DETAILED ACTION
2. The election with traverse filed on 07/30/2026 in response to the Office Action of 05/26/2026 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Applicant has elected Group I, claims 1-14, drawn to a hybrid ligand molecule comprising a first antibody combining site that binds to an effector cell receptor complex structure of an effector cell linked to a second antibody combining site which is a target cell-specific antibody combining site.
Additionally, Applicant has elected species of αβ T cell and FcᵞRI (CD64).
Claims 1-19 are pending in the application. Claims 15-19 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 07/30/2026.
4. Claims 1-14 are currently under prosecution.
Election/Restrictions
5. Applicant's traversal of the propriety of the restriction and election requirement set forth in the Office action mailed 05/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered but not found persuasive for the following reasons:
For the reasons set forth in the preceding Office action mailed 05/26/2026, the different inventions or different species thereof listed, as listed therein, do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2.
Then, in light of the grounds of rejection of the claims directed to the elected invention that follow, it is apparent that although the inventions appear to be linked by a common concept, or special technical feature, namely a hybrid ligand molecule comprising a first antibody binds to a CD3 complex on a surface of the T lymphocyte and a second antibody binds to a protein encoded by a virus which is expressed on a surface of the target cell, because Ast et al. (WO 2013026833, published on 28 February 2013) (of record) teaches a T cell activating bispecific antigen binding molecule comprising a first and a second antigen binding moiety, wherein the first and the second antigen binding moiety are fused to each other via a peptide linker, wherein the first antigen binding moiety binds to CD3 and the second antigen binding moiety binds to an antigen presented on a virus-infected cell (and any minor differences in the subject matter claimed in the instant application would be seen as an obvious variation of subject matter described by the prior art), this technical feature that appears to link the inventive concepts of the different inventions does not constitute a special technical feature as defined by PCT Rule 13.1, as it does not define a contribution over the prior art.
Accordingly, the restriction and election requirement set forth in the Office action mailed 05/26/2026 is deemed proper and therefore made FINAL.
Priority
6. Applicant’s claim under 35 U.S.C. §§ 119(e) and 365(c) for benefit of the earlier filing date of applications, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
9. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " the fluid" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
12. Claims 1-5 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ast et al. (WO 2013026833, published on 28 February 2013) (of record).
Claims 1-5 and 7-14 are herein drawn to a hybrid ligand molecule comprising a first antibody binds to a CD3 complex on a surface of the T lymphocyte and a second antibody binds to a protein encoded by a virus which is expressed on a surface of the target cell.
Ast et al. teach a T cell activating bispecific antigen binding molecule comprising a first and a second antigen binding moiety, wherein the first and the second antigen binding moiety are fused to each other via a peptide linker, wherein the first antigen binding moiety binds to CD3 and the second antigen binding moiety binds to an antigen presented on a virus-infected cell; see entire document, e.g., claims 1-3, pages 49-51.
For claims 11-12, Ast et al. teach that activating Fc receptor includes FcᵞRIIIa (CD16a), FcᵞRI (CD64), or FcᵞRIIa (CD32); see page 30.
For claim 14, Ast et al. teach a method for inducing lysis of a target cell, comprising contacting a target cell with the T cell activating bispecific antigen binding molecule in the presence of a T cell; see claim 41.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ast et al. (WO 2013026833, published on 28 February 2013) (of record).
Claim 6 is herein drawn to the hybrid ligand molecule of claim 1, wherein the second antibody binds to a viral protein encoded within a coronavirus and expressed on the surface of the target cell.
The teachings of Ast et al. have been set forth in the above rejection of claims 1-5 and 7-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Although Ast et al. teach the second antigen binding moiety binds to an antigen presented on a virus-infected cell, Ast et al. do not teach the virus is a coronavirus.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the reference so as to substitute the virus of Ast et al. for another virus (e.g., a coronavirus), because simple substitution of the virus of Ast et al. for another virus (e.g., a coronavirus) would obtain predictable results.
Given the examination guidelines for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of the Supreme Court decision in KSR International Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) and the Examination Guidelines set forth in the Federal Register (Vol. 72, No. 195, October 10, 2007) and incorporated recently into the MPEP (Revision 9, March 2014), the following rationales to support rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are noted:
A) Combining prior art elements according known methods to yield predictable results.
B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
D) Applying known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
E) “Obvious to try” --- choosing form a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
G) Some teachings, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would lead to one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
In this case, simple substitution of the virus of Ast et al. for another virus (e.g., a coronavirus) would obtain predictable results.
Obviousness is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of a case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. See KSR International Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
17. Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 5,078,998. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because for the following reasons:
Claims 1-14 are herein drawn to a hybrid ligand molecule comprising a first antibody combining site that binds to an effector cell receptor complex structure of an effector cell linked to a second antibody combining site which is a target cell-specific antibody combining site.
Claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 5,078,998 are drawn to a hybrid ligand molecule comprising one antibody combining site that binds to a T cell receptor complex structure and is capable of activating cytotoxic effector T lymphocytes linked to a second target cell-specific antibody combining site.
Conclusion
18. No claims are allowed.
/YAN XIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642