one top structural member (19); and wherein the inlet fluid passage/channel is adapted to allow a flow of fluid through the inlet towards the at least one energy unit compartment (para. 45, lines 1-10 and para. 49, lines 4-11) and allow egress the flow of fluid through the outlet (para. 44, lines 5-9). But does not teach the at least one energy unit compartment and the inlet fluid passage/channel are located on the at least one front structural member and that the outlet is located on a front portion of the at least one top structural member.
However, Iwakami in a similar field of art teaches the inlet fluid passage/channel (88, 89; Fig. 5) is located on the at least one front structural member (26, 27; Fig. 2) and that the outlet (105, 106; Fig. 5) is located on a front portion of the at least one top structural member (Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Nagaya with the features of Iwakami. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Iwakami teaches “a cooling air inlet duct which has a downstream end portion thereof connected to the battery case; and a cooling fan which introduces cooling air into the battery case through the cooling air inlet duct” (Abstract).
The claim differs only in that the at least one energy unit compartment is located on the at least one front structural member. This is a rearrangement of parts, where the at least one energy unit compartment (36, 37) taught by Iwakami is mounted on the at least one front structural member (26, 27; Fig. 2). Such a modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, particularly in view of the In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.) With the rearrangement of energy unit compartment, the device of the thermal management system would still work for its intended purpose as it is the same system except the energy unit compartment would be brought up more forward to the at least one front structural member instead of the bottom structural member.
Claim 12: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Nagaya further teaches the vehicle wherein: the at least one energy unit compartment (36), an inlet fluid passage/channel (41) of the thermal management system, wherein the inlet fluid passage/channel comprises an inlet (42), and an outlet (40, 40a) located on a bottom portion of the at least one rear structural member (19a) (Figs. 3 and 5); and wherein the inlet fluid passage/channel is adapted to allow a flow of fluid through the inlet towards the at least one energy unit compartment (para. 45, lines 1-10 and para. 49, lines 4-11) and allow egress the flow of fluid through the outlet (para. 44, lines 5-9).
The claim differs only in that the at least one energy unit compartment and the inlet fluid passage/channel are located on the at least one bottom structural member and that the inlet is located on a bottom portion of the at least one front structural member. This is a rearrangement of parts, where the at least one energy unit compartment (36) is mounted on the at least one bottom structural member (20); an inlet fluid passage/channel (41) of the thermal management system is positioned on the at least one bottom structural member (20), and an inlet (42) located on a bottom portion of the at least one front structural member (18). Such a modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, particularly in view of the In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.) With the rearrangement of energy unit compartment, inlet fluid passage/channel and the inlet, the device of the thermal management system would still work for its intended purpose as it is the same system except the components are going through the at least one bottom structural member instead of the at least top and rear structural members.
Claim 14: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Nagaya further teaches the vehicle wherein: the at least one energy unit compartment (36) is positioned within the compartment (35) of the frame (18-20); an inlet (42), wherein the inlet is adapted to allow a flow of fluid (para. 45, lines 1-10 and para. 49, lines 4-11); an outlet (40, 40a) located on the at least one rear structural member (19a) and adapted to allow egress of the flow of fluid from a rear end of the vehicle (para. 44, lines 5-9). But does not teach the at least one energy unit compartment comprises a plurality of energy units distributed within the compartment in a manner that gaps are defined between the plurality of energy units; the inlet located on an intermediate portion of the at least one front structural member, wherein the inlet is adapted to allow a flow of fluid towards the at least one energy unit compartment accommodated within the compartment; and wherein the flow of fluid entering through the inlet is distributed within the gaps defined between the plurality of energy units.
However, Iwakami in a similar field of art teaches the vehicle wherein the at least one energy unit compartment (37) comprises a plurality of energy units (36, 40) distributed within the compartment in a manner that gaps are defined between the plurality of energy units (para. 94, lines 5-9); an inlet (90, 88) located on an intermediate portion of the at least one front structural member (27) (Figs. 2 and 5), wherein the inlet is adapted to allow a flow of fluid towards the at least one energy unit compartment accommodated within the compartment (para. 86, lines 1-4); wherein the flow of fluid entering through the inlet is distributed within the gaps defined between the plurality of energy units. (para. 127, lines 1-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Nagaya with the features of Iwakami. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Iwakami teaches “a cooling air inlet duct which has a downstream end portion thereof connected to the battery case” (Abstract)
Claim 15: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Nagaya further teaches the vehicle further comprising: a forced cooling arrangement having: a pump (39) incorporated along a preferred location of the vehicle; and a venturi (38, 38a) at the one or more inlet fluid passage/channels (41) is formed by a preferred arrangement to increase the velocity of fluid entering therein via the help of the pump (para. 43, lines 1-18).
Claims 6, 10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160121964 A1 ("Nagaya") in view of US 20120175178 A ("Iwakami") and further in view of FR 2735076 A1 ("Goden").
Claim 6: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Nagaya further teaches the vehicle, wherein: the at least one energy unit compartment (36) is mounted on the at least one rear structural member (19a) (para. 39, lines 1-5); a first inlet fluid passage/channel (41) of the thermal management system is positioned on the at least one top structural member (19), the first inlet fluid passage/channel comprises an inlet (42) located at a front end of the vehicle (Figs. 3 and 5); and the at least one outlet fluid passage/channel (40, 40a) positioned rearward with respect to the compartment (35) and below the top support member (14A) of the rider supporting structure (Fig. 5), wherein the inlet fluid passage/channel are adapted to allow a flow of fluid through a front end of the vehicle towards the at least one energy unit compartment (para. 45, lines 1-10 and para. 49, lines 4-11), and the at least one outlet fluid passage/channel is adapted to egress the flow of fluid flowing through a rear end of the vehicle (para. 44, lines 5-9). But does not teach a second inlet fluid passage/channel of the thermal management system is positioned on the at least one bottom structural member, the second inlet fluid passage/channel comprises an inlet located at a front end of the vehicle.
However, Goden in a similar field of art teaches a second inlet fluid passage/channel (20, in this case the first inlet passage would also be 19; Fig. 2) of the thermal management system is positioned on the at least one bottom structural member (Fig. 1; flow path 21 goes through what would be the bottom structure member), the second inlet fluid passage/channel comprises an inlet located at a front end of the vehicle (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Nagaya with the features of Goden. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Goden teaches there being more than one inlet for the passage/channel that having it so “a flow splitter directs some of the incoming air over the upper half of the batteries and some over the lower half.” (Abstract)
Claim 10: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Nagaya further teaches the vehicle, wherein: the at least one energy unit compartment (36) is mounted on the at least one rear structural member (19a) (para. 39, lines 1-5); a first inlet fluid passage/channel (41) of the thermal management system is positioned on the at least one top structural member (19), wherein the first inlet fluid passage/channel comprises an inlet (42) located on a rear portion of the at least one top structural member (Figs. 3 and 5); and the at least one outlet fluid passage/channel (40, 40a) positioned rearward with respect to the compartment (35) and below the top support member (14A) of the rider supporting structure (Fig. 5), wherein the first inlet fluid passage/channel and the second inlet fluid passage/channel are adapted to allow a flow of fluid from the ambient environment towards the at least one energy unit compartment (para. 45, lines 1-10 and para. 49, lines 4-11), and the at least one outlet fluid passage/channel is adapted to egress the flow of fluid flowing through a rear end of the vehicle (para. 44, lines 5-9). But does not teach a second inlet fluid passage/channel of the thermal management system is positioned on the at least one bottom structural member, wherein the second inlet fluid passage/channel comprises an inlet located on a bottom portion of the at least one front structural member.
However, Goden in a similar field of art teaches a second inlet fluid passage/channel (20, in this case the first inlet passage would also be 19; Fig. 2) of the thermal management system is positioned on the at least one bottom structural member (Fig. 1; flow path 21 goes through what would be the bottom structure member), wherein the second inlet fluid passage/channel comprises an inlet located on a bottom portion of the at least one front structural member; (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Nagaya with the features of Goden. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Goden teaches there being more than one inlet for the passage/channel that having it so “a flow splitter directs some of the incoming air over the upper half of the batteries and some over the lower half.” (Abstract)
Claim 13: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Nagaya further teaches the vehicle, wherein: a first energy unit compartment (36) is mounted on the at least one rear structural member (19a) (para. 39, lines 1-5); a second energy unit (compartment 36 is made into multiple parts, one to hole fuel cell 26 and the other to holed battery pack 29; para. 39, lines 4-10) compartment is mounted on the at least one bottom structural member (first energy unit compartment is under 14B to be next to rear structural member and second energy unit compartment is under 14A to be next to bottom structural member); a first inlet fluid passage/channel (41) of the thermal management system is positioned on the at least one top structural member (19), wherein the first inlet fluid passage/channel comprises an inlet (42) (Figs. 3 and 5); and the at least one outlet fluid passage/channel (40, 40a) positioned rearward with respect to the compartment (35) and below the top support member (14A) of the rider supporting structure (Fig. 5), wherein the first inlet fluid passage/channel and the second inlet fluid passage/channel are adapted to allow a flow of fluid from the ambient environment towards the at least one energy unit compartment (para. 45, lines 1-10 and para. 49, lines 4-11), and the at least one outlet fluid passage/channel is adapted to egress the flow of fluid flowing through a rear end of the vehicle (para. 44, lines 5-9). But does not teach a second inlet fluid passage/channel of the thermal management system is positioned on the at least one bottom structural member, wherein the second inlet fluid passage/channel comprises an inlet located on a bottom portion of the at least one front structural member.
However, Goden in a similar field of art teaches a second inlet fluid passage/channel (20, in this case the first inlet passage would also be 19; Fig. 2) of the thermal management system is positioned on the at least one bottom structural member (Fig. 1; flow path 21 goes through what would be the bottom structure member), wherein the second inlet fluid passage/channel comprises an inlet located on a bottom portion of the at least one front structural member; (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Nagaya with the features of Goden. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Goden teaches there being more than one inlet for the passage/channel that having it so “a flow splitter directs some of the incoming air over the upper half of the batteries and some over the lower half.” (Abstract)
The claim differs only in that the inlet of the first inlet fluid passage is located on a top portion of the at least one front structural member. This is a rearrangement of parts, where the location of the inlet (42) would change to be located on a top portion of the at least one front structural member (18). Such a modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, particularly in view of the In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.) With the rearrangement of inlet, the device of first inlet fluid passage would still work for its intended purpose.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160121964 A1 ("Nagaya") in view of US 20120175178 A ("Iwakami") and further in view of US 6722460 B2 ("Yang").
Claim 16: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. The cited prior art does not teach the vehicle further comprising: a radiator disposed along a front portion of the vehicle to be in direct contact with atmospheric fluid, the radiator having conduits carrying fluid along the at least one energy unit compartment, wherein the fluid is configured to absorb the heat of the at least one energy unit compartment, and wherein, the heated fluid is cooled in the radiator by the atmospheric fluid.
However, Yang teaches the vehicle further comprising: a radiator (7) disposed along a front portion of the vehicle to be in direct contact with atmospheric fluid, the radiator having conduits (col. 4, lines 60-63) carrying fluid along the at least one energy unit compartment (2), wherein the fluid is configured to absorb the heat of the at least one energy unit compartment (col. 4, lines 60-63 and col. 5 lines 5-19), and wherein, the heated fluid is cooled in the radiator by the atmospheric fluid (known function of a radiator when it is in contact with air). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of the cited prior art with the features of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Yang teaches “the heat dissipation system comprises a heat exchanger composed of a radiator 7” (col. 4, lines 54-56).
Conclusion
/A.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/KAREN BECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614